PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Pleasanton Main Street Brewery - Pleasanton, CA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 21, 2014 @ 05:28 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CA > Pleasanton > Pleasanton Main Street Brewery
Pleasanton Main Street Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Pleasanton Main Street Brewery
Overall: Good    Score: 68.2 / 100
830 Main Street
Pleasanton, CA 94566
United States
(925) 462-8218
Listed Since: June 1996
Last Updated: April 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Pleasanton, CA
Beer Guide for California

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
11 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Sunshine Saloon
(0 mile)

2) Eddie Papa's American Hangout
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Evergreen Bed & Breakfast
2) Plum Tree Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERISUITES DUBLIN
2) CANDLEWOOD SUITES PLEASANTON
3) COMFORT INN LIVERMORE
4) COURTYARD LIVERMORE
5) COURTYARD PLEASANTON
6) EXTENDEDSTAY DUBLIN
7) EXTENDEDSTAY LIVERMORE
8) FOUR POINTS SHERATON PLEASANTO
9) GUESTHOUSE INN & SUITES
10) HAMPTON INN LIVERMORE
11) HILTON GARDEN INN LIVERMORE
12) HILTON PLEASANTON AT THE CLUB
13) LIVERMORE RESIDENCE INN
14) OAKWOOD DUBLIN
15) OAKWOOD WEST PLEASANTON
16) RAMADA INN PLEASANTON
17) SIERRA SUITES PLEASANTON
18) SUMMERFIELD SUITES PLEASANTON
19) SYNERGY ARCHSTONE EMERALD
20) THE ROSE HOTEL
21) WYNDHAM GARDEN PLEASANTON
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Elliston
2) Heathcote--MacKenzie House
3) Kottinger, John W., Adobe Barn
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Alberto's Cantina
2) Apple Bay East Inc
3) Baci Restaurant
4) Barone's Restaurant
5) Bernal Cafe & Deli
6) Blessings Oriental & Mandarin
7) Blue Agave Club
8) Blue Dolphin
9) Bob's Giant Burgers
10) Bon Vivant Catering
11) Bruno's Italian Cuisine
12) C & K California Classic Ctrng
13) Cafe Dansk
14) Casa Madrid
15) Claude & Dominique Bistro
16) Dean's Cafe
17) Domino's Pizza
18) El Portal Mexican Cafe
19) Emilio's Mexican Restaurant
20) First Hunan Chef Wong Chinese
21) First Hunan Chef Wong Chinese
22) First Street Cafe
23) Fontina Ristorante
24) Garlex Pizza & Ribs
25) Gay 90's Pizza Co-Pleasanton
26) Gimanelli's Creative Catering
27) Gimanelli's Delicatessen
28) Gourmet Cafe
29) Haps Original Steaks & Seafood
30) Headlands Associates
31) High Tech Burrito
32) Hosted By Annette
33) India Gate Restaurant
34) Jack In The Box
35) Jim's Country Style Restaurant
36) Joanie's Creative Catering
37) Las Palomas Taqueria
38) Loard's Ice Cream & Candies
39) Main Event
40) Mc Donald's
41) Me & Mai Friend's Deli Cafe
42) Meadowlark Dairy
43) Meiko
44) Mika's Espresso
45) Miraglia Catering
46) Momi Ji Japanese Restaurant
47) Mountain Mike's Pizza
48) Mountain Mike's Pizza
49) New Rochelle Restaurant
50) New York Pizza
51) Panda Restaurant
52) Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake
53) Pasta's Trattoria
54) Pho Hoa Restaurant
55) Pizza Hut
56) Pleasanton Hotel
57) Pleasanton House Thai Cuisine
58) Quiznos Sub
59) R Ring Enterprises Inc
60) Rising Loafer Cafe & Bakery
61) Round Table Pizza
62) Senro Japanese Bar & Grill
63) Silver Pallet Market Rstrnt
64) Stable Cafe
65) Stacey's Cafe
66) Starbucks
67) Strizzi's Restaurant
68) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
69) Swensen's Ice Cream
70) Taco Bell
71) Teriyaki Plus
72) Tomo Sushi Bar & Grill
73) Tong's Chinese Cuisine
74) Tully's Coffee
75) Twisted Pizza
76) Union Jack Pub
77) Vic's All Star Kitchen
78) Vineyards
79) Yat Sing Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good
I was a bit disappointed in the beer selection. Only 4 house brews listed, and they were out of one. There were about 10 guest taps, but all standard run-of-the mill selections I could have picked up at the local grocery.

The food was decent. We had the dilly boppers (fried dill pickles) which were OK, but I have had better. The sampler platter with a variety of cheeses, salami, and fruit was a joke. The onion rings were pretty good though, as were the fries. The Guiness gouda burger had the potential to be one of the best burgers I have ever had but was spoiled by the rather pedestrian bun (straight from the grocery store).

I tried all three of the house brews that were available. The Mocha porter was pretty good. The IPA was suprisingly good, given that I am not much of an IPA fan. The Strawberry hefeweizen was rather ordinary.

Service was friendly, but I did have to wait a while between beers. I asked for a beer list but one wasn't available, which was odd considering there were only three house brews available.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Even Holmboe Even Holmboe, Pleasanton, CA
(11/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Zone 7 Porter was Great, as was the IPA. Service was okay, it was a Friday evening and very busy. The bartender seemed to have short attention span and maybe ADD. Went off right in the middle of our order, not to return until 10 minutes later. I had the Philly Cheesesteak and was not too impressed. But inspite of my negativity, I enjoy the place. Patrons and workers are very friendly

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(06/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Definitely a local-friendly place. Perpetual Mardi Gras decor. Tried three of the house brews ; the Train Wreck IPA (7.1% & very hoppy), The Zone 7 Porter (6.9%) and their seasonal Red Leaf Winter Ale (8.9%). Some strong beers. The Zone 7 gets my vote. They also had a small handful of guest taps to go along with a full bar. Big menu for a small kitchen. Had a Teriyaki chicken sandwich that was a napkins worst nightmare but it was yummy. Small outdoor patio with a great view of the historic Pleasanton Hotel across the street. Worth stopping in should you be in the 'hood but not worth a major effort.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(01/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good So So So So
I was there on Saturday, 8/28/04. I was immediately dissapointed to find they were out of the house IPA (nitro charged- interesting) so I went with the Pleasanton Pale Ale. I'll be honest, if I'm the owner of this place, I'd be embarrassed to sell this beer. It was obviously green, that is, not properly conditioned. Another month in the keg and maybe it's drinkable. I have to wonder why he would rush it to the tap. I just can't fathom a professional brewer allowing this beer to be served. Further, Our waitress seemed to have little real knowlege about the beers and almost no information about them was available on the menu or posted elsewhere. This says to me that good beer is not the priority it should be here.

The food was decent (at least there was plenty of it), the service was kinda slow. I personally did not care at all for the interior of the place. It was very much like a pool hall or trashy corner beer joint, complete with old drunks at the bar. The brewery itself is very small and looked dirty. Also seemed to be used as storage space. Based on my experience, I can't reccommend the Main Street Brewery and I certainly won't go out of my way to try it again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Peterson Matt Peterson, Concord, CA
(08/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
I frequent this place as often as I can, but I am not too far either. I think their IPA is awesome and their guest beers are generally a good selection. The food is wonderful, I have never had anything that I didn't like, but the Gouda Guiness Burger is a must try! It's hard to try something different once you have had one of those burgers. Overall when I am in downtown that is my destination stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Frank Frank, Fremont, CA
(10/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
This brewery was in the center of town, well off the Interstate about 2 miles. I am glad I stopped in. It is a MUST to go to. They had a Rolling Black-out IPA, a Zone 7 Porter, Pleasanton Pale Ale, a Summer Wheat and a red Leaf Ale. My wife and I are usually stout and porter drinkers. We enjoyed the Summer Wheat the best with the Zone 7 Porter as a very close second. This porter was extra "Roasty." The Red Leaf Ale was very strong. All we had at the time was the Zuccini appetizer. It was wonderful. We would really like to go back and try the food. It looked and smelled great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Brian, Moreno Valley, CA
(08/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good
I was disappointed to only find three house brewed beers (light lager, pale ale and porter), but somewhat impressed with the quality of some of the dozen or so guest beers. The guest taps included Sierra Nevada Big Foot, Alaskan Smoked Porter, Hoptown DUIPA (on nitrogen), Lagunitas Czech Pils, Hook and Ladder Grass Fire Wheat and several others. I had a house porter and a Alaskan Smoked Porter. I did not eat here and the crowd was so light on a Wednesday night that a comment on the service is not appropriate either. This brewpub is on the north end of historic Main Street just across from the Pleasanton Hotel. If I was only making one stop in Pleasanton, it would be at the Hop Yard, but this place would be OK as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(04/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good So So So So
An "ok" place to grab a beer if you happen to be in the neighborhood, but surely not worth treking to...//TSB

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bis Bis, San Diego, CA
(10/23/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good
the atmosphere is quite relaxing, and on weekends there are live musical groups. Food is OK- nothing outstanding but not bad either. Downtown atmosphere is the main attraction.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Susan Herzog Susan Herzog, Livermore, CA
(10/09/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good
Big place in the oldtown section of Pleasanton. Four beers of their own + several microbrews on tap. Pretty good food. Nice, but not a destination pub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Garcia Jim Garcia, El Toro, CA
(03/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So Lousy
I was very disappointed. The music was too loud, and the beer not that good. The selection was poor. The place looks nice from the outside, but I won't go there again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, Fort Collins, CO
(08/27/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.526 seconds) 05:28:07 54.197.111.87, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS