PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from Irwin Markus
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 19, 2014 @ 03:09 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
Irwin Markus

Beer Reviews
(35)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

35
Beer Reviews from Irwin Markus
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Great Great Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Ryleigh's Oyster, Baltimore, MD

It looks like the place re-opened as a "beer bar". They have about 12 craft brews and imports.

The food was absolutely fantastic.

(04/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So So So Good

Establishment: Bullfrog Brewery, Williamsport, PA

We went there for some dinner and a couple of drinks back in November. I was suprised by the fact that the place looked quite run down based on some reviews I had read on this site.

The beer was good, but the selection was a bit limited. It seems that they had run out of a few things....apparently we got there between beer releases. I had an IPA and a porter that were pretty good.

The food was just OK, not bad...and the service was a bit slow.

I might give it another shot if I am in Williamsport again next year, but I don't know that I would go out of my way to get there.

(12/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse, Summerlin, NV

I thought I had visited every brewpub in the Vegas area. I happened to drive by and recognize the name as a west coast chain brewpub that I had visited in the LA area. Once I realized how new it was, I knew why I had never been there. The food was fantastic from appetizer to dessert. Between my wife and I we tried the hefeweisen, the porter and the stout. Each one was better than the last, wiht the porter being one of the best porters I have ever had. BJ's is about a 15 minute drive from the strip, but it is in a newly developed area of Summerlin, and there are casinos nearby. Worth the trip from Las Vegas Blvd....better than the BJs in LA.

(01/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Boston Beer Works, Boston, MA

We had some time to kill before going over to Chapel Hill for a game. We went to have a look at Fenway and I saw the place. I had not read any reviews of the place. For one, they had a very extensive beer menu. I think I counted 15 different beers, plus 2 more on hand pumps. I tried the IPA on hand pump, while my wife had the same but on the standard tap. Both were fantastic. They had a pumpkin beer on the other hand pump...I am a sucker for the hand pump, so I gave it a try. It was so good that I didn't try any other of their beers...I kept drinking it for a couple of hours. My wife had a hefeweizen and a blueberry beer that were both great. I wanted to try everything. We even tried to go for lunch the next day, but there was some concert at Fenway, so we couldn't park anywhere. I guess it will have to wait until the next time I am in Boston.

(09/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Boston, MA

We went to Rockbottom for dinner one night when we were in Boston. The food and service were really good. I had their Improper Hopper IPA, which I thought was very good. I also had their rotating dark beer which happened to be a stout. It was also fantastic. My wife really enjoyed her Amber. After dinner we went over to the bar for a few more. I saw the hand pump behind the bar and asked what was on it. Turns out I kept drinking the stout the rest of the night. Rockbottom is the absolute best of the chains. I wish they would open one in NYC.

(09/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good Good

Establishment: City Steam Brasserie Brewery Cafe, Hartford, CT

We stopped in for lunch on our way from New York to Boston. It was a pretty cool building, with multi levels. I tried their signature beer...City Steam Ale. I have no idea what the brewer was trying to do. It didn't taste like any beer I have ever tried before. The Irish Stout, however, was very good. Food was ok, nothing to go out of your way for. Next time I am passing through town, I'll try a different brewpub.

(09/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great So So So So

Establishment: Times Square Brewery, New York, NY

When I saw that the Times Square Brewery opened again, down the block from where it was, I figured I would check it out again. The old establishment was horrid, so I went in with very low expectations. I was actually pleasantly surprised. First of all, the food was really good - especially the Buffalo Wings. As for the beer, I saw that there were only 4 everyday brews on the menu - Pilsner, Pale Ale, a Red, and a Dunkel. The first three clearly aimed at the Macrobrew masses. I tried their Pale Ale - it was just OK, a little bland for my taste. But, I pretty much expected that. I also tried the Dunkel. It was good. They also had a Porter as their seasonal beer. It was good, it alone was worth the trip. This brewpub does nothing to really differentiate itself from the handful of other so-so brewpubs in the city - unimaginative house brews, with a good seasonal now and again. Go for the food and location, but don't expect too much from the beer.

(04/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Lake Grove, NY

We stopped in for lunch on Sunday, first time here in a couple of years. I tried the Omega 5 ESB and I thought it was top notch. The best I have had in a while (I don't know why more brewpubs do not brew ESBs). I also tried the Nut Brown Ale and it was real good (again, not the standard brewpub brew...and one of my favorites). The food was solid and the service was really attentive. I wish this place was closer to my house

(02/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Good

Establishment: Red Brick Station / White Marsh Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

My wife and son stopped in for lunch today on our way back to NY from DC. If they had problems with the service at one time, then they are certainly corrected now. We had nothing but the best, most attentive service of almost any place I have ever been. From the hostess to the waitress Jennifer. The beer was good. I had their winter ale an it was pretty good, a little light in body, but good. The Stout was much better than I expected after reading reviews. The food was pretty solid as well. Red Brick Station is too close to I-95 not to try when passing by.

(12/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Great Good

Establishment: Hops Grill and Brewery, Alexandria, VA

About what you would expect from a chain. In one word - uninspired. From the host, to the food, to the beer - uninspired. The only person who seemed to care was the waiter - the kitchen was slow and we waited a long time - and someone delivered the wrong beer to me - he did not charge me for that beer once he corrected it. The Winter Ale was just OK, the Porter (Alligator Ale) was a bit better. The food was no better than diner quality, and a couple of the vegetables in my wife's salad were a bit past their prime. I have no idea how or why this place was as packed as it was. If this brewpub is representative of the entire Hops chain, I'll stay away from them all, as there are tons of places that have beer as good or better with food that is much better.

(12/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Arlington, VA

Once again I am pleasantly surprised by a chain brewpub. The service was outstanding, and I went out of my way to tell the manager. This brewpub had 4 "regular" brews and 4 seasonals. I had the ESB which was absolutely fantastic, as well as the coffee porter which was on a hand pump. My wife tried the Rye Ale - which was a fairly hoppy red ale on a high pressure pour (a la Guiness/Cafferey's) - THAT was a great beer. The food was great as well. This may be the best brewpub in the DC area.

Rockbottom brewpubs never seem to disappoint. I wish they would open one on Long Island or in NYC.

(12/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewing Company, Las Vegas, NV

I try to stop into Gordon Biersch whenever I am in Vegas. The only bad thing about this brewpub is that they only have a few beers, and they are generally all lagers. They do a fantastic job with the lagers, and the seasonal is always something interesting. This time around, it was a winter bock that was great. The food, as always, was excellent. I always seem to end up here for lunch, so I have not really run into any of the attitude or long wait issues that some others have experienced. I'll be back here next time I am in egas

(12/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Ellis Island Casino and Brewery, Las Vegas, NV

Gross.

Note to everyone: Do NOT waste your time going here.

(12/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Chicago Brewing Company, Las Vegas, NV

I had been to this brewpub a few years ago and I was not impressed. I was probably turned off by the service more than anything else. Reviews on this site forced me to give it another shot, and I am glad I did. The Pale Ale was top notch and the Stout was very good. The food was great and the service was absolutely outstanding. This place will be a must stop every time I am in Vegas

(12/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Barley's Casino and Brewing Company, Henderson, NV

I agree with some of the reviewers below - This is not the best BrewPub in Vegas, but it is OK. The brewpub is slearly not the focus of this establishment, it is merely the restaurant in the casino. I had the Black Mountain, which is a dark lager, not bad, but not great. I was a little disappointed that with the exception of the Wheat, all the brews were lagers. The food was good, and our waitress seemed to know about beer.

(12/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Black Rock Brewing Company, Wilkes-Barre, PA

I stopped in for lunch on my way accross Pennsylvania. We had a couple of sandwiches which were better than we expected. I had a pint of the IPA and a pint of their Porter. Both were good...nothing special, but good. I don't live anywhere near Black Rock, but it was worth the 15 minute detour off of Rt 80. I'd stop back in if I was in the area

(11/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Otto's Pub and Brewery, State College, PA

Stopped in when I was back up for a game. I had been looking forward to trying the only brewpub near PSU, and I was not disappointed. I had a cask conditioned Nut Brown Ale that was top notch. The Black Mo Stout was great as well. My wife loved the Red Mo Ale, and my friend thought the Apricot Wheat was fantastic. The buffalo wings were the best I have had in ages, and our waitress Jenn was excellent. I can't wait for next year when I will go again (and maybe the Lions will win a game!!)

(11/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Founders' Restaurant and Brewing Company, Alexandria, VA

We were in Alexandria and found ourselves in front of the building that used to be VBC. I was so impressed by VBC the other time I was there, so we went in for lunch. The place was nearly empty at 1:30 on a saturday afternoon....but they brew beer so we figured what the heck. I had the octoberfest which was OK, and the Stout which was a little week. It seems that the best beer was my wife's Wheat beer. The food was good, and the waitress was VERY accomodating. She told me that they had only been open about 6 months. All in all, not as good as I remember when it was VBC, but if I am on King Street again sometime, I'd try it again

(10/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Iron Hill Brewery and Restaurant, Newark, DE

We stopped in for lunch on our way from New York to Washington. I tried the cask conditioned Anvil Ale and I was very impressed. I also had their porter which was also very good. The food was good and the service was fantastic. I envy the U of Delaware students and other residents of Newark...this place is a find

(10/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So

Establishment: Chelsea Brewing Company, New York, NY

I had waited about 5 years for my second visit to this brewpub. I didn't care much for it then, and my opimion has not changed much.

Much like most of the other NYC brewpubs, Chelsea is more interested in catering to the masses rather than making a commitment to good beer.

I tried the Stout, and was disappointed. It was a bit on the weak side, no bite at all. More like a mild black lager than a stout. I also had their Winter Wheat Ale. It seemed the most flavor came from the lemon wedge. Also very bland

We had some standard pub grub. My wife liked hers alot, mine was just OK. It tasted like the wings were just reheated in the microwave.

We got seated right away, because the restaurant was nearly empty, got our food very quickly, but by the time we were done and wanted to order some dessert, we waited forever. By the time we got our check, I think I waiter had already left!!!

This brewery does have a great location, right on the Hudson River. And right in the Chelsea Piers complex with a ton of things to do - bowling alley, skating rink, golf driving range. It has become a bit of a hotspot. In my opinion, that is the only reason they have been successful.

(02/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Great Great Great

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewing Company, Las Vegas, NV

Gordon Biersch only brews lagers, but they do it rather well. I had the Dunkels which was quite good. The seaonal was an Oktoberfest which was also quite good. The service was great and the food was superb. Even without any ales, I'll still go back next time I am in Vegas

(10/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Great Good

Establishment: Triple 7 Brewpub, Las Vegas, NV

I was not really impressed with this brew pub. It is in a great building - it actually used to be the train station years ago. I tried the Black Chip Porter and was disappointed. It tasted rather sour. I also tried the current seasonal, a cherry porter. While it tasted OK (not sour), I barely tasted like cherry, or like stout. More like a dark lager that someone left near a cherry. The food was really good and the atmosphere was fun.

(10/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Awesome! So So Good

Establishment: Heartland Brewery-Midtown, New York, NY

I had the Smiling Pumpkin Ale and loved it. The food was excellent. As usual, Heartlands everyday brews are just OK, but the seasonals are fantastic.

(10/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Brickhouse Brewery and Restaurant, Patchogue, NY

I just came from the Brickhouse. The bar was hopping with some live music, but we went into the back room for some dinner. I had a pint of the Hurricane Kitty, and I was not disappointed. It was a great hoppy IPA. I also tried the Paul Brown Ale, which was a basic American Brown Ale - it was also very good. The food was great. They have more than basic pub grub. Some nice pasta dishes, some seafood dishes and a few nice specials. The service was great too, and the waitresses really knew alot about the beer. Even though it is about a 45 minute drive, I will go back often.

(09/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! So So N/A Good Good

Establishment: The Brew Pub was Ramapo Valley Brewery, Suffern, NY

My wife and I stopped in one afternoon last week when we were passing through the area. We tried the Wheat, which was outstanding, the IPA, which was really good, and the Belgian Abbey, which was great. I can't comment on the food..... as for the atmosphere...I felt like I was walking into a cave due to the decor in the bar area. There were only a few people at the bar at that hour and the bartender was attentive. I would return for a visit the next time I am up that way.

(07/14/2002)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.143 seconds) 15:09:40 54.81.170.186, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS