PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from Phil
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 18, 2014 @ 05:47 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
Phil

Beer Reviews
(32)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

32
Beer Reviews from Phil
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Krogh's Restaurant and Brew Pub, Sparta, NJ

While I thought the beers, over all, were a little too hoppy (especially the maibock), they were very good beers. The red ale is worth having a pint or two of.

The food was incredible. The babyback ribs were plentiful and the sauce didn't overpower the meat.

The wait staff was very cheerful and attentive to my party's needs.

(04/25/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Captain Lawrence Brewing Company, Pleasantville, NY

The beers are outstanding, especially the smoked porter. Scott Vacarro, the owner/brewer is very friendly and good to talk to. Tasting room is open Friday nights and all day Saturday.

(01/08/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A N/A Lousy

Establishment: Brewer's Apprentice (BOP), Freehold, NJ

A friend and I went, both very experienced homebrewers there last year. Our batches were both infected and oxidized. When I complained to the owner about this, she blamed us because we used our own recipes and not theirs.

Oxidation is caused by introducing air to the batch after it has fermented. As the staff at BA transfers the beer around, my friend and I could not be held accountable. Infection is caused by using equipment that has not been sanitized. As the staff at BA is responsible for cleaning and sanitizing the equipment, my friend and I could not be held accountable.

Neither of these problems is caused by recipe formulation! The owner did not want to hear this but couldn't come up with any explanation for our problems. Her only defense was that she has been in business for so long and no one ever complained before.

I guess she never had experienced homebrewers there.

(08/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good So So Great

Establishment: Brickskeller, Washington, DC

The beer and very good; no denying that. The waitress, unfortunately, was slow in erving us, brought the wrong drinks, and then made mistakes on the bill. If I go back, I'll sit at the bar

(05/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Long Valley Pub and Brewery, Long Valley, NJ

For some reason, it took over an hour to get our food today. The server, Zach, was very polite and apologetic over the matter and came to us several times to apologize during our wait.

(10/14/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Hop Devil Grill, New York, NY

Regarding the bickering about who is posting what, you can click on the little file icon next to the poster's name to see what he or she has posted. I found it ironic that the person who complained about anonmous posting posted anonomously, himself.

Hop Devil Grill/the Belgian Room probably has the best Belgian beer selection in New York City, maybe even in the tri-state area. The food may not be the greatest, but I can get food anywhere; the large selection of beers is the draw here.

(01/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: David Copperfield's, New York, NY

Copperfield's has a very wide menu when it comes to both the food and the beer. And twenty-five cent wing nights on Monday is a great way to spend an evening with friends.

(01/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Times Square Brewery, New York, NY

closed (and since I need to input fifty characters into my review, I'll repeat myself).

closed

(10/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Jimmy's Number 43, New York, NY

This little hole in the wall rathskeller has twelve beers on tap and about fifteen in bottles (no megabrews). High quality food without high prices. Live music and other shows are regularly in the backroom. THe staff is very friendly and knowledgeable (and pretty).

(10/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Chelsea Brewing Company, New York, NY

The beers brewed here are of 'simpler' styles (nothing esoteric) but they are all good examples of the styles. Their American wheat and all their stouts are always good and they have an IPA that's double dry-hopped.

(08/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Burp Castle, New York, NY

Under new ownership, Burp Castle has improved in recent months. Twelve beers are on tap (plenty of Belgian) and the bottle list is currently about twenty-five quality bottles brands.

(01/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Standings was Brewsky's, New York, NY

No longer Brewsky's, but a bar called Standings. Twelve beers are still on tap and a bottled beer list of about 25 different bottles. Several HDTV line the walls to watch the game (whatever game you want)

(12/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Climax Brewing Company, Roselle Park, NJ

Probably the best O-fest I ever had.

(09/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So Good Good

Establishment: McSorley's Old Ale House, New York , NY

I don't understand how people can say this place has awesome. They are two beers on tap and, at best, are ordinary and plain. The atmosphere there is great, thanks to the historical feel of the place, but that's it.

(07/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Lousy So So

Establishment: Slaughtered Lamb, New York, NY

This place has gone downhill since they opened. My wife and I had to switch tables because the first one was so sticky, I nearly lost skin pulling my arm off it. The second one was a little better. The music was too damn loud. The food was not prepared as requested. The waitress spent so little time with us, I was beginning to wonder if I was diseased.

We won't be going back.

(06/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Sixpoint Craft Ales, Brooklyn, NY

Headbrewer came from the Angelic Brewing Company and he brought a lot of talent with him. His beers (I've tried the english-style IPA, brown ale, amber ale so far) are well balanced, though lean more to the malt side than hops.

(01/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: The Brew Pub was Ramapo Valley Brewery, Suffern, NY

While I have no problem with Chad announcing that the Brew Pub has replaced RVB, I don't like the fact that he rated his place. This site is for people to rate places they've visited and not for owners to praise.

Still, out of fairness, I'll visit it and get here with a review.

(12/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: The Tap Brew Pub, Haverhill, MA

While the beers were good (there were five house beers and three guest beers), ,none of them really stick out as exceptional. Food was good and in good portions. The staff was very pleasant and knowledgeable.

(10/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Burp Castle, New York, NY

The bottle list has been updated and presently includes about 170 different beers. This list will continue to grow and be updated.

(02/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Standings was Brewsky's, New York, NY

The bottle list has been updated and presently includes about 170 different beers. This list will continue to grow and be updated.

(02/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Burp Castle, New York, NY

The bottle list has been updated and presently includes about 170 different beers. This list will continue to grow and be updated.

(02/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Standings was Brewsky's, New York, NY

An excellent place to go for some drinking with friends. Twelve beers on tap and a bunch in bottles.

(12/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: David Copperfield's, New York, NY

(11/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Heavyweight Brewing Company, Ocean Township, NJ

Perkuno's Hammer was the best beer at the recent microbrew festival at Stoudt's.

(11/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Gilded Otter, New Paltz, NY

Eight beers on tap, including an excellent smoked porter. Food is much much better than that of most brewpubs. Very enjoyable.

(10/05/2003)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.297 seconds) 05:47:53 54.161.192.61, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS