PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from Mark Ringel
Other Reviews by this User
 
November 24, 2014 @ 03:38 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
Mark Ringel

Beer Reviews
(21)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

21
Beer Reviews from Mark Ringel
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Helmer's, Hoboken, NJ

Unassuming neighborhood restaurant. I'm not sure of its history but I wouldn't be surprised if it's been there for generations. The VFW-style decor belies Helmer's real substance - good food, no-nonsense service and a spectacular array of bottled beers along with an impressive draft selection including many quality locals (e.g. Climax, Ramstein, etc.). While the focus is German, the beer selection is anything but limited. Along with refreshing and hard-to-find Berliner Kindl Weisse to start, we were also able to find some real Belgin gems from Cantillon and Hanssens. Check out their website for the selection and, by all means, drop by for a long, leasurely lunch.

(10/13/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Awesome!

Establishment: Victory Brewing Company, Downingtown, PA

Best damn brewery in the NY, NJ, PA, MD, VA region! They don't make a bad beer on tap or in bottles! While the pub is a converted warehouse, it's really kind of funky. Go there for lunch and avoid the crowds and noise. That way you can focus on the phenomenal beers (Golden Monkey Tripel, Hopdevil IPA, Moonglow Weizenbock, Prima Pils, Victory Lager ... and the list goes on!).

(09/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Great

Establishment: General Lafayette Inn and Brewery, Lafayette Hill, PA

My wife bought me a PA brewpub crawl for our anniversary last year including a stayover and dinner at this bed-and-breakfast brewpub. Great rooms and a few really well-made brews (try the imperial stout if it's on). Plentiful food balanced by an indifferent server. At least it was prepared well. Thanks, Honey!

(09/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Ale House 'The Beer Joint of Your Dreams', Vestal, NY

Must stop by the Ale House whenever we're visiting our family and friends in Binghamton. Tiny, friendly place focusing on good beer. What could be bad about that?! Try the spiedies (a local specialty) and many local brews from upstate and western NY.

(09/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Waterfront Ale House, Brooklyn, NY

Well, we're approaching two years as husband and wife and we still LOVE THIS PLACE!!! Beer, food and love ... what a combination! Thanks, Sam. I love you, Karen!

(09/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Sparky's Ale House, Brooklyn, NY

Neighborhood bar catering to beer geeks and dog lovers (bring your pooch, by all means!). Bartenders are knowledgeable, friendly and generous! Bring food with you and have a few!

(09/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great

Establishment: Mugs Ale House, Brooklyn, NY

My wife and I went to a barleywine tasting here. From what we remember, the beer selection was spectacular! Little known, rarely seen brews with some real gems in the bunch. These people KNOW beer!

(09/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Inn of the Hawke, Lambertville, NJ

Lovely little beer garden out back. While the waiter wasn't well versed in beer, his manager was. When I ordered a beer that they just got in, she sent him back saying it was too cold yet and bought me a Youngs Ramrod to compensate. Good choice! Lunch was creative yet not overblown. Very pleasant way to spend an afternoon.

(09/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Antone's Tap, Cranford, NJ

Great local hangout with a surprising tap selection. Climax, Brooklyn, Kaltenburg(!), Hacker-Pschorr ... Huge portions of tasty food (calamari in a doggie bag, anyone?) and friendly service. As my wife says: "YUM!"

(09/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Triumph Brewing Company, Princeton, NJ

Boy, has this place improved in the last few years! Good IPA, amazing rye beer (when available), smooth oatmeal stout, and excellent homemade potato chips. Food is well-prepared and the service is attentive. Go early before the evening crowds roll in.

(09/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy So So Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Bernardsville Stone Tavern and Brewery, Bernardsville, NJ

My wife and I used to stop by when they first started brewing. In subsequent visits, it became obvious that the owner has no interest in catering to beer people. Their staff knows nothing about beer; we've been served infected (i.e. "band-aid" smelling) beers more than once; they don't even brew their own anymore. The last time we were there, the place was deserted but the owner refused to give my wife and I a booth because he was expecting a big crowd (that never materialized while we were there). He also served us using paper plates & plastic cups figuring that he expected crowd would overtax his dishwasher. It sucked and we haven't been back since. If you love beer, avoid this place.

(09/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Waterfront Ale House, Brooklyn, NY

On January 24th, 1999, I met a lovely woman here on the latest in a decades-long series of blind dates. When she ordered a Brooklyn Pennant Ale with no prompting from me, I was floored! The food was delicious; the beer list was and is unique and always changing and the staff is always efficient and friendly. Since our first meeting, we've been back many times to both the Brooklyn & Manhattan locations and we've never been less than delighted. Even though we live in NJ, it's always worth the trip to stop by the Waterfront. By the way, the blind date I mentioned above was my last. Karen and I were married nine months later. Since then, we've explored beer bars and breweries all over the world together but somehow, the Waterfront always feels like home. I love you, Karen.

(08/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Waterzooi Belgian Bistro, Garden City, NY

Definitely NOT your average beer bar! This is an upscale LI restaurant that really takes pride in what it purports to be ... a purveyor of fine Belgian cuisine and beer. The food is excellent, if pricey (best Carbonade I've ever had!); beer selection on draft and in bottles is extensive (over 120) and well laid out and the wait staff are courteous, attentive and fairly well-informed from a beer perspective. Great place if you're looking to really impress someone.

(01/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Ship Inn, Milford, NJ

Had an early dinner Saturday night before it got crowded. Beers are really true to the English style. Excellent Hop Monster IPA, Paddle Wheel Pale and Pheasant Plucker brown. The steak and kidney pie, while not as authentic, was delicious. My fiancee, Karen's bangers and mash were great also (Why does that sound inappropriate?). Once again, the Ship Inn has served us well! We're even thinking of having our rehearsal dinner here (Karen's idea! ... Thanks, Honey!).

(08/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Long Valley Pub and Brewery, Long Valley, NJ

Decided to stop by on a whim for dinner. The 5 styles of beer (light, golden, brown, porter and a seasonal) were not bad but somewhat lacking in flavor. Perhaps a little heavier hand with the grain bill might help. Our entrees (ostrich for me, salmon for my fiancee) were excellent. Well-prepared and very flavorful.

(08/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Andy's Corner Bar, Bogota, NJ

Andy's has sussessfully moved to their new location (3 doors down). The place looks great! A little more upscale but still Andys. Proprietor, George Gray, still maintains a diverse, well-balanced and well maintained beer menu. Here's wishing him the best of luck in his new location!

(08/20/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Westchester Brewing Company, White Plains, NY

Nice space. Roomy and comfortable. Yummy IPA and a nice malty Vienna lager. The food was well-prepared (tasty pulled pork sandwich). Our waitress was really pleasant and helpful. Nice way to spend an evening.

(09/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Fireworks Brewery, White Plains, NY

This place deserves more press! Tried all their beers ... all were decent and some were outstanding! Excellent IPA and weiss, surprisingly flavorful golden, a decent brown (actually their red). The appetizers we had at the bar were tasty and well prepared. And they bought us a round of beers just because we waited for them to open. What a pleasant experience!!!

(09/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Austin's Ale House, Kew Gardens, NY

Surprising, unassuming neighborhood restaurant with an Irish leaning. The tap selection goes beyond the standard Guiness though and includes various micros and imports. A healthy bottled selection as well. The food is inexpensive, well-prepared and portions are generous. About time Queens found a place like this!

(08/26/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Stirling Hotel, Stirling, NJ

Nice, casual local place in a hidden away location. Food is very reasonable and beer selection is pretty good. Dining on the patio out back is great on a summer evening.

(08/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Laughing Lion, Dover, NJ

One of my favorite neighborhood restaurants (I just wish I lived closer). Food is always well-prepared and reasonable. The beer list (prepared by Richie Stolarz of Beers International) is diverse and voluminous. Unfortunately, only three taps available and two of them are mass market. Oh well, I can forgive that especially with 101 bottled beers on the menu. Overall, a very pleasant experience.

(08/21/1998)














(0.577 seconds) 03:38:08 54.87.109.201, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS