PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Karl Strauss Brewery Gardens - Sorrento Mesa, CA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 24, 2014 @ 04:36 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CA > Sorrento Mesa > Karl Strauss Brewery Gardens
Karl Strauss Brewery Gardens Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Karl Strauss Brewery Gardens
Overall: Great    Score: 79.3 / 100
9675 Scranton Road
Sorrento Mesa, CA 92121
United States
(858) 587-BREW
Listed Since: January 1998
Last Updated: May 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Sorrento Mesa, CA
Beer Guide for California

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Karl Strauss Brewery Gardens
16 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(9 within 5 miles)
1) Airdale Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Hops! Bistro and Brewery
(2 miles)

3) Oggi's Pizza and Brewing Company was Stuft Pizza
(4 miles)

4) Karl Strauss Brewery Restaurant
(4 miles)

5) Rock Bottom Brewery
(4 miles)

6) BJ's Pizza and Grill
(4 miles)

7) LaJolla Brew House was Beach House Brewery
(4 miles)

8) La Jolla Brew House
(4 miles)

9) Porter's Pub
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bed & Breakfast Inn-LA Jolla
2) Little Lodge of LA Jolla
3) Prospect Park Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN INN BY THE SEA
2) BEST WESTERN STRATFORD INN
3) CALIFORNIA SUITES
4) CLARION CRGH DEL MAR INN
5) COURTYARD SAN DIEGO CENTRAL
6) DAYS INN LA JOLLA / SEA WORLD
7) DEL MAR MOTEL ON THE BEACH
8) DOUBLETREE DEL MAR
9) EMBASSY SUITES LA JOLLA
10) EMPRESS HOTEL
11) ESTANCIA LA JOLLA HOTEL & SPA
12) GRANDE COLONIAL LA JOLLA
13) HAMPTON INN DEL MAR
14) HAMPTON INN SAN DIEGO KRN
15) HILTON LA JOLLA TORREY PINES
16) HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS & SUITES
17) HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS LA JOLLA
18) HOTEL PARISI
19) HYATT REGENCY LA JOLLA
20) L'AUBERGE DEL MAR RESORT & SPA
21) LA JOLLA BEACH AND TENNIS
22) LA JOLLA COVE SUITES
23) LA JOLLA RESIDENCE INN
24) LA VALENCIA HOTEL
25) MARRIOTT SAN DIEGO DEL MAR
26) MARRIOTT SAN DIEGO LA JOLLA
27) OAKWOOD LA JOLLA UTC SOUTH
28) PIDGEON AT COSTA VERDE
29) PRIME HOTEL & SUITES SAN DIEGO
30) RADISSON LA JOLLA
31) RAMADA INN CONF CTR
32) RESIDENCE INN SAN DIEGO CENTRAL
33) RESIDENCE INN SORRENTO MESA
34) SEA LODGE ON LAJOLLA SHORES
35) THE LODGE AT TORREY PINES
36) TL LA JOLLA BEACH
37) WOODFIN SUITE HOTEL SAN DIEGO
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Fleming, Guy and Margaret, House
2) Kinsey, Martha, House
3) La Jolla Women's Club
4) Red Rest and Red Roost Cottages
5) Scripps, George H., Memorial Marine Biological Laboratory
6) Torrey Pines Lodge
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Abbey's Real Texas BBQ
2) Aesop's Tables Greek Cafe
3) Aladdin Mediterranean Espress
4) Arby's
5) Associated Microbreweries
6) Atlanta West Catering
7) B J's Pizza & Grill
8) Beach House Coffee
9) Behind The Scenes
10) Brothers Restaurant
11) Brothers Restaurant
12) Brothers Restaurant
13) Bueno Marketing Inc
14) Burger King
15) Buster's Windy City Dogs
16) Cafe Design Catering
17) Cafe Japengo
18) California Pizza Kitchen
19) Centerpark Cafe
20) Champ's Pub & Deli
21) Chicago On A Bun
22) Chicks Natural
23) Chili's Grill & Bar
24) Chopahn
25) Chopahn Authentic Afghan Csn
26) Coast Cafe
27) Coco's Family Restaurant
28) Coffee Time Deli
29) Come On In Cafe
30) Corner House Cafe & Pizzeria
31) Corporate Cafe
32) Cozymel's Coastal Mexican
33) Creative Deli
34) Creative Host Svc Inc
35) Daily's Restaurant
36) Dancer's
37) Daphne's Greek Cafe
38) Deli House
39) Deli House
40) Dominic's Deli
41) Domino's Pizza
42) Donovan's Restaurant
43) East Coast Deli Cafe Co
44) Edo Sushi
45) Einstein Brothers Bagels
46) El Torito Mexican Restaurant
47) Feast On This Inc
48) Fiesta Mexican Grille
49) Fleming's Prime Steakhouse
50) Garcia's Authentic Mexican
51) Garden Court
52) Good Morning San Diego
53) Good Morning San Diego Inc
54) Grandma's Kitchen
55) Great Gyros Inc
56) Greek Cafe
57) Green Light Cafe & Deli
58) Grill & Market
59) Grill The
60) Hops Bistro & Brewery
61) Humphrey's La Jolla Grill
62) Ich Corp
63) Island Boy Grill
64) Islands Restaurant
65) Jamba Juice
66) Java Shack
67) K C's Tandoor
68) Kabul West
69) Kabul West House Of Kabobs
70) Karl Strauss Brewery Gardens
71) KFC
72) Kings Garden Mira Mesa Inc
73) Knockout Pizzeria
74) Koo Koo Roo
75) KOZY Korner Deli
76) La Salsa Restaurant
77) Le Peep
78) Los Primos
79) Lucita's Mexican Cafe
80) Lunch Bunch Delicatessen
81) Lyons Of California
82) Magic Wok Enterprises
83) Mamma Lina's Ravioli Co
84) Mandarin Express
85) Marketplace Grille
86) Mc Donald's
87) Mc Donald's
88) Nexus Executive Deli
89) Nico's Taco Shop
90) Oasis Brand Inc
91) Oberlin Deli
92) Osteam Inc
93) P F Chang's China Bistro
94) P J's Coffee & Tea
95) Palomino Restaurant
96) Panda Country Restaurant
97) Panda Express
98) Panda Express
99) Party Pals
100) Pascucci Family Pasta
101) Pasquales Ristorante
102) Pasta Bravo
103) Pazza Pizza
104) Peking Palace Iii
105) Phinders Deli
106) Pick Up Stix
107) Pit Stop Deli
108) Porter's Student Pub
109) Quick Stop Cafe
110) Quickly
111) Quizno's Classic Subs
112) Quiznos Sub
113) Randee's Closet Cafe
114) Regents Pizzeria
115) Rigel Inc
116) Rock Bottom Restaurant & Brwry
117) Roma Espresso Systems
118) Roy's La Jolla
119) Rubio's Baja Grill
120) Rubio's Fresh Mexican Grill
121) Rubio's Restaurants
122) Rubio's Restaurants Inc
123) Ruth's Chris Steak House
124) Sammy's California Woodfired
125) Samurai Sam's Teriyaki Grill
126) Sandwich A Fare
127) Sandwich House
128) Sandwich House 2
129) Sandwich Island
130) Savory Q
131) Sawaddy Thai Restaurant
132) Sbarro
133) Sea Grill
134) Shogun Of La Jolla
135) Silk Road Chinese Fast Food
136) Sima's Grill & Deli
137) Smiedt Josephson Inc
138) Sonic River Studios Inc
139) Sorrento Cafe
140) Sorrento Deli Mart
141) Sorrento Pizza
142) Sorrento Plaza Deli
143) Spices Thai Cafe
144) St Tropez Bakery & Bistro
145) Starbucks
146) Starbucks
147) Starbucks
148) Starbucks
149) Sub King
150) Submarina Sorrento Mesa
151) Submarina Sorrento Mesa Ii
152) Submarina Sorrento Valley
153) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
154) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
155) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
156) Sulton Grill
157) Sunflowers Cafe & Bakery
158) Sunny Deli
159) Sunrise Cafe
160) Super Fries & Dogs
161) Sybra Inc
162) Tacone Wraps
163) Taste Of India
164) Teriyaki House
165) Tgi Friday's
166) Thai Chada Restaurant
167) Tiki Hut Island Grille
168) Tim's Deli
169) Togo's Eatery
170) Tokyo Express
171) Trophy's Restaurants
172) Tutto Mare Ristorante
173) Wazwan Indian Cuisine
174) Wendy's
175) Wild Thyme Co
176) Wine Sellar & Brasserie
177) Woks Up
178) Yokozuna's
179) Yummy Maki Yummy Box
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
my job requires a bit of traveling so I am always looking for good food and beer when I am out and about. Well i was lucky enough to stumble upon both! The beer is good enough that they could serve slop and get away with it...no but that is not the case. The chef and kitchen staff put out amazing food! whether it be for Sunday brunch or a busy lunch...hands down the best place for a drink and a meal! thank you Karl Strauss!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review acron, OH
(03/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Great Good
Of the several brewpubs I visited in San Diego, this was the most disappointing.

Their beer is simply not interesting, and not particularly good examples of its respective styles. The IPA was particularly disappointing after having so many good IPAs at other brewpubs in the area. I generally order a sampler and then pick one (or two) to follow up with a pint, but none were worth ordering.

The food I tried was average--the "Fuego"? burger was good, but the fries were not.

The garden atmosphere is nice.

The service was actually very good, considering that they were slammed but I still received good service at the bar.

In general, if you have a short time in the area, give this place a pass and work your way up to Stone Brewing, which has better beer and food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Kelly Brian Kelly, Dunwoody, GA
(05/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Awesome!
I've been visiting Karl Struass breweries since their inception. When is comes to brewing beer in San Diego, KS is The Man.

If you find someone dissing KS on here it's alsmost assuredly a local competitor jealous of the success they know they'll never have.

Stone, whatever, that's a cruel joke to suggest they even come close in brew ability. I'm afraid our friend has deadened his tastebuds with too many Miller's and Bud's.

Besides no one goes to a Stone brew Pub to get laid. On the other hand there's plenty of live fish to pull outta Sorrento Gardens on a Friday night and I'm not talking about Koi.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Thomas Leeman Thomas Leeman, San Diego, CA
(02/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! So So Great
I ate dinner here with a large (15) group of guys who were in a training class together. The atmosphere was excellent enough to warrant another visit the next time I return to San Diego. The food selection was impressive for a brew pub and the quality was slightly higher than the average brew pub fare. I was here on a weeknight and after-work crowd was starting to fill the place up. There was plenty of "eye-candy" to go around for everyone - both from the waitress staff and the clientelle. I am returning to San Diego next month and am looking forward to eating here again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BD Reed BD Reed, Elk Grove, CA
(06/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
Karl Strauss has several locations in the San Diego area, I went to the one is La Jolla. The heffeweizen was excellent, as was the IPA. The Porter was good. Try the sampler if you go, and don't get the pre-sleceted 6 beers, you can customize to get what you want. The service was good, we were seated right away, and the food was pretty good, though the beer was the real treat. Worth a visit for any beer lover visiting San Diego.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Ware Chris Ware, Fairfax, VA
(10/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Our server was amazing I believe his name was martin. And the hostess defenately made us feel very welsome.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Anton Anton, mira mesa, CA
(10/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
Very nice surroundings, A Heron even swooped down for a dip with the Koi fish in the pond. The Sun brunch is great and features a wide high quality variety of foods, from omelet bars, turkey,prime rib station to Sushi of decent quality. The only thing bad is poor Karl Strauss couldn't brew a decent beer to save his life. I keep trying differnt styles of their beers, but they all resemble a bad budwhacker.Hey Karl ever heard or tried a Lagunitas or Stone??????

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review San Diego, CA
(06/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Odd location and theme, kind of an Asian arboretum with gardens and ponds. Most of the same house beers as the downtown location. The stout here was mainstream in body, IPA would have rated better as a pale ale. Should have tried the two strong ales on tap instead.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(01/30/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bis Bis, San Diego, CA
(10/22/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good So So
OK, first the highlights: BEAUTIFUL place, wonderful surroundings, PERFECT date destination. Of the four plates of food ordered at our table, none were worth a second mention other than they were competantly done. No standouts. Of the three different beers ordered at our table, only one, the dry-hopped brown, would muster a second fill of the glass or a reorder on a second visit. Did I mention that the place was full of gorgeous women?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, San Diego, CA
(05/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great Good
I hate to be a wet blanket, but I think Karl Strauss beers (at all locations) are pretty bland. Not bad, just a tad boring. Best of the bunch last visit (Mar. 99) was the specialty, Black's Beach Dark. They couldn't tell me much about it's style so I'll describe it as similar to an alt. The gardens are really beautiful, though, and the food great (huge portions). A wonderful place to spend Sunday afternoon listening to live music.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Moondoggie Moondoggie, Ogden Dunes, IN
(03/26/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Best Brew in town!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, Yorba Linda, CA
(03/15/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Located in an industrial area, several acres of gardens, a fish pond with waterfall, and super atmosphere makes this one of my favorite places to go when visiting San Diego. Kind of hard to find but worth the effort!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Hoey Jim Hoey, St. Leonard, MD
(05/02/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
all their beers are tasty

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marge Jakubisin Marge Jakubisin, Seattle, WA
(01/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
Fantasic!! Great beer. Great food. Sat at the bar and the bartenders were great!! The grounds are gorgeous, too. Wish we had one like this in Atlanta!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John McClure John McClure, Marietta, GA
(11/22/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kent Kent, Folsom, CA
(11/21/1997)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.229 seconds) 04:36:52 23.20.149.27, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS