PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from Rick Lyke
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 31, 2014 @ 03:26 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
Rick Lyke

Beer Reviews
(15)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

15
Beer Reviews from Rick Lyke
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Good Good Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Big Tree Inn, Geneseo, NY

Geneseo would be a beer wasteland without the Big Tree. When I visit my daughter at SUNY Geneseo, this is a must stop.

(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good So So Good

Establishment: C.H. Evans Brewing - The Albany Pump Station, Albany, NY

Some good beers here. The food can also be good (sometimes). Stick with some of the simple dishes, they turn out better. Service is not the high point. All that said, it is a nice atmosphere and a place that I hope stays open for a long time. With a little work this could be something great.

(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Big House Brewing Company, Albany, NY

If you want to enjoy a beer here, don't try coming in on a Friday or Saturday night. It's too crowded and is more of a club than a brewpub. They can brew. Some beers are great, others so so. Try samples and find one you like.

(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Big House Grill, Albany, NY

On my last visit the beer showed nice gains. Not a great place to take a date for a meal, but the food was not bad. Nothing very impressive, but decent. If you're stuck at a Wolf Road hotel, this is worth the stop.

(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great

Establishment: Parting Glass, Saratoga Springs, NY

OK, so your feet stick to the floor. Get over it. The food is pretty basic, but the beer makes up for it. GREAT Guinness. Tons of other good stuff. The perfect place after the track.

(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Clark's Ale House, Syracuse, NY

Great beer and a good place to have a conversation. No loud music. No televisions. Part of what has made Armory Square a great place to go.

(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Blue Tusk, Syracuse, NY

If the seating was a little better and the place a little less smoke-filled, this would be on my top 5 all-time greats. It still makes the top 20! More great beers than just about any place on the planet. No crap on these taps.

(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Waterfront Ale House, Brooklyn, NY

I hardly ever find a place in the eastern half of the U.S. that has more than two or three beers I've never tried before. (I feel lucky when they have one!) This place had a bunch. I could have spent several evenings enjoying the friendly people at the bar. Felt right at home in just minutes. Good service.

(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So So So Good

Establishment: Empire Brewing Company, Rochester, NY

This Empire is not as good as the original in Syracuse. The beer is on target, but the kitchen really is messed up. One dish we had was very close the Kraft Mac & Cheese. It was said to have crawfish in it, but we only found two little bits in the entire dish. The owners should hang out for an entire dinner run and see what goes on. Come for the beer. It is worth it. Eat elsewhere.

(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Good

Establishment: Empire Brewing Company, Syracuse, NY

This has always been a favorite. The beer is still great. The food and service is not what it used to be. Come on guys, you can do better! Make it great again.

(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Capitol City Brewing Company - Downtown, Washington, DC

Try the stout and the Pale Rider IPA. Very friendly bar staff.

(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A Great Great

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant, Washington, DC

A very nice addition to the beer scene in Washington. The porter was excellent.

(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy So So So So

Establishment: Van Dyck, Schenectady, NY

There has been an improvement to the beer in recent months. The restaurant staff should be all fired and they should try to start over...again. Too bad. If this place was half as good as it could be it would be the place in Schenectady.

(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy So So So So

Establishment: Malt River Brewing Company, Latham, NY

The beer is good here, but I've taken this place off my list because of very poor food quality. If you have a problem, don't expect the staff to try to make it right. If you have to go, hit the bar and try a couple of beers. Eat someplace else.

(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: O'Callagh was Original Saratoga Springs Brewery, Saratoga Springs, NY

Some of the beer is good, but they take no risks here. It would be nice to see something different from the brew house every few months.

(06/14/2002)














(0.083 seconds) 03:26:10 54.90.42.156, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS