PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from les horowitz
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 22, 2014 @ 08:54 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
les horowitz

Beer Reviews
(5)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

5
Beer Reviews from les horowitz
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Good

Establishment: Helmer's, Hoboken, NJ

I am revising my last review with a more positive opinion.I went back two more times and was pleased with just about everything.The nasty server was seemingly gone and this time,my patronage was appreciated.As always a great ,Euro/American micro offering with many choices on tap.Food was delicious,portions heaping!The atmosphere is still subdued,with an older crowd,but all elements seem to work now.

(02/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Spuyten Duyvil, Brooklyn, NY

This place resembles a Cracker Barrel restaurant with a bar thrown in.Carefuly placed antiques and oddities as decor make them a local oddfellow. They offer about half a dozen taps featuring seasonal U.S.& Europian top shelf selections.Prices are not cheap considering the grungy block that thier on ,about 5$to 9$ a pint. They also serve gourmet meat cheese,pickle platters.Iwatched one bartender prepare such platter with use of electronic scale in tow like he was weighing out cocaine! Service was attentive and cordial enough from the all black clad staff. The lighting was alittle too bright,but the steller wurlitzer jukebox cranked out fine indie selections.Its located in beer paradise,...Willimsburg ,Bklyn,and is aworthwile stop on anyones pub crawl.

(12/25/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Lousy So So

Establishment: Helmer's, Hoboken, NJ

Do not go to this place expecting to have a good time. With one of the best beer selections in Hoboken,above MileSquare in choice.With a restored,original grand wood bar,you would be highly impressed like i was.The menu is a good selection of true German dishes.Ive been here about 6 times or so with many different friends with the same result,The staff is very unfriendly.Last time i ate there ,I recieved the worst service in my 40 years!This place needs a change of thier old,crusty staff and somewhat of a makeover.You better bring the party with you ,cause you wont find it at Helmers.

(09/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Old Bay Restaurant, New Brunswick, NJ

t This place has to have the best tap beer selection in nj.They recently expanded thier bar and believe it or not,revamped thier menu by lowering the prices.Tin ceilings and festive New Orleans decorations all around,its a fun place to go.The service wheather it be bartender or food server is outstanding.With 20 craft beers on tap including the hard to find and exotic,its a beer paradise.Ive searched many of the places listed in this beer web site and old bay is unmatched.They also hand out a weekly beer menue which is always complete and up to date.Try getting Stickenjab on tap anywhere else!

(09/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great So So

Establishment: Antone's Tap, Cranford, NJ

Being a mere 25 minutes from my house i really expected this wellstocked true beer bar to be a mainstay place.I went there about 5 times.Getting over the uncomfortable small horseshoe shaped bar and unfriendly owner was easy. rRealizing that my 4.50 pour had been in a false bottom glass was harder.Somebody is making money here with a very short pour.The cullinery portion of this place is above average with big portions skillfully made.The service is enthusiastic. a

(09/06/2004)














(0.057 seconds) 20:54:48 54.211.118.204, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS