PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Beaver Street Brewery and Whistle Stop Cafe - Flagstaff, AZ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 18, 2014 @ 08:13 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > AZ > Flagstaff > Beaver Street Brewery and Whistle Stop Cafe
Beaver Street Brewery and Whistle Stop Cafe Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Beaver Street Brewery and Whistle Stop Cafe
Overall: Great    Score: 77 / 100
11 South Beaver Street
#1
Flagstaff, AZ 86001
United States
(928) 779-0079
Listed Since: June 1996
Last Updated: January 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Flagstaff, AZ
Beer Guide for Arizona

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Beaver Street Brewery and Whistle Stop Cafe
61 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(9 within 5 miles)
1) Flagstaff Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Charly's Pub and Grille
(0 mile)

3) Crystal Creek
(0 mile)

4) Mad Italian Public House
(0 mile)

5) Pasto
(0 mile)

6) Uptown Billiards
(0 mile)

7) The Green Room was Mogollon Brewing
(0 mile)

8) Mia's Lounge
(0 mile)

9) Lumberyard Brewing Company
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Albers House
2) Aspen Inn
3) Birch Tree Inn
4) Dierker House Bed & Breakfast
5) Hilltop Bed & Breakfast
6) Inn At Four Ten
7) Jeanette's Bed & Breakfast
8) Lake Mary Bed & Breakfast
9) Lynn's Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Arizona Lumber and Timber Company Office
2) Ashurst House
3) Bank Hotel
4) Brannen--Devine House
5) C & M Garage
6) Campbell, H. E., House
7) Clark, J. M., House
8) Coconino County Hospital Complex
9) Eldredge, Dean, Museum
10) First Baptist Church
11) Flagstaff Armory
12) Francis, D. M., House
13) Homestead, The
14) House at 310 South Beaver
15) House at 720 Grand Canyon Avenue
16) Koch, I. B., House
17) La Cuidad de Mexico Grocery
18) La Iglesia Metodista Mexicana, El Divino Redentor
19) Milligan House
20) Museum of Northern Arizona Exhibition Building
21) Our Lady of Guadaloupe Church
22) Presbyterian Church Parsonage
23) Prochnow House
24) Railroad Addition Historic District (Boundary Increase)
25) South Beaver School
26) Two Spot Logging Train
27) Weatherford Hotel
28) Wilson, Charles, Jr., House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Air Fare
2) Altitudes Bar & Grill
3) Baskin-Robbins
4) Big Ranch
5) Bigfoot Bar B Que
6) Birch Street Deli & Baked Good
7) Boardwalk
8) Buffalo Wild Wings Grill & Bar
9) Buzz's Yerba Mate Bar
10) Casa Bonita
11) Cattle Baron's Cowboy Saloon
12) Cold Stone Creamery
13) Corea House
14) Country Host Restaurant
15) Dacha Casbah
16) Dan's Italian Kitchen
17) Fratellis Pizza
18) High Country Tavern
19) Hiro's Sushi Bar & Japanese
20) Hot Wok Express
21) Jakes Bar & Grill
22) Joe's Place
23) Josephine's
24) Las Mananitas Downtown
25) Los Altenos
26) Lu Mandarin Buffet
27) Main Street Catering
28) Margarita Cantina
29) Monsoon On The Rim
30) Orpheum Theatre
31) Our Daily Bread Deli
32) Pesto Brothers Piazza
33) Peter Piper Pizza
34) Pita Pit
35) Quiznos Sub
36) Racha Thai
37) Ralvertos Mexican Food
38) Ralvertosmexican Food
39) Roma Pizza
40) Simply Delicious
41) Sportsman's Bar & Grill
42) Starbucks
43) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
44) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
45) TCBY
46) Thornager's
47) Uptown Billiards
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Although I'd probably spend more time at Lumberyard BC, a short walk away, if I lived in the area, Beaver Street has it's own pluses. Has more of a "locals" feel to it. Nice pool room in the back. They even have a room with a sofa and TV for that homey feeling(if your home has a big picture window overlooking the Beaver Street street scene). Wood-fired pizza seems to be the specialty on the food menu. Had an open-faced ham and artichoke sandwich that was yummy. Same beer as Lumberyard with the exception of the Stout here and the Porter there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(11/30/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I was at the BSB in December, 2010 while on a business trip to Flagstaff. This establishment is very well run and at the time of my visit, very busy as there were lots of folks in town for the NAU end-of-term graduation ceremonies.

I sat at the bar and enjoyed the energy of the place. They offer a very good IPA which has won recognition at the GABF. I had several and can report it's clear why the beer brought home the medals. I also had their Belgian, which I understand was a new offering and it too was a great offering following the IPA and it went down well with the Cobb salad I'd ordered.

My hat's off to the proprietors of the BSB - they've done a great job here!

Also - FYI - the same folks who're responsible for the BSB opened up a sister establishment called 'The Lumberyard' during 2010 which is a block away from the BSB. It too, is an outstanding place - they were pouring a Imperial Red and Amber that was superb.

If you're coming through Flagstaff, a stop at either of these places is a must for those who appreciate good beer & food!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Rothrock Tom Rothrock, Centennial, CO
(01/04/2011)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Good So So
The beers were poor representatives of their styles. All were much too light. This place has much in common with Blue Corn in Santa Fe---beer that is for people who don't like beer very much. The food we had was quite good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tom tom , las cruces, NM
(09/03/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
OMG I'm with James. . . I want one of them in NJ too. Food, beer, service, all AWESOME. Have the pizza!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Goddess Beer Goddess, Caldwell, NJ
(12/05/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
A real find of a place. Only wish we had something of this style here in New Jersey.Wood fired pizza, full range of interesting foods and great beers poured to perfection.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James James, Warren, NJ
(10/11/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Been to a good number of brew pubs on my trips and I have to say this is may most favorite place so far. Good Food and Beer. You have to try the Burger and Pretzels.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Phoenixville, PA
(05/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Great Good
Beer was at the very least competant. Perfectly fine for if your passing thru town and want a couple of pints to unwind from the day. IPA and Vienna Lager were pretty much on target. The bartender did tell me that they had just upped the hops 15% in the IPA this past summer; judging by the final product, that appears to have been a good decision. Red and Oatmeal Stout was acceptable, but did seem to be missing something; couldn't quite put my finger on it. Actually I thought the same about the Bock at first, but after it warmed a bit it seems to gain more characteristics about the style. The bartender himself admitted that I wasn't missing much by their being out of the brambleberry; they do that one for the locals who seems to like it.

Food was fine. Mostly bar food, but there are a couple of daily specials for someone wanting a little more. I had the fondue. The daily specials also included a steak and Beef Bourginogne.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Katz Greg Katz, decline, NJ
(02/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great
Had the IPA and Hefe Wiess. The IPA was decent but not great. Not a whole lot of aroma but a decent hops taste. Now the Hefe; one of the worst beers I have had in a long time. Sour is the best description. I should have been warned when the menu said it had sour taste to it. Food was good, decent pub style food. Service... was a bit slow but not overly slow. Would I go back? Yea but I'd stay away from the Hefe.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Ken, Phoenix was Oak Creek WI, AZ
(07/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Lousy So So
For all the lovely exterior, the service was awful and the beer warm. We asked to talk to the manager, and he was a young man who seemed to be vague and unresponsive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kanree Kanree, Levittown, PA
(05/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great
I tried the Pilsner and the Amber both were great beers the pilsner was a bit light in taste but the amber was awsome, if I'm back in this area I will be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Todd, Sheboygan Falls, WI
(05/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
popular place, and with good reason. the ipa and stout are very good. the spring bock is more of a traditional german lager, and quite tasty. interesting that the pool hall next door, owned by beaver street and serves their beer, offers happy hour prices, but the brewpub does not. all three flagstaff brewpubs are within staggering distance, so park in beaver street's parking lot and walk to the others. menu looked good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from max max, nashua, NH
(04/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Good Great
We always make a point to go here during our annual visit. Food and beer are outstanding and always worth the 30-45 minute wait for a table. Great family atmosphere too. Kinda pricey tho.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Preston Hill Preston Hill, Huntsville, AL, AL
(02/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
The ESB should be on tap today. Go check it out. This is my regular hang out. Scroll below for my last review. It still holds true.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth N Kenneth N, Flagstaff, AZ
(01/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great
High marks on all counts. Crowded on a Saturday night.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Preston Hill Preston Hill, Huntsville, AL, AL
(09/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Stopped in traveling through Flagstaff. Enjoyed the beers. Good selections and tastes. Food was tasty and lots of it. Would recommend to anyone in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Cramer David Cramer, Boalsburg, PA
(09/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
I visited all three Flagstaff brewbups on this trip and this one is the best by far. The two brews that I sampled (Hefe & IPA) were on the mark for style and taste. I had a sandwich for lunch and even though it was 3:00 PM, the kitchen was busy - yet the order came out promptly. Worth a stop? You bet!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Gezelius John Gezelius, Orange, CA
(07/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good So So So So
old people and unfun

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review flagstaff, AZ
(06/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great
We spent the night in Flagstaff en route to Grand Canyon, and I tracked this place down through the Southwest Brewing News. I knew it was exceptional from the time I entered; great atmosphere. Obviously others concur, for it was packed on a Monday evening (Memorial Day). I tried their IPA and, I think, a Belgian ale that was 7.9% and gave quite a buzz. Both were excellent. My girlfriend's father, who lives in F'staff and is a drinker of bottled lager, tried the red ale and liked it. The Mediterranean pizza, loaded with portabello mushrooms, spinach and feta cheese, may just have been the best brewpub pizza I've ever had. The pizzas are baked in a wood oven, and all the food is prepared in public view, which means they have nothing to hide and take pride in their product. My girlfriend's son tried one of their burgers and was delighted with it; he's not easy to please, either. I wish I could have gotten to the Flagstaff Brewing Co. just across the tracks; maybe next time. Great experience; don't miss it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Buckman Robert Buckman, Lafayette, LA
(06/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great
Great place! We found it convenient for a quick lunch, and only a couple minutes off the interstate. I had the wood fired ham and artichoke sandwich and a pint of Derail Ale. Both the sandwich and the beer were excellent. One of my friends had the Beaver Street Burger, which he compared to the rest of our meals for the remainder of our trip. We tried a few of the other drafts, including the pils, IPA, and red. You will not be disappointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JAS JAS, York, PA
(06/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
The side bar...Brews and Cues...is our usual hang out in Flagstaff. The are three breweries in town, but this is the overall goodie, providing the best package of food, brews, and atmosphere. If you're in for lunch on a weekday, try out the chicken salad sandwich, my personal fav. I don't think there is a bad beer on tap either. My choices of the week are the Nut Brown and Vienna, both are seasonals so hurry! Their website tends to be updated frequently also.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth N Kenneth N, Flagstaff, AZ
(01/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from robert williams robert williams, sebastopol, CA
(11/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
This place isn't bad, but it's not that great either. The atmosphere seems more geared toward the food than the beer, but the beer was good. The brewmaster is a nice guy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from P & J P & J, Pittsburgh, PA
(07/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(06/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good
About 5 or 6 beers on tap. Was not too impressed with the selection. Of the two beers I had (Oatmeal Stout and IPA), both were weak and tasteless. I've had better. Great atmosphere, though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Ben, Grand Rapids, MI
(06/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good
Six beer sampler for $4. The railhead red was excellent. The oatmeal stout and the bock were very good. This place probably had the best beer, but it must be remembered that it was our fourth stop of the day and third of the night. Most yuppyfied of the 3 Flag sites.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from halada halada, milwaukee, WI
(02/15/2004)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.684 seconds) 08:13:37 107.22.45.61, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS