PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from Bill Laubert
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 02, 2014 @ 05:26 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
Bill Laubert

Beer Reviews
(167)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

167
Beer Reviews from Bill Laubert
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Lousy

Establishment: d.b.a. (DBA), New York, NY

"Good" on everything else and then a "Lousy" for over all? Why? Because it's a dirty little shit hole. My God! I was there on Saturday Oct. 2nd. It smelled like someone had hosed the place down with urine. I don't mean a hint wafting through the air--I MEAN CHOKINGLY STRONG SMELL OF PISS. The walls and floors were filthy. Honestly, it smelled so bad and was so filthy I downed my beer and got the hell out. I guess if you go after dark you don't notice how filthy it is. I've been there several times before and never noticed it was that dirty--and certainly never smelled anything like I did Saturday.

(10/07/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A Great N/A Great

Establishment: Southampton Publick House, Southampton, NY

My Friday the 13th was great because I spent the entire afternoon at SPH. Arrived at noon and left a bit after 4. The bartender was great, food great, service great. They were out of the IPA and I mercilessly gave them grief and they all took it well. It had been 6 years since I had visited. I hope it won't be that long before I make it back again!

(08/19/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: The Pony Bar, New York, NY

August 15th was my most recent visit. Smaller crowd than usual--got a seat at the bar. New bar tender, Tom was great. Probably the widest variety I've seen was on tap.

(08/19/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Heartland Brewing, New York, NY

The newest of the Heartland Family. This should be a nice find for the bus crowd. It's another Heartland so the same beer and same quality. The bartender the day I was there (6.20.2010) was great! The oatmeal stout was great as usual. They have fried pickles--in the name of all that's holy, they are succulent!!!

(06/26/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Buffalo Brewing Company, Saint Louis, MO

This is a great place, just down the road (west) from Schalfley. Unlucky for me (but lucky for them) they had a very busy day prior (they were right on the rount for the Race for the Cure) so they only had 4 on tap--Chilie Beer, Buffalo Gold, American Pale Ale, and Buffalo Drool. Having had a a bad experience with chilie beer in the past (missing hours that still can't be accounted for) and not a fan of 'gold' I stuck with the 'pale' and 'drool.' I was not disapointed! The pale had a deliciously clean, not cloying hoppy taste. If I hadn't had a 6 hour drive in front of me, I would have stayed all afternoon and had this. 'Drool' was a nice brown ale, nice malty flavor. The buffalo burger was great and delicious potato salad.

The food, service, and beer were all excellent. Cheap glasses! I love this place! Please, St. Louis, support this place. I live too far away!!!

(06/26/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Three Floyds Brewing Company, Munster, IN

This is a fun little brewpub tucked away in an industrial park. Very funky decoration--as you would expect if you've ever seen their labels. On tap the day I was there (6.11.2010; Alpha Kind, Gumball Head, Robert the Bruce, Pride and Joy, Blackheart Topless Wytch, Devil's Handshake, Actic Panzer Wolf, and Dreadnaught--7 guest's as well. The difference in Alpha King on tap versus bottle is amazing. It will be hard to have it from the bottle again. My second favorite was Dread Naught. My Brisket Sandwich was great! It's a little out of the way but easy to find. Worth the effort!

(06/26/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good So So

Establishment: White Horse Tavern, New York, NY

The history and atmosphere is the draw here. A small, unremarkable beer selection. Seemed to be lots of regulars. It's good for a beer and a look around, then be on your way.

(06/24/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good

Establishment: Standings was Brewsky's, New York, NY

A tiny little place just down the block from McSorley's. A pretty nice variety of beer for the space...seems like 15 or so. Bartender was passive. Since there were only 5 of us in the bar I would have expected a bit better service but it wasn't awful. No food, and serve only beer and wine. All the sports items over the walls are very fun to look at. I was there about an hour and each time I looked around I saw something differnt.

(06/24/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A So So Lousy

Establishment: McSorley's Old Ale House, New York , NY

The real draw here is the history. Cool stuff all over the walls and old wooden ice boxes. Stop in, take a look around and get out. The beer was drinkable but that's all I can say (of course that slogan seems to work for IN-BUD). Service was dismissive at best. I've been, marked it off my list. Wouldn't consider going back.

(06/24/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: The Pony Bar, New York, NY

Anther great visit to the Pony Bar today! I have discovered that the trick here is the same as at the Ginger Man--go early. Today I got there about 3:30 and was able to get a seat. Still only one bartender but he kept up well and was friendly. The chicken sandwich was exceptional. In an earlier review I said the food was just ok, this chicken sandwich today was really, really good! God Bless the Pony Bar!!!!!!!!!!!!!

(06/18/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse, Columbus, OH

I stopped in yesterday, June 16th. Maria was the bartender. The beer was very good. I was disapointed that there wasn't an IPA on tap, but the pale ale was quite tasty and bitter. I also had the porter and the stout and they were really good. Food was good also. Cool logos on their glasses--and cheap! $2.95 each or 4/$10. I had a very good experience and will certainly stop in again when I get through Columbus.

(06/17/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: The Pony Bar, New York, NY

This place is all about the beer--American Micro Brewed Beer. THAT, I think is a great concept. The food is ok but nothing that will get you real excited. The Pony is my starting place for each trip to NYC. The variety of beer is always great--that doesn't mean that thay have always had several of my favorite style...but usually by the next night there is something new to try.

I only wish the place was bigger. I am thrilled that they are doing so well, but each time I go you have to hover like a vulture to get a seat. The bartenders work their asses off and it can still take a while to get a beer--but not for lack of effort

I love the All American club--have and rate 100 beers and get a cool shirt. At $5 a beer, you're not going to beat this place.

(06/06/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Paddy's Pub and Grill, Hornell, NY

A new menue and still a great rotating set of taps. This is a gem in HOrnell and the Southern Tier.

(04/03/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Horseheads Brewing Company, Horseheads, NY

I visited on Saturday, October 3rd. Very Friendly people. Great Beer. Resonably priced merchandise-It's well worth the trip from Hornell. I'll be there as often as possible. Don't miss the maple and the pumpkin!

(10/04/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: International Tap House, Chesterfield, MO

What a great place. Great bar tender, great variety--even from NYS! They must have an incredible distributor! I was there right before the 4th of July and wish I were still there. PEOPLE OF ST. LOUIS--KEEP THIS PLACE IN BUSINESS!! It is a Gem.

(08/27/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Tin Mill Brewing Company, Hermann, MO

A buddy of mine bought a 6 pack in Owensville and we tried the three that he bought, Maibock, pilsner, and heffeweizen. All three were very good. None of the three are my favorite styles but all three were very good and I hope the next time I get back to the Owensville area I can get to Hermann and check out the brewery.

(08/01/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Paddy's Pub and Grill, Hornell, NY

Paddy's is in the place formerly known as Graddy's. The huge variety of wings are gone but they've been replaced with 22 Beer taps. I've been there a few times, most recently yesterday (1 May 2009). On tap were,Lake Placid UBU, Circus Boy, Phin and Matt's, Sly Fox Hop Project, Erie Brewing Presque Isle, Smithwicks, Yuenling Black and Tan, Guiness, SamAdams Summer Ale, Ithaca Oaked Nut Brown, Sacket Harbor 1812, Hoegarten, Majic Hat #9, Ithaca Cascazilla, Argoant Bastard, Dogfish Head 60 min., Erie Railbender, Smuttynose Porter, Troeginator, Smuttynosse Star Island Single. Seldom is something repeated. When the tap runs out something new usually takes it's place--Guiness, Cascazilla, Circus Boy and Phin and Matt's may be possible exceptions. They have a nice variety of bottles too. Of course you can find the mass produced In-Bud, Coors, Molson, Miller, but also Youngs Chocolate Stout, Dixie, Rogue's Dead Guy Ale, Lake Placid IPA, Abita Purble Haze, Green Glash Hop Head among others. It is so nice to have this variety is Hornell. Gail is the bartender on Friday Happy Hour and she is great. Food is typical Irish pub fare and delicious.

(05/02/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Lousy So So

Establishment: Tap and Mallet, Rochester, NY

Unfortunately, my experience did not come close to the other reviewers. I arrived on a Saturday at about 5 after noon. There was none setting at the tables and 5 people at the bar--2 bar tenders and one waitress. I sat right in front of the taps. They are angled so I couldn't see all of them. I didn't see any beer menu so when the bar tender pulled himself away from the couple at the end of the bar, I ordered a Kona pale ale. When he delivered the beer he told he how much and I asked if I could start a tab? Only if I gave him a credit card. I truly truly hate that. I understand that there are those that will do a drink and dash--but there were only 6 of us and all at the bar. So our first exchange is that the bartender doesn’t trust me. I hoped to have lunch but before I could ask for a menu he went back to the couple at the end of the bar...and there he stayed. I finally spied some printed beer menus so I got up to get myself one--that didn't faze the bartenders or the waitress. What an impressive list of beers. The taps are only the beginning. Probably 25 taps but I'd say over 100 bottles. As I drank my Kona I kept trying to catch one of the bartender’s eyes to get a menu. Just didn’t happen. I noticed that Sixpoint Brownstone was on tap so I decided to try that and keep trying to get a menu. When I got my pint of Brownstone he was gone again before I could get a menu so I decided to finish my pint and go back to Macgregor’s for lunch. In all my beer travels, this was the first time I ever felt out of place in a beer bar/brew pub. Very cool design and art but this place is tucked away a bit much. If it weren’t so out of the way I might give them another try but coming up from Hornell, Macgregor’s is right there with what seems like hundreds of taps, good service, and you actually get a menu. Every place can have an off day, and I recognize that my experience was very different from others that have written here—but I’ll let them support this place.

(04/26/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: MacGregor's Grill and Tap Room, Henrietta, NY

This MacGregor's location has improved dramatically over the past few years. Several years ago you had to stand on your head to get someone to fill your beer. No so any more. Service is very good and the variety of beer is excellent. The bar tenders seem to be much more knowledgable about the beers too.

(04/13/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A So So Good

Establishment: Broad Ripple Brewing Company, Indianapolis, IN

I stopped in here while in town for the brew fest in July (which is a great time and you should try to come to this—it’s worth the trip). Inside is very dark and no table service in the bar. When I looked at the menu the first thing I saw was “basket o’ smelt.” Luckily things got better. On tap that day was: lawn mower pale, black heart lager, IPA, wheat, Pilsner, ESP, (can’t read my notes—maybe amarillo?) lager, and Rubic Ale. They had a wide variety of bottled beer too; about 20-30 so there should be something there to please anyone. The IPA was a British IPA so it wasn’t bitter by any stretch of the imagination. The Wheat was cloudy with a nice clove flavor with a hint of banana. The ESB was amazingly hoppy for and ESP. The only reason I gave the service a 'so so' is that there really wasn't any, you had to go to the bar for each drink. I realize that is the British style but...

(04/12/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Barley's Brewing Company, Columbus, OH

I stopped by this location on Sunday, July 20th 2008. I had been to the BBQ place a few years ago and like the beer (service and atmosphere, not so much). After 5 minutes at this location I was happier than I had been at the other location. On tap the day I was there: Scottish Ale, Pale Ale, Russian Imperial Stout, and E=IPA2, Pilsner, and Oatmeal Stout. I only had time to try 2. E was nice but the alcohol must be high—served in a brandy glass. It was very hoppy, but not so hoppy that it got sweet like some extreme IPAs can be. The stout was delicious. A mild chocolate nose and a very dry taste. One of the best stouts I’ve had. The southwestern burger was good. Service was accommodating enough but didn’t go out of their way to be friendly.

(04/12/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: North Country Brewing Company, Slippery Rock, PA

North Country is easy to find, just a short trip off of I79—and even if it weren’t it would be worth it. I first had their beer at the brew fest in Erie, PA in 2008 and stopped in on my way back from Indiana in July 0f 2008. On tap the day I was there: northern lite, breakfast blend mild, squirrel nut brown, station 33 firehouse red, altbeir, paleo (?) IPA, stone house stout, mother’s milk stout, and another stout—but I can’t read my notes. I tried the IPA, the stout that I can’t read my notes for, breakfast blend, squirrel nut, pale, stone house stout, fruit bowl, and mother’s milk stout. WOW. I’d forgotten I’d tried that many of them. All of them were exceptional—even the fruit bowl. They added strawberry to their light beer—I know what you’re thinking—my stomach turned as they told me about it but I tried it anyway. It was not sweet and had a nice refreshing flavor. Both of the stouts were dry. The stone house stout flavor was more of coffee and the other was more chocolaty. The service was very friendly and accommodating. The food was good too. I had the Bull Runner sandwich. It was sort of a combination of Beef on Weck (for we western NYers) and French dip. I would imagine that during the school year this place is very busy but on the summer afternoon when I stopped by it was quiet.

(04/12/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Great Great

Establishment: Prison Brews, Jefferson City, MO

I have been to Prison Brews twice, once in August of 2008 and March of 2009. I am so happy that there is finally a brewpub in Jefferson City. Both times the beer was very good. I always sat at the bar, so I think my service may have been better than other reviewers have mentioned but during both of my visits the bar tender would walk past my empty glass several times before it donned on him to fill it. He was very nice though, and has a good memory. When I was there in March he remembered me from my visit in August. On tap in August (I have lost my list from March) were Go to Jail Ale, Ain’t your Honey Wheat, Class “A” Amber, Cell Mate Pale Ale, Big House IPA, and Death Row Stout. As I said before, all were good. Of note though is the Pale Ale. In addition to the regular qualities of a pale, this one also had a nutty flavor. As odd as it may sound, it was good. The stout was a little thin but had a very nice chocolaty caramel flavor. The food is nothing to get excited about—it’s not especially bad, it’s just not great. In March I got the pork tenderloin sandwich—it did border on “bad.” What I got was a greasy disk of pork matter much smaller than the bun. This place is worth a visit. It’s on the other end of high street from the capital so politicians aren’t around—or at least they are well disguised. The consistent prison theme is a hoot too, i.e., the sign for the rest rooms says “gas chambers.”

(04/12/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Schlafly Bottleworks, Maplewood, MO

I have been to the original St. Louis Brewery location several times but December, 23, 2008 was my first visit to Bottleworks. If you are more interested in food—you should go to the taproom location. Not that the food here is bad, it is that they provide a rather limited menu but the food was good. My favorite thing about this location is the shop—you can create your own 6-Pack. That might be available at the other location, but it wasn’t the last time I was there. On tap the day I was there: pale ale, #15, Hefe, Dry-hopped IPA, Christmas ale, Oatmeal stout, pilsner, Oktoberfest, and ESB. The Christmas ale was very good, a hint of spice, a hint of hop, very hoppy nose—delicious. The dry-hopped IPA was very clean for a dry-hopped beer—no cloying aftertaste at all. The coffee stout is consistently delicious—bottle or on tap.

(04/12/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good

Establishment: Mattingly Brewing Company, Saint Louis, MO

I stopped in on Thursday March 12th. It's easy to find in a neighborhood that is slowly being revitalized. There beer was good--not exceptional, but good. On tap the day I was there: Black Dawn, Coffee Porter, 1984 Golden, APA, Bright Side Brew, and Porter Stout. The coffee porter was good but did't have much of a coffee flavor, but a solid porter nonethe less. The APA was very clean, not cloying as some bitter beers can be. The porter stout had more coffee flavor than the coffee porter. The service was friendly but not that attentive. The bartender had to wait on the bar and the house. It was a bit of a challenge to get a refill. THe food wasn't that spectactular. I wasn't bad but not as bad as the wait staff said. The day I was there, a reveiw fo the place appeared in the RIVERFRONT TIMES. The RFT was not too impressed with their food. The wait staff was not happy. I really didn't have anything that tested the cooks--a burger an fries. The burger was fine but the fries were awful--limp tasteless logs of mashed potatos. I bought a logo pint glass and the bar tender kept taking it away because she thought it was a dirty glass. About 10 miles down the road I realized I had left without the glass. The next day I called to see if they could send me an email coupon and I would pick the glass up in June--the next time I was to be in St. Louis. The woman I talked to was very bizzar. The said they would send me the glass, I said that was not necessary, if they could just mail me a coupon or send an email, I was happy to stop in for lunch or dinner in June and pick up the glass. She assured me that she would do it--and then she went on to tell me how attractive she was and that she was the 'hottest bartender" they had. This was not the bartender I had. Anyway, it's been a month and I havent' heard a word from them. It's a $5 glass so it's not that big of a deal but the woman just fell all over herself saying they would get it to me--and I've gotten nothing. If convenient, I'd probably go back.

(04/11/2009)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ ALL ]













(0.167 seconds) 05:26:08 23.20.77.156, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS