PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Bristol Brewing Company - Colorado Springs, CO
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 25, 2014 @ 08:24 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CO > Colorado Springs > Bristol Brewing Company
Bristol Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Bristol Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 84 / 100
1647 South Tejon Street
Colorado Springs, CO 80906
United States
(719) 633-2555
Last Updated: July 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Colorado Springs, CO
Beer Guide for Colorado

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Bristol Brewing Company
25 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(7 within 5 miles)
1) Judge Baldwin's Brewing Company
(5 miles)

2) Phantom Canyon Brewing Company
(5 miles)

3) Old Chicago
(5 miles)

4) Royal Well
(5 miles)

5) Il Vicino Wood Oven Pizza and Brewery
(5 miles)

6) Palmer Lake Brewing at the Warehouse
(5 miles)

7) Jack Quinn's
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Awarenest Victorian Bed
2) Cheyenne Canon Bed & Breakfast
3) Crescent Lily Inn
4) Holden House-1902 B & B
5) Monaco's Lodge Bed & Breakfast
6) Painted Lady Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) CHEYENNE MOUNTAIN RESORT
2) COLORADO SPRINGS SOUTH
3) COURTYARD COS SOUTH
4) DOUBLETREE COLORADO SPRINGS
5) HOLDEN HOUSE 1902 B AND B
6) HOWARD JOHNSON EXPRESS INN
7) LE BARON HOTEL
8) THE BROADMOOR
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Alamo Hotel
2) Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Passenger Depot
3) Boulder Crescent Place Historic District
4) Claremont
5) Colorado Springs City Auditorium
6) Colorado Springs City Hall
7) Colorado Springs Day Nursery
8) Colorado Springs Public Library--Carnegie Building
9) DeGraff Building
10) El Paso County Courthouse
11) Giddings Building
12) McAllister House
13) Midland Terminal Railroad Roundhouse
14) Pauline Chapel
15) Rio Grande Engine No. 168
16) Shrine of the Sun
17) St. Mary's Catholic Church
18) US Post Office and Federal Courthouse--Colorado Springs Main
19) Y.W.C.A.
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Arceo's Mexican Restaurant
2) Arie Rasta Pub
3) Baskin-Robbins
4) Baskin-Robbins
5) Broadmoor Hotel
6) Camille's Sidewalk Cafe
7) Canyon Coffee & Cafe
8) China Wok
9) Chipotle Mexican Grill
10) Chopsticks Restaurant
11) Cold Stone Creamery
12) Conway's Red Top Restaurant
13) Cravings Catering & Special
14) Dining In
15) El Mariachi Restaurant
16) Extreme Pizza
17) Golden Bee
18) Ivywild Inn
19) Jay's Sushi & Teppan
20) L & S Enterprises
21) LA Creperie Bistro
22) Mama Trino's Pizzeria
23) Mc Donald's
24) Noodles & Co
25) Olde World Bagel & Deli
26) Otho's Gourmet
27) Papa John's Pizza
28) Pikes Peak Vineyards LTD
29) Pikes Perk Coffee & Tea CAFE
30) Point
31) Qdoba Mexican Grill
32) Rascals Bar
33) Shanghai II
34) Spanky's Grill
35) Spring Buffet
36) Starbucks
37) Starbucks
38) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
39) Taco Express
40) Taste Of Thai Spice
41) Travelin Wings N Thangs
42) Wildthings Catering
43) Wingstop
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Great beer & they added a nice lil taco stand in the back. Good tacos, cheap & go great with the beer. Good consistent beers...not my favorites, but great nonetheless.

I'm going to the Zymurgy Institute "Beer School" they are hosting...they do great things for the locak brewing & bike racing scene, so I suupport them for these reasons too!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Dave, COS, CO
(08/23/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great
Kind of an upscale coffee-shop relaxed atmosphere with artsy decor. Both of the IPAs on tap seemed high in hops and maybe alcohol, but one was really smooth like a cask-conditioned ale with a slight floral aroma. The porter was very chocolatey and had very good body and head. I didn't care for the Mass Transit Amber which seemed to me to be sour, soapy, and dirty.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth N Kenneth N, Brookings, OR
(02/09/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Awesome! N/A Great So So
I was not impressed. Service was great considering the amount of people there. I tried a sampler.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(10/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Lousy Good Great
What's to say about Bristol? It is THE standard for brews in Colorado Springs. Whatever your beer pleasure, Bristol offers it. From the light beer drinker (if you like light beer, why are you here?) to the person who loves something triple hopped, Bristol aims to please.

It is a tap room, plain and simple, so don't expect a sandwich or something fancier. However, you will get pretzels served in dog bowls, an homage to the brewery's best-selling beer called "Laughing Lab."

I just wish the shuffleboard table was easier to get on, and I wish it were open later. However, it's a great place to have a few pints and get a growler fill.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Jim, Colorado Springs, CO
(04/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
My wife and I debated whether or not we wanted to even visit Bristol. We'd already hit several brewpubs and breweries in Colorado Springs and were, frankly, quite toasted already and weren't sure we wanted or needed any more beer. We decided to let go of our skirts and stop in anyway. Good decision.

Bristol had about 10 beers on tap at the time of our visit (7/2/05). This place was really an extended tasting room off the brewery that almost had a bar feel to it. There was quite a bit of traffic from folks looking to pick-up beer (lots of cyclists - which is very odd to us Minnesotans), which told us that this place was certainly a local favorite. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we found the dog-dishes filled with pretzels to be amusing. But on to the beer...

I didn't quite rate any of the beers with 5 out of 5, but that is pretty rare anyway. That being said, I found a couple of 4.5/5 (yeah, what a pussy I am - I can't commit to anything). My two favorites were Beehive (4.5/5 - my wife described it, "tastes like 'a good day at the brewery' smell" - I'm not sure what that means, but I seconded the thought) and Laughing Lab (4.5/5 - had a great mix of hoppy and grainy aromas).

Other favorites (4/5) included Small Beer (2nd boil of a barley wine, tasted much hoppier than the 34 IBU's indicated), New World IPA (big IPA but not too overpowering), and Edge City IPA (yeah, these folks like their hops).

The Mass Transit (3/5) was smooth but lacked in flavor. Red Rocket (3.5/5) had a pleasant hoppy flavor but, again, was a little light on the flavor. Old 23 (unrated for some reason) was a 57 IBU (I think - my notes are smuged) barley wine which, to me, wasn't quite as sharp and overpowering as many barley wines are. Old World IPA (2/5) was a bit too overpowering on the hop side. For some reason, I have no notes on the Nitro IPA.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Magnus McDowell Magnus McDowell, Eagan, MN
(05/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
The Edge City IPA has been my favorite beer in the world ever since I first tried it. I can't think of another brewery that has made me as happy as Bristol. As great as the beer is I hope they stay on a small scale and don't go the Sam Adams route. A must stop if you are in the Springs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John W. Browning John W. Browning, Colorado Springs, CO
(12/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great
Laughing Lab. Laughing Lab. Laughing Lab. Laasdfbing Labb. Laaafauning Lab. Laughing Me.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Warfield James Warfield, Castle Rock, CO
(10/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
This establishment is a little out of the way, but not far off I-25 if you have good directions. Decor may be plain, but exudes a pub-like atmosphere - no food, just a great place for people who like quality brews. Nice selection, and they publish all the specs for each of their brews on one wall. Their IPA was something special, bittering and flavor hops intense and well balanced. Wish I was in the Springs more often.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dr. John Dr. John, Greeley, CO
(10/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great
The Bristol brewery should always be on your list if you drive through Colorado Springs. It's a small place, with a great atmosphere. Pints are $3, and they have a great selection. They have an "edge city" series of beers that is amazing. The first beer I tried was the Pinon nut brown ale. It was so good I filled my growler with it. It was such an original flavor, I would have drank 2 if I didn't want to try their other beers. They have a Nitro IPA on tap, very good. They had a special going on; buy a bomber of their edge city beer, and get a free 10th anniversary pint glass. Overall, well worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Malone David Malone, Denver, CO
(04/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great
Bristol is definitely worth the stop. The have a staff that really knows their beer. Many of the beers we tried were very good but nothing stood out as awesome.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from P & J P & J, PITTSBURGH, PA
(07/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
One can't claim this as "the best in town" as there are also other breweries of excellence. But, Bristol Brewing has the atmosphere of being a real pub for those who appreciate beer. The knowledge and pride of the staff is a joy and so are the beers. It should be against the law for them to run out of IPA so I will have to keep on visisting.. This is a seriously good place to spend time and enjoy people and beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geoff  Bruce Geoff Bruce, Arvada, CO
(05/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Best beer in town by far. Great atmosphere and friendly, knowledgeable staff.

Lab is the signature brew and a classic, but be sure to try any of the small batch specialties, Edge City, or Skull and Bones series (especially the merlot stout and the Old World IPA). Old No. 23 (barley wine) is worthy of a sample as well as the Saison (similar to, but better than (IMO) New Belgiums Trippel(which is a bit to floral for my taste)).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from DS DS, Colorado Springs, CO
(05/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Excellent place to visit. The service and knowledge of the staff (Bob was the barkeeper, and several employees traversing through tasting room) was much better then several other places I have visited. The merlot stout is a keeper!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dennis Bridges Dennis Bridges, Albertville, AL
(10/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Medina Chris Medina, Colorado Springs, CO
(09/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Bristol Brewing's taproom is a great place to catch all their brews. In addition to their popular beers such as Laughing Lab and Mass Transit, you can find all of their available beers from the Edge City series. I enjoyed the nitro version of the Edge City IPA while the fellow next to me at the bar down several pints of the Edge City Saison. There was also an experimental "merlot stout", supposedly fermented in a wine barrel, but I did not try it. I was lucky enough to catch a live blues band and some complimentary pizza early on a Thursday evening.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(09/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
I only tried one beer here as it was the third brewery of the afternoon and I still had a really long drive -it's really hard to get out of Colorado with all these breweries. The Red Rocket was a really good, hoppy beer. I also sampled a Laughing Lab, which was good enough to buy a sixpack of to take home.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(06/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Man, Winter Warlock Oatmeal Stout is to die for! So smooth and satisfying. I braved many a winter storm to refill my growler while living in Colorado Springs. If you like Samuel Smith Oatmeal Stout, you'll love the Warlock. Laughing Lab is also incredible; a very big, malty delight (it's a Scotch Ale).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Brad Morehouse, Cape Girardeau, MO
(05/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Never a disappointment! The regular offerings, including GABF Medallist Laughing Lab are great. The real treat is their ever changing array of seasonal beers. A must stop on our tour of family and friends visiting the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Idlespur Idlespur, Woodland Park, CO
(01/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Every time I visit Colorado Springs I go to this excellent brewery. I normally sample a few beers there and get a few cases for the drive home.

Their Beehive honey wheat is one of the few "honey" wheats that actually tastes like a hefe. Normally when a brewery does something like this it's their excuse to offer a tasteless lighter beer (ala blonde).

Laughing Lab is excellent, Red Rocket has got wonderful hops countered with a slightly grainy malt mouthfeel - also excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Randal Chapman Randal Chapman, Dallas, TX
(08/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Great
My last review was 2/1999. I recently took my wife back here again. We went during the day when it was not as crowded. I can remember this place being very crowded in the past. The Beer was still very wonderful. I was disapointd that they did not have their "Warlock Stout." It is seasonal and they have not begun tobrew it yet. Although usually a Stout drinker, Ireally enjoyed their "Mass-transit ale." This is a MUST.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Brian, Moreno Valley, CA
(08/20/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
This is a must stop and have a couple beers spot if you are trying to hit all the breweries in CO Springs!! Our server, Jeremy (from Jacksonville, IL- home of MacMurray College) was extremely friendly and knowledgable about their products. The Nitrogen aided IPA was one of the best I ever tasted (been to over 160 brewpubs/microbreweries.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Davis John Davis, Bloomington, IL
(08/18/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Best brewery in Colorado! Michelle and Joe are awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review colorado springs, CO
(01/30/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Excellent beers,very friendly staff.You won't regret visiting Bristol.Jason Hartness and brewers are knowledgeable and welcome all who pass through their doors.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Sawchuk Don Sawchuk, Canton, MI
(05/28/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!
A very friendly staff and GABF and World Cup award winning beers! Edge City IPA and Winter Warlock oatmeal stout can't be beat.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Aaron McGuire Aaron McGuire, Lubbock, TX
(05/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Great Great
The Dark and Ale was the best tasting beer. The dark was poured with nitro which made it OUTSTANDING !!.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Brian, Moreno Valley, CA
(02/21/1999)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.46 seconds) 08:24:59 54.87.123.99, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS