PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Rogue Ales / Oregon Brewing and Brewer's on the Bay - Newport, OR
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 20, 2014 @ 03:30 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > OR > Newport > Rogue Ales / Oregon Brewing and Brewer's on the Bay
Rogue Ales / Oregon Brewing and Brewer's on the Bay Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Rogue Ales / Oregon Brewing and Brewer's on the Bay
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.1 / 100
2320 Southeast OSU Drive
Newport, OR 97365
United States
(541) 867-3664
Listed Since: June 1996
Last Updated: October 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Newport, OR
Beer Guide for Oregon

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Rogue Ales / Oregon Brewing and Brewer's on the Bay
40 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Rogue Ale Public House
(0 mile)

2) New Uptown Pub
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Green Gables Bed & Breakfast
2) Green Gables Bookstore
3) Oar House Bed & Breakfast
4) Ocean House Bed & Breakfast
5) Sea Cliff Bed & Breakfast
6) Sylvia Beach Hotel
7) Tyee Lodge Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN AGATE BEACH
2) DAYS INN NEWPORT OR
3) ECONO LODGE NEWPORT
4) EMBARCADERO
5) LA QUINTA INN & SUITES NEWPORT
6) SHILO INN NEWPORT
7) THE LANDING AT NEWPORT
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) New Cliff House
2) Old Yaquina Bay Lighthouse
3) Roper, Charles and Theresa, House
4) Yaquina Head Lighthouse
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Apollo's Restaurant & Nightclb
2) Bay Haven Inn
3) Bay Latte
4) Black Swan Bookstore & Cafe
5) Cafe Stephanie
6) Galley Ho
7) Hoovers Pub & Grill
8) Jimi's Cafe
9) Le Bistro 101
10) Lighthouse Deli & Fish Co
11) Mad Dog Country Tavern
12) Muchas Gracias Mexican Food
13) Newport Cafe
14) Newport Pacific Corp
15) Oregon Maid Ice Cream
16) Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake
17) Pizza Cucina
18) Quimby's Restaurant
19) Rogue Ales Brewery
20) Saffron Salmon
21) Solid Ground Coffee House
22) Starbucks
23) Starbucks
24) Szabos Steakhouse & Seafood
25) Taco Bell
26) Tenochtitlan
27) Village Market & Deli
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
The beer selection cannot be beat. So many that I tried their sampler of four. Would have done several but had some distance to travel. Thought the Shakespeare Stout and Mocha Porter were outstanding. Food was good bar-type food which we enjoyed; service a little slow, but quickly rectified to our satisfaction. Interesting location as well as the fact that you walk through part of the brewery to get to the second floor bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed J Ed J, Alexandria, VA
(07/11/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Lousy Good
I don't care how amazing your beer tastes, you can't expect people to be happy to pay $6.50 a pint! That's absurd. The food is barely a notch above typical pub fare and they charge you as if it's actually quality food based on the sole reputation of their overpriced, yet, delicious beer. Oh and the service is average at best. I've been here three times, and only once was I met with anything less than amicable annoyance. Our food took almost an hour to get to us and all we ordered was 2 frickin' turkey sandwiches! BTW, the sandwich was small, and no better than something you could throw together in your own kitchen with lunchmeat and white bread in 2 minutes. Then the server took almost 10 minutes to get me a water (don't bother asking for napkins). I'm done bitching...Basically if you're a rich trendy yuppie, or simply don't care about price, food, or quality of service, then this place is for you. The rest of us who remember when Rogue actually earned their place as the best brewery ever, instead of relying on reputation alone to get people's business, digress and start to look elsewhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Joseph, OR
(11/29/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
My only adverse comment is that they don't have all Rogue brews available at any given time. Entirely understandable given their huge range of offerings. Still, they have some very high quality brews, and definitely not a place to casually pass by. Their beer bread was just right to accompany tasting.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dr. John Dr. John, Greeley, CO
(08/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A So So Great
For beer you can't beat Rogue. They had about 20 beers on tap when we were there. All kinds of different types of beer: Mocha Porter, Russian Imperial Stout, a beer brewed with camomille tea, juniper ale, chipotle beer, etc. They have hands down the best chocolate stout I have ever had let alone imagined. I have always been a fan to Dead Guy- so this brewery has always been on my wish list,

They are inside a very industrial building on the water. The only complaint I have is that you cannot sit in the dining room and get samplers, you can only order pints. To get samplers you have to sit in the bar area which is smoking with no ventilation. The dining room is smoke free.

But that said, the beer alone makes this place worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mandy Mandy, Westlake Village, CA
(07/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I had the best fresh hop ale ever. Very clean with a nice finsh. This is an ale that you can drink everyday day and never stop wanting more.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bob, Vancouver, WA
(11/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Stopped in after dinner on our one night in Newport. Tremendous selection of their beers, but it does make it tough if you're only going to have one or two. Decided to go for something unusual and had the Juniper Pale Ale (where else are you going to be able to get something like this on tap?!). It was great - nice hop character but the juniper came through as well. The only other brewpub I've visited with a selection (in terms of numbers/styles) even close to this is Victory (in PA). A must visit if you're in the Pacific NW (I think they offer pretty much the same huge selection at all of their locations).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Monte Monte, Morris County, NJ
(09/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
Beers were excellent. Great little brewpub set up inside a rather industrial-looking brewery. The Hazelnut Brown was incredible...had it on tap, but out of bottles to sell unfortunately.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Buck Brian Buck, Spokane, WA
(07/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
This place is awesome! Huge selection of great brews. The Uber Pils was excellent. Sheila, the bartender was friendly and helpful even though it was really busy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ted Ted, Portland, OR
(05/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
The chocolate stout is incredible. The IPA is also excellent. Food is pretty good. Selection of beers in second to none. If you cant find a beer you like here, you should probably stick to coors.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review carson city, NV
(04/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good So So Great
Rather quirky place to have a beer, follow the yellow line through the warehouse and you will find the bar and the family restaurant. AS expected the beer is fantastic the food good enough..the service ,I wasn't impressed with.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin reid Kevin reid, Salem, OR
(03/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
This is what it is all about!!! They have more of their beers on draft than any other brewery that I have ever visited. They had every single variety that I wished to try, along with a few that I had never heard of. Brutal bitter on draft left me speechless. i visited the Newport bayfront brewery/tasting room, the Newport Public House, and the Portland Public House. they were all unique, and all excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Clingman Todd Clingman, Centerville, OH
(11/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
must see for true beer enthusiasts!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Almeida Mark Almeida, San Francisco, CA
(02/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
My first trip to the brewery was on a garage sale weekend and after taking a few cases home for so little $, theres nothing I can complain about.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robin Canfield Robin Canfield, Corvallis, OR
(02/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Rogue Bayfront Brewery - Relaxed atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff, lots of merchandise, incredible beer selection. The smoked turkey Swiss sandwich was perfect to accompany beer tasting. Santa’s Private Reserve (red) was our favorite of the day, full body and pleasant flavor. The Brutal Bitter had a hefé body and was quite strong. Don’t over do it with the Smoke Ale either, as I found a little of its powerful taste was enjoyable, but it grow old after a few swallows. It’d classify it as kind of a subtle, smooth amber/rye ale. This was the 2nd time I’ve stopped here, and I’ll be sure to go again. 12/14/03 12:30pm

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth N Kenneth N, Flagstaff, AZ
(01/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Great
I was there during the Oregon Beer garden event in mid-Oct. Going to the pub upstairs I was amazed at their selection. Best selection I've seen in Oregon so far. Don't know about service or food, but if they were in charge of selling all the brew festival beers at $3 a pop shame on you!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joshua Powell Joshua Powell, Corvallis, OR
(10/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Lousy Lousy
Have been coming to Rogues for years and have been watching it steadily decline over the years. Today, I went by for a pint or two - and watch the brewing and bottling and the bay. I was met with indifference from the bar staff. What kind of brewery, that serves tap beer, (regardless of size - and apparent status) would not have the capability to fill a growler (and use as their excuse - we don't have a hose and it would waste too much beer to fill {and if we could/would it would cost $12})? Save your time and money - there are other breweries in the area that are interested in your business, and serve a great product.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Richland, WA
(08/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I spent the night at the bed and beer. Every beer geek should do this. I closed the bar down. Allthe regulars made me feel like I belonged. They even made me a citizen of the Rogue Nation! Be sure to try the Skull Splitter Ale,an imperial schwartzbeir.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ratman Ratman, Arvada, CO
(07/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Lousy
Will never return, service was awful. Party of eight left due to waitress attitude. She seemed to think that Rogue wouldn't care how she treated customers as there was always another one coming in. I should hope that isn't really their opinion. But I know we will never return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Sacramento, CA
(07/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I love beer and let me tell you a visit to this place is like nirvana! If you are EVER in Oregon, check it out! The staff is knowledgable and nice. The food is good and if you have a chance, stay in the Beer and Bed above the Ale House on the waterfront. You can bring beer up to your room!!! Beautiful beaches and the best beer ever--is there anything better?? You decide...check it out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Danny, mlt, wa
(04/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Oh my!!! The best brewery experience I've had, and I've had very many. Every element of our trip to Rogue was unique and utterly enjoyable. The town of Newport is a quaint, quiet community. The only things going on here are fising, tourism, and beer. We arrived at Rogue around lunchtime. The place looks like a warehouse or some sort of boat dock because it is right on the coast in a not-so-appealing part of town. But don't let that fool you. We walked right in to the bottling and kegging area because there were no signs for bar area. Actually, I don't even know if there is a bar area because when we finally got ahold of a manager, he sent us up to a private tasting room with a huge window overlooking the Pacific and its own bar. We sat in this room for half the day, sampling a huge variety of the best beers I've ever had! I can't recommend one or two because they were all equally excellent. The beer menu was diverse, with some very interesting concoctions. Each beer was complex, fresh, very unique, and very well crafted. The brewmaster at Rogue is a true artist. This is a MUST VISIT if you are ever within 200 miles of Newport. This makes a great day trip from anywhere in Oregon or Northern California. The drive up and down the coast is a nice way to spend the afternoon, but make sure to plan on spending plenty of time at Rogue.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Blumena Mike Blumena, Cleveland, OH
(10/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
Remarkable, just plain remarkable. Truly one of the greatest breweries in the country. 22 beers on draft and they were so very fresh. If you are anywhere near Newport, OR or Portland, (there is a tastehouse in Portland) you must visit. Being from the Midwest, I have only had a handful of Rogue brews, and I never had the pleasure of tasting Brutal Bitter. Quite possibly, the greatest beer ever. It was so fresh, and the hops just exploded from your glass. Rogue is a absolute must stop for anyone who loves REAL beer. There are lighthouses in the area and a state park to compliment your journey along with fresh seafood. Try the Rogue Pub House in the downtown area!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Madigan Tom Madigan, Kettering, OH
(08/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
rogue sets the micro-brew standard in terms of quality and attention to detail.there are no contenders.their "brutal bitter" is my favorite.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tim hardin tim hardin, anacortes, WA
(07/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
Visited 06/29/01. I would have stayed here for days (who wouldn't) but this is not a place for kids. It was a huge treat finally to have Dead Guy on draft. If you're with the family visit the Rogue Public House in Portland instead.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hal Hackett Hal Hackett, Ottawa, IL
(07/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Good So So Good
The pub is located on the second floor of the brewery.There are two paneramic views from the pub.One of Newport harbor the other of the botteling line.The beer selection is outstanding with at least 15 of their beers on tap.The beer and food guality are good but the service has a lot to be desired.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from FRANK & GWEN ZDANCEWICZ FRANK & GWEN ZDANCEWICZ, PRESTON, CT
(06/17/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Rogue has the most consistent quality of any microbrew I've ever tried (and I've tried PLENTY). Their brews are second to none. The Dead Guy Ale and Shakespeare Stout are just about perfect.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Iwerks Dan Iwerks, Falls Church, VA
(12/01/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.59 seconds) 03:30:27 54.167.185.110, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS