PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from R. Davis
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 20, 2014 @ 09:06 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
R. Davis

Beer Reviews
(121)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






Favorite Beer: New Glarus Raspberry Tart
Located In: southwest

121
Beer Reviews from R. Davis
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Papago Brewing, Scottsdale, AZ

I've visited here several times over the past couple of years. I love the 40 taps-no macro crap present. The beer selection in the cooler is well thought out. The pizza is usually very good. I've never had any problem with service here-but I usually sit at the bar. Overall a great beer joint....

(01/17/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Dieu du Ciel!, Montreal, QC

I visited DdC this summer twice and was impressed. The beer selection is wonderful and the atmosphere is just the best. I wish this were my local, or even in my country!! I will be back if my travels ever take me to Montreal again.

(10/27/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Flying Saucer, Little Rock, AR

Similar to many saucers in the south-wide selection of beers on tap and bottle and limited food menu. The regional beers are limited by the section of the country where the Saucer is located-and unfortunately Arkansas does not have a wide variety of breweries in the state. However, there is enough to choose from here if you visit seldomly.

This is a smoking bar-very stuffy and congested with smoke.

(04/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Two Rows Restaurant and Brewery, Dallas, TX

Two Rows has closed...Two Rows has closed....Two Rows has closed...

(04/07/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Springfield Brewing Company, Springfield, MO

It had been a few years since I visited here and I looked forward to the visit. SB is located downtown-a large lot across the street holds plenty of parking. The 2 level restaurant/bar is well lit and clean, with the tanks just behind the bar at the back of the pub. The bar area is very nice, big and clean with TV's but no sound (good thing).

The beer selection is fairly standard, with the usual lights, browns, and IPA's. I had: Brown ale-smooth, malty, roasty and very good-not usually my favorite style. The doppelbock was served in a tulip glass but the alcohol content was not overwhelming. Nice beer. I sampled the IPA-very, very low hop profile-this didn't even pass for a Pale Ale.

Pizza was good. One issue-all their beers are served too cold-I had to warm up the beers before I drank them.

Overall a nice, midwestern brewpub and a pleasant visit.

(02/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Ginger Man, Fort Worth, TX

GM is located in the museum district in Fort Worth. Parking could get tight with a large crowd. I visited here 8/29/07 in the late afternoon. The place was fairly empty around 5:00 and I sat at the bar. A few people strolled in but by the time I left around 7 it was still not crowded.

As usual, they had a good selection of Texas beers (St Arnold, Rahr, Real Ale)and the usual selection from 'round the world. Smoking is still allowed here. Small patio in the front. Here's hoping survival.

(09/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Zea Rotisserie and Brewery, Metairie, LA

Paul Read the review below. They have not brewed here since Katrina. Their beers are brewed by Heiner Brau in Covington LA. He brews primarily very traditional German beers-which are also very good tasting beers.

Cheers

(09/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: The Covey Restaurant and Brewery, Fort Worth, TX

I visited last week during a weekday-my second visit to this establishment. The bar area was about 1/2 filled. The Covey is certainly a very nice, well decorated brewpub (I hate to use that term as it presents itself as an upscale restaurant that brews on premises).

The beer selection was average but a nice Belgium dubbel on tap more than made up for the blandness of the rest of the beer menu. The staff did manage to secure another Belgium triple that was in the fermenter (thanks for the effort).

The menu was chock loaded with game and meat. They have some wonderful looking dishes-but given my per-diem I settled for an eggplant dish that was good but perhaps a bit overdone.

This would be a nice place for a quiet, romantic dinner with your spouse. I just hope the lack of customers I noticed was just because it was a weekday and not a trend-this is a nice place to visit.

(09/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Bull and Bush Pub and Brewery, Denver, CO

Frankly, I think it's ridiculous that there has been no review of this establishment since 2005. The beers are first class and the styles are across the board-from the Man beer, to barleywines and saisons. Food is consistent and the localized clientele means you'll talk to someone about Denver.

This is a great neighborhood brewpub-visit when in town. I did-tonight!!

cheers

(03/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Zea Rotisserie and Brewery, Metairie, LA

Zea is open and operating in Metairie! I visited on 3/21/07 with a friend for dinner. It was very busy.

I went to the bar first and received prompt and courteous service. Zea's beers are now brewed by Heiner Brau out of Covington, LA. The brewing equipment is still in place at the restaurant but is not operational. All of the 5 beers on tap are lagers-including a Kolsch, Pilsener, Spring Bock among the offerings.

I was served a Spring Bock-it was very light colored with no head. My first thought was uhhhh, what is this? It seemed way too light for a bock but the flavor, aroma and mouthfeel indicated that this was indeed a spring bock. Very nice beer but deceiving in appearence. Next up was the Pilsener. A light brownish color with malty nose and flavors.This is a well done and very quaffable beer. One of the better Pilseners I've had.

The food was great-I had trout with a nice white sauce and shrimp while my companion had a tofu something or other (she liked it!). It's good to see Zea serving good beer and food again. --

(03/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy So So

Establishment: B and J Pizza, Corpus Christi, TX

Family style pizza joint in the front-beer bar in the back.

I sat at the bar and had a very mediocre experience. 1. 1st beer (Real Ale Coffee Porter) was to be served in a frozen glass. I had to ask to baratender for a room temp glass. 2. He didn’t offer me a menu when I sat down-I had to ask for one. 3. He asked me if I wanted another beer then proceeded to forget what I was drinking. I was one of only 5 people at the bar. 4. I had to get a coaster from another patron-he didn’t put one under my glass when served.

Overall, not a quality beer bar but then again it is CC-not beer heaven.

(03/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Boscos, Little Rock, AR

I visited here about two weeks ago. As usual it was very busy but I sat at the bar. Service overall was good as I got my beers and meal in good order. The crawfish cakes were very good. Beers: XXX-moderate bittering with little malt overtones. A good American Pale Ale

IPA-moderate head, light body, with medium hops. Smooth drinking beer.

Wee heavy-Coca Cola coloring with light head. Malty but served too cold. Turns in about 8.5%.

Batlic porter-black color, median head. Served too cold but warms up nicely. Best beer on the menu and comes in around 10%.

Overall a nice place for dinner and beers.

(03/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: North by Northwest Restaurant and Brewery, Austin, TX

Stopped in on a weekday night recently. Sat outside-a little chilly but not bad. Had the IPA-first one I ever had here. A very nice beer similar to the Dogfish Head 60 minute. Had the barleywine/holiday ale-spiced and strong. Would have bought a growler but I had to fly back. The food was good-I had chicken pasta.

One issue-my companion ordered a top-shelf margarita. It was horrible. We both took one sip and cringed. The waitress took it back but it was still on our bill at checkout. That is not good service.

(12/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Draught House Pub and Brewery, Austin, TX

Stopped in on a recent weekday night. As usual very busy. I sat at the small bar-sort of strange as all the taps are right in front of you rather than at the back of the bar. Service was prompt-they were busy but the bartenders did chat for a minute when they had a bit of time. I had the house Saison-a little darker than most saisons I've had but very drinkable. I had the Live Oak Treehugger-a very nice barleywine I wish came in bottles for the cellar. A nice stopover a couple of times a year when I visit Austin.

(12/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Four Peaks Brewing Company, Tempe, AZ

I finally got back here after a hiatus of some time. Dropped in on a Wednesday night-it was as packed as I've ever seen it. This place seems to be more crowded every time I go.

Had the: Hefeweizen-great beer for the 100F day-well done.

Impale Ale (special) Hoppy yet light. Sort of an IPA/Pale ale offshoot-a very nice beer.

RAJ IPA-as usual a very drinkable IPA.

Had a great burger.

This place never fails to disappoint. Parking is getting difficult though with the growing crowds.

(05/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A N/A Great

Establishment: El Toro Brewing Company, Morgan Hill, CA

I had the fortunate experience of getting to visit El Toro again in February. As usual, all their beers were top-notch and the staff was very gracious. I managed to secure a bomber of their barley wine-still waiting for that "right" time to open it.

(04/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Good

Establishment: Oggi's Pizza and Brewing Company, Scottsdale, AZ

Despite my unfortunate experience a year ago here, I decided to give this place another try. The service was much better, as the bartender was very helpful. However, I had to ask what the specials were. They also still serve the beers in frozen glasses so ask for a room-temp glass when ordering.

Beer: Triple Belgium. Very good but a little cold. Clocked in around 9%.

IPA: Solid beer but served too cold.

Food: The wings were great-spicy and full of meat.

The establishment was fairly dead around happy hour on a Thursday. It seems to be off the beaten track as far as north Scottsdale is concerned. Oggis real estate team did not do a good job in placing this brewpub in the best location. IMO, I have this feeling that this place will not be here for the long term.

(02/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: The Chimes East, Baton Rouge, LA

New, two-story building with plenty of parking (unlike the LSU Chimes) Very busy at 6pm, with lots of happy hour people in the bar area. We waited about 15 minutes for a table.

The beer taps and bottles are similar in number and variety as the LSU Chimes-lots of American macro and a decent selection of imports. They are very light on American micros.

All the beers that I had were fresh-Fransikaner (sp) HefeWeizen, Abita Dubblebock, and Maredsous 8. The food (raw oysters, fried shrimp, duck and sausage gumbo, red beans and rice) was all very good.

All in all, a good addition to the nightlife and desert wasteland of east Baton Rouge. I will return.

(02/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Rio Salado Brewing Company, Tempe, AZ

CLOSED-a big loss.

(12/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Jaxon's Restaurant and Brewing Company, El Paso, TX

This is a return trip. I had the: IPA- one of the better IPA's I've had. Recommeded.

Nitro stout: Well done, smooth, drinkable.

Out of brown ale. Sampled spicy light Xmas ale. Very thin with no followthrough. Not recommended.

Food was good. Overall a quality brewpub in the brewpub desert that is Texas.

(12/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Il Vicino Brewing Company and Tap Room, Albuquerque, NM

See my comments from a couple of years ago. I finally made back here fortunately. The crowd and the bartender are great. Beers: Cask IPA: very smooth, highly hopped but well balanced and drinkable.

Saison: Good rendention of a Belgium farmhouse ale. One of my favorite styles so I'm a sucker for a good saison-which this was. At 8% ABV, it went down nicely on a chilly evening.

Highly recommended.

(12/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great

Establishment: Barley's Smokehouse and Brewpub, Columbus, OH

Now no-smoking-great news.

Beers: Cask Scotch Ale: Great flavor & body with heavy malts and hops. Excellent.

Cask milk stout-a little thin for a stout but still very drinkable

IPA-thinner body but lots of hops and higher ABV. Very good.

Bartendress-not real friendly which seems to be a trend here if you're not a regular.

(10/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good

Establishment: Rockslide Brewery, Grand Junction, CO

Very neighborhoody crowd for a downtown brewpub. The beers were of good quality but nothing was on tap that was off-the-chart. The bar service was very good and the bartender offered samples without asking.

Let's see-GJ has a great neighborhood brewpub and north Houston has????

(09/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Breckenridge Brewery, Breckenridge, CO

Frankly, it was just nice to come up to Breckenridge for a few days and get out of the Houston heat. The beers were overall good but nothing that was over the top. Unfortunately the small batch IPA was off tap. Cool, laid back place to quaff a few-doubly great considering it's within walking distance of my hotel.

(09/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: BJ's Restaurant and Brewery, Chandler, AZ

Tried the ESB-fairly good to style but not particularly overwhelming. My buddy had the hefeweizen, which unfortunately we had to compare to the Hefeweizen which we just had at Rio Salado. No comparison....Rio Salado's kicked butt. I ended having a Rochefort 8 at the end of day, enough said...

The pizza was very good-deep dish filled with toppings.

(07/21/2005)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]













(0.175 seconds) 21:06:21 23.20.33.176, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS