PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from travelmedic
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 22, 2014 @ 11:03 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
travelmedic

Beer Reviews
(8)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

8
Beer Reviews from travelmedic
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome!
Awesome! Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Rattle N Hum Bar and Restaurant, New York, NY

Been here twice, the first time after accidentally finding it while headed to the subway from Penn Station (just a few blocks walk). When I was back down in NYC recently, I purposely made sure to make a stop in here to get warmed up for the concert I was headed to at the Garden.

There are about 35 taps in the place, and then some cask conditioned beer taps at a smaller bar in the back. I prefer IPAs, and there are always plenty there to choose from, but plenty of other styles as well. As I recall, they feature all American craft brews, and it was nice to try a few that I'd never seen anywhere else.

Service has been friendly and fast both times I've been in there.

Food was mixed - the first time I was in there and ordered lunch, I thought it was great. The second time I was in there and ate, it was still OK, but not as good as I remembered. I don't know if they changed chefs, or if I just got one bad order that slipped through.

A couple of minor complaints. When you walk in, there's a small seating area, then the bar, then a bigger seating area in the back. The bar area is kind of narrow, and if you're sitting at the bar overflow area at the counter behind, you're constantly having to swing around to let other people pass by you. The second is really trivial, but they brag about their free wireless, and I've never been able to connect to it. Granted I'm there to drink beer and not surf, but if they boast about it they should provide it.

Overall though, I really like this place, and will make it a point to always stop in here any time I take the train down to the City.

(10/17/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Appalachian Brewing Company, Gettysburg, PA

Stopped in here one night while visiting the battlefield and really liked the place. Especially convenient because it was right in front of my hotel at General Lee's Headquarters.

Had a good selection of beers on tap, I think about 8-9 but not sure now. I stuck with the IPA because that's what I like and it was very good.

Ordered a small pizza which was a little greasy but tasted great. They also had a BBQ special that night that looked really good, but I didn't try it.

Service was good - knowledgable and available without being overbearing.

Overall I really liked the place, and it seemed like a nice mix of locals and tourists. If I'm ever back in Gettysburg I'll give it another visit.

(06/03/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Smith's Billiards, Springfield, MA

Stopped in here once while I was visiting Springfield and thoroughly liked the place. Very laid back, nice atmosphere. Not a stereotypical pool hall, but a bar area, some tables along the sides, and of course there are plenty of pool tables.

Sat at the bar and had a nice view over the street, plus they opened the windows to get some cool breezes coming in.

Dogfish Head 60 Minute IPA was on tap, which makes it a great place right off the bat in my opinion, and maybe about 8-10 taps total. Also a more extensive list of bottles available.

Technically they don't have their own food, but they're right above Theodores BBQ, and I'm guessing owned by the same people. The full Theodore menu is available in Smith's, which was nice.

I thought the service was first rate - friendly, and attentive without being smothering.

I'd definitely go back here the next time I'm back in Springfield.

(05/26/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Framingham, MA

Visited here on a recent Friday evening and the place was packed, with people waiting to be seated in the dining area. Was fortunate enough to find the last open seat at the bar.

Service at the bar was fast, knowledgable and friendly. Got a small sample of red stout as soon as I sat down - it was OK but not to my taste. Ordered a pale ale off the list and that was good. (note that not all of their beers were on the printed list - there is a chalkboard hanging up near the entrance, but if you can't see it, ask the bartender). Also tried a sample of their belgian IPA, again, not to my taste. They did have Hop Chronic on which I had for my second pint, which I really liked, and stuck with that for a third.

Had chicken quesadillas for an appetizer and lamb tips for entree, both of which were very good. Most all the food I saw coming out to other patrons also looked good.

The only downside to this place, at least for me, is it's sort of large, and I prefer smaller, more intimate types of places. Still, if I lived closer, it wouldn't stop me from coming in here often. They did seem to have a fair number of regular customers there at the bar.

(03/19/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So So So Good

Establishment: Opa-Opa Steakhouse and Brewery, Southampton, MA

Before I start my review, to be fair let me say that I made my one trip to Opa Opa on Saturday night of St Patricks Day weekend, and the place was packed with people. The place was well-reviewed by some people I was meeting with over the weekend, so maybe I'd have had better luck on another night.

Went in, got a seat at the bar, got instant service from the bartender, and ordered a Buckwheat IPA. If I had stopped right there this would be a great review. The Buckwheat IPA is awesome!!! Unfortunately, things sort of seemed to go downhill after that (maybe because of the huge crowds?).

Had a look at the menu, and waited, and waited, and waited, and waited some more, for one of the bartenders to come back or notice me waving at them. Finally got to order an appetizer and a steak, and for a short time the bartenders were very attentive again. Asked for and received a sample of their A-10 Double IPA, which was a little too strong for my taste. Decided to get a pint of the ESB, and either they poured me the wrong beer (it sort of tasted like a brown ale???), or it's the worst ESB I've ever had in my life. Ended up sending it away and going back to the Buckwheat IPA (they didn't charge me for it at least, which was points in their favor).

Waited again for a long while and finally got my appetizer (garlic bread with cheese) which was very good. In fact most of the appetizers I saw coming out looked pretty good. Then waited, and waited, and waited some more for my steak. A bartender went to check on it and came out and told me it would still be awhile because the kitchen was backed up. Not one minute later a waitress brought it out. I just wasn't that impressed - it didn't seem like a great cut of meat.

Finished my meal, and again had to wait and wait and wait for my check, as the bartenders were too busy talking to a couple of their friends at the end of the bar to take care of customers.

So unfortunately my one experience to date with Opa Opa was decidedly so-so. To be fair, the Buckwheat IPA was so good that I'd like to try going back there one more time when it's not so busy, to see if things go any better. Otherwise it would be a place just to go only long enough to fill up growlers. (I did end up buying a 6 pack of IPA to take home with me).

(03/17/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Davidson Brothers Restaurant and Brewery, Glens Falls, NY

This place is my home away from home, even if I have to drive almost an hour each way to get there!

I don't know if there's much original I can say, many of the other reviewers have laid it out pretty good already:

The beer is awesome. My favorite one of the normal taps is the IPA, hoppy without being over the top like some other microbrews you come across. The Dacker is very good also. As far as some of their rotating taps, they currently have the Double Hop IPA on right now, which is one of my favorite beers period. In fact I would say their Double Hop IPA and regular IPA are 2 out of my 4 favorite beers anywhere. Swimming Cow is always a nice desert beer after a couple of IPAs and a meal - very smooth. They haven't had ESB in a while, but I always enjoyed that too.

Food ranges from very good to awesome. Like everyone else said, try the buffalo wing soup. Never tried anything like it anywhere else, but always have to have a cup when I go in, even if it's July and 100 degrees outside. This is also one of only two places I go that I order the burgers, because they always taste fresh and juicy - no Mchamburgers here. Plenty of other stuff to choose from as well.

Finally the atmosphere. Very friendly and laid back. Family friendly dining area and adult only bar area. Live music many Friday and Saturday evenings. Not to mention the free entertainment whenever Rick the owner is there. Ask about the beer guarantee.

(03/12/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great

Establishment: Flying Saucer, Houston, TX

This place has more taps and bottles than you can shake a stick at, the problem is, it's usually so busy you have no room to shake much of anything. Perhaps a victim of its own success.

Seriously, the beer selection really is awesome, with more than 60 taps and a couple hundred bottles, you can find a little of everything there.

Food is decent, although the menu is sort of limited. Granted we go there to drink and not eat, but why not add a few more things onto the menu?

Some reviewers have complained about the service. I sort of agree. It's not that the servers are unhelpful or rude, it's that the place is so full they're usually too busy. I like to sit at the bar itself, but when you have only 2 people pouring drinks for the bar and all of the other tables and stools, somethings got to give. Nothing is worse than when you the barback brings out your food and sets it on the back counter just out of your reach, and it takes 5-10 minutes for the barmaid to get back down to your end of the bar and give it to you.

Overall I really enjoy this place a lot, I just wish sometimes they had more help.

(02/19/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great

Establishment: Coronado Brewing Company, Coronado, CA

This place is always a must-stop for me on the rare occassions I get to San Diego. In fact I usually seem to end up in there almost every day on my trips.

They usually seem to have about a half dozen of their own brews on tap, plus 2-3 guest taps. By far my favorite of the bunch is the Island IPA, followed by one of their other IPA offerings (can't remember the name). Very hoppy without being too overpowering like some I've tasted, smooth and easy to drink.

All of the food offerings I've tried there have been good, and the service is usually pretty good as well. It's got a nice laid-back, casual ambience which is very relaxing.

Another thing on the plus side, it's only about a 2 minute walk from the ferry that goes across to San Diego. No need to run the radar traps on the Coronado bridge or try to find parking in Coronado (although they have a very small lot in the back).

Only downside to this place is their 3 pint limit. However, there's a small convenience store next door that sells a lot of their products in bottles, or you can get a growler too.

(02/19/2009)














(0.072 seconds) 11:03:50 54.224.226.149, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS