PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Red Dog Saloon - Juneau, AK
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 28, 2014 @ 12:28 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > AK > Juneau > Red Dog Saloon
Red Dog Saloon Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Red Dog Saloon
Overall: So So    Score: 56.9 / 100
278 South Franklin Street
Juneau, AK 99801
United States
(907) 463-9954
Last Updated: January 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Juneau, AK
Beer Guide for Alaska

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Red Dog Saloon
42 Reviews / 7 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Alaskan Brewing and Bottling Company
(0 mile)

2) Alaskan Hotel and Bar
(0 mile)

3) Hangar On The Wharf
(0 mile)

4) DocWater's Pub
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) A Water View Bed & Breakfast
2) Aah Angel's Bed & Breakfast
3) Alaska Wolf House
4) Alaska's Capitol Inn
5) Aurora View Inn on the Mtn
6) Beachside Villa
7) Cashen Quarters
8) Dawson's Bed & Breakfast
9) Eagles Nest Bed & Breakfast
10) Forecastle Bed & Breakfast
11) Green House Private Cottage
12) Highlands Bed & Breakfast
13) Inn At the Waterfront
14) Jan's View Bed & Breakfast
15) Jewell House Bed & Breakfast
16) MT Juneau Inn Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Gruening, Ernest, Cabin
2) Sentinel Island Light Station
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Alaska Sushi
2) Alaskan & Proud Juneau
3) Alaskan Hotel & Bar Inc
4) Arctic Bar
5) Bacar's
6) Big Dipper Ice Cream
7) Bullwinkle's Pizza Parlor
8) Bullwinkle's Pizza Parlor
9) Cookhouse Inc
10) Downtown Espresso
11) Espresso Yourself
12) G W Teal
13) Henry's Food & Spirits
14) Heritage Coffee Co
15) Heritage Coffee Co
16) Heritage Coffee Co
17) Heritage II Go-Airport
18) Heritage II Go-Lemon Creek
19) Imperial Billiard & Bar
20) Java Jazz
21) Last Frontier Roasters/Java
22) Marlintini's Lounge
23) Oriental Express
24) Pasta Express
25) Ravens Cafe
26) Rendezvous
27) Sandbar
28) Schooner's Espresso & Coffee
29) Se Waffle Co
30) Squires Rest
31) Sweet Dream Teas
32) Triangle Club
33) Twin Lake Cafe
34) Uncle Sam's Cafeteria
35) Viking Lounge & Pull Tabs
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So So So
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
Wow, I had low expectations walking in and they sunk further after I left. What a dump. Look up tourist trap on wikkipedia and there picture should be shown. Can't the bartender at least take a shower. He had a bad case of BO!. The beer was flat and stale. Just a horrible beer joint.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Santo Steve Santo, Seattle, WA
(07/23/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Lousy
We were unable to spend any time in this pub 10 yrs ago, and couldn't wait to stop in for a beer and bite on our cruise this time around. What a disappointment!! First it is apparently under new ownership, the place is smaller, and the service was absolutely horrible. Our waitress was so rude I couldn't believe it. The menu was lousy, so we decided on a couple of drinks and to forgo the food. There were six of us. She was so upset because we didn't want any food, she was rude and mouthy when asked a question, then the others didn't want to leave much of a tip because of how she acted, and she handed us back our money and bill and said the tip was not included, wanting more than we had given her. We gave her a little more, and someone said we pay for the service we are given at home, and she just grabbed it and stomped off. Don't waste your time or money here. There was not a local in the establishment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lee Lee, Millbury, OH
(05/31/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
I saw this place on the street. I wish I had read the reviews first! The bartender was rude, cocky, and annoying. his game was to crack on the customers and ring his bell afterward. what a clown. the beer was crap, as was the food. nothing really more to say.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Dunn Pat Dunn, Mountan View, CA
(01/23/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A Lousy
Went to check out a world famous place. The man at the door was so rude and forced us to leave. All we wanted to do was stand there for 30 seconds an look inside. It was very dirty and smelly. Oh well the cruise was great and so is Alaska.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Karen Karen, Fountain Valley , CA
(12/30/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
I have no idea why this place would even be posted. This is and has been a filthy dump! I was there in 1992 when they supposedly were brewing again, well..... The owner was doing 5 gal. bucket batches in the basement that he would brag about, but only share with his friends. Change your name to "Dumpy Septic Tank", Brewery is very misleading. I went back recently to find the place as bad or worse than before. If it weren't for the history, I would bulldoze the place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Cantwell Scott Cantwell, Vancouver, WA
(12/21/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
Undrinkable Swill! What a complete tourist trap! STAY AWAY! Wife got food poisoning from the Hamburger. We asked for napkins and they ran out. They brought a roll of toilet paper to use. We walked out promptly

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rawley Douglas Rawley Douglas, San Jose, CA
(12/08/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
Stale beer, Bartender with an attitude, A barmaid that ripped a fart at our table. Dirty glasses. Need I go on? Food was cold too. A horrible experience!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Taylor Todd Taylor, Los Angeles, CA
(11/05/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Good Good Great
Since we aren't drinkers, we were there for the food and the atmosphere. The place was packed but the service was good and the hamburgers were fine.We were there at lunchtime and didn't want beer, just the experience!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from hallie hallie, dearborn heights, MI
(08/19/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A Lousy Lousy
The second floor had its day, but all is gone now. I wouldn't go back. Service was miserable and beer wasn't much better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TOM TOM, humble, TX
(07/28/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
I was looking for a quick bite and a beer and stopped at this Stink hole. The bartender was rude, cocky, and annoying. his game was to crack on the customers and ring his bell afterward. what a clown. the beer was crap, as was the food. nothing really more to say.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alan Zemel Alan Zemel, Philadelphia, PA
(04/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
I had been looking forward to visiting for some time and finally managed to visit recently. What a disppointment! The inside was appealing. On the day of my visit 2 beers were poured, both were rather poor and although I can't identify precisely how, they had a maddening similarity in taste. I've encountered that situation before in my brewpub adventures and it always represents failure. When your porter, and IPA taste similar you know something is very wrong in the brewhouse. I did not sample the food, but I can report that a woman seated next to me returned a pasta dish saying that it "tasted awful". I guess that sums it up for the Red Dog Saloon. Bottom line is just stay awaY!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Ralston Steve Ralston, Spokane, WA
(02/19/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
I met a panhandler on the street an who better to recommend a dump Bar. Beer is flat, nothin that jumped out at me. I ordered the nacho's. They reeked of grease and I found 2 hairs. Better beer just down the block at the the old Alaska Hotel.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Kilinski Bob Kilinski, Fort Worth, TX
(01/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
This is the worst review I have ever written. In the previous week before this last trip I was in two new brew-pubs and on both occasions the owners came to chat to me and the beer was good. In contrast, both occasions we got seated here (we left once before because of the wait for a table and attitude of the staff) the service was poor and the beer lousy. This time, I complained about the beer, two types. The water apologized and offered to take it off the bill. However, he came back and said the manager had told him to charge me for it and thats the way their beer is - FLAT and stale tasting? The waiter offered to bring the manager over, I said not to bother as I would simply tell him what I told the waiter. Incidentally, they use bussers to serve the food not waiters, they who know nothing abut what they are delivering but cant even speak in English to tell you!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Balmaceda David Balmaceda, Nome, AK
(10/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
Poor service, Dirty bathrooms, Warm Beer, Overcooked burgers with no flavor. Don't the owners ever smile. I will never return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Taliancich David Taliancich, Bend, OR
(10/01/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good
We stopped here for lunch and found one empty table. This place was not as bad as many have reported, but I would not call it a great experience either. At least we can say we we’ve been to this seemingly legendary place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(09/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
Problem is that they don't seem concerned that they are a brewery and don't really care about the beer. It was nearly impossible to get service, and I sat down right at the bar, even though it was not busy. As mentioned in previous reviews, The place Stank! The aroma of the bar smelled like some one's arm pit!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Conrad John Conrad, Fairbanks, AK
(09/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Awesome!
You can almost picture the gold rush days in this old, run down watering hole. Had a great time singing along with the piano player and people watching. I enjoyed the view from upstairs. Any place that serves Sierra Nevada is okay by me.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leo de Leon Leo de Leon, Redlands, CA
(09/01/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
Problem is that they don't seem concerned that they are a Brew Pub and don't really care about the beer. It was nearly impossible to get service, and I sat down right at the bar, even though it was not busy. It also had an un pleasent odor that the septic tank had over flowed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Charlie king Charlie king, Genmount, NY
(08/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
Went back there for the first time in years on a trip back to Alaska. I used to go there all the time when I lived their. The beer has gone down hill. To bad, Food was way to greasy too and my waitress had a bad case of B.O.!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alex Ayala Alex Ayala, Seattle, CA
(08/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Dear Sir: We were in Alaska from July 21 - 29 and stopped into Red Dog Saloon on July 23. The singer at the honky tonk piano was incredibly funny, calling us, "boat people" etc. When he sang "You picked a fine time to leave me Lucille" I almost split myself laughing when the waitresses chimed in! What an incredible place! My one regret is that there is no Saloon like that here in Maryland! Sigh! Mary Ann

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mary Ann Mary Ann, Davidsonville, MD
(08/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
Wish I had read the reviews first. They only had 1 tap running. Some local swill that was flat and skunky. The food was cold to luke warm. Great if your having salad, Not if you having soup and Onion Rings. Thier was an odor of vomit in the air too. Just a horrible experience. Stay away!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Madera Rick Madera, Atlanta, GA
(04/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
Very dissapointed in the whole experience. Flat beer, Snobby bartender, Over priced Gru, Filty tables. The high light was walking out, not in!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Juan Juan, Austin, TX
(02/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
Only 1 beer on tap, It was rather weak in flavor. For such a great location, I came away very disappointed in the beer and the food. The bathroom were filty too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Oliverio Pat Oliverio, Newport, CA
(12/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Was here this summer and realy enjoyed the atmosphere. Great place to stop for a cool one or maybe two.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Carlson Pat Carlson, Mountain View, AB
(10/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
My wife and I walked in right near closing time. The bartender looked at us and said "Sorry Men we are closing" We were furious!! My wife is 6.2 and around 185lbs but she is a world rated body builder. She went over and grabed the bartender by his collier and made him say that he was sorry! We then sat at the bar and ordered a beer. Thier was so much soap residue it was un drinkable! We left after that.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brent Treadway Brent Treadway, Newport Beach, CA
(09/11/2006)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.863 seconds) 00:28:31 54.242.253.192, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS