PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.




 
July 25, 2014 @ 04:12 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > > >
 Logo
Upload Another Logo!

also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants


User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
70 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
since the place was renovated, it's a totally different restaurant. the owners have done an awesome job in creating both a beautiful restaurant and a great place to hangout with awesome food. overall, the food is delicous. the crab cakes are great as are the orange crushes. they also have watermelon, blood orange, and grapefruit crushes.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review bethesda, MD
(04/14/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good
Went for happy hour on Wed September 12. Wings were good, oysters were excellent, $1 per oyster. There were 5 or 6 different oysters to choose from, they were very fresh and were kept ice cold at their oyster bar (which is where the brewing copper used to be). The shucker did a great job presenting them - he knew how to loosen them properly so they could slide out of the shell, and knew to collect the oyster liquid in each oyster. They were great. The beer selection was good, about the same as a lot of places nowadays. You could get just about whatever style you desire, whether draft or bottle. All in all we enjoyed our visit - we'll return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Severn, MD
(09/14/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
food was awesome. service was great. beers were awesome as well. try the orange crush. only negative was the minority owner brian mccomas, who was not pleasant and over the top selfish.

highly recommended!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jacob darvish jacob darvish, potomac, MD
(06/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Great Great
It looks like the place re-opened as a "beer bar". They have about 12 craft brews and imports.

The food was absolutely fantastic.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Irwin Markus Irwin Markus, Baldwin, NY
(04/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Business sold/transferred, major rebuilding/renovation under way as I type, unknown if the few craft beers they still had will survive, let alone the name.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(08/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A So So Good
here is a bar downstairs and another smaller bar and restaurant area upstairs. It was very loud with a mostly young college crowd. We had a couple of beers at the bar upstairs, since it was not quite so loud up there. They had four house beers and an assortment of domestic beers, which most of the people here seemed to be drinking. I had the Ryleigh’s Revenge IPA; a very good, nicely hopped (though not overpowering) nitro IPA. My wife had the amber, which was a mediocre hoppy, amber colored ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So So So So So So So
I should have read the previous review before trying to find a parking place. Place was empty for lunch. Service was so-so even though I was the only one there for 1/2 hour before 4 others arrived. IPA was very good. They only have 3 others and all on the lighter side. Contract brewering is out of W. VA. per waitperson

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(10/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Good
No longer a brewpub: brewery was removed in August to make more room for a sports bar. That really should tell you pretty much all you need to know. They still contract-brew with another brewery to offer their own beers, but none are worth a special journey.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(09/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A Awesome! Great
They only had two of their own beers while I was visiting, but had several host microbrews and other imports and domestics. The great thing about this place is its laid back atmosphere. It is in a very cool location off the beat and path on a coble stone street. The bartender was excelent and everyone in the place was very nice and gave me advice on other beer bars and brewpubs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Mertie Scott Mertie, Brentwood ( S of N'ville), TN
(03/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Sisson's was the first microbrewery I ever went to, about 15 years ago. It's my understanding that Hugh Sisson had to sell the place when he started the Clipper City Brewing Company (Maryland's antiquated microbrewery laws). Sisson's was responsible for my initial interest in craft beers, so I was interested to check out Ryleigh's to see how they compared. I have been going to Ryleigh's for about a year for their Sunday Brunch. It's a great deal for before Raven's games: $15, all you can eat buffet (pasta, omlette and waffle stations), with free bloody marys and mimosas and $2 pints. I think they run it year round. I went out with a party of seven this past Friday for dinner to check out their dinner scene. The seasonal Oatmeal Stout was very good; thick, dark and flavorful. Their IPA not so good; nowhere near the level of hoppiness and bouquet I expect from a good IPA. The cooked food was good, but their raw bar was weak (tiny, tiny oysters). All in all, it was a good experience; not quite to the level of the old Sisson's, but a worthwhile stop, nonetheless. As a bonus tip, if you go to restaurant.com you can buy a $25 gift certificate (food only, $35 minimum) for $10. For a couple, that pretty much knocks out your dinner, so you're just paying for drinks. Not a bad deal, and it definitely softened my review.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lutgehr Brighthammer Lutgehr Brighthammer, Baltimore, MD
(02/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Good So So
WOW! A Miller Lite fan recommends this place......ENOUGH SAID!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mdbeerfan mdbeerfan, Columbia, MD
(03/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Awesome! Good Good
this place has by far the best food specials in the area. the beer selection lags but they make up for it in food. if you are a single guy looking for some hot broads this is the place to be. the food is fantastic and the bar is a bar not bad but nothing to write home to mom about. miller lite drafts always a 2 dollars what other bar in fed hill has that........none and it's all the time, i am heading there right now for some chix fingers and a miller lite

later tony

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tony rogers tony rogers, baltimore, MD
(03/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
I just visited Ryleigh’s for the first time this past Saturday night…all be it to see O’Malley’s March (Mayor of Baltimore’s band). We had the best time! And the food was great! I had the best cream of crab I have ever tasted and my filet was perfect. Two friends of mine had burgers and they said they were excellent and that they must have a charbroiler in the kitchen. Another friend had the ribs which he said were done perfectly and a another friend had the crab cake which he said was super (although he is from out of town…he orders them everywhere when he visits!) We also had SEVERAL pints and the best of the lot being the recently tapped Oktoberfest (That is why they had the Mayor there, to celebrate Oktoberfest). We also tried the IPA and found it to be plenty hoppy although none of my friends and I are beer geeks by any means so since the last guy seemed to be disappointed I guess it is all in the taste of the drinker. We also met the owners (one founded the Oxford Brewing Co….claim to fame was Oxford Rasp. Wheat and he is still the head brewer w/ some help of local guys like the guy mentioned below in other reviews). My suggestion is to just stop in and see for yourself! I don’t think you will be disappointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Martin Harris Martin Harris, Annapolis, MD
(10/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
As with the previous reviewer I found the beers to be sorely lacking. I was there about in April on a Friday afternoon. The IPA was sweet with little to no hop signature, a true disappointment. The porter was also far to sweet to style. One sip of the Golden Ale and again excessive sweetness. The Amber Ale, though the best beer of the lot, was somewhat bland. I met the brewer who was very nice and enthusiastic. He told me he was a former home brewer and this was his first professional brewing job. He admitted that there was a problem with the "sweetness" of the brews and that it would be worked out. The food that I had was a crab pretzel. It was pretty mundane, some crab dip slopped on a couple of soft prezels. The Happy Hour Buffet consisted of chicken strips and tater tots. The remodeled building does remind you more of the original Sissons with the bar at the front but I believe they have a long way to go but i think they will be fine with time and experience for the brewer. (April 2003)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Dicken John Dicken, Pasadena, MD
(07/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I recently went to Baltimore in May looking for Sisson's and found Ryleigh's. I was not disappointed. The beer was very good and the food tasty. My only regret was not taking more time to sample the wears. I was able to go before my departure flight and had to rush the experience. If I had missed the flight I would not have been mad. I might be in the Baltimore area permanently and I look forward to becoming a regular.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Houston, TX
(06/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Good So So
As with the previous reviewer I found the beers to be sorely lacking. I was there about a month ago on a Friday afternoon. The IPA was sweet with little to no hop signature, a true disappointment. The porter was also far to sweet to style. One sip of the Golden Ale and again excessive sweetness. The Amber Ale, though the best beer of the lot, was somewhat bland. I met the brewer who was very nice and enthusiastic. He told me he was a former home brewer and this was his first professional brewing job. He admitted that there was a problem with the "sweetness" of the brews and that it would be worked out. The food that I had was a crab pretzel. It was pretty mundane, some crab dip slopped on a couple of soft prezels. The Happy Hour Buffet consisted of chicken strips and tater tots. The remodeled building does remind you more of the original Sissons with the bar at the front but I believe they have a long way to go but i think they will be fine with time and experience for the brewer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Dicken John Dicken, Pasadena, MD
(04/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A So So So So
I know this place can do better. I've seen it. Recent visit found three dogs of house beers (raspberry wheat thin and somewhat sour; porter overly sweet, somewhat green; amber simply unremarkable); the advertised happy hour buffet was MIA; and service spotty and lackluster. For the sake of this place, I hope it was an off day.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(04/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(03/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
Ok I admit it was almost 7 years ao when I visited this place, but it was great!! The Edgar Allen Porter was the best porter I have ever had, and the Blueberry wheat was to die for, even though it was a fruit beer!! I hope recent reviews are wrong, because other so called brewpubs in this area SUCK!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Beer Traveler The Beer Traveler, Tucson, AZ
(02/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great So So Good
The new Ryleigh's is a great improvement over the previous "re-make" of the original Sisson's. The original Sisson's was super with it's Creole / Cajun food, and of course great beer. When the 'new' Sisson's reopened I was looking forward to the return of good food & beer. Unfortunately, the beer was lousy. Now that they have become Ryleigh's, not only has the food vastly improved, but the beer is once again excellent. The decor has also been improved. The only criticism I would bring is that the service seemed a bit stretched, but this was during Ravens Sunday pre-game / post-game "warm-ups". Never the less it is a great place to try.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Higdon John Higdon, Annapolis, MD
(02/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Formerly Sissons. Re-opened as Ryleigh's on November 8th, 2002.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review pittsburgh, pa
(01/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Hello all, I am Brian McComas one of the partners of Ryleigh's Brew Pub and Raw Bar. I am writing to ask that you now place your reviews under our new name. Ryleigh's is under new management and some new ownership. We look forward to making your next visit a great one!

I requested Ryleigh's be listed ASAP so that reviews are correctly listed.

I look forward to seeing you at the pub!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian M.  McComas Brian M. McComas, Towson, MD
(01/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Formerly Sissons. Re-opened as Ryleigh's on November 8th, 2002.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian M.  McComas Brian M. McComas, Towson, MD
(01/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Lousy So So So So
now called o reily's I went in the afternoon to try the beers they had a winter warmer, pale ale, golden, amber,of the four I liked the winter the best 7.2% my kind of beer the bartender was good sampling me the

others. my problem was the food after 45 min I got still part frozen pretzels

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from j ferner j ferner, baltimore, MD
(01/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I came here many times when I lived in Baltimore. Sad to see it's been ruined.

Good story: Sisson's always had a more mature crowd than the No Way Jose Cafe around the corner. One night I met a friend at Sisson's. I hadn't seen her in a while so we were catching up in the crowded bar. All of a sudden the room noise hushes to whisper level and we see that everyone is intently turned toward the TV over the bar, watching a white Ford Bronco as it slowly drives down the L.A. freeway with police in chase. That's right. It was O.J. night. Overheard bar conversations included, "my God, this is unbelievable," "imaging the legal ramifications," "I can't believe this is happening," and "did somebody say that's O.J. in the truck?" As more people arrived and the bar became more crowded, my friend and I decided to head to roomier quarters, even if it meant sacrificing delicious beer ... off to No Way Jose we went.

Twenty feet from the door we could already hear the entire bar screaming in unison: "O.J.! O.J.! O.J.! O.J.!" It was an interesting evening. The only time I've ever seen someone order a "Bass and Rolling Rock Half-and-Half."

Ah, good times. I'm glad I was able to enjoy Sisson's back in 1994.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Chicago, IL
(01/10/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.21 seconds) 04:12:22 54.80.180.41, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS