PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from phil buteyn
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 17, 2014 @ 02:38 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
phil buteyn

Beer Reviews
(59)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

59
Beer Reviews from phil buteyn
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Cock and Bull Pub, Sarasota, FL

Trying to find good beer bars in the state of Florida is about as challenging as finding someone who can speak in complete sentences in a trailer park. But....we found a winner out by the interstate.

When we first pulled up to this establishment, around 5 p.m., I wasn't too sure about going inside. The place looked tired, and there weren't too many cars parked outside. But, we entered cautiously.

The place was dimly lit; a few scattered patrons at the bar and outside on the deck. We noticed a board behind the bar with the day's beers hand-written on it. Walla!! If my memory serves me right, there were between 15 and 20 first-class brews on tap (and many bottles). A wide variety of styles including brews by Stone and Rogue.

To avoid the smokers inside, we plopped our bodies out on the deck and enjoyed a fine evening of sampling beers we'd never had before. We'll surely return to this bar the next time we're down in Florida seeking respite from Wisconsin's winters.

(01/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Arbor Brewing Company, Ann Arbor, MI

Arbor Brewing proved to be a nice stop after watching a Badger-Michigan football game. The majority of the 100,000 fans that attended the game probably sought out bars that served common macros; but only beer snobs go to a place serving fine ales like this, so there was ample elbow room to enjoy some excellent ales.

I had a couple of cask-conditioned IPA's that were totally over the top; wonderful, wonderful brews. What a fine way to wind down after watching my Badgers fall to the Wolverines...plus getting to watch college football on the tv's at the Arbor.

If you enjoy quality ales, this place is for you.

(10/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Ashley's, Ann Arbor, MI

Spent a weekend in Ann Arbor for a Wisconsin-Michigan football game; hoped to find a great place to drink great ales. Well, we found it! Great selection, cask ales, and rotating stock--what could be finer!

Our waiter, a young man from Philly, was very helpful. Being a hop-head, he identified with us right away and steered me to a Dogfish Head 90 Minute.....on freakin' cask!!

Oh, my, oh, my! Too bad Ann Arbor is so far from Madison, Wisconsin, or I'd be making weekend trips to this great bar.

(10/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: West Mountain Brewing Company, Fayetteville, AR

While walking the square in Fayetteville, we stumbled upon this little establishment. We noticed the non-functioning brew kettles in the window; so we stopped in and asked about the ales that we hoped they might be brewing in the future. We also looked at the chalkboard and noticed, with great elation, that they had Rogue Brutal Bitter on tap. What a find! We returned several times during the month that we were staying at Bella Vista and totally enjoyed one of the best ales brewed in the U.S. They also had a pale ale made by Diamond B.C. down in Little Rock; quite a good ale in its own right.

I can't imagine a nicer place to be on a warm spring afternoon, with the doors open and letting in the fresh fragrance of the flowers on the square then right here. I'll be back next April, that's for sure.

(05/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Great Great So So

Establishment: Ozark Brewing Company, Fayetteville, AR

From what I've read in the local newspaper, Ozark is closing--due to the smoke-free law, according to the management.

Bull! The reason their business declined was because the quality of their ales declined. I stopped in; tried their IPA, of which I consumed two ounces; sat the beer down and left--totally disgusted. The only place that I've ever had a worse IPA at was in Hilton Head. No hops, no bitterness, no business!

(05/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Timber Wolf, Tempe, AZ

Went there on a weeknight and enjoyed choosing from a great selection of ales. Enjoyed a pint of Stone's Arrogant Bastard for 3 bucks! The next night: closed! What a shame. Was it the lack of business or poor management? I sure hope someone new comes in and tries to make a go of it.

(02/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Streets of New York Brewery was Uptown Brewery, Tempe, AZ

I have to admit that I was kind of doubtful about this place. I don't have a high regard for chains--not even the smaller ones. But this place surprised me. It's a rather classy joint inside; dark wood, good lighting. The time to come is happy hour. Their ales and their munchies are considerably discounted. I enjoyed a gently hopped IPA and a pretty decent version of an abbey-style ale (which at 9% alcohol was a one-pint affair). I made 2 stops there and enjoyed both of them.

(02/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Four Peaks Brewing Company, Tempe, AZ

Of the 15 nights that my wife and I spent in Scottsdale; 5 nights found us sitting outside on the porch; a heater keeping us warm; and some very good ales keeping us happy. We both thoroughly enjoyed the IPA; it was hoppy enough to please any hop-head. But the products that impressed me the most were the cask-conditioned ales. Totally first class; among the finest I've had the opportunity to enjoy anywhere. We also enjoyed the laid-back style here; it kind of reminded me of back home in Madison. Oh, the food? Very good. Can't wait to return next winter.

(02/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Coasters, Melbourne, FL

While visiting the Indian River Brewing Company, we were told that Coaster's had a pretty good beer selection. Thus, my wife and I set out for the establishment; found some friendly servers; and sampled some pretty decent ales. They had one of their own brews on tap--a pale ale; which I found to have a fairly hoppy taste to it and a bit of bitterness at the end. I was well pleased. They also had Sierra Nevada's Big Foot Barley Wine--once again I was well pleased. They also had one of the biggest bloomin' sandwiches that I ever saw for $7.95--I was more than very well pleased. (In fact, half of it served as the next day's lunch.) This place has a decent selection of micros (as well as the swill that the big boys brew); very good service, and a nice atmosphere for enjoying some ales and food. Can't ask for much more than that in Florida.

(12/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Charlie and Jake's BBQ, Melbourne, FL

The south is not exactly well-known for it's microbrews; but I did find a very fine pale ale at this warm, friendly establishment. A description of the other beers on their menu made it clear that the majority of their ales were aimed at drinkers who preferred more gentle fare. But their Anniversary ale (a pale ale) had a nice, bitter aftertaste; as well as a relative hoppy flavor upon first tasting it. My wife and I were impressed enough by it to return for a second visit later in the week. While I usually don't get too excited about food in brew pubs, we were very pleased with everything that we ordered--first class pub food! (And very good service as well.)

(12/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Sherlock's Home, Minnetonka, MN

The greatest brewpub in the midwest is no more. These were ales that were fit for kings.

(07/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Moon River Brewing Company, Savannah, GA

We stopped for lunch and enjoyed the IPA. Very good ale. Wish I could have sampled more; but I doubt I'd have been able to navigate the bridge on the way back to Hilton Head. This place has a lot of character--enjoyed the ambience.

(07/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Mellow Mushroom, Hilton Head, SC

Finally a place where you can find a few good ales on the island. While the number of quality ales on draft doesn'ts compare to the ale houses of the midwest; it's pretty good for this neck of the woods. I was VERY pleased to find Rogue Dead Guy on draft. All in all, the best place to enjoy ales on the island. (Darn good pizza, too.)

(07/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good N/A So So

Establishment: R.J. Rockers Brewing Company, Spartanburg, SC

Rocker's is gone. Sad that a town of this size doesn't recognize good ale when it sees it. Replaced by an "Irish pub" with a few good beers on draft.

(07/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Mickey's Tavern, Madison, WI

What a unique joint! The couches, lighting, off-beat mood--they all add up to a relaxing way to top off an evening of pubcrawling with a Guinness. If your looking for some place totally different in Madison to unwind in; this is it. The crowd is typical Willy Street: a little off center; but friendly when spoken to. While the beer choices are not overly numerous; they have enough nice offerings on hand--and the bartender took his time in drawing my Guinness: a sure sign of knowledge of the characteristics of that particular brew.

(09/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Spanish Peaks Brewing Company, Bozeman, MT

It's amazing how the brewing process can affect one's perception of an establishment. Now that Todd Scott, the original brewer at the old Peaks on 19th, is back brewing the ales from his Bozeman Brewing Company on West Broadway in Bozeman; this place begins to take on some of the charm that it used to have. The wait-staff seemed friendlier, the atmosphere seemed more casual, and there were very few small children in the place. Once again I can wear my Spanish Peaks t-shirt and my Black Dog bottle opener with a sense of pride and dignity. The Peaks is (are?) back. Let's hope they are smart enough to keep it this way.

(08/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Opal Divine's Freehouse, Austin, TX

Enjoyed the feel of an English pub in this 125 year-old building on New Year's Eve. The bar only holds about 8 people, allowing for some nice conversation with the very friendly bartenders. Many other rooms are available, too. The beer selection included many high-quality brews. Take the time to find this place; it's well worth it.

(01/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Lovejoy's Tap Room and Brewery, Austin, TX

Don't be intimidated by this dark, smokey place. Go on in, sit down on a couch, enjoy the murals on the wall, and have some very good beer.

(01/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Bitter End Bistro and Brewery, Austin, TX

We went to so many places in Austin that I can't remember which beers I drank here; but I do know that they were very good. The side room to this pub offers one of the coolest places in which to sample fine ales as is probably found anywhere. Couches, low lights, good brews--what more do you need in this jumpin' town?

(01/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Ginger Man, Dallas, TX

This is a great place to drink beer. Lots of taps--and high quality brews, to boot. Bartenders were helpful in making selections, and the couch upstairs made for great atmosphere in which to enjoy great beer.

(01/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Angry Dog, Dallas, TX

A pretty laid-back place to drink beer (but I wish there were more choices) and eat wings(decent, but not great).

(01/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Great Great Great

Establishment: Brewery Creek Inn, Restaurant and Brewery, Mineral Point, WI

Besides having a unique atmoshphere (set in an old limestone building); this place has some unique beers. I had a dry Irish stout which grew on me as I drank more of it--very unique style. But the winner was the double dopple weizen-very rich and complex. I've never tasted a beer like this before. The food was very good; I loved the Belgian french fries--best fries I've had in years. Waitress did an excellent job--plus she knew beer. Worth the 50 mile drive for a special night out.

(10/25/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: J.T. Whitney's Brewpub and Eatery, Madison, WI

Great news from the west side of Madison. The boys have really improved their product in the last couple of months. I agree with some of the previous reviews about weak brews; but come back and check 'em out now. They have an IPA that may be the best beer in town. Lots of hops and a nice, bitter finish. They also had a cask-conditioned ale this summer that was pretty darn good for their first effort. One of the brewmasters told me that they'll be brewing it again in a couple of weeks. As far as the food goes, who cares? Beer is food!

(09/16/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Paul's Club, Madison, WI

This...is..a very cool place. Soft lighting, couches, neat bar, and a freakin' tree right in the middle. But what makes me stop in on occasion is the beer selection. Quite decent. Now they even have Red Seal on tap. If you want to take some visitor to a truly unique place in Madison, this is probably as unique as your going to get.

(09/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Come Back Inn, Madison, WI

This has rapidly become one of my favorite places to drink good beer--primarily because of the excellent selection on hand. Generally they have around 25 great choices to choose from. I've drank Bell's Two Hearted in the winter, Tyronena's IPA in the summer, and a heck of a lot of other outstanding brews in the fall and spring. It's a great place to unwind any time of the week. (Just one thing, boys--cut out this frosted glasses crap. Great brews should NEVER be served in a frosted glass.)

(09/09/2001)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]













(0.151 seconds) 02:38:56 54.82.211.237, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS