PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Golden City Brewery - Golden, CO
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 18, 2014 @ 03:08 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CO > Golden > Golden City Brewery
Golden City Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Golden City Brewery
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 85.3 / 100
920 12th Street
Golden, CO 80401
United States
(303) 279-8092
Listed Since: June 1996
Last Updated: February 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Golden, CO
Beer Guide for Colorado

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Golden City Brewery
19 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(5 within 5 miles)
1) Woody's Wood Fired Pizza and Watering Hole
(0 mile)

2) Hops Grill and Brewery
(0 mile)

3) Yard House
(0 mile)

4) The Rock Rest Lodge
(0 mile)

5) AC Golden Brewing Company
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Alexander Jameson House
2) Cliff House Lodge
3) Dove Inn Bed & Breakfast
4) Shamrock Inn
5) Staples House
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) GOLDEN HOTEL A CLARION COLLECTI
2) HAMPTON INN GOLDEN
3) TABLE MOUNTAIN INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Ammunition Igloo
2) Astor House Hotel
3) Barnes--Peery House
4) Calvary Episcopal Church
5) Colorado Amphitheater
6) Colorado National Guard Armory
7) Colorow Point Park
8) Coors, Herman, House
9) First Presbyterian Church of Golden--Unger House
10) Golden High School
11) Loveland Building and Coors Building
12) Morrison Schoolhouse
13) Mount Vernon House
14) Quaintance Block
15) Queen of Heaven Orphanage Summer Camp
16) Rio Grande Southern Railroad Engine No. 20
17) Rio Grande Southern Railroad, Motor No. 2
18) Rio Grande Southern Railroad, Motor No. 6
19) Rio Grande Southern Railroad, Motor No. 7
20) Thiede Ranch
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 13th Street Wine Bar
2) A Purple Avacado
3) Ameniteas English Cream Tea
4) Angie's Tavern
5) Anthony's Pizza & Pasta
6) Bilg's Delicatessen
7) Biscuits & Berries Catering
8) Bono's Italian Takeout
9) Buffalo Rose Saloon
10) Cafe Touche
11) California Pizza Kitchen
12) Chaiwalla's
13) Chili's Grill & Bar
14) Chipotle Mexican Grill
15) Chop Chop
16) Christies Of Genesee-Event Ctr
17) Classic Fare Catering
18) Cody Inn Continental Cuisine
19) Cold Stone Creamery
20) Columbine Cafe
21) Cousins' Coffee Bar & Sandwich
22) Foothills Quiznos
23) Golden Oven
24) Golden Pizza Shoppe
25) Hibachi San #36
26) Jillian's Entertainment Corp
27) Jus Cookin's Restaurant
28) LA Carreta
29) Le Brians Catering
30) Maggio's Italian Eatery
31) Mannie & Bo's Pizzeria
32) Mier's Deli
33) Mountain Espresso
34) Naples Group
35) New World Restaurant Group Inc
36) Panda Express
37) Papa John's Pizza
38) Popeyes Chicken & Biscuits
39) Proserve Corp
40) Quiznos Sub
41) Rebel Ribs Barbecue
42) Rhapsody's At Clear Creek
43) Robin's Nest
44) Santiago's Mexican Restaurant
45) Scotty Dawgs
46) Shorty Lu's Diner
47) Sonic Drive-In
48) Sports Channel
49) Starbucks
50) Susie's Bar & Grill
51) Tafolino's Too
52) Tastea Bubbles Cafe
53) Tequilas
54) Wendy's
55) Woody's Woodfired Pizza
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
Great, quirky little place. I had an IPA which was wonderfully full bodied. Around 8 different styles available. Weird hours! The sign on the door says 11:30 - 6:30, 7 days. I've never heard of last call at 6:30.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brad Brad, Oakton, VA
(06/10/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
Almost didn't stop. People sitting outside in middle of February enjoying a beer was quite a sight. After deciding, "hey I'm here". I'm glad I did go in. As previous notes say, this place is in the garage or out building behind the house. Inside holds 15 at the most. IPA was fantastic. I only had time for one. Other customers were great and friendly. By the time I was 1/2 way through, I had met 5 people.

Skip any Coors tour and head straight for Golden City. Time will be better spent

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(02/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! So So N/A Good Awesome!
After Coors Lab on a Friday afternoon, its strait to the Golden City Brewery for a picture of their best, Mad Molly Brown. Beer is amazing, price is fairly good for the great quality you get. A place where a mines student can grab a beer and just might run into one or two of his professors. its just a good time in Golden

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Golden, , CO
(11/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
Sitting outside in a backyard atmosphere on Labor day!! Like sitting with a bunch of friends you haven't yet met. Hard to find but worth it. at 920 1/2 12th street. Turn off 12th St onto I think Arapahoe.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Coopersburg, PA
(09/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!
I loved their slogan: Second largest brewery in Golden. Nice sense of humor, but if you measure the beer by flavor, Golden City is by far the biggest in Golden, if not in all of Colorado. With each beer I tasted, I thought I had found their best, but each beer was better than the next, so that I really can't tell you which one was best. Even the amber and the hefeweizen, styles I normally don't like, were great.

I didn't think this place was as hard to find as some reviewers have made it sound - it's just that it looks like it's just one more house on the block, so don't go searching expecting a restaurant or a big flashy sign. It's nondescript and unassuming, but well worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ct ct, Elgin, IL
(10/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Awesome!
I love this place. A small brick building in an old residential district, watch the address carefully -- you'll never notice it. An outdoor beer garden and a small indoor sitting area. It really has a "good vibe." The people are friendly, the customers welcome you to hang out. The brown is very smooth, the IPA is one of the best I've ever had. No food (other than a few munchies and warmed-up pizza) -- but the beer is awesome. A little gem that the locals certainly seem to know about.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from kevin Anderson kevin Anderson, monument, CO
(03/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great
The brewery is on a side street near the Colorado School of Mines. For those visiting the Denver metro, Golden is a nice place to stay. I brought home a bottle of Mad Molly's Brown Ale. The brew was smooth with a slow finish.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Neil Serafin Neil Serafin, Bailey, CO
(04/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I visited the brewery in February 1997 while on a business trip. I had recently read an article on them in Brew Your Own magazine and wanted to see it. I am very happy to hear that they are still open and doing well. The beer was very good at the time, although when I visited there were only two beers available in bottles. The stout was my favorite. I bought a mixed case and shipped it back home! I won't rate the beer or selection now because of the time gap, but I thoroughly enjoyed the beer, the tour (possibly the world's shortest brewery tour) and the excellent hospitality.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert C. Robert C., Tulsa, OK
(01/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!
This is perhaps one of the greatest ideas for a brewpub; limited hours, fantasic IPA, and in the brewmasters backyard. Charlie makes a really hoppy, really potent IPA. Friday nights they are open until 7:30 PM and is a great way to end the work week. He also owns Chesire Cat, which has it's own unique line of brews, all excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Comeau Steve Comeau, Denver, CO
(07/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Where the hell are you guys located? I wasted about 1 hour of quality beer drinking time trying to find Golden City. After driving up and down and around the block many times, I found a liquor store and asked the guy there where Golden City Brewing was. He told me to look in a garage by the hardware store. I cicled the hardware store several more times until I was getting worried about getting picked up for cruising. I ended up going back to Denver dry and thirsty.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bearded Dave Bearded Dave, Pine Springs, TX
(06/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
A great place so sit under the shade trees and drink the best beer in Golden...sorry Coors

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Joe, Arvada, CO
(03/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
I like the Ale

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Peters Chris Peters, Golden, CO
(10/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Go for the pale ale(Kolsch) or IPA. Watch out coors...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from the man the man, Pine brook, NJ
(04/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
As previously noted, this is a very small place, but they make some big beers. The brewery is right behind the taproom. During the tour inside the brewery facility, we could see all that there was to see by just standing in one spot in the middle of the building. There is now an outdoor patio area set up for when the weather allows. Worth finding.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(02/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
This is the second largest brewing company in Golden. The beer quality is excellent. I enjoyed the Stout over everything. It is a small place, just behind their address on 12th. It is actually 920 1/2 12th Street. During the day their were no crowds. The server spoke with us about the town and gave a little bit of history behind the building and owners. You must visit Golden City Brewing Company.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Brian, Moreno Valley, CA
(08/20/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Awesome! Great
This place is so cool. It is in a residential neighborhood and they literally are making this beer in the backyard. My wife loved the beer and I thought it was very good. The wife is serving and the husband is making the brew in the back. We were invited back and had a long conversation with the owner/brewmaster. Much better than Coors!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Rock Hill, SC
(07/15/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
I went to Golden with a coworker so he could see Coors,it was a 2 hour wait. We went to Golden City and I loved it. Good beers, Barley Wine was great. They even opened a bottle so we could taste it. My friend didn't like it there, they don't serve domestic. If you like a good micro this is the place to go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Frazier Jim Frazier, Jeffersonville, IN
(09/23/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great
Tasted this beer at Woody's in Golden. Very much enjoyed the Red Ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(03/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great
These guys are still really just a micro brewery...they are working on opening a new location that will be a true brewpub. Beer is most excellent...they don't have 20 varieties as some places do.....they make 5 or 6 styles of beer and do them great......The Cherry Bomber Ale is a don't miss!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Walker Mark Walker, Golden, CO
(10/08/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.17 seconds) 15:08:25 54.211.230.186, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS