PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Victory Brewing Company - Downingtown, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 20, 2014 @ 07:07 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Downingtown > Victory Brewing Company
Victory Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Victory Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.8 / 100
420 Acorn Lane
Downingtown, PA 19335
United States
(610) 873-0881
Listed Since: November 1997
Last Updated: November 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Downingtown, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Victory Brewing Company
203 Reviews / 5 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:30AM - 10:00PM
Mon CLOSED
Tue 04:00PM - 12:00AM
Wed 04:00PM - 12:00AM
Thu 04:00PM - 12:00AM
Fri 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Sat 11:30AM - 12:00AM

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) West Bradford Grill
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Edges Mill Inn Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) EXTENDEDSTAY PHILADELPHIA EXTON
2) INN AT CHESTER SPRINGS CONCTR
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Caln Meeting House
2) County Bridge No. 124
3) Downing, Hunt, House (Boundary Decrease)
4) General Washington Inn
5) Gibson's Covered Bridge
6) Gladden, Joseph, House
7) Kennedy, Francis W., House
8) Kinbawn
9) Larkin Covered Bridge
10) Marshall's Bridge
11) Ostheimer, Martha and Maurice, Estate
12) Pusey, Joshua, House
13) Smedley, Franklin, School
14) Thomas, Charles, House
15) Uwchlan Meetinghouse
16) Wee Grimmet
17) West Whiteland Inn
18) Woodledge
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 10 Downing Street Restaurant
2) Anthony's Grill
3) Augusto's
4) Bacon's Tavern
5) Bem & Bem
6) Blue Cafe
7) Bravo Pizza
8) Bravo Pizza
9) Caln Pizza & Pasta
10) Chef's Diner
11) Chelsy's
12) Chicago Pizza & Deli
13) Chris Beef House Restaurant
14) Coffee Cup Restaurant
15) Coppa 82
16) Cracker Barrel Old Country Str
17) Crepe Myrtle
18) Cugino's Pizza & Pasta
19) Dairy Queen
20) Early Bird Restaurant
21) Elizabethan Tea Shop
22) Fino Pizza
23) Fioravanti Continental Cuisine
24) Game Room Bar & Grill
25) Georgio's Pizza & Deli
26) Georgio's Restaurant
27) Gingerbread Kids Activity Bake
28) Hibachi Of Downingtown
29) Italian Village Pizza & Beer
30) LA Gran Parada LLC
31) Luigi & Giovanni Ristorante
32) Master Wok Chinese Kitchen
33) Max & Erma's
34) Mc Donald's
35) Mc Donald's
36) Milltown Grill At
37) Mom's Bake At Home Pizza
38) Nice Chinese Restaurant
39) Patty's Place Family Rstrnt
40) Pearl Palace Chinese Rstrnt
41) Piazza
42) Pizza Box
43) Pizza Box Thorndale
44) Pizza Hut
45) Polish Water Ice
46) Pretzel Dog Depot
47) Quiznos
48) S & S Corporate Catering
49) Sam's Pizza
50) Samovar A Russian Tea Shop
51) Starbucks
52) Taco Bell
53) Tcz Inc
54) Thai De Cafe
55) Thorndale Inn
56) Victory Brewing Co
57) Wings To Go
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
The beer is phenomenal--I guess that is in the Awesome category......How could you have that many great beers at one establishment??? We have very few restaurants where I live but the good ones carry Victory Beer and some have it on tap. It's awesome/phenomenal....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Harrisonburg, VA
(09/25/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
If you haven't been to the "new" Victory--go now! Their renovation has opened up the pub and makes for a super pleasant beer tasting experience. I've been there several times and what can I say? There's never been less than 20 Victory beers on tap. And 4 of 'em on cask as well. Their series of Pils, which are hopped differently is a joy. Cask Hop Wallop and Storm King are almost TOO good. Stopped recently at noon on a Saturday and within 20 minutes the placed was packed. Where did they put everybody before the redo?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/03/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I agree with the majority of the reviews - really great place with awesome beers. They have several hoppy ones to choose from; I like their standards best: HopDevil Ale and Prima Pils. Nice relaxed atmosphere with great food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Emily Poynter Jenkins Emily Poynter Jenkins, York, PA
(11/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
This was the first time we’ve been back to Victory since their extensive remodeling in Spring 2008. Gone is the open “bullpen” look, replaced by cozy booths, tables, and a very handsome bar topped by copper mash tun tops. Also nice is the fact that they are now open every day by 11:30 a.m. We came for the Hop Devil IPA and were not disappointed - it’s truly one of the best of its kind. And with nineteen beers on tap, you can surely find one that you will like. Since we were there at lunchtime, we were able to take advantage of the $5 Monday-Friday lunch specials: chicken parmesan or grilled reuben sandwiches (both of which came with fries and pickle), and both were awesome. Friendly and efficient staff, a superb beer selection and terrific food at a bargain price - what more could you ask for?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Barb and Mark Barb and Mark, Media, PA
(10/09/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
On a recent beer quest through southeastern PA, Victory turned out to be the pick of the litter. What an upbeat, fun establishment, with awesome beer to boot. Food was great, and in each of two visits, the service was outstanding. We had three little ones with us, who also had a ball. Victory has a fun atmosphere. It was packed, and everyone seemed to be enjoying himself or herself. It will be a stop on every trip I make to this area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Ozolek David Ozolek, williamsburg, VA
(08/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
My wife, youngest son and I stopped in here one week day before Christmas. It is clearly a place appreciated by the locals and visitors alike. We had several samples of brews we'd not tried before and had a really nice pizza each. Great atmosphere and friendly service. What to say about the beer? All are good to excellent. Some are among the best in the country and the world. The gift shop is well stocked and everyone one met was friendly and clearly enjoyed working at Victory.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Wallingford, PA
(02/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
It does not get any better than this. I have been fan of Victory brews for years and I recenly have been relocated 15 minutes from thier Brewery/Brew pub. The atmousphere is open and warm, kinda reminds me of a German beer hall. The quality of the beer is truely awesome, Hop Devil on cask rules! I can't wait what the next cask brew will be. I have been a grain brewer for 15 years and I know great beers and Victory will not disapoint. I read some of the reviews that bash this place and prise and the praises win 100 to 1. The bashers can go suck on some A/B water. O Yea, go to one of the beer dinners they truely treat you like royalty and the brew never stops.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rich Sens Rich Sens, Chester Springs, PA
(08/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
I can't believe I've never reviewed Victory. So, for the most-reviewed place on Pubcrawler, here goes review #500 for me. Actually these are notes from two stops within the last few weeks. There's not much new to add to the kudos to the folks here. From the beer quality to the smoke-free atmosphere and all the way to the great service, Victory is an all-too-rare example of getting it all right. The beer on my visits included Hop Whallop on cask which is a "must" to experience! So much flavor! Strom King on cask had me saying wow! I told myself (and anyone who would listen) that there's no way it's 9.1%--it's too drinkable and roasty to trust yourself to stop before it's too late! Mad King's Weiss was spicy and refreshing, but not overdone. On one of these visits, the place literally had 200+ beer lovers jammed into every nook and cranny, while the other visit was very comfortable and low key. Service was great both times regardless. Cheers to Victory!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(03/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good So So Good
Be sure not ot leave VIctory without trying a Dark-Devil. It's half the Storm King Stoudt and half the Hop Devil (out of the hand pump of course) I love the beer but must admit that our tour was guided by some broad that knew nothing about beer let alone craft beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from shawn shawn, Boiling Springs, PA
(03/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
Surprised and pleased to find that Victory has changed to a non-smoking brewpub. With young children this will make us more open to regular visits. Beer was great as usual and the service was attentive and friendly. Well worth the drive from Reading

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Brian, Reading, PA
(01/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
Yesterday, after some geocaching in the area, I decided that I would visit a few brewpubs on the way back to Roslyn. First stop was Victory. I'm not sure why this old beer geek has taken so long to visit this brewpub but I am soooo glad I did. First thing that will get your attention is the really long bar... I guess its also the first thing you see when you walk in. After you sit down then your attention will be pulled towards the brewing system behind the glass... WOW!!! The system is impressive... so much stainless producing so many craft brews... and the brews... The bartendress came and asked to help me and I pulled out my notebook and said I would like to get a sampler. I asked how many samplers they offer and she said whatever was on tap. She started placing six ounce glasses filled with every color from the craftbrew rainbow... straw colored yellow... to deep dark brown... almost black: Prima Pils, Scarlet Fire Rauchbier****, Golden Monkey, Hop Wallop***, Mad King Weiss, Moonglow Weizenbock, V Lager, Hop Devil***, Hop Devil on the Hand Pump****, and Storm King Stout***. One of my all time favorite beers is the Hop Devil... but now that I've had the Hand Pumped...

After tasting all these brews I told the bartendress that she could cash me out... she took my credit card then came back and told me the samplers were on the house!!! I left a hopefully nice tip, hopped in the brewmobile, and headed for John Harvards.

(**** indicating my favorites of those tried)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Hansell Todd Hansell, Roslyn, PA
(11/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
In town for a job interview. I looked up this place on pubcrawler. Despite its rather out of the way location (but I am an out-of-towner....) it was relatively easy to find. Large crowd for a Sunday night, but I was seated right away, and the waitress was at my table in seconds. I tried the Hop Devil IPA in cask, and was delighted. The hoppiness was not overpowering, and it was served at the right temperature. I downed it and had another with a "black and blue" burger, which was very tasty indeed. I would have had more beer, but had to interview the following morning, so I tore myself away. This place is definately a "must stop" when driving through the area, or for anyone around SE PA who hasn't yet been. Enjoy!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Laredo, TX
(08/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
My wife and I had a couple of tasty pizzas and some beers at Victory on a rainy Sunday evening in late June. We get some of the bottled Victory beers in Texas, so I opted for ones I could not get at home. I started with Uncle Teddy’s Bitter on cask, then had a pint of the big and malty St. Boisterous Hellerbock, and finished up with the robust Storm King Stout. The cask ale was good, but did not quite compare with the Saint Arnold Amber on cask (same style of ale) that we get in Texas. The pale bock was quite nice, and the stout was a great choice at the end of the visit. My wife had the Victor Lager and the Throwback Lager, and preferred the former. It was a busy place with a lot of families there for dinner. We were too late in the day to check out the company store.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(07/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good N/A Good
I was on a bus trip/beer crawl to Philly last weekend (probably the group referred to a couple posts down)and we stopped for lunch at Victory. For all the hype this place gets, the beer was a disappointment. The "bitter" had a distinctly wet cardboard finish, the Storm King was totally out of character for the style (over hopped), but the doppelbock was decent. I did not rate the service because the staff was in a high stress mode; there were 76 of us on the bus trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Anderson Don Anderson, Harrisburg, PA
(03/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Well then...

I went to Victory Brewing tonight and had dinner...

I also had the beer sampler as I was not hte guy driving...

FANTASTIC!!!

I had cask Hop Devil... FREAKING A! FANTASTIC!!!

Beers like the PRIMA PILS which I have hated in the bottle form were all fresh and fantastic.

What a great place.

Jim Busch's brain child has done well!

-Scott

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Skotrat Skotrat, East Kingston, NH
(03/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
We arrived shortly after a large Bus trip had left. The host went to seat us, but most of the tables hadn't been cleaned yet. He apologized multiple times for this and had our table cleaned in no time. We were greeted by our server almost immediately and she was very friendly. She took our drink orders and had them to us extremly quickly, which was a surprise considering at least 3/4 of the bar was full. I opted for a Mad King's Weiss and found it to be excellent. We ordered the Bruschetta as an appetizer and, I had the Jamacian Jerk Grinder. Both were fantastic. The Grinder was very tasty with plenty of heat. It also came with what looked to be 2 pounds of French Fries (take that, Barley Creek!). I also had a Hop Devil out of the cask and thoroughly enjoyed it. Having had most of the Victory beers before, I can honestly say they don't brew a bad beer. Overall, I had a great experience here and look forward to returning and participating in the Brewery Tour. The restaurant itself seems to be just additional room they had in the brewery and decided to finish. It's a bit rough around the edges but it fits well and serves as a reminder that there is alot of work going on behid all those windows by the bar and dining room, where you could get a nice view of all the fermentation vessels. Unfortunately, we couldn't stay very long so, we finished up our meal and left. Upon leaving, were were thanked by our server and the host told us, with a smile to have a nice day. We stopped in the gift shop and I purchased a couple of very inexpensive Pint glasses ($1.50 each) and a big bottle of V-12 to enjoy at home. Overall, we had a great experience at Victory adn I am looking forward to heading down again!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Smith Tom Smith, Northampton, PA
(03/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I have stopped by here many times but it was always to early for the tap room to be open. It was open this time and my review says it all.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(02/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
I visit PA every year and a trip to Victory is at least a once or twice thing while I'm there. I'm usually quite pleased with the selection and quality of the beers. The food is good. I've learned not to expect any specific thing when I go, but to sample what is in my liking category and pick out the best for that day. I've heard they have been having some quality problems but hope they get them ironed out soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from billk billk, Coeur d'Alene, ID
(12/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
Visited Victory after a 5 year abscence, and what a treat it was to be back. The Hopdevil was outstanding, as well as the HopWallop & Storm King. The food was good as well. This visit was a promise to my wife to finally take her there, and she enjoyed every minute of it. Sorry I wasn't able to see Ron or Bill, or sample the Storm King Ice Cream. Oh well. That gives me reason to go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kurt O. Kurt O., Wexford, PA
(11/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I picked up a 6 pack of Golden Monkey at a local liquor store just for the heck of it. Wow! I went back and picked up a case so I could take some to work and share with my coworkers. Anyway, stopped in to check the place out while traveling through PA. All the beers the wife and I tried were awesome. Saw a review about it being in a warehouse. Well, who cares, the beer and food were worth it. I do agree that you might want to get a hotel close by if you stay for a while.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Doug, White Plains, MD
(11/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
amazing beers. The food looked really good, based on what our neighbors were eating. Our french fry appetizer was awesome (a mixture of fried leeks, potatoes, and sweet potatos). The pizzas are OK...nothing exceptional. But the beer is worth the journey. It is a bit hard to find, made more difficult by some construction in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Romano Michael Romano, Morgantown, WV
(11/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
This was a place I have always wanted to visit.We went there on vacation and ate both lunch and dinner. The kids love the pretzels and pizza and the beers are some of the best. My favorites are in the following order,Hop Devil,Kolsch,Victory Lager,ESB,and Prima Pils.The fried chicken and Shrimp and Crab Penne were expecially good. I would definately go out of my way to stop again. One of my favorite brewpubs anywhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Santeramo Ed Santeramo, Orr's Island, ME
(09/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
The Hop Devil on cask absolutely stole the show; filtering-free version almost opaque with goodness. I like the Hop Devil in bottles but the cask version may have forever raised the bar, to high to go back. They had V-12 on tap as well; for a brewery that doesn't specialize in Belgian, they did a really wonderful job of building a high ABV brew with Belgian character that completely hides the alcohol without having to resort to obnoxious levels of spicing and the like. Then I had a Storm King Imperial Stout and at that point I just don't remember what came next. Service and food were very good at the bar. Didn't get growlers because they were the nasty, tall fancy, expensive ones that don't fit in the cooler or fridge. I regret not bringing some back to Maine, but I made a promise to myself to never end up with another one of those. Make sure you print out a very high detail map.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Sean, Lyman, ME
(07/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Beer bus run by Buddy(works there and delivers the beer all over the east coast) was amazing. This place has gotten huge but maintains its quality and atmosphere. Thanks to Liz the new bartender and all Voctory staff...keep up the good work!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nick-Beertrekker Nick-Beertrekker, Baltimore, MD
(07/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Lousy So So
As a beer purest, I hate to admit that lousy service can ruin a good beer, but its a sad truth. I'm from Colorado and have sampled Victory beer a few times. When I finaly had a chance to go, I was so excited, but so disapointed after my visit. The beer was as I expected, and there was a large selection of house brews. Why then, are the people who wrok there so mean and surly? The waitress was so rude that we had to leave her table and sit at the bar, but the bartender was worse. The people who work there are pretty young, but not motivated or excited at all. My in-laws live close to Downingtown and we will visit them often, but I will never go to Victory again. We'll try Sly Fox in Phoenixville next time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Malone David Malone, Denver, CO
(05/20/2005)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ 8 ] [ 9 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.199 seconds) 07:07:43 54.90.201.145, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS