PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Bear Republic Brewing Company - Healdsburg, CA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 28, 2014 @ 07:48 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CA > Healdsburg > Bear Republic Brewing Company
Bear Republic Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Bear Republic Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81.2 / 100
345 Healdsburg Avenue
Healdsburg, CA 95448
United States
(707) 433-2337
Listed Since: June 1996
Last Updated: January 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Healdsburg, CA
Beer Guide for California

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Bear Republic Brewing Company
36 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

Recent News
Bear Republic brews up another deal

Tasting Notes: Bear Republic Hop Rod Rye

Bear Republic rewards your six pack purchase


bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Belle DE Jour Inn
2) Calderwood
3) Camellia Inn
4) Country Meadow Inn
5) George Alexander House
6) Grandma's Victorian Cottage
7) Grape Leaf Inn
8) Haydon Street Inn
9) Healdsburg Guest House-Studio
10) Healdsburg Inn on the Plaza
11) Holcomb House
12) Honor Mansion
13) Midnight Sun Inn
14) Northern California Wine Cntry
15) Piper Street Inn
16) Romo Vineyard Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) DRY CREEK INN
2) HOTEL HEALDSBURG
3) TRAVELODGE HEALDSBURG
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Healdsburg Carnegie Library
2) Madrona Knoll Rancho District
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A & W Family Restaurant
2) Adel's
3) B & B Saloon
4) Barbie's In Alexander Valley
5) Barndiva
6) Bistro Ralph
7) C K House Chinese Restaurant
8) Candi Lee Catering
9) Carl's Jr Restaurant
10) Catelli's The Rex
11) Catellis
12) Center Street Cafe
13) Chez Felice
14) China Palace
15) Classic Kitchen Assoc
16) Cyrus Restaurant
17) D L Catering
18) Divine Pizza
19) Dry Creek Bar
20) Dry Creek Kitchen
21) El Farolito
22) El Paso Cantina
23) El Sombrero
24) Felix & Louie's
25) Fitch Mountain Eddies
26) Flaky Cream Do-Nuts
27) Flying Goat Coffee
28) Giorgio's Restaurant
29) Happy Time Chinese Restaurant
30) Healdsburg Bar & Grill
31) Healdsburg Charcuterie & Cafe
32) Healdsburg Coffee Co
33) Henry's Restaurant
34) Information Management Systems
35) Jimtown Store
36) John & Zeke's Bar & Grill
37) Johnny's Java
38) LA Pizza Ah
39) Lotus Thai Restaurant
40) Madrona Manor
41) Manzanita Restaurant
42) Mc Donald's
43) Mc Donald's
44) Oakville Grocery-Healdsburg
45) Oui Cater
46) Pho-N-Teriyaki
47) Ravenous
48) Ravenous Restaurant
49) Round Table Pizza
50) Sake O
51) Shoma Delicatessen & Wine Shop
52) Singletree Inn
53) Starbucks
54) Sushi Osaka
55) Taco Bell
56) Taco Grande
57) Taqueria Guatalajara
58) Taqueria Santa Rosa
59) Tastings Restaurant & Wine Bar
60) Tip Top Lounge
61) Western Boot Steak House
62) Willi's Seafood & Raw Bar
63) Zin Restaurant & Wine Bar
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Had to try the sampler (16 beers) although some were close in color they all had thier own flavor. I really enjoyed the Racer 5 (who doesn't) Some of the unheard of ones were my favorites, Wit beer, APEX IPA, Mach 10. The staff was friendly and seemed to enjoy being there. Make this a must stop for beer tasting heaven

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leo Leo, Redlands, CA
(07/02/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
On a "beer vacation" to S.F. and northern California in late June 2009, I went to 8 breweries/brewpubs and this was BY FAR the BEST !! YOU have to make the 60mi drive up from S.F. to here !! IT is TOTALLY worth it ! The atmosphere of the place is great (inside and out), the beer is AWESOME (get the sampler), and the service was great !! DO NOT MISS THIS PLACE !! Wish I lived down the street...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Randy Simmons Randy Simmons, Springboro, OH
(06/29/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Made a quick stop here. We should have cleared our afternoon to stay here! The beers are very tasty and a big variety. Just ask for what you like in a beer and I think they can give it to you. The brewmaster is very informational and the place is just wonderful.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Louie Strano Louie Strano, Gabriola, BC
(10/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Awesome! Great
Greeted by super-friendly bartender Gary as soon as I sat at the bar. Gary, along with the other patrons at the bar made me feel at home. I sampled about everything that was on tap, can't remember which one I enjoyed the most. They were all good...but not one that knocked me off my feet. Bear is worth a vist not only for the brewpub alone, but Healdsburg, a charming small town with lots of character. Also a very cool wine store nearby. 34 North.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Greg, Pittsburgh, PA
(04/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Good
We stopped in at the Bear Republic during our recent Brewpub tour / family vacation of the Bay Area. The beer was great, the food was good, the service seemed a bit rushed. They seemed more interested in moving people in and out then providing a quality experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Christensen Eric Christensen, North Branch, MN
(12/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Lousy Good So So
Been to Bear Republic twice. Neither time was I impressed. The food was not that good. Our wings were comped because they were inedible. Beer selection is decent but the quality of the brews is so so.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Almeida Mark Almeida, San Francisco, CA
(10/20/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Long live the Bear! I'm from Colorado and have some expectations about brewpubs - after all, we've got the best! But the Bear is right up with them. I adore both the Hop Rod and the Racer 5 - both are candidates for my all time favorities list! The food was superbly executed in all respects. And the service was both friendly and efficent. Whenever my travels take me to the Bay Area, I'll be there!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Rothrock Tom Rothrock, Centennial, CO
(08/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mandy Mandy, Westlake Village, CA
(07/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(07/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Having just left Ruth McGowans in Cloverdale a couple hours earlier felt like I'd gone to the other side of the world. From down home brewery to the GenX adventure. This place really rocks. Doubt they make a bad beer. Managed to make it through a pint each of the cask conditioned Red Rocket (6.8%), Peter Brown Ale (6.3%) and the Hop Rod Rye (7.5%). Good stuff. Had a plate of the Fettucine Bolognese that would have made my grandmother, God rest her Italian soul, envious. The menu matches the diverse beer selection. Glad I walked the mile or so from my motel for my health and my drivers license. Being a native son, Bear Republic will always be on my mind and my list for return visits.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(12/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
My plan was to sample various brews, but I got sidetracked by my first Racer 5 and ended up having several. The bartender was way cool. I'll be back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ted Ted, Portland, OR
(10/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
I've been going to this place for a long time and it never fails to thrill.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Glenn, Bakersfield, CA
(09/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
The hop rod rye is excellent, racer x pretty good. Great location. Food is pretty good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review carson city, NV
(04/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
Bear Republic is my favorite place for beer. The selection of hoppy beers is wonderful, as are their many high-alcohol choices. Sometimes they have cask-conditioned ales. Awesome beer. Also, this is one of the few brewpubs with genuinely good food. One downside is relatively high prices, typical of the area, but also because they do such a huge business with pass-through tourists. The restaurant space is great, but crowds don't offer a lot of personality. Sitting at the bar, you can begin to feel some local flavor, but in my experience it has been mostly young people. No offense intended to young people, but our conversation topics don't overlap sometimes. I would like to try this place on a slow night, if they ever have any.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd McComb Todd McComb, Mountain View, CA
(08/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!
A huge selection of beer and some of the beers were really good. The Racer 5, X and Hop Rod are all very good. The pubs not all that much to look at, but the area and town are. Worth a visit

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Kevin, Oswego, NY
(08/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
I came to Healdsburg already knowing how outstanding the beers brewed here at Bear Republic were. In fact, we have served Hop Rod Rye, XP, Racer 5, Racer X and Red Rocket at my bar here in the Big Apple. However, like most beers, they just taste better when they are fresh and from the source. I was also happy to see that the brewpub offered a couple of selections not available on draft here in the city. The 3R Belgian Ale was an interesting offering (generously hopped, but posessing a spicy, cinnamon-like character.) But, I came to the West Coast for hops and the Racer X did not let me down. The place was very crowded for dinner, but we did not have a problem quickly getting a table for two. The food offerings were good, but, let's be honest, I wasn't there for the victuals. All in all, an great experience from one of the West Coast's premiere brewers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kirk Struble Kirk Struble, New York, NY
(08/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Awesome! Good
Very popular on weekends. Had an enjoyable meal with family.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marc and Nicole Mytels Marc and Nicole Mytels, Carlsbad, CA
(04/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Nice location right downtown with a fun, casual, comfortable, old-time diner-like atmosphere, not upscale nor dirty, and friendly, peppy bartenders. As a previous reviewer stated, the cheesy garlic fries are an A+. I could drink the Racer X (IPA-like) all night, and the red seemed above average with nice body and ample flavor. Awesome beer selection. 12/12/03 5pm

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth N Kenneth N, Flagstaff, AZ
(01/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
Had their beer at the Great American Beer Festival. All were awesome. It was my overall favorite of the GABF. Keep up the great work.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Conrad, sears, MI
(11/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I went here twice, October 2002 and look forward to returning this October. Brought home their glasses for my husband, 2 bucks a piece is so inexpensive! Food was great, beer deicious especially Racer 5. Ate outside both times. Very relaxing and enjoyable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review new york, NY
(08/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Dear lord, the sampler included 12 beers!!!! This is a nice start to a brew pub we stumbled upon. And what to serve with a 12 beer sampler, cheese fries! Wow, I thought McMinns in Portland had the market on french fry value. The frys were great! Solid beer line up. The IPAs and Imperial IPAs were pushing the envelope, but certainly worth trying. The Rye is my favorite. Great balance and flavor! If you are within 20 miles of Healdsburg, stop in for a beer and food, it is worth it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Christensen Eric Christensen, Huntingtown, MD
(08/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good So So Great Good
The Racer X is a fantastic beer for hopheads! IT is even better than Racer 5. If you are a hophead, do'nt bother with the Racer X cask conditioned it is an interesting beer ,but loses all the hop character. Go in the early afternoon if possible, as this place changes character after p.m.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ratman Ratman, Arvada, CO
(07/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Good
The Racer 5 IPA was very good, but I prefer a dark beer and they had none available the day we went. The menu had great selections of standard pub fare and California cuisine. Unfortunately we had a new server working during the busy weekend dinner rush and my order got mixed up. It took another waitress coming to a nearby table to correct it, but once I got the right food, it was good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Susan Susan, Petaluma, CA
(06/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Lousy Great
Wow!!! I have seen heavan and it is in a glass from this Brewery. We stroled in sort of semi-late (around 11:00pm) and the wait staff seemed more interested in closing than serving their sweet nectar...c'mon with a product this good, you should be more than happy to work here!!!

Beers: HefeWeizen***(smooth California style wheat...but a great Bravarian yeast..that's odd), Oso Toro*(Brewed with Negro Modello yeasts and I don't get it at all), Special XP Ale** (Centenial and Cascade hops about but also a little oily), El Oso Lager*(Copper version of the Oso Toro, and still not very good), Brewer's Belgian***(nice beer with a sweet initial taste and good aftertaste), Racer X****(rye flavors??? but definately hoppy with a "fruity kick"), Hop Rod Ale*****(Earthy rye flavor, balanced nicely with good fresh hops...Great Beer), Red Rocket****(Scottish red with a smooth malty taste that screams with smoked malts), Big Bear Porter*****(Porter stle that has a great chocolate nose, a complexed mouthfeel and a nice sweet aftertaste).................................and then there was one.................RACER 5 IPA*****(this is by far the best thaing to ever come out of a brew pot!!! This has overtaken Highland Brewery's Oatmeal Stout as my Ultimate all time favorite. The most amazing odor that can only be described as a wonderful flower picked from the garden of Eden, followed by a superb start of malts that make the tongue starts to wet and then...POW!!!...right where it hurts...here come the hops and I mean a lot of them. This is the reason that I started drinking (and brewing) beer in the first place. If I could make this beer I would never leave the house. Congratulations and thank-you!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Fred Allen Fred Allen, Columbia, SC
(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Lousy Good So So
I travel all over and search for brewpubs and local beers....

The beer was pretty decent, but not great - certainly did not live up to my expectations. I tried the wheat, then the red rocket rye, then the pale ale, then the imperial stout. I thought the red rocket rye was the best out of the lot. Nothing really wrong with the beers; just not very special, and certainly no better than an intermediate-level homebrewer can make at home without even going to all-grain.

But the food was the biggest disappointment. I love to go to that part of the country because the food is so good.... there's nothing like a plate of roasted garlic, cheese, toasted bread, and roasted red peppers... and another plate of clams in a beer/garlic broth. So this is what I ordered. The elephant garlic was not roasted, it was more like simmered in water for a while and then drained... it was still crunchy... limp on the outside, crunchy on the inside. Roast the damn thing! The brie was just cut into pieces and thrown onto the plate... not slightly melty or warm. The red peppers were a weak effort, and the toast was insipid. A truly awful effort - how can you screw these ingredients up? The clams were a little better than awful, but my goodness, is that all the better you can do? What a weak meal.

I expected a lot more from a brewpub in Sonoma Valley - particularly after some of these reviews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from wopbopaloobopalopbambrew wopbopaloobopalopbambrew, Atlanta, GA
(06/02/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.426 seconds) 07:48:45 54.211.7.174, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS