PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from Andy
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 18, 2014 @ 06:52 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
Andy

Beer Reviews
(4)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

4
Beer Reviews from Andy
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!

Establishment: Grand Cru, Baltimore, MD

Believe what you read. I just discovered this place about three months ago and I go back quite often. The servers can bet, well, a smidgeon aloof at times. Nonetheless, they are knowledgable and friendly. Casks get tapped every other Wednesday. If Wed. is tough for you, as it is for me, you can usually get there every other Friday to help finish it. It is attached to a nice market, so if what they have on the menu doesn't suit you, get something from the market.

(03/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Growler's Pub, Baltimore, MD

Small corner bar that is big on beer. Great beer on draft, small but stellar selection of bottles, open seats, and Marty, the bartender. Victory Pils, Lacaster Winter Warmer, Otter Creek, Guinness, Boddingtons, and some others on draft. First timer, but I'll be back soon.

(01/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Awesome!

Establishment: Brickskeller, Washington, DC

Just moved to DC area about 5 months ago and have been there about 5 times. I have had little if any trouble receiving what beers I order...except that one time when they didn't have the '92 Thomas Hardy's and I had to settle for the '94.....Like, totally unacceptable. Gimme a break! Murky atmosphere aside, any serious beer drinker will tell you that if you want beer, this is THE joint. The food is bar food....buffalo burgers are tasty enough to eat. To the cheap bastard complaining about prices, since when is $7 for a '94 Thomas Hardy's pricey? The 25 ounce Belgians get a little pricey.........but they're 25oz bottles and they're pretty damn tasty...worth every penny of the hardly over priced fifteen-twenty bucks. Anyone with a job (or a steady source of income) and a decent frame of reference will find the prices to be just as agreeble as the beer selection and the staff. And people, unless you server uses profanity or insults you, you just plain have to tip at least 15%. Not doing so is the equvalent of saying F-you....and is a huge insult!

(07/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A Good So So

Establishment: Appalachian Brewing Company, Harrisburg, PA

First, the positive: the building is magnificent and as someone born in Harrisburg, it is nice to see some revitalization. Now for the rest: Unless the beer and or the brewmaster's techniques have changed since the last time I was there a couple of years ago, the mass of reviewers submitting must be seriously deluded, or at least recovering from a sophomoric attachment to beered down water. I found the lager to be a bit syrupy, the ales to be imbalanced, flat, and pungent....and the Hefe....downright nasty. I toured the facilities only to find that the ales were fermented at near lager temps. I let the gentleman accompanying me (a co-owner?)know that this was, at best, potentially problematic. He assured me that his brewmaster was using superior methods.....Since when has fermenting ales in the low to mid 50s (F)been considered a superior method, when only a few ale yeast strains can be used successfully in this range. This could explain why the ales were so, well, bad. I was recently at a beer festival in central PA where I decided an ABC from the bottle....again, i was left unimpressed. While the lager seemed a little more crisp, still the rest did little for me. Did I say the building is magnificent?

(07/30/2003)














(0.043 seconds) 06:52:55 54.91.137.223, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS