PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


El Toro Brewing Company - Morgan Hill, CA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 17, 2014 @ 11:59 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CA > Morgan Hill > El Toro Brewing Company
El Toro Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
El Toro Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 75.9 / 100
170605 Monterey Road
Morgan Hill, CA 95037
United States
(408) 778-BREW
Listed Since: June 1996
Last Updated: July 2007
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Morgan Hill, CA
Beer Guide for California

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of El Toro Brewing Company
39 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Let's Brew
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) R & B Enterprises
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN COUNTRY INN
2) COMFORT INN MORGAN HILL
3) COURTYARD SAN JOSE SOUTH-MORGAN
4) EXECUTIVE INN - MORGAN HILL
5) EXTENDEDSTAY MORGAN HILL
6) MICROTEL INN AND SUITES
7) RESIDENCE INN MORGAN HILL-SJC S
8) The Inn at Morgan Hill
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Villa Mira Monte
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Baskin-Robbins
2) Breaktime Espresso Bar
3) Cornerstone Ice Cream Shop
4) Ernie's Bar & Grill
5) Fast Pizza Delivery
6) Happy Fisherman
7) Jack In The Box
8) Le Chinese Fast Food
9) M & H Tavern
10) Mama Mia Italian Restaurant
11) Melting Pot
12) Mi Casa Mexican Deli
13) Mr Hong's Chinese Fast Food
14) New York Pizza
15) Panda Express
16) Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake
17) Pizza Hut
18) Quail Canyon Inn
19) Quiznos Sub
20) Rivera's Club
21) Santa Maria
22) Second Street Coffee Exchange
23) Starbucks
24) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
25) Sweet Retreat
26) Willow Heights Mansion
27) Y'a Bon Espresso
28) Y'a Bon Espresso
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
The beer is so so, but the service is LOUSY (especailly by the owner, Cindy). Hours of operation state until 1:00 AM on Fri and Sat, but the owner decides to close whenever she wants, even if her paying customers are not finished. It is insane to ask your customers to leave at 10:30PM on a Saturday night when their hours of operation state 1 AM.

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY HERE! GO DOWN THE STREET TO ANY OF THE OTHER FINE ESTABLISHMENTS. TRY FUZIA.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Morgan HIll, CA
(11/03/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Lousy Lousy Lousy
we waited one hour for our dinner tonight(Friday) finally the owner said they lost the order.after 75 minutes, we got our food and part of our order was missing, so they gave us a reduced rate. beer was foggy and didn't taste right. other customers were complaining to the owner and she didn't seem concerned. We have eaten there several times before, because we are locals and eat in restaurants several times a week.Each time the service and food has gotten worse. The (female) owner doesn't make you feel welcome, even though she's seated us everytime. Tonight was our final straw and we will never go back.We have a group of locals that used to go there and we all of have similar issues with this place. Save your money and go to Ricatoni's where you will feel welcome and that your business is appreciated!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review morgan hill, CA
(10/15/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy Lousy
I have never been treated more like garbage in my life.

The first time I went there it was to have a beer and watch the Sharks game. There is a "Sharks Territory" poster hanging in the windows of the restaurant facing the street, so I assumed they'd be playing the game. Instead, they were playing basketball on all TVs. I asked my unfriendly waiter if they were going to play the Sharks game and he said they didn't get the channel. HOWEVER, after the basketball game ended, I watched him go over, get the remote and change the channel to the Sharks game. Not one to enjoy being lied to my face, I asked how he suddenly got the channel. He said he didn't know and walked away.

Ok, let's not judge on the first time I went there. Maybe it was a fluke. Take two, Saturday Oct. 17. I arrive at 5:00 p.m. to watch the baseball play-off game with my family (4 of us total). They have it playing on only one TV, so I request to sit in the one booth near that TV. Instead, the lady who owns the place berates the underage teenager who was about to seat me and tells me those tables are only for groups of 8. However, right next to this booth is an IDENTICAL booth. And what do I find sitting at that booth? A FAMILY OF FOUR. I ask why they got to sit 4 to a booth when I can't? The child labor-age waitress says "Oh, they got here early and we're expecting 150 people to come here any minute."

Let me get this straight, a family of 4 can sit at a booth for 8, but my family of 4 can't because of a hypothetical group that may or may not come to eat there? The restaurant was EMPTY (except for the other family of 4), yet I still can't sit near the ONE tv playing the MLB play-offs?

WOW. What a crock. Come to find out the town of Morgan Hill actually had to help this place financially by paying for their building. MAYBE if you treated your customers better, more would come eat there and you wouldn't need to BEG Morgan Hill residents to pay your rent??

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Morgan Hill, CA
(10/19/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
When I entered I saw 24 taps. I presumed the staple beers with a few of theirs. They we all El Toro Beers. One brewed in '04 and one in '05. Very nice. We had the meat loaf which was outstanding. I tried the Yo 968 and the Yo 1044. We sampled the Imperial Stout, the Deuce, (I bought a six pack of it) and a couple of other IPA's. Fantastic. We sat at the bar and the owner was serving and the husband brewer was about as well. I can't really comment on the wait staff as we sat at the bar. It was not crowded while we were there. This place is a must.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Allen, TX
(08/27/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
The day we were in the power was out. It was a city problem. It caused no problem at all in the brew pub. Sampled 10 beers all had nice color and flavor. They also had a number of fruit infused beers. My favorite was the El Toro IPA. The couple of hours we were there we played Trivia. If the regulars can have that much fun with no power, I will have to return when they do have power. Because of the lack of power we could not try the food, which came HIGHLY recommended by the evening chef. What a fun place with friendly people.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leo Leo, Redlands, CA
(07/02/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great So So Great
The selection here was awesome. They had over 20 house brews to choose from. We tried the Porter, the Poppy Jasper Amber, the Kellerbier (seasonal), and the Johhny Blaze. The porter was probably the weakest but still pretty good. The Johhny Blaze (an amber seasoned with Anise) was a real standout, with the remainder of the brews we tried being pretty darn good.

I was a bit disappointed that they were somehow "out" of pizza, since that is what I had my heart set on. My wife's BBQ bacon cheeseburger was spot on, as were the fish and chips that I settled on as a substitute for the pizza. We tried the hot dog tacos. They get points for novelty, but came across as something someone got from a Better Homes & Gardens magazine in the 70's. They were accompanied by rather mediocre slasa and guacomole that would make me think twice about ordering nachos.

All in all I would highly recommend this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Even Holmboe Even Holmboe, Pleasanton, CA
(01/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Good So So
Go for the beer! The menu is uninspiring and the food is just plain bad. I really, really wanted to like this place but I just cannot recommend it to anyone unless they change their menu and the chef.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Morgan Hill, CA
(12/20/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great So So Great
I've been a regular since the place opened. Beer has always been fantastic. Food started off quite shaky but has improved dramatically and I now very much enjoy eating there. Though the bartenders are excellent, I have to agree with many of the other comments noting that the service needs improvement and the bathrooms could be cleaner.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from A. Beer Drinker A. Beer Drinker, Morgan Hill, CA
(10/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! So So Good So So
I am a regular visitor to the El Toro Brewery and I have to say that things have improved since the opening in January. The two best things about the brewery are the beers and Bri, one of the waitresses. The beer is excellent, but the food is never really that good. If you go there ask for Bri because she is the best! Even if your food is bad, she will keep you laughing and will do her best to keep you happy. Even my in-laws loved her, which is saying a lot. Definately go there, but don't eat the dog tacos.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leonard Leonard, San Jose, CA
(09/01/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
I used to be a regular to the brewery on Hill Road and had the chance to visit the new brew pub twice, once back in May 2007 and now in Aug 2007. The beers are excellent and the service and food were very good. Oh, and did I mention the rest rooms? Clean! I do recommend that place!

Someone must have some beef with the owners otherwise I cannot explain the ranting about the "lousy service" and the "filthy rest rooms".

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Reno, NV
(08/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Lousy So So
Yes, their brews are stellar but that's just not enough to make up for the horrific service. I've been several times and it never got any better. The last time I went, we ended up walking out after being ignored at our table for about 20 minutes. It seems like the owners have their (young) girls hosting, too, which does not help. As for the food...deep-fried hot dogs?? Talk about an insult to the palate!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Morgan Hill, CA
(07/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
poor service, dirty bathrooms, overcooked burgers with no flavor. Don't the owners over smile. I will never return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from chris chris, mh, CA
(03/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
An axe to grind here?

The restrooms were nice every time I've been there!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jimmy Smith Jimmy Smith, Fremont, CA
(02/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Anyone lucky enough to live in Morgan Hill should visit this place. True, in the beginning things were a little crazy there but in my last several visits seems as though many of the early issues have been resolved.

The beers are absolutely first rate, with at least 15 on tap.

It is my understanding that they will also be brewing beer at this location as well, in smaller batches which should allow for some interesting experimentation. I had heard that they had some issues with getting the equipment up and running due to some contractor related snafus.

The food is very good for a brewpub.

I have had the BBQ sammich, the pulled pork sammich, the chicken breast sammich, and the patty melt. All were wonderful and compliment the beer nicely. They also run daily specials that I looking forward to trying.

The service was slow and spotty at the outset, but that is to be expected at opening. It has gotten consistantly better, and my tips to the servers reflect that.

I drive 37 miles from Fremont to go here.

Any locals that don't frequent or at least try out this place are really missing the boat, IMO. I wish El Toro was in Fremont!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jimmy Smith Jimmy Smith, Fremont, CA
(02/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Lousy So So
Poor service dirty bathrooms and too noisy. Probably won't go back again after 2 bad visits

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Morgan Hill, CA
(02/14/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Just an FYI. El Toro BC has opened their brewpub in d'town Morgan Hill at the corner of Monterey & Main. The brewery on Hill Road is still in operation but if you want to sample their beers you have to go to the brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(02/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great
The family run operation opened the doors to their brewpub back in late November. The newly erected building is split level and takes advantage of lots of windows and open constuction to promote a feeling of airiness. An outdoor patio is waiting for more favorable weather. Geno and his wife were working the bar and some of the kids were busing tables so it's definitely a family affair. They had eight of their beers on tap. Went through a pint each of the Poppy Jasper Amber, the IPA and the El Toro Negro Oatmeal Stout. I don't think you could lose with any of their beers but I'll always enjoy a pint of the stout when I stop in. The food menu has a few twists beyond standard pub grub like their "Dog Tacos" (cheese stuffed hot dogs wrapped in corn tortillas and deep fried). I had the Hawaiian Pulled Pork Sandwich which was loaded with some of the sweetest, juiciest pig I've ever had. Have to agree with a previous reviewer in that Geno doesn't quite seem to be in his element behind the bar. I noticed several customers trying to get has attention. Maybe when things get up and rolling he'll step back and turn over the reins to the staff. Love the custom made bar which is inlaid with, (what else?), Poppy Jasper. Hope things work out for them.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(02/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good So So Good
They never seem to clean the restrooms. I have seen better restroom at gas stations

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review M.H., CA
(02/01/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good So So So So
The lesson here is that no matter how good your product is, if your focus isn't squarely on customer service, you're on the road to ruin. I've been a huge fan (and drinker) of El Toro beers for many years. Geno is an incredibly talented brewmaster, but he doesn't have the customer service chops needed to be a successful restaurateur. He would be wise to consider hiring a seasoned restaurant manager to oversee the day-to-day activities at the pub and use his time to do what he does best. Brew world class beers. And lots of 'em.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Morgan Hill, CA
(01/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A N/A Great
I had the fortunate experience of getting to visit El Toro again in February. As usual, all their beers were top-notch and the staff was very gracious. I managed to secure a bomber of their barley wine-still waiting for that "right" time to open it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Davis R. Davis, Spring, TX
(04/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good
Very unique place to sample beer. All were pretty good, tending to be a bit on the hoppy side. If in the area it's worth the trip, can't wait till they finish the restaurant in Morgan Hill.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Marchlewicz Chris Marchlewicz, crosby, TX
(04/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
This is a nice little family run operation that is slightly off the beaten path but worth finding. Got a taste of the four beers they had available;golden,amber,IPA and the stout.Their amber is their signature brew but I walked out with a sixer of the Oatmeal Stout for later. They do have a nice little picnic/playground area that surely gets put to some use. A brewpub should be opening this summer barring any typical construction delays. It will be located in downtown Morgan Hill at the corner of Monterey Hwy. and Main St. Should be a good addition to a cute little town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(03/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Great
Nice location, great beer garden. Just a tasting room, but the people were nice enough. Thanks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Glenn, Bakersfield, CA
(02/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Since I live in Morgan Hill, I find it very convenient to stop in once a week for the best IPA I have ever tasted! This a very hoppy brew, so if that's your preference, you need to try it. Occasionally, a wheat beer is available, which is also Awesome. I'm My only issue is the place closes at 5pm, but that will be fixed soon when they open their pub in town (hopefully March '06).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hal Buddenbohm Hal Buddenbohm, Morgan Hill, CA
(01/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
El Toro is one of my favorite brewerys that I have to visit every couple of years. Tap room is inside a retro fitted barn that holds all of the brewing equipment. Just walk in and let Geno poor you some tasters. He is a character. The Deuce IPA is phenomenal! All hopheads would love this ale. Nicely balanced with a great hoppy blast. Poppy Jasper amber ale is their flagship ale. Smooth maltiness with a subtle hop crispness. Very easy drinking ale. Buy a bottle of the Bravo Barley Wine. I let a bottle age an additional year and what a treat! It was brewed about 3 years ago. El Toro does not distribute their beer, you have to go and get it yourself. Well worth it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Diane Van Wagner Diane Van Wagner, Burbank, CA
(03/30/2005)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.269 seconds) 23:59:22 54.211.113.223, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS