PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Sierra Nevada Brewing Company - Chico, CA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


  >
August 22, 2014 @ 05:01 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CA > Chico > Sierra Nevada Brewing Company
Sierra Nevada Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Sierra Nevada Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 86.5 / 100
1075 East 20th Street
Chico, CA 95928
United States
(530) 893-3520
Last Updated: February 2008
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Chico, CA
Beer Guide for California



Read our BLOG:
Sierra Nevada Brewery goes 34% Solar
User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Sierra Nevada Brewing Company
53 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

Recent News
DRAFTMag.com feature: Waiting for terroir

Estate Ale comes to Sierra Nevada Brewing Company

Sierra Nevada’s newest beer ships today


alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Graduate
(0 mile)

2) Butte Creek Brewery
(0 mile)

3) Cafe Coda
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Esplanade Bed & Breakfast
2) Grateful Bed
3) Johnson's Country Inn
4) Music Express Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN HERITAGE INN CHIC
2) DAYS INN CHICO CA
3) HERITAGE INN EXPRESS CHICO
4) OXFORD SUITES CHICO
5) SAFARI INN
6) SUPER 8 CHICO CA
7) VAGABOND INN CHICO
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Allen--Sommer--Gage House
2) Bidwell Mansion
3) Chapman, A. H., House
4) Durham, W. W., House
5) Patrick Ranch House
6) Silberstein Park Building
7) Southern Pacific Depot
8) St. John's Episcopal Church
9) Stansbury House
10) US Post Office--Chico Midtown Station
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Airport Bar & Grill
2) Amigos De Acapulco
3) Angie's Poker Club
4) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
5) Arby's
6) Arroyo Room
7) Bacio Catering Co
8) Baja Fresh Mexican Grill
9) Baskin-Robbins
10) Bellachinos
11) Brick Works
12) Brunch Or Lunch
13) Bunz Thrill Of The Grill
14) Burger Hut
15) Burger King
16) Burger King
17) Bustolini's Delicatessen
18) Cafe Flo
19) Cafe Nile
20) Cafe Sandino
21) Cafe Varese
22) Cal Java
23) Candi's Deli
24) Carl's Jr Restaurant
25) Casa Lupe Restaurant
26) Casa Lupe Restaurant
27) Celestino's Live From New York
28) Chameleon Cafe
29) Chandlers Coffee House
30) China Wok
31) Chinese Gourmet Express
32) Cold Stone Creamery
33) Copycup Expresso-Cyber Cafe
34) Costa Sinistra Delicatessens
35) Country Waffles
36) Crazy Horse Saloon
37) Crazy Taco
38) Crystal Cream & Butter Co
39) Din-Ho Chinese Fast Food
40) Dragon Phoenix
41) Duffy's Tavern
42) Dutch Bros Coffee
43) Dutch Brothers Chico
44) E J's Dogs & Subs
45) Egg Roll King
46) El Cantarito
47) El Indio Tortillas
48) Enrico's Pizza Pasta & Sndwchs
49) Entree Express
50) Excalibur Catering Co
51) Foster's Freeze
52) Franky's
53) Fresh Approach
54) Golden Waffle
55) Graduate Restaurant
56) Grand Ballroom On Broadway
57) Greenville Cafe
58) Grilla Bites
59) Guzzetti's Catering
60) Has Beans Coffee & Tea Co
61) Has Beans Coffee & Tea Co
62) Hideaway Cafe
63) Hometown Buffet
64) Hula's Chinese Bar-B-Q
65) Humboldt Studios
66) International House-Pancakes
67) Italian Cottage Restaurant
68) J B's Bar & Restaurant
69) J B's Beverage & Bar Svc
70) J P's Fish Chops & Fine Wine
71) Jack In The Box
72) Jack's Family Restaurant
73) Jasco's California Cafe
74) Jedidiahs Neighborhood Grill
75) Joe's Bar
76) Johnnie's
77) King's Catch
78) Kona's Deli-Cafe
79) Kramore Inn
80) La Comida
81) LA Salles
82) Lassen Tube Steak
83) Leftcoast Pizza Co
84) Logan's Roadhouse
85) Lorenzo's Express
86) Lots' A Java
87) Maltese Bar & Taproom
88) Marie Callender's
89) Mc Donald's
90) Mc Donald's
91) Mc Donald's
92) Monks Bistro Wine Lounge
93) Monstros Pizza & Subs
94) Mr Lucky
95) Mr Lucky
96) Naked Lounge
97) Nannie's What's For Dinner
98) New World Buffet
99) NKM Headquarters
100) Nobby's
101) Normal Street Bar
102) Oberon's Bistro & Catering Co
103) Off Limits
104) Olive Garden
105) Orange Julius
106) Original Philadelphia Deli
107) Outback Steakhouse
108) Panama's Banquet Facility
109) Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake
110) Park Ave Cafe & Steakhouse
111) Pat 'n Larry's Steak House
112) Pat N Larry's Steakhouse
113) Peet's Coffee & Tea
114) Perko's Cafe
115) Pita Pit
116) Pizza Guys
117) Pommes Frites
118) Quiznos Sub
119) Raw Bar
120) Red Lobster Restaurant
121) Richards Vittorio's
122) Riff Raff Pizza Pub
123) River Valley Enterprises Inc
124) Rod's Catering
125) Round Table Pizza
126) Sbarro
127) Shelley's Creative Catering
128) Sicilian Cafe
129) Sierra Market
130) Sierra Nevada Brewing Co
131) Smokin Mo's Barbecue
132) Starbucks
133) Sub Station Ii
134) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
135) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
136) Taco Bell
137) Tacos De Acapulco
138) Tacos De Acapulco
139) Teddy Malibu's
140) Thai House
141) Towne Lounge
142) University Bar
143) We Cook 4U
144) Well Ministry Of Rescue
145) Wendy's
146) Winco Foods
147) Woody's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Great Great Great
Sierra Nevada is like entering a palace. The restaurant was packed for a weekday lunch, but we squeezed into the bar, and had a seat. We are very familiar with most of their products, so we only drank the ones they do not bottle. The Hop Syndicate, a hopped pilsner (from beer camp) was excellent, the others were ok for the style, but not stand-outs. Shelled out the cash for a Brux, but it was disappointing. The beer camp beers remain the most interesting beers these guys produce (many brewers have caught and passed SN's IPA's, stouts and the other standard styles).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tom tom , las cruces, NM
(04/23/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Certainly impressive. Now for the beer. I tried a taste of the Best Bitter and decided it just didn't hit the mark of a true British bitter, so I purchased a pint of Porter. It was good, clean-tasting at first, with a hint of coffee taste. However, it was way over carbonated and once I finished, my tongue had a residue of either treacle or hop pollen, not sure. My partner had a pint of Harvest Ale, which he enjoyed, but also thought it had that bite from overcarbonation. It was definitely hoppy (a good thing). All in all, I got the impression I would have the same experience drinking the bottled product as the draft.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Louie Strano Louie Strano, Gabriola, BC
(10/21/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Written in response to M. Peet, Knoxville, TN

You are actually proud of the fact that you travelled 3000 miles to tour the Sierra Nevada Brewery, and couldn't pry your wallet open for a few bucks to taste over a dozen ales in their sampler? That's no one's loss but your own.

It's a college town. With poor college students. Who drink heavily. Lots of beer. So why, if you had to guess, in your wildest dreams, why would Sierra Nevada NOT give out free tastes to everyone who shows up???

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Santa Rosa, CA
(01/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
What a great place. It's friendly, the staff knows beer, and the sanpler had 16 different beers! Cha ching! Better eat some food with that sampler... and the food is pretty good too. Not the greatest food but better than average. But back to the beer.

All of the beers had a clean, fresh taste. There was a couple styles that I'm not a fan of but still enjoyed the quality of the product.

A must stop for any true beer fanatic!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bob bob, Seattle, WA
(09/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(07/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
What a great trip to make! As a long-time fan of Sierra Nevada, the trip to the brewery and time to have with great beer and food. The beer selection is fun (much more than what is available at retail counters)and the quality is really great. The interior of the bar/ restaurant is fabulous and a trip to Sierra Nevada Brewing Company is trully worth it! Enjoy and cheers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chuck Dalldorf Chuck Dalldorf, Sacramento, CA
(04/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I believe with great conviction that Sierra Navada Brewing Co. is the best of the best. I have the great pleasure of living in Chico and have always taken the phenominal quality and success of Sierra Nevada for granted, and a delightful fact of life. However, I recently completed a six-state business trip, and microbrew quality control odyssey, and as a result, will never take S/N for granted again. There are many good micro beers and ales and some excellent ones but only one "Nectar of the Gods"...AKA Sierra Nevada beers and ales. And as a bonus, the food is very good and the service is the best I know of anywhere. The larger restaurant and smaller brewpub areas both have that friendly ambiance which makes you want to stay awhile. My favorite ales are the hoppier, stronger selections which would include the much vaunted Celebration Ale, (a national gold medal winner many times over), the very hoppy, and VERY BIG, Harvest Ale and the ESP, (Extra Special Pale) which ranks among the best of the best. If you are ever within a few hundred miles of Chico, and are a true believer in the healthful, nutritious and spiritual benefits of a good microbrewed product, a visit to this brewery is a must.....Ask if Steve Dresler is around....He is the Master Brewer and also one of Sierra Nevada's best emissaries, and a true believer in traditional microbrewery hospitality. In fact it's getting toward the end of a long workday right now and happily I can be inside this mecca of microbrewing excellence within five minutes if I sign off right now. Ah, the joy of living in Chico.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Kilbourne Dave Kilbourne, Chico, CA
(01/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
We call this one Mecca. We traveled lengthwise across Cali to get here and it was well worth it. What can I say - you can't go wrong with any of the beers. Look for the Specials from the tap.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Salival Salival, redlands, CA
(01/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Awesome!
The brewery tour is a must see and the entire facility is very impressive. The restaurant offers a suprisingly wide range of SN beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bud Miller Bud Miller, Orangevale, CA
(10/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
The beer menu was far more extensive then I was anticipating. A great diverse and more important, tasty selection. If you like hoppy beers, this is the place for you. We were surprised by how large a facility it was. The restaurant was massive. The outside patio was nice for lunch. Overall a very good experience - great beer and good food. Don't miss it if you're in Chico.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from harry harry, philly, PA
(10/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
Had a fun time on the tour. Was a bit disapointed that there is no free tasting at the end of the tour. I guess this is to be expected as it is located in a college town. But... All is forgiven as the visit was in October and the first Celebration Ale of the season was available in the restaurant! This was the most incredible beer ever!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Warfield James Warfield, Castle Rock, CO
(10/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!
Yes, as one of those lucky fellas to live in Chico, Sierra Nevada has become what a lot of breweries aspire to be. A new water treatment facility and a hops garden are some of the newest additions. The best part of the visit continues to be the food and the non-bottled beer. Food is a bit fancy and pricey, but trying the beer you can't get in the bottle is worth the trip. Try the India Pale Ale. How can people drink Bud etc after trying this stuff? (start out with the sampler)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin M Kevin M, Chico, CA
(04/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Our third trip to "Mecca" and it never dissapoints. The restaurant and taproom has great decor and style. Get the circular spinning booth for added fun with your friends. The food is fabulous and a great variety. Try the jambalya. Of course the beers are excellent. What's not to love about the pale ale, porter and stout? There are many beers on tap that are only available at the tap room, or limited release to selected alehouses. The harvest ale, IPA, and the pale bock are just to name a few. Pale bock was available in bottles only in Butte County, so I bought a sixpack for home. Great gift shop where you can spend a lot of money on shirts, etc. I sure did. Took walking tour it was fun. A great leader in the brewery industry with high quality ales and lagers. A must stop for beer afficionados!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Diane Van Wagner Diane Van Wagner, Burbank, CA
(03/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This place just rocks!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Sacramento, CA
(04/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Excellent. What more can you say. We did the tour and found it very interesting. You have to walk over to the brewpub to try the beers. Though they don't have free samples, the sampler they offer for a fair price is very worth while. Living in the Midwest and only being able to buy about 6 of the beers, I was very impressed at the amount and quality of the other beers they produce. I am very jealous of the locals in Chico, having access to one the of the best breweries in the USA. Make an effort to visit this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Daryl VB Daryl VB, Lakeville, MN
(04/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
14 beers on tap! Pale ale and Blonde Ale were my favorites. This is the pale ale which is the same as the fine bottled pale ale and not the tweaked Draft Style Pale Ale which is just OK (that explained why I always like the pale ale better out of the bottle than on tap). Rauch beer was pretty good and quite an unique offering. Porter, Wheat Beer, Brown Ale, Best Bitter Ale, Crystal Wheat, and Pilsner were all pretty good. India Pale Ale was just OK (not hoppy enough for an IPA). Summerfest was just OK too. Ruthless Weiss Beer was subpar. Stout was subpar (skunky tasting). My burger was quite good. The patio was a great place to catch some sun. The brewery tour was excellent but no free samples did seem kinda cheap.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Lemar Sean Lemar, Elk Grove, CA
(09/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
The selection of great beer covered every type imaginable. We were there in the afternoon when they just have their "appetizer" menu - kind of mis-named since we had a full meal. The food was very good but spicy, which made it difficult to really appreciate the nuances of their different brews. Their stout is one of the best, as is their pale ale. The barley wine is not for beer wimps!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Susan Susan, Petaluma, CA
(06/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Travis, Frederick, MD
(04/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Awesome! Awesome!
kick ass and shit

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from kevin kevin, seattle, WA
(01/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I used to live in Chico and visited the brewery often. The variety of beers is usually pretty nice. Definitely check out Chico during the holiday season- the Celebration Ale is a refreshingly crisp holiday brew that is not overspiced. Hopefully you will be around to sample the Bigfoot Barleywine Ale. This powerful ale is high in alcohol and in flavor. Of course the Pale Ale is magnificent. Definiteky a must-visit if you are ever anywhere near Chico!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Blumena Mike Blumena, Cleveland, OH
(10/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
The beer is of top quality, but not for every taste even for beer nuts. Products with this much character will offend some people. The food is great. The atmosphere is the best for any brewpub I've ever been in.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Fowler Jon Fowler, New River, AZ
(08/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great So So Lousy
Imagine my disappointment after traveling 3,000 miles to enjoy a tour of my favorite brewery and taste some of their wonderful beer, when there were no free samples offered! Don't get me wrong, I didn't go merely searching for a handout, but for the tour guide to expound on the virtues of Sierra Nevada brewing company and that they use only the best ingredients for their beers because they care about their consumers, blah blah blah, then to not even offer any free samples of their brews was ridiculous! A poor marketing decision to say the least. My wife, best friend, and his wife were all set to spend in excess of $150 on mechandise and beer yet we walked out without spending a penny because Sierra Nevada chose not to dole out about 23 cents worth of free beer. Since that day, it has been painful because of their wonderful Pale Ale but I have boycotted S.Nevada and encourage others to do the same.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from M. Peet M. Peet, Knoxville, TN
(08/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
The best ever...... We need more establishments like this in the Sacramento area

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Spencer P. Hughes Spencer P. Hughes, Rocklin, CA
(08/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
VERY GOOD PORTER AND STOUT! THE PALE ALE IS NOT SO SHABBY EITHER. THE BARLEY WINE WILL DEFINITLY PUT HAIR ON YOUR A... WELL LET US JUST SAY IT IS VERY STONG!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JAMES STOODLEY JAMES STOODLEY, PORTSMOUTH, NH
(07/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Had the sampler with 13 selections. They were all good. My favorites were the blonde ale, mai bock and the summer ale. This is a beautiful establishment. Worth a trip to Chico. Food was excellent and the service was the best. The prices on beer are ridiculouly low. What's not to like?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Toad Toad, Orangevale, CA
(05/04/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.199 seconds) 05:01:23 54.198.74.15, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS