PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Moylan's Brewery and Restaurant - Novato, CA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 30, 2014 @ 07:47 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CA > Novato > Moylan's Brewery and Restaurant
Moylan's Brewery and Restaurant Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Moylan's Brewery and Restaurant
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81.8 / 100
15 Rowland Way
Novato, CA 94954
United States
(415) 898-4677
Listed Since: June 1996
Last Updated: December 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Novato, CA
Beer Guide for California

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
30 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Lagunitas Brewing Company
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Andrea's Hidden Cottage
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN PETALUMA INN
2) SHERATON PETALUMA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Petaluma Silk Mill
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Bangkok Express
2) China House Express
3) Chunky's Taqueria & Grill
4) Cold Stone Creamery
5) Deaf Dog Coffee
6) Deaf Dog Coffee Inc
7) Eastside Deli
8) First Edition
9) Franzi's Swiss Italian Cater
10) Golden China Restaurant
11) Lucchesi's Delicatessen
12) Marina Bean
13) Old Chicago Pizza Delivery
14) Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake
15) Park Deli Cafe
16) Quiznos Sub
17) Riverside Deli
18) Rooster Grill-Rooster Run Golf
19) Rosen's Eastside Grill
20) Star Of India
21) Starbucks
22) Starbucks
23) Steel Bear Deli & Country
24) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
25) Sweets 4-U Bakery & Cafe
26) Zangria
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
Do not order the chicken wings. Other than that - fantastic place

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(01/23/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Awesome!
The awesome quality and huge selection of beer overrides the average and slightly pricey menu. If you come for the beer with the food secondary, or not at all, you will be quite pleased. We had the Golden, ESB, and Irish Red.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John M Schmitz John M Schmitz, Tucson, AZ
(09/30/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
I've visited this place twice now and have been very pleased with the experiences. The NorCal IPA is my favorite. Perfect! Great blend of hops, medium bodied and smooth finish. The blackened chicken strips were juicy and grilled perfectly. 05/22/09 1:30pm

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth N Kenneth N, Brookings, OR
(06/21/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great
We tried the cask conditioned ESB. Nice, but a little sticky. Not what we were looking for. I think the Irish angle to the beers made the ESB taste that way. Anyway, didn't want to hang around to find out at $4.25 a pint to see if we were wrong.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Louie Strano Louie Strano, Gabriola, BC
(10/22/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
I visited this brewpub on 5/7/08 and had the following brews; Pomegranate Wheat 5.1%, Unfiltered Wheat 5.2%, Special Bitter - nitro 5.2%, ESB 5.2%, Celts Golden Ale 5.1%, Tipperary Pale Ale 5.6%, Dragoons Dry Stout - nitro 4.6%, Dragoons Dry Stout 4.6%, Irish Red 6.3%, IPA 6.9%, Kiltlifter Scotch Ale 8.5%, Hopsickle Triple IPA 9.3%, Hopsickle cask and Tipperary cask. I have been visiting this brewpub since it opened and it is still my favorite brewpub in the country. The food is as outstanding as the beer. The Irish Stew was awesome and while I expected Tex Mex style Chili Rellenos only to get a California version, I was not dissappointed. Like it's sister pub in Larkspur they have a wide variety of brewerania for sale and T-shirt sizes up to XXXL. Moylan's is a must stop for the serious beer traveler.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Lakeway, TX
(05/13/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
They have a Pomegranate Wheat beer. Very unique.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mandy Mandy, Westlake Village, CA
(07/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(07/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Good
Goofy name - reminds you of seinfeld and Moland Creek water. Good specials though and good beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Glenn, Bakersfield, CA
(02/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
This brewpub is top notch.Large bar and dining area.Extensive food and beer menu.Friendly staff.A beer can collection to keep the idle mind busy.Washed down a great chicken and avocado sandwich with a couple pints os the Irish Red(6.0%).Good stuff.Tried the Kiltlifter Scotch Ale.At 8.1%,even the smaller pour required by their liquor license kicks you in the butt.Had I felt like being a bit more adventurous, I'd have tried the Saturday special,a heaping plate of corned beef and cabbage chased down with the barleywine(10%!!!).This place will be on my hit list any time I'm in the North Bay.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(11/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Good
This place brews some awesome big beers! the Moylander is one of my favorites. But don't miss the barleywine for desssert.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ratman Ratman, Arvada, CO
(07/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Great Good Great
The beer selection is huge - they have a beer to match with every dish they serve. My favorite is the Dry Irish Stout, but we've also enjoyed the Kilt Lifter. Their pizza is delicious and so is the Black and Blue Burger. So far it's still in my top 3 brewpubs in Northern CA.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Susan Susan, Petaluma, CA
(06/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
THE FOOD WAS OUTSTANDING AND SERVICE WAS PERFECT. I TRIED THREE BEERS WITH LUNCH. THE DOUBLE IPA (CASK) WAS GOOD. THE UNFILTERED WHEAT WAS GREAT, THE BEST WHEAT I'VE HAD AT A BREWPUB. THE IRISH DRY STOUT WAS ALSO VERY GOOD. THIS BREWPUB IS IN MY TOP THREE.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from WEASEL WEASEL, ANTIOCH, CA
(02/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I love this place, can't get enough of their wonderful beers. Usually I have one or two favorites but not here, they are all great. The bar area has a very long bar that is removed from the dining area just enough so that it has its own atmosphere. I have stopped here six times in the last year and have had a meal every time and the food is also very good, never disappointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Allen Wallace Allen Wallace, Las Vegas, NV
(01/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Cant get enough of these fine Ales, if you havent had some Boy your missing out

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Novato, CA
(05/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I really enjoyed my visit to Moylan's. It just has a good brewpub feel about it. My visit was on a busy Saturday evening and service (at the bar) was great. The corned beef and cabbage with potatoes and carrots, accompanied by Moylan's Irish Red Ale, really hit the spot. I'll be back when I travel that way again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(04/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Can you really belive reviews from der haggmann. See Marin Brewing. Coincidence? I will try this place soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Johan Bronson Johan Bronson, Willimantic, CT
(04/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Moylan's, a larger offshoot of Marin Brewing Company, brews all beers onsite and offers one of the widest varieties of beers I have seen. Styles range from unfiltered wheat (3.8% alcohol) through roughly 10 other varieties to barleywine and imperial stout (both 10.8% alcohol). If you like beer at all, there's has got to be something here for you. I like a lot of grain/flavor, so the scotch ale, barleywine, and imperial stout are naturally my favorites. There is currently a XX IPA, winner of a medal for its hoppy taste. This should not be missed by IPA fans. There is always one beer served on cask as well. Food is two cuts above the usual pub fare. Perfectly fine for families, but the building's internal structure tends to amplify and echo normal level conversation. Staff and service are great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from der haggmann der haggmann, Vallejo, CA
(02/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
The brewpub is located in a shopping center in the bucolic suburban town of Novato. Plenty of parking for local SUV drivers. I had the Celts Golden Ale. It was clean and fresh. A good choice after a hot day of driving. Even though I was on the Pacific coast, I ordered the Atlantic Salmon. The salmon was well prepared and fresh. It came with mashed potatoes instead of the usual rice. Mashed potatoes are what a road guy wants and needs. The board up front lists brews by alcohol content. Mine was 4.6%. The place as of early May had served 680 barrels of brew since 1 January. This brewpub is worth a stop off of highway 101.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Neil Serafin Neil Serafin, Bailey, CO
(05/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So N/A
Service is lackluster, but that's it. All in all, another gem in the Bay Area when it comes to brewpubs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Don, Marin, CA
(07/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
A little up 101 from Marin, but worth the drive. Plenty of bar area to sit at. The brewers here are interested in making just plain quality beer. Had a long discussion with the Asst. Brewer (OK it was a mid-week afternoon and slow) and he talked about their thoughts of brewing. Good quality beer and well worth a stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Gnatowski Mark Gnatowski, Baltimore, MD
(02/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
I large, well-kept place, with interesting beers (e.g. Scottish Ale and Barleywine aren't typical brewpub styles) make this place worth the drive northward...//TSB

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bis Bis, San Diego, CA
(10/22/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Smilie Dave Smilie, Santa Rosa, CA
(11/02/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
I just stopped in for a quick sample. The IPA and barlywine were very good. I had had the stout at a brew pub in Pleasanton and found it to be exceptional; unfortunately it was not on tap at the time. :( Still overall very pleasant place and the salsa I had was the freshest I've had anywhere!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Russell Allenbaugh Russell Allenbaugh, Sacramento, CA
(08/31/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great
In the several times I have been here I have had both good, and very good beer. The people are great! Love the tie-dye

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Suter Brian Suter, Mill Valley, CA
(08/25/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Erik Erik, Davis, CA
(06/12/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.233 seconds) 07:47:44 54.196.120.58, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS