PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from Jim Begley
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 01, 2014 @ 04:02 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
Jim Begley

Beer Reviews
(15)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

15
Beer Reviews from Jim Begley
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome!
Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Lousy Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Great Divide Brewing Company, Denver, CO

Great Divide produces some really nice beers and their taproom is a great place to try them. Samurai is a nice rice-based beer with a unique flavorful taste. You must have the Oak-Aged Yeti - as good as Yeti is by itself, the oak-aging makes it better. As far as I'm concerned, oak-aging is somewhat akin to cheese and frying - both make all aspects concerned taste even better and the Oak-Aged Yeti does not fail to continue the trend.

(06/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!

Establishment: Toronado, San Francisco, CA

Toronado is one of the classic US beer bars and did not disappoint, though my SF bay area friend stranded his LV friend (me) there when he decided to head home without any warning. The service can be gruff but that's a part of the appeal, IMHO. No true beer drinker should miss what is one of the greatest beer bars in the country.

(06/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great

Establishment: Pizza Port Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA

We've had the opportunity to visit Pizza Port Carlsbad a couple of times the past couple of weeks since one of our daughters (our orange and white tabby) is in radiation therapy down here. Each of the visits has been extremely enjoyable, though Pizza Port can be a bit hectic.

One our first visit, our beers included Avery White Rascal, PP Dubblicious, and PP Honey. Our most recent visit included the PP 547 Haight (a shout-out to the outstanding SF beer bar Toronado), Urthel Samaranth Quad, Black Lie IPA (7th anniversary brew for the classic SD beer bar Liar's Club) and Anderson Valley Summer Solstice. On both occasions, the selection and beers were great and we will continue to come back as long as they let us.

Foodwise, get the garlic beer buddies and a pizza while enjoying the eclectic crowd.

(06/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great

Establishment: Map Room, Chicago, IL

The Map Room is a very cool beer bar with a great varied selection, though the atmosphere is definitely not for everyone. The vibe is very preppy/rock-n-roll, but don't let that prevent you from stopping by and checking out the selections.

In our recent trip through Chicago beer places, this seemed to have the best selections. We had been there once before and enjoyed it thoroughly. My only compliants are that sometimes it can be hard to get a beer (it gets crowded) and the listing of available taps needs to be updated.

We walked in and were ecstatic to see that Dogfish Head Immort Ale was on tap, only to be told it ran out the first night it was tapped. That's alright, except it was still marked on the easily erasable chalkboard. Further, the bartender gave me a look as if I was stupid for asking, while standing directly below the aforementioned chalkboard. Regardless, ordered the Immort Ales in bottles, along with a 60 Minute IPA and played some pool.

The pool table is completely free, which is cool, and there's an Apple computer for free websurfing while you're drinking - a unique touch. Make sure you check out hte Map Room when in Chicago.

(09/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Hopleaf Bar, Chicago, IL

Lover the Hopleaf and glad we made the trek to Andersenville to check it out. Went belly up and spent a couple of hours sampling the beers, though a number of the ones we wanted were missing because of an apparent rush the night before.

Make sure you try the fries, duck leg confit and the mussels in the beer broth - all are outstanding and pair wonderfully with the variety of beers. Be sure to allocate a good portion of your day to exploring the menu here, as the selection of beers - particularly belgians - is mindboggling.

(09/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Goose Island Beer Company - Clybourn, Chicago, IL

Spent two separate days over a Chicago beer weekend at Goose Island. We liked it so much the first day we went back for another. We drank as many of the Master in Beer Appreciation beers in an attempt to claim fleeting fame and had a good time doing it.

The reserve beers are great. They're available elsewhere in the city but well worth the try, particularly the Pere Jacques. All the beers were quality, though not all my particular style favorites. Try the Ed - it'll sit with you for a while.

Service was great and the buffalo burgers were tasty. They'll even do mini slider-like versions for as sampling - just make sure you get the homemade chips.

All in all, it's a definite place to go when hitting beer spots in Chicago.

(09/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Clark Street Ale House, Chicago, IL

Great beer joint with good local microbrews and a selection of Dogfish Head beers. Service was great, though the beer garden was suprisingly dark - almost eerily so. Would definitely suggest this place for any Chicago beer trips.

(09/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Naja's Place, Redondo Beach, CA

Hit Naja's on a Friday afternoon. Hadn't been for years but the beer selection is better than ever. Amongst our beers were a Pliny the Elder and an Old Numbskull - both were great on tap. Definite place to visit.

(08/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: The White Horse Trading Company, Seattle, WA

This is one of the coolest beer bars ever and it only serves a couple of beers at any one time. I've been here a couple times on trips to Seattle and I don't think there have ever been more than four beers available at any one time; however, rest assured that the beers are all high quality. Imagine drinking in a small used bookstore and you've got the right feel. A must see when in Seattle near Pike Place Market.

(06/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Fox and Hound English Pub and Grille, Memphis, TN

This is a fun place. Had the Maredsous and the Rogue Dead Guy, though each come only as pints (Damn TN laws!). Nice selection of beers, food and lots of TV's. Definitely the best location for beers in East Memphis/Germnatown area.

(06/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Flying Saucer, Memphis, TN

The Flying Saucer has a nice selection, including Dogfish Head Chickory Stout. Nice location right off of Beale Street. Good selection with a variety of beers from coast-to-coast and across the world.

(06/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Great Lost Bear, Portland, ME

Great Portland beer bar. This is the place to go to get Maine draft beer, but the bottle selection is light. Didn't try the food since we hit here after dinner. Beware of the early last call.

Definitely a must visit for beer drinkers in Portland.

(05/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: McSorley's Old Ale House, New York , NY

McSorley's is a rare bar. The beer selection is awesome only based upon the fact that there are two beers - light and dark. You have to order in pairs - two and two, four and four, six and six, etc. They're both good in their own right.

We went the day after St. Patrick's and had to wait in a line outside, but mann was it worth it. Once inside, huddled standing around tables in front until grabbing seats at a table in back. At the communal table, we hung out with about five different groups of people and had a blast with constant orders for beer.

Ended up staying here a LOT onger than we had planned, but that's alright. It's a must see on any NYC drinking tour.

(05/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Ginger Man, New York, NY

Spent a couple of hours here as a stop on a beer bar vacation to New York City. The selection is great and the service was outstanding. Our bartender helped us plan our next couple of stops while serving us some good brews. It's another good stop on any NYC beer visit.

(05/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Spuyten Duyvil, Brooklyn, NY

Took the train over from Manhattan and trounced through Williamsburg just to find it, but man was it worth it! This is probably one of the best beer bars I've ever been to. It is a must see for any quality beer drinker.

We had a couple of rare Dogfish Head beers here and they were worth every penny. Word of warning - make sure you have the address handy because this inconspicuous location does not jump out at you.

(05/27/2006)














(0.109 seconds) 04:02:30 54.196.199.117, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS