PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from yarbz
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 16, 2014 @ 12:18 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
yarbz

Beer Reviews
(6)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

6
Beer Reviews from yarbz
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Good Good Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Eastside Restaurant, New Britain, CT

This is a German restaurant which really defines the term "hidden jewel"... They have state of the art beer system and even snow rails on the granite tables in the Bavaria room to keep you liter cold to the last drop. They have about 20 beers about 75% of which are german. The open air, rooftop beer garden just opened on sept 22 2009 and is part of a recnet $1,000,000 upgrade. I have been going here for ten years and I hope you'll add this now that the beer garden is up and running. I have photos to post once they are added.

This is my favorite place and I joined the mug club now that the open air rooftop beer garden is open. European football nights too! Great good and German beer. They recently added other beer but when I go here, I go German!

(09/25/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Good So So Good

Establishment: The Cambridge House, Granby, CT

Doug, I agree with the other guy... CHB is very good but they have their down moments. I have had several bad experiences there but they are learning it seems... My last time there was very good indeed and that was April 2, 2006. Granted, they need to improve, but... they are...

(04/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: The Half Door - A Traditional Irish Pub, Hartford, CT

Went there several times over the last few months. The beer selection is excellent with many bottle and tap selections. The best part is that they have beer that is not the same as everywhere else. Chimay was on tap and it was terrific. Nice dart tavern feel and is an excellent place in general. I try and go to these types of places when the crowds are thin so I can experience the place without fighting the weekend and happy hour crowds, The Half Door is one of the best places in Hartford. Cheers! See my photo of the Chimay I had, it'll make you wanna go the The Half Door right now!

(11/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good

Establishment: The Cambridge House, Granby, CT

Actually, this is the sixth time I have visited and they keep getting better and better. The first visit was OK, the beer fine but the service lousey. Since then, the beer has gotten better and the service is certainly improving (They did start from scratch you know)... Anyway, the beer is now among our favorite brew pub offerings. I disagree with the reviewer below rating the beer soso. The beer is the strong point of this place. Give it a try!

(07/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great

Establishment: The Cambridge House, Granby, CT

My wife and I arrived at the Brewery less than a week after its initial opening. We had hopes that this would be very good because it is close to our home.

We were NOT disappointed. We have been to brew pubs that have been around for years and not put out such a solid brew. Great.

The beer was great. They had 4 of their own online at this time. IPA, Kolsch, Hefeweizen and a German dark. We had the IPA and the German Dark and they were great. The IPA was our favorite of the two.

The food was good. Not great, but then again, I didn't expect the kinks to be completely out yet! My wife had Bangers and Mash and I had a burger.

She thought her meal was very good but the potatoes were not quite right...yet. Mine was very good but the fries were a little grease heavy and not crispy. These slight problems did not distract from our very positive experience as we know they are working "with training wheels" as they put it...

After all, this place has been open only 6 days and they are already better than 80% of the brew pubs we've been to.

Go and enjoy.

NOTE: The ESB comes out in a week and I am looking VERY forward to visiting again at that time.

(04/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Lord Jim's Pub, Hartford, CT

Brei, while you sound as though you may be part of the owning interest or possible management, telling a customer your glad they are not coming back is a poor response. You should be asking this preson to return and see if you can set his opinion straight. That would be proper management.

I used to go to LJ's all the time when I lived in Hartford, I liked it. Try and be more positive to a bad review...

(03/28/2004)














(0.052 seconds) 00:18:55 54.166.65.9, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS