PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from Jason D. Nulton
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 21, 2014 @ 05:17 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
Jason D. Nulton

Beer Reviews
(25)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

25
Beer Reviews from Jason D. Nulton
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Aiken Brewing Company, Aiken, SC

Not the best place I've been, but not bad. I never would have expected a brewpub in a such a small town (especially a good one). The beers were decent, the atmosphere was nice, and service was pretty good too. I'd come back (I just wish they would flavor their raspberry wheat with real raspberries during the brewing, rather than by squirting raspberry flavoring into the glass before pouring the beer!).

(07/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Great Good So So

Establishment: King George Pub and Riverwalk Brewery, Augusta, GA

The bartender was a TOTAL babe, but NO BEER!!!!! The microbrewery was out of order!!! Good food, but I wouldn't make a special trip back for a brewpub who's brewery is EVER out of order.

(07/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Zebo Restaurant and Brewery, Charlestown, SC

Not a bad spot. There were five beers on tap, all of which were pretty decent. The best of the bunch were the IPA and the blueberry wheat (complete with a blueberry at the bottom). Food was great - I had a personal sized pesto pizza. The rest of the menu was "eclectic," as was the atmosphere of the restaurant. I recommend it and will be back!

(07/07/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Lake Norman Brewing Company, Cornelius, NC

One of my many subsequent visits since first posting my opinion last January. This place continues to impress! This place is one of the two best southeastern brewpubs I've been to (the other being the Tampa Bay Brewing Company in Tampa, FL). Worth a visit. The food's great, service is great, atmosphere is great, and the beer is top-notch.

(06/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Moab Brewery, Moab, UT

Not as good as Eddie McStiff's down the road, but still not bad. The atmosphere is a little cold, there were only four beers on tap, and the service was really slow. Still, the food was good and they had a really cool video on in the bar that had a bunch pf motorcyclers and mountain bikers wrecking! This place does not rank among the best, but certainly is not among the worst.

(05/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Eddie McStiff's Micro-Brewery and Restaurant, Moab, UT

For a state with laws forbidding anything besides 3.2 beer, this place was OK. We stopped by on a recent mountain biking trip in the Canyonlands. The selection was superb, and included such diverse beers as a blueberry stout and a chile beer. All were good, though the dark beers were not as thick and "chewy" as they should have been. Nevertheless, the service was outstanding and the food good too. There was even entertainment! After we ate, there was a guy on a mountain bike betting some folks outside the restaurant he could make his dog ride. Yeah right - but he promptly called his dog's name, who jumped up on the handlebars while the owner rode around the parking lot! If you're in Moab, this place is worth a look.

(05/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Great Awesome! So So

Establishment: Montgomery Brewing Company, Montgomery, AL

This place had pretty good food and a great wait staff, but the beer selection is awful and what was there was terrible. I was given a "gold," a "blonde," and a "stout." The gold and the blonde were reminiscent of Budweiser and made me sick to my stomach. The stout was more like a thin brown. Not rich, not flavorful, and I could see through it. I think it was the first time I ever tasted a see-through stout. I might come back here for the food, but shudder at the thought of having a drink there again. If they got a new brewmaster who knew what he was doing, they'd be much better off.

(05/02/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Magic City Brewing, Birmingham, AL

Great spot in the south! Lots of beers to choose from and good food too! I'd definitely return. Highly recommended!

(05/02/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Hilton Head Brewing Company, Hilton Head Island, SC

Not bad at all! For ritzy Hilton Head, the atmosphere was unexpectedly casual with a big window overlooking a courtyard - complete with a pond, ducks, and swans! Calzones were real tasty and service was pretty decent too. As for the beer, only four were on tap, but all were good. The best was a seasonal "Heritage Scottish Ale," a dark and dry one. Really good.

(04/12/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Two Moons Brew 'N' View, Asheville, NC

Only 2 beers on tap - the rest were unavailable. What I had (the IPA) was good, though, and the bartenders were cool. This is another unique spot in Asheville. This "movie theater and beer" thing is really cool, and this was my first experience with it. Something About Mary was the feature flick for the night, and how appropriate! Great movie to watch with a good beer buzz. There's even a bar INSIDE the theater! Outside it, you can drink beer and play games like Operation and Chutes and Ladders! Truly a unique establishment, and I will most certainly be back.

(04/09/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Jack Of The Wood / Green Man Brewery, Asheville, NC

Decent service and a real unique atmosphere. These guys have a pub with a real earthy, "granola" feel. Interesting and it works. Good beer, especially the porter.

(04/09/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Lousy N/A Good So So

Establishment: New World Brewery, Tampa, FL

Disappointing. There was only one (brewed-on-premises) beer on tap - a stout - which was good. This place had more of a night club atmosphere, not that of a brewpub. The staff was friendly enough, but not enough to bring me back. Atmosphere was all wrong.

(02/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Tampa Bay Brewing Company, Tampa, FL

Great place. There were so many brews on tap it was hard to decide what to drink! I got a sampler and was brought almost ten samples of beer! All were good, but standouts were the Mad Hopper and the Alt. Great food, including calzones that were two feet long. Amber could not have been a better server - great sense of humor and laid back. After she got off work, she had a beer with us and then showed us Ybor City's night life! Who could ask for more! I'll definitely be back.

(02/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Santa Rosa Bay Brewery, Fort Walton Beach, FL

Don't believe all the ho-hum in these other reviews. This place isn't the best I've ever seen, but it certainly wasn't bad! They only had four beers on tap, but all were decent. The best was the Red Lady, followed by the stout, which was Guinness-like. Even the pale ale was decent (unusual, because in my experience, pale ales taste like Bud Light at many southern brewpubs)

(02/14/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So

Establishment: Hops Restaurant and Brewery, Columbia, SC

This is a local chain with a second establishment near Columbiana Mall. Not much of a selection of beer (I ordered a sampler and they only brought me four beers), and the stuff they do have ain't all that. The pale is especially crappy. Order a Bud instead. The wait staff gets an "A" for effort, but generally speaking, didn't know squat about beer. Food was average - nothing special. Try this place if you're bored. If you want decent beer, go to a better spot in downtown Columbia.

(01/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Southend Brewery and Smokehouse, Charleston, SC

Good place as brewpub chains go. There are other locations throughout the south (Charlotte, etc.). Generally speaking, I stay away from chains, but this one was OK. Good food, decent atmosphere, OK beer.

(01/02/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Lake Norman Brewing Company, Cornelius, NC

Great place. We stopped one day on a trip down I-77. The service was absolutely outstanding. Our waiter was knowledgeable, polite, and had a great sense of humor. I had a sampler and all the beers were of good quality. Even the pale was good (at most brewpubs I've been to in the south, the pale tastes like Bud). My faves were the dark ones. I got a growler of the Duke's and sucked it up that very night! Didn't try the food, but the atmosphere was great. Rustic and comfy as a brewpub should be.

(01/02/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good So So

Establishment: Hops Restaurant and Brewery, Columbia, SC

This is a local chain with a second establishment on Two Notch Road. Not much of a selection of beer (I ordered a sampler and they only brought me four beers), and the stuff they do have ain't all that. The pale is especially crappy. Order a Bud instead. The wait staff gets an "A" for effort, but generally speaking, didn't know squat about beer. Food was average - nothing special. Try this place if you're bored. If you want decent beer, go to a better spot in downtown Columbia.

(01/02/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Capitol City Brewing Company - Downtown, Washington, DC

Generally speaking, brew-pub chains (like this one and the famous Rock Bottom, found in damn near EVERY US city), are just "OK."

(01/02/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Capitol City Brewing Company - Capitol Hill, Washington, DC

Generally speaking, brew-pub chains (like this one and the famous Rock Bottom, found in damn near EVERY US city), are just "OK."

(01/02/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So Lousy

Establishment: Churchill's Pub, Savannah, GA

You guys need to create a category for ATMOSPHERE! It's an important element!! This place had a SMOKY and cramped atmosphere. The beer was good, but the place was dirty and generally a pit. I was disappointed. The brochures made it out to be such a classy place. It was SEEDY!

(11/05/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Great Awesome! Good

Establishment: Oglethorpe Brewing Company, Savannah, GA

Oglethorpe's atmosphere was a little lacking - a little too stark and clean for me. The homey, rustic feel was just not there. Great service from the waiter on a busy night. Only two beers were on tap, though, which was disappointing, especially since the pale ale was crap. Tasted like Bud. The Red, however, was damn good. Very impressive, and it sold me on the potential of the place.

(10/02/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Vista Brewing Company, Columbia, SC

The beer was good, but nothing to write home about. Go for the food, but be ready to spend some cash. The appetizers alone are $9.99 to $14.99. Entrees are anywhere from $25.00 to $35.00! Pricey, but outstanding gourmet food (we had lobster stuffed ravioli in she-crab sauce - some of the best food I've ever had).

(08/22/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great So So

Establishment: Hunter Gatherer Brewery-Alehouse, Columbia, SC

We went on a Friday night and it was DEAD. We were the only people in there! The beer was OK, but the selection wasn't great. Food was good and so was the service (only because there wasn't anyone there)!

(08/22/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!

Establishment: Columbia Brewing Company, Columbia, SC

All this crap you see about bad beer is just that - CRAP! Try the IPA and the Blue Star Wit (served with an orange slice). Both damn good. The food is pretty decent. Atmosphere is a step up from a road house - very casual, yet very hip.

(08/22/1998)














(0.138 seconds) 05:17:47 54.243.14.193, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS