PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from John Neering
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 22, 2014 @ 08:57 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
John Neering

Beer Reviews
(5)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

5
Beer Reviews from John Neering
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Great So So Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Awesome! Great

Establishment: Helmer's, Hoboken, NJ

The beer selection is one of the best in the tri-state area, especially for deutsch biers. It is Richard the bartender who turned me on to d.b.a., where he said i could find my beloved cask conditioned ales served on a handpump. I will forever be in his debt. Thanks! Beers are always fresh and delicious.

(10/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great So So Lousy So So

Establishment: Lazy Boy Saloon and Ale House, White Plains, NY

I apologize for the previous spelling errors.

(10/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Good Lousy So So

Establishment: Lazy Boy Saloon and Ale House, White Plains, NY

Lazy boy had potential, especially when they had the handpump. I've been several times and each time a barkepp named Nelson is there, the service is poor at best. I've also had, on numerous occasions, beer that was well past prime and tasted of vinegar. Nelosn is a surly, slow and condescending bartender who seems to get off on making people wait to be served. I work too hard to wait be and be served in such a manner. I guess Lazy Boy thinks they have a monopoly on the market. Westchester is begging for a decent ale house to open up, complete with cask conditioned ales and barkeeps who want the business.

(10/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Swift's, New York, NY

I was impressed with the selection of ales. Swift's has Young's Ramrod, London Pride, Speckled Hen as well as many others. 20 ounce pints are relatively cheap at $5. Sean the bartender is friendly and quick with your next pint. The atmosphere is interesting and comfortable. The only thing missing is real ale on handpumps.

(10/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: d.b.a. (DBA), New York, NY

This is the only place in the NYC area with five handpumps for real ale. They often have at least two pumps running, depending on the time of year. ask for a taste first to see if hasn't turned yet. If you like real ale, this is your place. The outdoor garden is a refreshing and relaxing venue for enjoying a cask ale.

(10/09/2000)














(0.047 seconds) 20:57:01 54.81.52.32, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS