PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from paris lundis
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 02, 2014 @ 05:06 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
paris lundis

Beer Reviews
(153)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






User Tagline: Buy a Friend a Beer
Favorite Beer: any Belgian beer
Located In: Pennsylvania

153
Beer Reviews from paris lundis
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome!
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: The Funky Buddha Lounge, Boca Raton, FL

Hookah bar - flavored tobacco.

60+ microbrew beers from around the world, sake, champagne, organic wines, over 30 types of teas, sushi, thai food, free wifi internet access.

(01/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Point Brugge Cafe, Pittsburgh , PA

Nice article in the Pittsburgh Tribune-Review about Point Brugge: http://pittsburghlive.com/x/style/fooddrink/cookingclass/s_415657.html

(01/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Burgh's Pizza and Wing Pub, Bridgeville, PA

Burgh's sure has grown better and more popular since I last reviewed back in 2001. I will give you more info in this review.

Burgh's is in a psuedo main street block but itself occupies a big portion of the first floor of a newer looking mixed use office building. Public parking for about 200 cars is directly across the side street. Burgh's is very close to Bridgeville exit on 79 South and sits on Route 50.

The interior of Burgh's is made up of four seperate areas - the main large area - 1980's feeling high ceiling child friendly area. The second area is on your way to the bar and is a service area with beer coolers and some straggling seats. The bar is the most interesting area and is visually more pleasant. Lower ceilings, worn in wood floors - tons of TV's everywhere with 2-3 different sports shows on. Comfy booths along the perimeter in places. Bar seating on stools around the bar which takes 75% of the bar area up. Fresh popcorn free for taking out of the popper, dart board game.

The fourth room is the new tapas bar- which I haven't been into - so I can't comment.

Since Burgh's isn't far from my home - I have tried stopping 4-5 times in the past 6 months. Everytime the public parking lot was over capacity and you could see easily that Burgh's was filled to capacity. Good for them, bad for me.

So we finally found parking and an empty table / booth at Burgh's on a Tuesday night January 16, 2006 at 9 PM. So glad we did because it was one of the best meals we have had in a while.

I ordered a 20 oz Bell's White which was good and as expected. $4.50 - not bad on price as a good half of the beer - micros and imports are cheaper than elsewhere around Pittsburgh.

So we split this house salad with cheese and artichokes which was a huge bowl suitable for 5 people. Delicious mix of salad and veggies. One of the best salads you can find locally. Again, fair if not cheap price on this.

Main course was a Primavera pizza with tomato sauce. Wow, 18 inch pizza if not larger. Hearty dough with some thickness but a good even crispiness. The veggies were all seperately prepared with individual tastes and spices. We left with nearly half of this pizza which is 2-3 lunches for someone portion wise.

$32 + tip for two very satisfied diners.

The food at Burgh's is even better than it was in 2001. The crowd here on a Tuesday was 20 somethings to 60 somethings. Everyone seemed to get along and enjoyed Burgh's.

Highly recommended.

(01/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Jack's Mountain Restaurant and Brewery, Lewistown, PA

Jack's currently is for sale on Ebay.

Says:

Restaurant & Brewery for sale, centrally located in PA.

120 seats. Building remodeled in 1998. Turn key operation.

Point of sale computerized system. Located 2 mile from Lewistown Walmart, along Hwy 522. Sale price includes real estate & equipment $325,000.

For sale by owner. 717-248-3318

cell phone 717-348-3599

(01/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse, San Mateo, CA

BJ's makes the news with the theft of several large plasma TV's from this location on Christmas (12/25/2005). Investigator's looking for your help in locating several large and heavy plasma TV's stolen from this location.

(01/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: The Dragon was St. George and The Dragon Pub, Frankfort, KY

Under new ownership along with the new name.

(01/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Gardner Ale House Brewery and Restaurant, Gardner, MA

Gardner commissioners voted unanimously in favor of a license for the Gardner Ale House, Brewery and Pub.

It is expected to open in April 2006.

(12/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: BarrelHouse Brewing Company, Cincinnati, OH

open but relocated...

(12/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh , PA

Six Penn is a new addition to Pittsburgh's downtown Cultural District. This place is a wonderful reuse of a formerly blighted building. Six Penn brings the building up to it's potential with interesting metal work adorning the outside and lots of wood inside. A totally open air environemt that's split into two stories and appears to have rooftop space for when the weather eventually breaks.

In-house they have two full time pastry chefs making even the ice cream. The food is wonderful and classy. I had a black bean soup that was tasty, be it a somewhat small portion size. Along with the soup came a piece of flatbread and another more normal piece. Everything was quite good. Main course I had an interesting Orzo dish with mushrooms and fall vegetables - both colorful and delicious. An order of asparagus rounded my meal out and it was tender, tasty and worth the price. To close the meal out I had their cheesecake which was great tasting and quality ingredients. I washed the meal down with a very tall glass of Bell's Winter White Ale http://www.bellsbeer.com/branddetail.asp?BrandID=18 serverd in interesting glassware.

This place has a remarkable beer selection. Only good beer on tap including some from Troegs and East End Brewing.

The service is wonderful with a full staff of folks some 4 or 5 you will see at different parts of your meal. The kitchen is out in the open and accessible. The aromas here are rich and mouth watering.

Downtown has been dying while waiting for a place like Six Penn to finally take a chance. Six Penn is really Eat N' Park's foray into more upscale dining. I think they have a winning formula with Six Penn - it was like being teleported to New York or Seattle seated in a finer restaurant. Six Penn isn't cheap, but I think worth the $35 tab for my evening - they pull it all off without being stuffy and exclusive.

A bar area awaits those venturing in for drinks only- so give this place a try.

(12/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Awesome!

Establishment: Brillobox, Pittsburgh, PA

There aren't many instances where I would overlook waiting 40 minutes for food or accept sub par food. However, Brillobox is a place where I see the promise, I saw others meals and I spent the night chatting with the crowd of people.

Brillobox is a now 10 week-old bar/restaurant/performance venue. It's along the Penn Avenue stretch between Bloomfield and Lawrenceville - near or in the Penn Avenue Art Initiative area. Named as an homage to Andy Warhol, Billbox is owned by a 20-30 something couple, boomerangs who came back to Pittsburgh from living and working in New York City- Brillobox has the right mix of food, drink and atmosphere to lure the hipsters, beatniks, alternatives and other interesting folks in droves. This place is a gem and probably the seed of much more.

On tap they have only good beer - no macros. Selection includes offerings from East End Brewing and Troegs. 8-12 tap handles total. In bottles they hide and contain the other beer, those nasty macro beers.

Atmosphere at Brillobox is cozy, be it a tad too dark in the bar area. The walls have some art from the owners creative streaks. Upstairs is live performance space that had a singer songwriter and a $5 cover charge. Downstairs was packed so I decided to mingle freely there.

Nice to see both the owners working the whole night. The place was packed in two waves - dinner and the later drinks crowd. So no standing around for either of them. Nice people who were good at serving the drinks and very attentive to note a nearing empty glass.

The food looked marvelous at other tables - so for once I can say the veggie opinion is narrow and I should steer people properly. Try the food, but beware of the veggie food.

I really enjoyed my time here and the crowd it attracts. I will be back as soon as possible to take more in. This is now my favorite place in Pittsburgh to have a drink and talk with others looking to socialize.

The Pittsburgh Post-Gazette has a good piece on Brillobox: http://www.post-gazette.com/pg/05349/622363.stm

(12/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Black Canyon Restaurant and Brewery, Montrose, CO

Well Black Canyon looks to be getting out of the business.

The business is for sale up on Ebay for $659,000.

From the ad: "Your chance to walk into this turn key operation...all of the setup work is done for you! Get Fresh With Us! is the motto for this newly renovated restaurant & brewery in Montrose, Colorado. Everything is prepared fresh daily, including the beer! Menu includes all of the favorites. Some of the menu items are: steaks, hamburgers, pizza, fish, chicken, salads and appetizers.

Wildlife and antique theme completes this 120 seat restaurant with full bar and 4 brewing tanks. Brewing tanks are the latest, high-tech equipment available. Brewing your own beer is an ease with this system. This turn-key operation includes real estate, all trade fixtures, licenses and equipment in the store. Building includes 3125 square feet with ample public parking located in the rear. Opened March 2005, this popular restaurant already has a strong, established customer base. Restaurant is open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner and 5 days a week for breakfast."

(12/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Pittsburgh Brewing Company, Pittsburgh , PA

Pittsburgh Brewing Company filed Chapter 11 bankruptcy yesterday. The company is still in operation and producing beer.

The Pittsburgh Post-Gazette is covering the story: http://www.post-gazette.com/pg/05342/618920.stm

(12/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Yakima Brewing and Malting was Grant's Ales, Yakima, WA

It could be last call for Grant's brewery pub.

The restaurant and bar has closed after the state barred Yakima Brewing & Malting Co. from serving beer and employing workers by revoking its liquor license and industrial insurance coverage certificate.

If the pub reopens at its Glenwood Square site at 5110 Tieton Drive, it might have a new owner.

Full article here: http://www.yakima-herald.com/page/dis/317367215806663

(12/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good So So

Establishment: Roland's Seafood Grill, Pittsburgh , PA

Well I finally went back to Roland's. Visited on 11/19 during the later evening expecting the Roland's I use to know.

It appears however that Roland's is taking that nosedive motion taken by place already shuttered.

Arrived at Roland's and found 2-3 door folks along with a Pittsburgh police officer manning the door. Wondering where I now was I braved onward. What I found was a loud rap-music filled place with 20-somethings drinking and standing in place. Lacking oxygen and a colder temperature I trekked upstairs and found pretty much the same. 20-somethings drinking macro beers and five cigarette people trying to get me smoking their crack.

Ordered a Chimay small red bottle and left soon after.

I guess Roland's now wants to be what Metropol was. What a shame.

(11/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Gooski's, Polish Hill, PA

Saturday nights are hoping at Gooski's. Local live bands play back in the pool table area. Shoulder to shoulder alternative crowd coupled with very good micro and import selection on tap and in the coolers.

This place gets better with age. A must see for those who love a good alternative music jukebox including The Clash and Dead Kennedys.

(11/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Good

Establishment: Ukiah, Pittsburgh, PA

You could easily drive by this place. Right past all the noise of Giant Eagle and Taco Bell, where people hit the pedal and press 50. The neon for Pabst Blue Ribbon and the Coors Light banners easily disguise this place as a dive.

Open the door and still confused. Maco brew propaganda everywhere. Country western interior meets Italian decor. Poker machines and a jukebox, where am I?

Ask the very lovely hostess/waitress/etc. about eating and drinking and discovered 100 beers, 90 worth drinking and pretty tasty food.

Surprise.

A weird worn in nook that decided to slide good beer in without letting anyone outside the building know.

Potential abound, but the bar crowd drowning themselves in Bud and Coors. Can Ukiah survive? We will see.

(11/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Bloomfield Bridge Tavern, Pittsburgh , PA

Well with Stan's death I had to finally trek over to the BBT to see what this place was all about. Better late than never someone once said.

This place is an interesting worn in nook to say the least. Bathroom in the basement and fitting for just one. Caliope banner up in the middle of the stage - which relates to the Tuesday songwriter night that continues must it be 10-years running?

Big grill top and fryer pushing out the Polish perogies and other polish foods. Varied beer selection, including East End Brewing's Big Hop and Hoegaarden to name two we bought. Alright beer selection with a few in the cooler I swear must be Polish imports.

Live music pushed out a few covers of noteables like the Rolling Stones among others. Original songs too.

Friendly place with just a $3 cover for the donation to the singer songwriters. We will be back. Sorry it took so long to visit.

(11/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Bitter End Bistro and Brewery, Austin, TX

The Austin American-Statesman is reporting:

The end of the End as Austin knows it Downtown brewpub will give way to hotel, may move elsewhere.

Full article: http://www.statesman.com/metrostate/content/metro/stories/10/31bitter.html

(10/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Pittsburgh Bottleshop Cafe, Bridgeville , PA

The Bottleshop is expanding. A new lease signed 9/28 for the adjoining space will give us all more space and attract a larger crowd.

New website for the Bottleshop too. Features on the wait staff and more info on the cigar menu.

(10/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Awesome! So So Great Great

Establishment: Smokin' Joe's, Pittsburgh , PA

I stopped at Smokin Joe's on one of the recent cold/rainy days during lunchtime.

There were 2-3 people catching lunch while I was. I had the veggie sub and fries which was fresh, but somewhat bland - not giving Fathead's sandwichs a run for their money anytime soon. I had a salad too which was mostly just white lettuce crammed into a small bowl with cherry tomatoes that seemed to have grown a few extra layers of skin.

Food aside, Smokin Joes has a huge selection of beer... Most of the bar area is just coolers functioning as bar back.

Definitely a place to catch drinks with friends after work or on weekend nights out.

Maybe the other food is better- maybe other cooks there make more inspired food. That aside, a good place for beer and that is what we are about here on PubCrawler.

(10/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant, Miami, FL

Hurricane Wilma hit this area paticularly hard today. Lots of flooding and wind damage. I would expect this location to be closed for a while.

"...In downtown Miami, broken glass from skyscrapers littered some streets and sidewalks in the Brickell Avenue financial district. About four or five blocks of the avenue had up to six inches of water from a broken water main that was spraying about 15 feet in the air."

Complete story: http://abcnews.go.com/US/wireStory?id=1245493

(10/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Molly Brannigans Traditional Irish Pub, Pittsburgh , PA

I stopped by a few Fridays and this place was insanely overcrowded- I mean packed seating and three deep at the bar. It's a pretty big place and there had to be 200 people or more.

Good to see people supporting this place. Looks like the have a hit here.

I will be visiting Molly Brannigan's sometime soon and will provide a full review.

(10/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Bloomfield Bridge Tavern, Pittsburgh , PA

I'm sad to report another death in the beer community.

Stanley A. Frankowski / Owned Bloomfield Bridge Tavern Feb. 22, 1936-Oct. 19, 2005

Plant worker, union activist and Bloomfield Bridge Tavern owner Stanley A. Frankowski died Wednesday at 69 at his O'Hara home, following a long struggle with cancer.

Mr. Frankowski, "Stas" or "Sluggo" to his friends, was a union leader and bologna packer at Armour Meat Co. When the plant closed in the early 1980s, he launched a campaign to rally union members to collectively buy and manage it. After enlisting the help of a local political activist, now state Sen. Jim Ferlo, Mr. Frankowski cooked up a spicy way to get the attention of Pittsburgh City Council.

Rest of the article at http://www.post-gazette.com/pg/05295/593086.stm

(10/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Ciao!, Carnegie, PA

I spoke with Nick at Ciao! this week. Bad news for Carnegie, beyond the half-block fire from last week - Ciao! is going to be closing it's Carnegie location and moving the business to Robinson Township along Stubenville Pike/Route 60.

Hey when I stopped in there were two other patrons the whole part of the evening I was there. Carnegie people just aren't supporting their local restaurants. The local leadership/government isn't helping foster new and continuing businesses in the boro either - Ciao's! had planned to open the second floor for parties and outdoor patio dining in the front- those ideas were shot down by Carnegie boro- where they wanted Ciao to add an elevator. An elevator - a very expensive idea and one that would have put a large dent in the space available.

The planned closing will happen end of December 2005 and the Robinson location will open in February 2006 according to Nick.

The new Robinson Township location will be much larger and have seating for 125 people. They are going to continue to push the micros and good imports and expect to have 14-beers on tap at the new location and probably a larger selection of micros in the coolers.

You can expect the same low-priced Italian meals at the new location as well as small-plate tapas-like offerings - but at a low price and healthy size.

I am looking forward to the new location where I expect Ciao! will be received with open arms and a large crowd of loyal diners.

The few of us still alive in Carnegie will miss the convienent location and walking distance bonus.

(10/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: East End Brewing Company, Pittsburgh, PA

I bicycled over to Scott Smith's East End Brewing on 10/15/2005 and afterwards visited Point Brugge (see that review too). I got to the brewery around 3:40 - just 20 minutes before closing.

I have been meaning to visit East End Brewing for several months. Scott had brewed a special one batch of Pedal Pale Ale for "Bicycle Month" here in Pittsburgh and a group of bikers made it to the brewery on of the event outings. I ran into Scott handing out his beer propaganda over at Bado's (pronounced Bad-o-s) in Mount Lebanon a few weeks back. With my interest brewing (pun) and a nice warm fall Pittsburgh Saturday (yep it can happen) I charted out my course to East End Brewing.

It's at this point I'll take issue with maps and The Enemy. While Scott might have his brewery in a lower rent district it's very close to much better living quarters - like the Point Brugge area/Point Breeze (I know we had differing opinons on that). Scott is in what appears to maybe have been a steel mill. The neighbors on the same street live in some interesting low cost houses (2-3 houses on street). The street is buried and has been isolated by the insertion of the East Busway there in the 1980's - dividing it from the better area. The neighbors were out on one of the porches and were friendly- harmless. It was actually absolutely quiet back there - no car stereos, no noisy traffic, no anything.

When you look at a map for getting to East End Brewing you will see essentially a doubling of the streets since maps also list the alleys and other tightly placed parallel streets. So in reality it's 2-3 real blocks from Penn Avenue.

Scott Smith is a bicycle guy. He let me drag my monster-bike into the office space of the brewery for safe keeping. There is a tricycle and a piece of something else bicylce in his office. He'll tell you about his like of bicycles and sustainability.

Scott gave me the full-tour - two story open floors, loading dock, grain elevator and supply pilings. Lots of time and work has been put into this place to make it what it is - be it minimalistic. The brewing equipment was in operation and there was various beer production waste about the floor. The fermentation tank and other equipment weren't polished up, this is a real brewery, actually making the beer. Refreshing.

I got to sample a bit of the Harvest Ale - good beer and nice portion size offering. With East End Brewery now having Vecenie distribute the beers, more beer seems to be out there and less hanging around the brewery. That means for the time being you might not have a growler fillup or keg available for takeout the two days a week Scott offers beer at the brewery now. While I was there (4PM and thereafter) two different couples came to pay homage to East End Brewing's beer. It seems like people are taking a liking to East End Brewing.

Scott Smith is a neat guy - out on a limb taking a risk, living his dream and providing us with some really good beer. I can overlook the short-supply at the brewery and the neighborhood. You should really get out to see East End Brewing, Scott is a one man act doing everything. He is down to earth and friendly. Best yet, the beer is excellent.

Give East End Brewing a try Pittsburgh.

(10/16/2005)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ 7 ] [ ALL ]













(0.181 seconds) 05:06:55 54.82.66.236, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS