PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Third Street AleWorks - Santa Rosa, CA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 30, 2014 @ 11:54 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CA > Santa Rosa > Third Street AleWorks
Third Street AleWorks Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Third Street AleWorks
Overall: Great    Score: 75.9 / 100
610 Third Street
Santa Rosa, CA 95404
United States
(707) 523-3060
Listed Since: June 1996
Last Updated: December 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Santa Rosa, CA
Beer Guide for California

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Third Street AleWorks
32 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun 11:30AM - 12:00PM
Mon 11:30AM - 12:00PM
Tue 11:30AM - 12:00PM
Wed 11:30AM - 12:00PM
Thu 11:30AM - 12:00PM
Fri 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Sat 11:30AM - 01:00AM

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Old Vic
(0 mile)

2) Russian River Brewing Company
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Gables Inn
2) Melitta Station Inn
3) Pygmalion House B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN GARDEN INN
2) COURTYARD SANTA ROSA
3) DAYS INN SANTA ROSA CA
4) EXTENDEDSTAY SANTA ROSA SOUTH
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Burbank, Luther, House and Garden
2) Cnopius House
3) Gables, The
4) Hood, William, House
5) Lumsden, W. H., House
6) McDonald Mansion
7) Old Post Office
8) Park Apartments
9) Rosenburg's Department Store
10) Sweet House
11) Wasserman House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Anthony's Music Box
2) At Your Table
3) Bacchus Wine Co & Deli
4) Bakers Square
5) Baskin-Robbins
6) Bennett Valley Market
7) Betty's English Fish 'n' Chips
8) Borolos Original Pizza
9) Cafe Japan
10) Canevari's Catering
11) Carnival Of Foods
12) Centro Espresso
13) China Room
14) Clo's Parkside Grill
15) Cold Stone Creamery
16) Eager To Please
17) Eggs & Co
18) El Charro Mexican Restaurant
19) Empire Buffet
20) Five Star Catering
21) Greenhouse Children's Project
22) Heavenly Hamburgers
23) Hemenway's Catering & Design
24) Hungry Hogg Barbecue
25) I Love NY Pie
26) John's Catering/Traveling Bbq
27) Johnny's Java
28) Johnny's Java Inc
29) Lakeside Deli
30) Lepe's Taqueria
31) Mandarin Restaurant
32) Mary's Pizza Shack
33) Mc Donald's
34) Monti's Rotisserie & Bar
35) My Deli
36) Old Mexico Restaurant
37) Ozzie's Grill
38) Paolo's Ravioli Deli
39) Pearson & Co
40) Peet's Coffee & Tea
41) Pepe's Mexican Restaurant
42) Pizzeria Grillo
43) Quiznos Sub
44) Ralph's Santa Rosa Subs
45) Rita's New China Restaurant
46) Roberto's Restaurant
47) Round Table Pizza
48) Sandy's Take & Bake Pizza
49) Sonoma Catering
50) Sonoma Valley Bagel Co
51) Spring Lake Chinese Restaurant
52) Starbucks
53) Starbucks
54) Starbucks
55) Starbucks
56) Starry Net Cafe
57) Steel Deli & Liquor
58) Stims Texas BBQ
59) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
60) Sweet Spot Pub & Lounge
61) Taco Bell
62) Taqieroa Santa Rosa
63) Taqueria Las Palmas
64) Taqueria Los Altos De Jalisco
65) Taqueria Los Hermanos
66) Thai Taste Restaurant
67) Villa
68) Wildrose Catering
69) Wonderful Buffet
70) Yulupa Deli & Grill
71) Zack's Catering
72) Zoo
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Lousy Good
Great beer selections - nice alter-ego for the hop-overload experience with Russian River. Fantastic beers, well balanced...seasonals are a real treat. Wait staff is a bit clueless - do not be in a rush if you plan on dining here. Have had the burgers, the tacos and happy hour nosh - all great. So far it is a flip of the coin as to whether you get a bubbly, 'happy' bartender or the bartender that seems to despise the fact that she must be there to make some money...or get out of bed ("I've been here since 9:00am" lamented at 2:30pm to patrons who are all degrees of un/employed/students, scraping up change to be there doesn't tend to garner much sympathy). In any case...back to the beer...it's why I go, anyway!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Polly Polly, Santa Rosa, CA
(11/30/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Been over two years since I visited, but I just came across my photos, and decided to log in. I forget the details, except that we enjoyed this place very much.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jay jay, silver spring, MD
(01/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Nice brewpub atmosphere with decent food and good beers. So nice to have two good brewpubs (Russian River on 4th) in the same town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Almeida Mark Almeida, San Francisco, CA
(10/20/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(07/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
I have not stopped here since my poor review in 2003, so I felt it was time to give them another chance. All I can say is WOW what a difference. The beer has improved greatly since then and so has the food selection and the food quality. I was with friends so we ordered many items and all were excellent, really it is pub fare but the quality was impressive. And the best part was the staff,the service was great but there was a positive feeling coming from them, something I rarely see. The only downside is that this is more of a restaurant, with families, kids running around etc. For a "pub" atmosphere try Russian River or The Black Rose.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Allen Wallace Allen Wallace, Las Vegas, NV
(05/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Two house brewed Stouts on tap. Both were excellent. Menu has a nice variety of items and a fair range of pricing. Had a Stout Float for desert that was great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JRFaris JRFaris, Menlo Park, CA
(03/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Of the five places I tried (one of which is so new it hasn't made it to pubcrawler yet) over a weekend jaunt around the 707 area code, Third Street Ale House is the one I'll put on my hit list on other visits to the area. Russian River BC seems to be the favorite but this place seemed way better. The eleven house brews covered the whole beer drinking experience. The food selection is much better. The general atmosphere seems more conducive to having a good time. Much less pretentious than Russian River, empolyees and clientele alike.Had no trouble going through a pint each of the Bodega Head IPA (6.5%), Stepchild Red Ale (5%) and the Stonefly Moccaccino Stout (7.9%!!!).There were a couple more I wanted to try but figured on saving a few for a future excursion.To soak up the suds, had the Smoked Chicken Salad sandwich with the garlic fries. The meal was great but watch out for those fries. They don't hold back on the garlic. Of course that's just another good reason to have one more excellent beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Good
When i was there it was pretty busy, and the food and service were very good. The beer didn't have as much character as at Russian River Brewing which is just around the block. As long as your in the neighborhood you might as well check them both out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ted Ted, Portland, OR
(10/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Stopped by 3rd Street for lunch yesterday. Enjoyed the decor, the sandwich I had was good and they sure don't skimp on the garlic fries. I only had the IPA, but found it to be an excellent example of the style. This place will alway suffer in the shadow of Russian River over on 4th St., but if Vinnie's was too crowded (as I'm sure it often is) I wouldn't hesitate to come here. In most any other city, 3rd Street Aleworks would be the hands-down best place in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Peterson Matt Peterson, Concord, CA
(05/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
What a fantastic brew pub! The atmosphere is fun and friendly. Bartender is awesome. Can't remember his name, but he writes the comic strip in the Celebrator every issue. Saw a sneak preview of the next comic. Bodega Head IPA cask on hand pump! What an awesome IPA. Traditional english style with a west coast hop attitude. Very well balanced with a spicy hop finish. Served cellar temperature as it should be. Annadel Pale Ale is another great english style pale ale. Nice maltiness up front with a crisp clean hop finish. Very refreshing. Foreign Extra Stout cask on hand pump. Sweet, dry, and creamy-smooth. Good malt roastiness. Very nice on cask. Blarney Sisters Dry Irish Stout was dry with a very predominate roasted malt taste.Served on nitrogen, it was a taste treat. Clooneys Irish red was a medium bodied ale with a subtle hop finish. Well rounded and very drinkable. A must stop on your brewery tour. I will difinately go back. It is the next street over from Russian River Brewing Co. Two great brew pubs within walking distance.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Diane Van Wagner Diane Van Wagner, Burbank, CA
(03/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
Great beer selection and even better taste. This is a place to meet up with friends and have a great time. Very cool, upbeat enviroment. Fair food and beer prices. Happy hour offers $2.50 pints and discounted apetizers. There are several tv's above the bar and upstairs where you can watch ESPN and sporting events. Great place to chill and have a couple of your favorite beers indoors or out. Also a great place to start the night, since it is in the middle of town. I personally recommend the Bodega Head IPA with 6.5% alc. by vol. It has a very smooth flavor with a nice aftertaste, and not too hoppy. I would have rated the service higher if the waitresses could match the bartenders.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Davis Jeff Davis, rohnert park, CA
(03/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Great So So
I tried this joint yesterday. Clooney's Irish Red was pretty good (a bit sweet but not too sweet and easily the best beer in the house). Old Redwood Porter (in 3 forms: Nitro, CO2, and Cask) was also pretty good but not worthy of a 2004 state fair gold. The rest of the beers (including the American Wheat, Annadel Pale Ale, Bodega India Pale Ale, Goat Rock Dopplebock, Summer Cherry Ale, One Ton Blackberry Ale, Stonefly Oatmeal Stout, JD's Batch Barrel Barleywine, and Cerveza de Santa Rosa Chili Ale) were decent AT BEST. I did not try the food. The bartender was nice and service was good but why would I go back when there is a vastly superior brewpub a couple blocks away?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Lemar Sean Lemar, Elk Grove, CA
(09/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Lousy So So
The beer was okay, but nothing special. The food was overpriced and not that good. Waited FOREVER for everything.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pearland, TX
(04/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Crystal and Jay are awesome in the kitchen and the server, Nate, is my total favorite.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Susan Curbow Susan Curbow, Colusa, CA
(02/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Great
Nice view of the street outside from the upstairs seating area, but the downstairs bar area was the preferred seating that day among customers. An average looking brewpub, and seemed quite popular with the locals, with plenty of beer selection on tap. Logo pint glasses: $3.00 12/12/03 3:30pm

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth N Kenneth N, Flagstaff, AZ
(01/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This was the First time, I visited your place. I loved it. Everything was great. I hope to someday come back. I'm from Louisville, Kentucky.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mary Lu Fowler Mary Lu Fowler, Louisville, KY
(09/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Lousy So So
I agree with the last three reviews about the service. I was here in Jan. and May and again in late June. The service is so bad that in June I did not stop in Santa Rosa at all but instead pushed on to the coast. I usually stop overnight as there is a Italian rest. that I really like here. Lost tourist revenue is not good for any city.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Allen Wallace Allen Wallace, Las Vegas, NV
(08/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Lousy Lousy
The beer is always solid and the food is pretty good. However, the service sucks. After an hour with zero service a waitress came by asking us to leave so she could fill our table with diners. This was with half of the place empty while we had amassed a $75 bar and rising. She was a real piece of work. Label us the five local beer fiends that will be at the Bear Republic in Healdsburg.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from trevor trevor, Windsor, CA
(08/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great So So Great
The Blarney Sister's Irish Stout is like a Hershey bar in a glass - so fantastically rich, it's no wonder it's a gold medal winner! If you're in the mood for something with a kick, the chili ale pairs wonderfully with a salad or bbq'd oysters. If you're there on a busy night though, the wait staff can be less than attentive. Still well worth it for the fabulous brews!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Susan Susan, Petaluma, CA
(06/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So Lousy Good
Good beer, great selection to choose from. The beer was the reason to go, food was average, but the service might keep me from ever going back. The waitress basically just ignored us. My girlfriend got up 3 times and got stuff we needed from the wait station. The funny thing was, the manager saw us doing this and instead of fixing the problem came by and joked about how funny it was that we had to keep getting up and getting things for ourselves !!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Allen, TX
(06/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Beers are good, Bodega Head IPA a personal favorite, stong flavored, but clean finish. Food is great. BBQ'd Oysters every Weds in the spring are the best!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jessica Jessica, Santa Rosa, CA
(06/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
We tasted all of the beers (11!) and all but one was exactly within style and brewed very clean. I hope every beer lover gets to try these beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Colin Colin, Napa, CA
(08/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy So So
Some nice beers. Waitress with a real 'tude. Could hardly relax and enjoy. Wish they had a few more selections available that night....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Francesca Francesca, Petaluma, CA
(11/25/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
Had a nice dinner w/ a great pitcher of stout. Came back the next night and tried the Barley Wine....awesome! Definitely check this place out when in Santa Rosa.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Phillips Mark Phillips, Flagstaff, AZ
(07/15/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
The brewmistress gave us a nice tour and a lot of usefull info for me as a homebrewer. There were several very unique beers on tap, A suison, a rye, a fantastic Octoberfest and a wonderful stout. The selection was by far the most varied of all the micros I visited on my California 99 "Beer Hunter" tour with my friends. I highly recommend it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Whitbeck Pat Whitbeck, Canandaigua, NY
(11/13/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.395 seconds) 23:54:45 54.205.253.132, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS