PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from Drew Persons
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 28, 2014 @ 03:32 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
Drew Persons

Beer Reviews
(5)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

5
Beer Reviews from Drew Persons
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Good Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: David Copperfield's, New York, NY

So, this place is owned by the same folks who run the Hop Devil Grill. Its like a nice French bistro inside, and its also quite pubbish.

Beer selection is great. 30 taps and a cask engine, and loads of bottles from all over the world, particularly Belgium. Quality is right on. Lots of rare and obscure stuff, and enough regular offerings to satisfy anyone.

Food is where this place really shines. Very good barbecue ribs, excellent hamburgers and overall a pretty big menu for a pub.

I recommend David Copperfield's to anyone who can make their way up to 74th Street!

(02/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy So So Good Great

Establishment: McSorley's Old Ale House, New York , NY

This old-timer used to ban women. I wonder what that was like. Nowadays, its a tourist-trap, but it is nevertheless quite fun. The beer offerings are not great, but go to soak up that 160 year old atmosphere. It still has dust from 1915 hanging on the chandeleers.

(02/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Saint Andrew's, New York, NY

This is an unusual bar for anywhere, at least anywhere in the USA. The bartenders wear kilts! Awesome Scotch selection, great steaks and great service. Overall not that wonderful for beer, and never the less, at least good beer. I recommend it.

(01/31/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Hop Devil Grill, New York, NY

My chance to butt in. Like Phil says, this place, the Hop Devil Grill, has hands down the best Belgian beer selection in the entire tri-state area. Who comes close? Not only do they always have 5 great Belgians on tap all the time (last time I was there they had Dragonmead Triple and Cantillon Lou Pepe Framboise), but their Belgian bottle selection is crazy! Add to that the other side which has 24 amazing American micros as well as a cask-conditioned (last time, Oskar Blues Leroy Brown, never before even seen anywhere in NYC, but here on cask!), and a huge range of American and international craft beer. So, the food isn't the greatest. What pub in NYC has great food and this kind of beer selection? None that I can think of anywhere I have, so the food is alright. At least you can get food here. True, Waterfront Ale House does do a bit better cuisine, but look at the taps. Service? Always good when I go, if not always spectacular. Sometimes they are too busy to be that personable. I come here for the beer, and when it comes to beer,these guys deliver!

(01/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Lousy Good Great

Establishment: Dieu du Ciel!, Montreal, QC

I really liked this smallish, neighborhoody brewpub. Beer on tap was quite good, albeit the selection was a bit limited. Food was ridiculously bad, that is all I can say for it. Still, I enjoyed the locale, the overall dingy ambiance and I loved Montral.

(01/29/2007)














(0.058 seconds) 03:32:13 23.20.50.20, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS