PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Rubicon Brewing Company - Sacramento, CA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 19, 2014 @ 09:59 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CA > Sacramento > Rubicon Brewing Company
Rubicon Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Rubicon Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 78 / 100
2004 Capitol Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95816
United States
(916) 448-7032
Last Updated: June 2010
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Sacramento, CA
Beer Guide for California

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
30 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(12 within 5 miles)
1) River Rock Tap House
(0 mile)

2) BonnLair
(0 mile)

3) Brew It Up! Personal Brewery and Grill
(2 miles)

4) O'Mally's Irish Pub
(2 miles)

5) Pyramid Alehouse, Brewery and Restaurant
(2 miles)

6) Streets of London Pub
(2 miles)

7) Hoppy Brewing Company
(2 miles)

8) Sacramento Brewing Company's Oasis
(2 miles)

9) Fox and Goose
(2 miles)

10) River City Brewing
(2 miles)

11) Red, White and Brew
(2 miles)

12) Lynch's Hogshead Brewery and Pub
(2 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Amber House Bed & Breakfast
2) Capitol Park Bed & Breakfast
3) Hartley House Bed & Breakfast
4) Inn At Parkside B & B
5) Residence Inn
6) Savoyard Bed & Breakfast
7) Vizcaya in
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN EXPO INN
2) BEST WESTERN SANDMAN MOTEL
3) BEST WESTERN SUTTER HOUSE
4) CANDLEWOOD SUITES SACRAMENTO
5) CLARION HOTEL SACRAMENTO
6) COMFORT SUITES DOWNTOWN
7) COURTYARD SACRAMENTO
8) COURTYARD SACRAMENTO AIRPORT
9) DELTA KING HOTEL
10) DOUBLETREE HOTEL SACRAMENTO
11) ECONO LODGE SACRAMENTO
12) ECONO LODGE SACRAMENTO
13) EMBASSY STES SAC RVERFRNT
14) EXTENDEDSTAY ARDEN WAY
15) EXTENDEDSTAY NORTHGATE
16) GOOD NITE INN SACRAMENTO
17) GUEST SUITES ADAGIO
18) HAMPTON INN AND STES SACRAMEN
19) HAWTHORN SUITES
20) HGI SACRAMENTO SOUTH NATOMAS
21) HILTON SACRAMENTO ARDEN WEST
22) HOMESTEAD SACRAMENTO
23) HYATT REGENCY SACRAMENTO
24) INN AT PARKSIDE
25) INN OFF CAPITOL PARK
26) LA QUINTA INN SACRAMENTO DWTWN
27) QUALITY INN DOWNTOWN
28) RADISSON HOTEL SACRAMENTO
29) RAMADA LIMITED DISCOVERY PARK
30) RED LION HOTEL SACRAMENTO
31) RED ROOF INN
32) RESIDENCE INN SOUTH NATOMAS
33) SACRAMENTO NEAR DISCOVERY PARK
34) SACRAMENTO TRAVELODGE DOWNTOWN
35) SHERATON GRAND SACRAMENTO HTL
36) SUPER 8 SACRAMENTO ST CAPITOL
37) VAGABOND INN EXECUTIVE CALEXPO
38) VAGABOND INN OLD TOWN
39) VAGABOND INN SACRAMENTO MIDTWN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Alkali Flat Central Historic District
2) Alkali Flat North Historic District
3) Alkali Flat West Historic District
4) Blue Anchor Building
5) California Governor's Mansion
6) Calpak Plant No. 11
7) Capitol Extension District
8) Coolot Company Building
9) Cranston--Geary House
10) Crocker, E. B., Art Gallery
11) Dunlap's Dining Room
12) Eastern Star Hall
13) Fire Station No. 6
14) Firehouse No. 3
15) First Pacific Coast Salmon Cannery Site
16) Galarneaux, Mary Haley, House
17) Goethe House
18) Greene, John T., House
19) Heilbron House
20) Hotel Regis
21) Hotel Senator
22) Howe, Edward P., Jr., House
23) Hubbard-Upson House
24) I Street Bridge
25) J Street Wreck
26) Johnson, J. Neely, House
27) Judah, Theodore, School
28) Kuchler Row
29) Lais, Charles, House
30) Libby McNeil and Libby Fruit and Vegetable Cannery
31) Merchants National Bank of Sacramento
32) Merrium Apartments
33) Mesick House
34) Old Tavern
35) Pony Express Terminal
36) Ruhstaller Building
37) Sacramento Bank Building
38) Sacramento City Library
39) Sacramento Masonic Temple
40) Sacramento Memorial Auditorium
41) Sacremento Hall of Justice
42) Southern Pacific Railroad Company's Sacramento Depot
43) Stanford-Lathrop House
44) Sutter's Fort
45) Tower Bridge
46) Travelers' Hotel
47) U.S. Post Office, Courthouse and Federal Building
48) Van Voorhies House
49) Wagner, Anton, Duplex
50) Wetzlar, Julius, House
51) Winters House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 10 Downing Street Restaurant
2) Anthony's Grill
3) Augusto's
4) Bacon's Tavern
5) Bem & Bem
6) Blue Cafe
7) Bravo Pizza
8) Bravo Pizza
9) Chef's Diner
10) Chelsy's
11) Chicago Pizza & Deli
12) Chuck E Cheese's
13) Coffee Cup Restaurant
14) Cracker Barrel Old Country Str
15) Crepe Myrtle
16) Cugino's Pizza & Pasta
17) Dairy Queen
18) Elizabethan Tea Shop
19) Fino Pizza
20) Fioravanti Continental Cuisine
21) Game Room Bar & Grill
22) Georgio's Pizza & Deli
23) Georgio's Restaurant
24) Gingerbread Kids Activity Bake
25) Hibachi Of Downingtown
26) Italian Village Pizza & Beer
27) King Buffet
28) LA Gran Parada LLC
29) Letour Dujour
30) Luigi & Giovanni Ristorante
31) Max & Erma's
32) Mc Donald's
33) Milltown Grill At
34) Mom's Bake At Home Pizza
35) Nice Chinese Restaurant
36) Old Country Buffet
37) Patty's Place Family Rstrnt
38) Pearl Palace Chinese Rstrnt
39) Piazza
40) Pizza Hut
41) Polish Water Ice
42) Pretzel Dog Depot
43) Primavera Pizza Kitchen
44) Quiznos
45) S & S Corporate Catering
46) Sam's Pizza
47) Samovar A Russian Tea Shop
48) Starbucks
49) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
50) Thai De Cafe
51) Victory Brewing Co
52) Wings To Go
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Stopped in on a busy Saturday night (graduation weekend) and found the one remaining open table. The service was pretty good, considering. Tried the fettuccine alfredo which seemed rich and cheesy (good stuff). Enjoyed the pomegranate cider, E.S.B., and the Monkey Knife Fight Pale Ale...all of which were pleasing. Looking forward to returning here for a second experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth N Kenneth N, Brookings, OR
(05/22/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Very cool place. They were having a guest tap special so the place was absolutely packed, but i still never saw the bottom of my glass before someone was asking to fill it. Great IPA.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate Nate, Racine, WI
(12/15/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
I haven't been to the Rubicon in over 3 yrs, I just moved back to Sac from Seattle. I must say that the beer is still as I remember, awesome! When the Server came over to take our order, she still remembered what beer we drank! Now if that isn't customer service then there is something wrong in the intergalactic heavens! The food menu has been updated and is a lot better than it used to be. They kept the Rubicon staple favorites though. If your looking for some great beer, good food, and that mid-town atmosphere then this is the brewery for you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jamie Jamie, Sacramento, CA
(04/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
For many years Rubicon has had by far the best beer in Sacramento. Over the past couple of years the food quality has improved to be a great compliment to the beer. Almost every thing on the menu is tasty, and bar food selection is very good. Nice atmosphere and good people.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tim, Sacramento, CA
(01/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
Rubicon is the best brewpub in Sacramento, hands down. Their seasonal beers are consistantly outstanding and the regular brews are great. Rubicon has 7-9 on tap, usually with 2 seasonals. Good quality and reasonably priced pub food. This is also the unofficial second home of Two Rivers Cider, which is one of the best ciders in the US.

A true, local neighborhood brewpub that supports the community and is filled with locals.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Dan, Sacramento, CA
(10/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(07/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
A very popular place with locals. The food is always very good and very consistent. The food is better then most brew pubs. The service is always great - very friendly and accommodating. I've been going here for 10+ years. Outside dining available. Sunday morning breakfast until noon is very popular and is awesome.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Sanborn Tom Sanborn, Sacramento, CA
(06/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great
Well I live in midtown Sac and this place is great! I love walking over there and sitting outside drinking beer and people watching. The best thing about it for me is the outside seating is dog friendly. Just ask the people around you if they mind your dog and its that easy never had a problem. As for the beer a strong standard selection always even flavored good recipes. A must stop for any beer lover in or visting Sacramento.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Taylor Taylor, Sacramento, CA
(05/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Rubicon is snuggled in the maze of one-way streets of downtown Sacto and has the great ambiance of a local hangout.Having gone there on a stormy New Years afternoon, business was slow but I've gone by when parking was non-existent and the place was jamming. Desite a scaled down staff because of the holiday, service was excellent. The food menu is standard pub grub but my chicken club sandwich was great.With 7 beers on tap, tried a pint each of the Amber(5%) and Irish Red Ale(5%). Both were distinctive and very drinkable. Worth a visit but pay attention to those "One Way" street signs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(01/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Lousy So So
I stopped by today to drop off two 5 kegs that I have had filled there before, but the server behind the bar was unwilling to accept my kegs and money. Last time I did this they took my kegs, cash, and called me a couple of days later when they were filled – PEFECT.

How difficult can it be to take my name, number, cash, and then call me when the kegs are full?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chuck Bird Chuck Bird, Orangevale, CA
(12/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
This place was recommended by the bartender over at Pyramid, oddly enough. The beer here is excellent. I live about 5 hours away and make a special trip to go here when in town. The have an englsh style ale called "Goldfinger" that is excellent. The stout I had the first time there was very good as well. I met great people to talk to each time as well. Just a excellent place to start out or end up. Highly recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Robert, San Luis Obispo, CA
(06/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Like the "local pub" feel of Rubicon. Good beer and good food. I'll be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Peterson Matt Peterson, Concord, CA
(06/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great So So Awesome!
Loved the opportunity to have beer with with breakfast (breakfast served on weekends to 11:30 or 12). This pub was pretty busy, service was not speedy, but ok. Tried chorizo scramble and fajita omelette special-very very tasty. IPA was AWESOME. Irish Red was very good. Comfortable, friendly atmosphere. Overall great brewpub experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marc and Nicole Mytels Marc and Nicole Mytels, Carlsbad, CA
(03/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Awesome! Great
Having just left a yuppy brew pub without ordering, this place was a welcome site. We had no trouble parking right in front, and parking was free. The three of us brothers from E Clampus Vitus were served promptly from the bar. Here you seat yourself, so we found a table in this busy place. We started with a pitcher of which I think is a special seasonal brew called Ol' Moe's Porter. It was supreme. The malt was not overbearing like some porters are, but it was very delicious and Strong! We ordered some vittle's. The prices were very reasonable, especially in comparison to the Yuppy pub we had left. I ordered a veggie sandwich which came with tortilla chips. It was satisfactory. One of my brothers ordered the special of the day which was a B.B.Q. Bacon Cheddar Burger which came served with waffle fries. He reported it was pretty Damn good. Our order was delivered pretty quickly. We next ordered a pitcher of Irish Red Ale which was a very nice ale and it was not overly hoppy. The prices I thought were pretty excellant, only $9.51 a pitcher, and it wasn't happy hour. The service could only be described as perfect and efficient. The waitress (I think her name was Lucinda?) was always ready to take our order, and appeared to be quite hip about the different brews. The view is great with large pane glass windows to watch the downtown neighborhood characters. It was as good as watching TV. The clientle appeared to be just everyday, down to earth folks, including some good looking ladies. The only reason that I rated the beer selection as good was because they were out of the Chech Pilsner which I had wanted to try. Kegs and growlers were available to go. One of the employees was also a Clamper who sat down and talked with us for awhile, which was a nice surprise. Will I be back? Damn Right! I want to check out a few of the other brew pubs in the area first though. Great job Rubicon. Thanks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Freebyrd Freebyrd, Sacramento, CA
(01/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
The beer here is good, and we were lucky enough to get a sample of the barleywine from the brewmaster--quite tasty! The brewmaster seemed reluctant to point us in the direction of other brewpubs in the area and seemed a little too comfortable in his position. It's not the best beer in the area, but it isn't bad either. The shrimp bisque was really good though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from P & J P & J, Pittsburgh, PA
(07/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
Two rivers cider is grand! I love the "rubicube"s that they provide for the binge drinker! A great place to stop in and yell at the TV or some dumb squares...but then again dumb squares hang out every where in Sacto!!! Thanx for all those cider fulled drunken night, Rubicon!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from www.kurumusic.com www.kurumusic.com, Sacramento, CA
(08/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
The Rubicon is a great place to unwind and one of the best in the area. The Amber Ale is the best and I have always enjoyed the food and service. The wait staff is great. They have a wonderful breakfast on weekends as well!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chuck Dalldorf Chuck Dalldorf, Sacramento, CA
(01/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Elk Grove, CA
(08/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(08/13/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
Althought one of the two bartenders was a total jerk, the Bubba Burger with cheese was totally awesome, and the Amber ale was also awesome. I really like the other bartender, he was very freindly and totally into talking about music, and computers, which was OK. The atmosphere is kinda nothing special, considering the place used to be a garage or something, but it is a very comfortable place to relax..if the weather is nice you can sit outside and watch traffic go by, and check out the neighbors, some of whom are quite different.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Canice MacThomas Canice MacThomas, Sacramento, CA
(07/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good
A neighborhood type of bar. Beer varieties included the ubiquitous hefeweizen, IPA, amber, stout, Irish red, and Czech pils. The pils was very good with great gold color, sharp hop bite and aroma. The IPA was good in the west coast style, more balanced in flavor than most with good copper color. The diverse and friendly clientele, combined with very good beer, made this place comfortable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(06/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Lousy So So
Every time I go in,and I have been there off and on for 11 years, I find the service is poor & I often get ignored. The beer van be cloudy too. I never have been made welcome there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Killey John Killey, sacramento, CA
(12/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
My favorite of the Sac. brewpubs, if for no other reasons than good beer at a nice "traditional-style" pub. Easy to find, easy to park, and easy on the pocket-book...//TSB

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bis Bis, San Diego, CA
(10/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
While I have always thought there was something wrong with the atmosphere, I have never known what exactly I would change. But this is an excellent place to have a nice pale or amber ale with friends...in a wonderful midtown neighborhood.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kristin J Kristin J, North Hollywood, CA
(01/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kent Kent, Folsom, CA
(07/21/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.722 seconds) 09:59:50 54.90.251.197, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS