PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Hale's Ales Brewery and Pub - Seattle, WA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 29, 2014 @ 03:19 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > WA > Seattle > Hale's Ales Brewery and Pub
Hale's Ales Brewery and Pub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Hale's Ales Brewery and Pub
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81.6 / 100
4301 Leary Way Northwest
Seattle, WA 98107
United States
(206) 706-1544
Listed Since: June 1996
Last Updated: February 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Seattle, WA
Beer Guide for Washington

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
53 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 10:00AM - 10:00PM
Mon 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Tue 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Wed 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Thu 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Fri 11:00AM - 12:00PM
Sat 11:00AM - 12:00PM

alternatives
(95 within 5 miles)
1) Maritime Pacific Brewing
(0 mile)

2) Four B's
(0 mile)

3) Old Town Alehouse
(0 mile)

4) Conor Byrne Pub
(0 mile)

5) People's Pub
(0 mile)

6) Ray's Boathouse
(0 mile)

7) Tractor Tavern
(0 mile)

8) Anthony's Homeport
(0 mile)

9) Jolly Roger Taproom
(0 mile)

10) Gilligan's Brewing Company
(0 mile)

11) Old Pequliar
(0 mile)

12) Smith and Maki's Tavern
(0 mile)

13) Flip Side Tavern
(1 mile)

14) Barking Dog Alehouse
(1 mile)

15) Tigertail
(1 mile)

16) Mulleady's Irish Pub
(2 miles)

17) Uber Tavern
(2 miles)

18) Prost!
(2 miles)

19) Park Pub
(2 miles)

20) Fremont Brewing
(2 miles)

21) Pillagers Pub
(2 miles)

22) Dad Watsons
(2 miles)

23) El Camino
(2 miles)

24) George and Dragon Pub
(2 miles)

25) Norm's Eatery and Ale House
(2 miles)

26) Duck Island Ale House
(2 miles)

27) Kangaroo and Kiwi Pub
(2 miles)

28) Six Degrees - Green LAke
(2 miles)

29) Two Beers Brewing Company
(2 miles)

30) Naked City Brewing Company
(2 miles)

31) Elysian Brewing Company - TangleTown
(2 miles)

32) Globe
(2 miles)

33) Sully's Snow Goose Saloon
(2 miles)

34) Pacific Inn Pub
(2 miles)

35) 74th Street Ale House
(2 miles)

36) Santa Fe Cafe Phinney Ridge
(2 miles)

37) Red Door Alehouse
(2 miles)

38) Dubliner
(2 miles)

39) Fabulous Buckaroo Tavern
(2 miles)

40) Triangle Tavern
(2 miles)

41) Buckley's on Queen Anne
(2 miles)

42) Murphy's Pub
(2 miles)

43) Hoyt's Pub
(3 miles)

44) Monkey Pub
(3 miles)

45) Dexter and Hayes Pulic House
(3 miles)

46) Nickerson Street Saloon
(3 miles)

47) Revolution Bar and Grill
(3 miles)

48) Hilltop Alehouse
(3 miles)

49) Paragon Bar and Grill
(3 miles)

50) McMenamins Queen Anne Hill
(3 miles)

51) T.S. McHugh's
(3 miles)

52) Latitude 47í
(3 miles)

53) Stix Billiards and Brewhouse
(3 miles)

54) Jabu's Pub
(3 miles)

55) Feierabend
(3 miles)

56) Rain City Pub and Grill
(3 miles)

57) Roanoke Park Place
(4 miles)

58) Blue Star Cafe and Pub
(4 miles)

59) Queen City Grill
(4 miles)

60) The Crocodile Cafe
(4 miles)

61) Two Bells Tavern
(4 miles)

62) Cutter's Bayhouse
(4 miles)

63) Flying Fish
(4 miles)

64) El Gaucho
(4 miles)

65) Ditto Tavern
(4 miles)

66) Two Bells Tavern
(4 miles)

67) The White Horse Trading Company
(4 miles)

68) The Stumbling Monk
(4 miles)

69) Jazz Alley
(4 miles)

70) Athenian Inn
(4 miles)

71) McCormick and Schmick's
(4 miles)

72) Alibi Room
(4 miles)

73) Von's Grand City Cafe
(4 miles)

74) Il Bistro
(4 miles)

75) Rock Bottom Brewery
(4 miles)

76) Virginia Inn Tavern
(4 miles)

77) Pike Brewery and Pub
(4 miles)

78) Gordon Biersch Brewing Company
(4 miles)

79) Kells Irish Restaurant and Pub
(4 miles)

80) Elephant and Castle
(4 miles)

81) Place Pigalle Restaurant and Bar
(4 miles)

82) J and M Cafe
(5 miles)

83) Dutch Ned's
(5 miles)

84) Venik Lounge
(5 miles)

85) Elysian Brewing Company - Elysian Fields
(5 miles)

86) Central Saloon
(5 miles)

87) Pioneer Square Saloon
(5 miles)

88) McCormick's Fish House and Bar
(5 miles)

89) Metropolitan Grill
(5 miles)

90) F.X. McRory's
(5 miles)

91) Collins Pub
(5 miles)

92) Owl' N Thistle Irish Pub
(5 miles)

93) Fado Irish Pub
(5 miles)

94) Merchant's Cafe
(5 miles)

95) Doc Maynard's
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) A Bed & Breakfast NW Rsrvtn
2) Amaranth Inn
3) Bacon Mansion
4) Bed & Breakfast on Broadway
5) Capital Hill Inn
6) Challenger Charter
7) Challenger Tugboat
8) Chelsea Station on the Park
9) College Inn Guest House
10) Densmore House
11) Dibble House
12) Gaslight Inn
13) Green Gables Guesthouse
14) Gypsy Arms Bed & Breakfast
15) Hill House Bed & Breakfast
16) Inn of Twin Gables
17) Inn Services NW
18) Lake Union Bed & Breakfast
19) Landes House
20) Mildred's Bed & Breakfast
21) Pacific Plaza Hotel
22) Pensione Nichols
23) Queen Anne Hill B & B
24) Roberta's Bed Breakfast
25) Salisbury House
26) Seattle Bed & Breakfast Assn
27) Seattle Yachting & Tours
28) Shafer-Baillie Mansion
29) Travellers Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ACE HOTEL
2) ALEXIS HOTEL
3) BEST WESTERN EVERGREEN INN
4) BEST WESTERN EXECUTIVE INN
5) BEST WESTERN LOYAL INN
6) BEST WESTERN UNIVERSITY TOWER
7) BW PIONEER SQUARE HOTEL
8) COMFORT SUITES SEATTLE CENTER
9) CONTINENTAL INN
10) CROWNE PLAZA
11) DAYS INN SEATTLE DOWNTOWN
12) EVERSPRING INN
13) EXEC EXTENDED STAY SUITES HTL
14) EXECUTIVE PACIFIC PLAZA HOTEL
15) EXTENDEDSTAY SEATTLE NORTHGATE
16) FAIRMONT OLYMPIC HOTEL
17) GRAND HYATT SEATTLE
18) HAMPTON INN & SUITES-DOWNTOWN
19) HILTON SEATTLE
20) HOMEWOOD SUITES BY HILTON
21) HOTEL ANDRA
22) HOTEL MONACO SEATTLE
23) HOTEL VINTAGE PARK
24) INN AT HARBOR STEPS
25) INN AT QUEEN ANNE
26) INN AT THE MARKET
27) INN AT VIRGINIA MASON
28) LA QUINTA INN/SUITES DOWNTOWN
29) MARQUEEN HOTEL
30) MAYFLOWER PARK HOTEL
31) MEDITERRANEAN INN
32) OAKWOOD AT HARBOR STEPS
33) OAKWOOD SEATTLE
34) QUALITY INN & SUITES SEATTLE
35) RAMADA INN DOWNTOWN SEATTLE
36) RAMADA INN KISSIMMIEE DOWNTOWN
37) RAMADA INN UNIV DISTRICT N
38) RED LION HOTEL ON 5TH AVENUE
39) RENAISSANCE SEATTLE HOTEL
40) SEATTLE HOTEL
41) SEATTLE LAKE UNION COURTYARD
42) SEATTLE MARRIOTT WATERFRONT
43) SHERATON SEATTLE HOTEL TOWERS
44) SILVER CLOUD HOTEL BROADWAY
45) SILVER CLOUD INN - LAKE UNION
46) SIXTH AVENUE INN
47) SORRENTO HOTEL
48) SPRINGHILL SUITES SEATTLE DTWN
49) SUMMERFIELD SUITES BY WYNDHAM
50) THE EDGEWATER
51) THE PARAMOUNT, A COAST HOTEL
52) THE ROOSEVELT, A COAST HOTEL
53) THE WESTIN SEATTLE
54) TRAVELODGE - CITY CENTER
55) TRAVELODGE BY THE SPACE NEEDLE
56) UNIVERSITY INN
57) UNIVERSITY PLAZA HOTEL
58) VAGABOND INN SEATTLE
59) VANCE HOTEL
60) W HOTEL SEATTLE
61) WARWICK HOTEL
62) WATERTOWN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) 12th Avenue South Bridge
2) 1411 Fourth Avenue Building
3) ADVENTURESS
4) Agen Warehouse
5) Alaska Trade Building
6) Arctic Building
7) Assay Office
8) Aurora Avenue Bridge
9) Aurora Avenue Bridge
10) Ballard Bridge
11) Ballard Carnegie Library
12) Ballard-Howe House
13) Barnes Building
14) Bell Apartments
15) Butterworth Building
16) Camlin Hotel
17) Chelsea Family Hotel
18) Chinese Baptist Church
19) Church of the Blessed Sacrament, Priory, and School
20) Cobb Building
21) Coliseum Theater
22) Colman Building
23) Colonial Hotel
24) Cornish School
25) Cowen Park Bridge
26) De La Mar Apartments
27) Dearborn, Henry H., House
28) Dunn Gardens
29) DUWAMISH
30) Eagles Auditorium Building
31) El Rio Apartment Hotel
32) Federal Office Building
33) Ferry, Pierre P., House
34) Fire Station No. 18
35) Fire Station No. 23
36) Fire Station No. 25
37) First Methodist Protestant Church of Seattle
38) Fremont Bridge
39) Fremont Building
40) Galland, Caroline Kline, House
41) Globe Building, Beebe Building and Hotel Cecil
42) Graham, J. S., Store
43) Grand Pacific Hotel
44) Guiry and Schillestad Building
45) Hill, Samuel, House
46) Hoge Building
47) Holyoke Building
48) Hull Building
49) Immanuel Lutheran Church
50) Interlake Public School
51) Iron Pergola
52) King Street Station
53) Leamington Hotel and Apartments
54) Leary, Eliza Ferry, House
55) Lyon Building
56) M. V. VASHON
57) Merrill, R. D., House
58) Moore Theatre and Hotel
59) National Building
60) New Washington Hotel
61) Nihon Go Gakko
62) Nippon Kan
63) Northern Bank and Trust Building
64) Northern Life Tower
65) Old Public Safety Building
66) Olympic Hotel
67) Paramount Theatre
68) Park Department, Division of Playgrounds
69) Parsons, William, House
70) Phillips House
71) Pike Place Public Market Historic District
72) Pioneer Building, Pergola, and Totem Pole
73) PIRATE (R-Class Sloop)
74) Queen Anne Club
75) Queen Anne Public School
76) Rainier Club
77) Ravenna Park Bridge
78) Rector Hotel
79) SCHOONER MARTHA
80) Seattle Public Library
81) Seattle Public Library
82) Seattle Public Library
83) Seattle Public Library
84) Seattle, Chief of the Suquamish, Statue
85) Shafer Building
86) Showboat Theatre
87) Shuey, Henry Owen, House
88) Skinner Building
89) Stimson-Green House
90) Summit School
91) Temple de Hirsch
92) Times Building
93) Triangle Hotel and Bar
94) Trinity Parish Church
95) U.S. Courthouse
96) Union Station
97) United Shopping Tower
98) University Bridge
99) US Immigration Building
100) Victorian Apartments
101) VIRGINIA V
102) Volker, William, Building
103) W. T. PRESTON (snagboat)
104) Wagner Houseboat
105) Wallingford Fire and Police Station
106) Ward House
107) Washington Street Public Boat Landing Facility
108) WAWONA (schooner)
109) West Point Light Station
110) Wilke Farmhouse
111) Ye College Inn
112) ZODIAC (schooner)
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 206 Pizza
2) 24th Avenue
3) 7 Arts Cafe Boats & Gifts
4) 74th Street Ale House
5) A & W Family Restaurant
6) A Pizza Mart
7) Acorn Eatery & Bar
8) Andre's Pizza
9) Anne's Teriyaki
10) Anthony's Homeport
11) Arita Restaurant
12) Asian Wok & Grill
13) Azteca Mexican Restaurant
14) Azteca Restaurant
15) Backstage
16) Bad Albert's Tap & Grill
17) Baithouse
18) Ballard Firehouse Food Co
19) Ballard Grill & Alehouse
20) Ballard Smoke Shop
21) Baranof Restaurant
22) Barking Dog Alehouse
23) Barlee's Cafe In Fremont
24) Bay Cafe
25) Beach House At Shilshole
26) Bento Sushi
27) Bistro On 24th
28) Bit Saloon Grill & Night Club
29) Bizz Buzz Box
30) Blackthorne Village Pub
31) Blazes Broiler
32) Blue Heron Inc
33) Blue Water Taco Grill
34) Borge's Place
35) Boss Flame Broiler
36) Boxcar Ale House
37) Brad's Swingside Cafe
38) Bright Street Grill
39) Buen Gusto
40) Burger King
41) Burger King
42) Burk's Cafe-Creole & Cajun
43) Burrito Loco
44) Cafe Besalu
45) Canal
46) Caregiver Connection Inc
47) Carmelita
48) Centerfolds
49) Charlie's Bar & Grill
50) Chef Hope Sandler/Sandler & Co
51) Chef's Food Express
52) China Jade Restaurant
53) Chinook's At Salmon Bay
54) Choice Deli & Grocery
55) City Cafe
56) Cocina Esperanza
57) Coffee Hut
58) Coffee Time Mobile Catering
59) Conor Byrne Pub
60) Copper Gate Tavern
61) Cornucopia
62) Costas Opa Greek Restaurant
63) Crash Landing Pizza
64) Dad Watson's
65) Damn Dog Espresso
66) Dandelion Cafe
67) Denny's
68) Dick's Drive-In Restaurant
69) Discovery Espresso & Juice
70) Dish
71) Domino's Pizza
72) Duffy's
73) El Camino
74) El Rachon Family Mexican
75) El Ranchon
76) Emerson Deli & Gas
77) Ernie B's
78) Espresso Celebrazione
79) Fan Tan Fanny's
80) Fiesta Mexicana
81) Foodz Catering
82) Forum Center
83) Freemont Teriyaki
84) Fremont Classic Pizzeria
85) Fremont Noodle House
86) Georgia's Greek Deli
87) Gim Wah Restaurant
88) Ginger Tree
89) Godfather's Pizza
90) Godfather's Pizza
91) Golden City Restaurant
92) Gonzales Concession
93) Goofy's
94) Gorditos Healthy Mexican Food
95) Gordo's
96) Gourmet Latte
97) Graces Kitchen
98) Grand # 1 Chinese Buffet
99) Graze
100) Great American Catering
101) Greenwood Mandarin Restaurant
102) Guardsman Tavern
103) Guido's Pizza
104) Hale's Ales Brewery
105) Hall's Mister Bar-B-Que
106) Harvey's Tavern & Pizza Ktchn
107) Hattie's Hat Restaurant
108) Hiram's At The Locks
109) Hoki's Teriyaki Hut
110) Honey I'm Home
111) Ichiro Soucie &Teriyaki
112) India Bistro
113) Inn Bin Restaurant
114) Ivar's Seafood Bar
115) Jack In The Box
116) Jack's 24 Hour Kitchen
117) Jai Thai Restaurant
118) Javabean Inc Ballard
119) Jet City Improv
120) Johnny's Restaurant
121) Kabab House
122) Katina's Kitchen
123) Kfc
124) Kinnaree Thai Cuisine
125) Kismet
126) Kwanjai Thai
127) La Botana
128) La Palma Restaurant
129) La Piazza
130) La Romantica
131) Le Gourmand Restaurant
132) Library Cafe
133) Limelight Cafe
134) Little Chinook's Fish & Chips
135) Little Coney
136) Lockspot Cafe
137) Lombardi's Cucina Of Ballard
138) Longshoreman's Daughter
139) Louie's Cuisine Of China
140) Luigi's Pizza & Pasta
141) Mad Pizza
142) Mae's Phinney Ridge Cafe
143) Maharaja Cuisine Of India
144) Malena's Taco Shop
145) Market Street Urban Grill
146) Market Street Wine & Cheese
147) Mc Donald's
148) Mc Donald's
149) Mc Donald's
150) Mc Grath's Restaurant
151) Mori Japanese Restaurant
152) Mr Gyros
153) Mulleady's Pub Inc
154) Oishii Teriyaki
155) Palermo Gourmet Pizza & Pasta
156) Pandasia Restaurant
157) Papa John's Pizza
158) Paseo Caribbean Restaurant
159) Pasta Bella
160) Peoples Pub
161) Pete's Egg Nest
162) Phad Thai Restaurant
163) Philly's Submarine Sandwich
164) Pig 'n Whistle
165) Pizza Hut
166) Pizza Hut
167) Pizza Time
168) Pontevecchio Italian Bistro
169) Ponti Seafood Grill
170) Portage Bay Cafe
171) Pudge Brothers Pizza
172) Rasa Malaysia
173) Ray's Boathouse Catering
174) Ray's Cafe
175) Reading Gaol Pub & Grill
176) Red Mill Burgers
177) Red Mill Burgers Interbay
178) Restaurante Michoacan
179) Romio's Commissary
180) Sam's Sushi Bar & Grill
181) Santa Fe Cafe
182) Scooter's Burgers
183) Seattle Catch Seafood Bistro
184) Sergio's Mexican Cuisine
185) Skipper's Seafood 'n Chowder
186) Stalk Exchange The Resturant
187) Still Life In Fremont
188) Stumbling Goat
189) Sub Shop
190) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
191) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
192) Sundowner Restaurant & Lounge
193) Sunhill Teriyaki Restaurant
194) Sunny Teriyaki
195) Sunny Teriyaki
196) Szmania's Restaurant
197) Taco Bell
198) Taco Del Mar
199) Taco Del Mar
200) Taco Del Mar
201) Taco Time
202) Taki's Pizza & Pasta
203) Tarasco Mexican Restaurant
204) Teriyaki First
205) Thai Cafe
206) Thai Siam Restaurant
207) The Hi-Life
208) Toshi's Teriyaki
209) Totem House Fish & Chips
210) Triangle Lounge Fremont
211) Val's Cafe
212) Valdi's Ballard Bistro
213) Vera's Restaurant
214) Vietnam Restaurant
215) Wendy's
216) Wing Dome
217) Woodland Park Inn Restaurant
218) Yak's Deli Restaurant
219) Yankee Grill & Roaster
220) Yanni's
221) Yasuko's Teriyaki
222) Zeek's Pizza
223) Zeek's Pizza
224) Zesto's Burger & Fish House
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I really like this place. The beer is always great. The only drawbacks are their growler prices are a little steep and the menu should be changed avery so often. The bar-b-q pork sandwich is pretty good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(04/12/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Low key laid back atmosphere. The Cream Stout and root beer were excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chesapeake, VA
(05/31/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
We tried the HSB (GREAT!), Pale, Mongoose, Red Menace, and Double Dry Hop with our burgers and Salmon Benedict. Get the pretzels for an app and try the porter cheesecake for dessert.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JAS JAS, York, PA
(02/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
We stopped for brunch and had a great relaxing meal. Definitely recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JAS JAS, York, PA
(02/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
I went to try the Mongoose, and did, but the Red Menace was easily my favorite. Outdoor dining area was limited, but we had a beautiful afternoon for it. Everything we ate was very nice, and we only wished we could come back and try some other selections, because what we saw that others ordered looked excellent as well. When you get a chance to be in Seattle, and have the time to search out an out-of-the-way place, don't miss Hale's!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim McDaniel Jim McDaniel, Dallas, TX
(07/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Definitely off the Seattle tourist map but well worth searching for. In fact, you can jump on the #28 (Broadview) bus in downtown and it's virtually door-to-door service. Great atmosphere. You can sit at the bar and watch the brewers at work. And the brewers do a good job. Had a pint each of the Mongoose IPA, Red Menace Amber and the Troll Porter. Not a bad pour in the bunch. Pretty decent food menu. Had the Chipotle Chicken Wings which made those great beers go down a little quicker. Friendly staff and the local patrons didn't seem to mind a tourist in their midst. A hidden jewel in the Emerald City.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(11/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Best beer I have ever tasted. Absolutely love the Mongoose IPA and the Stout. I also enjoy a Hale's cream from time to time. GO to Hale's, best brew in Seattle.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Jeff, Yakima, WA
(07/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Terrific brewpub for seattle. Always a pleaser.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Glenn, Bakersfield, CA
(02/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Mmmm..... Wee Heavy on Nirto doesn't get much better than that. Hales consistantly produces top notch beers. Food at the Brewery is great too. Always have to have a Spent Grain Pretzel.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from michael michael, port orchard, WA
(12/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
I wanted to explore the beers of Seattle, and due to a friends recommendation, Hale's Ales was first on my list. We stopped in at around 2 in the afternoon and ordered black bean nachos and a cup of chowder. I tried a taster wheel with a range of different beers most were very good. I didn't care for the Red Menace, but I loved the Cream Ale. The server was very helpful and really knew her beers. She could answer any questions we had.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leslie Leslie, Mountlake Terrace, WA
(05/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Awesome!
We were really, really pleasantly surprised by how great this place is as a restaurant that serves good beer. It's not the epicenter of amazing beers, no, but you can sit on comfy couches and eat off funky old coffee tables. The O'Brien's is worth talking about; the Red Menace, the Wee Heavy, and the Mongoose all rate. For my money, they focus their creativity and subtler balancing work on those beers. It's a nice, well-run room with good staff. You can take anybody there whether they care about beer or not, but there's no one thing they do that's far beyond highly competent. That said, I'll be back quite a bit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, Seattle, WA
(04/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Good Awesome! Good
I am constantly amazed at the reviews of Hale's, and so I have kept trying it, thinking that I was missing something. I moved to Seattle about 2 months ago (after visiting many times) and tried it again. Most of the beers are incredibly bland - even for their styles. The Stout had no bite and had no chocolaty/coffee taste - very thin. The IPA was bland - certainly my view is affected by so many great highly-hopped ones in the area but I also like the more traditional ones, like Bridgeport's & Hales doesn't come close. The Irish Nut Brown was the biggest dissapointment. A 2 year old bottle of Sam Smith's has at least twice the flavor of Hale's version. I know that Hale's has been around for a long time, but with all of the incredible brewpubs in the Seattle area I am amazed at how well this place does.

On the upside, the service was outstanding and that kept me in my seat and influenced me to stay for dinner. The food was pretty good, but not much better than most brewpubs. The building that Hale's is now in is a great space & I like the seating choices.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Seattle, WA
(10/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Have stopped in on two visits to Seattle. Last weekend had the cask-conditioned Harvest Ale. Very nice balance, a good session beer. First time there, had their flagship pale ale, which was excellent. Food was great both times, as was the service. Highly recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Monte Monte, Morris County, NJ
(09/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Large party treated very nicely and served very quickly. Beers all excellent. Food prices are very moderate and portions are large.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Ogden, UT
(08/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
As close as I live to Hale's and for as many times that I pass it during the week, one would expect I could stop in more often. Brunch on Sunday was pretty good. IPA is very good. If it hadn't been sunny and a beautiful day in Seattle, I'd have stayed longer and tried a few more beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(08/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Awesome! Great Good
Very cool space, succulent ribs and garlic mashed potatos. I didn't find the beer to be that great though. On tap the day I was there: Pale Ale, Special bitter, porter, IPA, cream ale, amber ale, and moss bay extra. The special bitter wasn't that special and it certainly wasn't bitter. The IPA was nice. The cream ale tasted like budwiser.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(08/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
The dublin stout was excellent. The imperial stout was "only" good. The roasted vegetable salsa was very good....didn't try the rest of the food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bob bob, Saint Louis, MO
(02/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
Has both a larger seating area, and a "couch and table" area (with booths) that's more intimate for smaller parties.

There's always one or two beers there that I'm very happy with. The menu takes some learnin' -- some things are very good (the chowder, the meatloaf, the pizza) and some things ain't. I had a couple of food disappointments until I figured out what they did well and what they didn't.

Definitely one of my "regular" spots.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Meyer Jeff Meyer, Seattle, WA
(11/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
Mosh bay amber is the best amber you will erver drink

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert White Robert White, Enumclaw, WA
(10/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Ed, Ann Arbor, MI
(10/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Wonderful joint! The best in Ballard, and that's saying something.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Trent Hill Trent Hill, Seattle, WA
(09/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Hales Bitter on Cask was one of--if not the--best example I have had this side of the Atlantic and all of the beers I sampled were perfectly balanced and world class.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carl Singmaster Carl Singmaster, Columbia, SC
(09/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
What a great pub to hang out in. Make sure you try the Cream Ale. One of the best beers I have ever tasted. I can't wait to go back. I wish they delivered to central California.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review James, Merced, CA
(05/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
cnat beat the half gallons good beer nice people what more do you want?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tony DiGregor Tony DiGregor, chicago, IL
(01/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
We love to go out there after spending the morning on working on our sailboat at Elliot Bay Marina. Also it is an easy shot home by 99

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alan L W. Gunsul Alan L W. Gunsul, Burien, WA
(01/23/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.4 seconds) 03:19:12 54.237.32.10, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS