PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from paul s
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 14, 2014 @ 09:13 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
paul s

Beer Reviews
(28)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

28
Beer Reviews from paul s
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Good Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So Good

Establishment: Bilbo's Pizza and Brewing Company, Kalamazoo, MI

The new Bilbo's on Stadium is a big upgrade over the old location. My waitress actually could give a short description of the types of beer on tap. This was new. Also the beers were decent and only $1 a pint since I came in during a Tigers game. The soapy and off tastes that were present before are gone but this is a new place with new lines. Time will tell if the equipment here is cleaned out like it should. Pizza is good but still a little doughy and service is still on the slow side. This place has cheap late night specials to attract a college crowd at night so enjoy or beware, depending on your point of view.

(11/04/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Awesome! Good

Establishment: Blackwater Brewing Company, Davis, WV

Nice selection of beers on tap but all felt watered-down and light in mouthfeel. This affected the IPA the most because the heavier hop additions were not balanced with additional malt. The result was the first place I'd ever been where the IPA had the lowest APV. This was probably all done intentionally to make the beers "light" and easy to drink. But some styles need to have more body. The food was outstanding and I don't have a single complaint with it or the waitress who got us our food ahead of two large groups who had come in a few minutes before us, knowing if she didn't, we would be waiting forever.

(08/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Mountain State Brewing Company, Thomas, WV

I wanted to give this place a shot even though I was not feeling well seeing as how they had such a terrible review and they didn't have too many reviews to counter the bad one. Well let me just say the beer here was better than what I had down the road at the more popular place. The ones I tried all had good body and mouthfeel. I only wish I had felt well enough to stay all night. My only complaint is that they don't open until 4 or 6. But I understand that if you don't get enough traffic in, it doesn't pay to be open. Lastly, the sawhorses were actually kinda comfortable for a bar seat.

(08/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Shallo's Restaurant and Brewhouse, Indianapolis, IN

They claim to have the biggest beer selection in the midwest. I know of places with about the same amount and maybe slightly more but it's almost all in bottles with many being imports where Shallo's has a nice selection on tap and their bottle selection is more heavily micro's. I prefer local micro's over beer made in China so I didn't question them on that claim. Waiter wasn't the biggest beer drinker but was knowledgeable enough to make recommendations based on what the customer was looking for. THANK YOU! Would you order wine at a place that had 10 labels but the waiter couldn't tell you anything besides that some were red and some were white and that he didn't know what "dry" meant? The fact that this waiter did not drink much beer but could still speak about the product that he served impressed me because sadly this isn't always the case. The nachos were individually topped with meat and cheese to make them more shareable. Nice casual place to hang out, get a bite, and catch a game, try a new beer or revisit a hard to find favorite.

(12/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Establishment: Brugge Brasserie, Indianapolis, IN

Looks to be a slightly upscale restaurant from the decor in an area surrounded by bars. I'm not sure as both times I was there it was between 10-11 on a Saturday night and the kitchen was closed. I started talking with my waiter about how I found the place on this website and how I read a review from some guy in Pennsylvania who came here because the bartender at Broad Ripple BC told him about. Well it just happened to be the same bartender/waiter and he remembered "the Beav". I tried a trippel and a christmas ale which were both good. When I mentioned to the waiter that I don't usually care for pale ales he brought me a sample of their Belgian Pale ale which wasn't bad. It was sweeter and reminded me more of an amber ale. I don't know if this means they give samples now or if it was just the waiter. My second time there the beer was still good but I was given my bill after one round and they started putting up chairs shortly after. I guess they consider themselves a restaurant and not a bar and so when the kitchen closed, they are closed. Maybe this explains the limit of 2 trippels. They want to make thier own beer but they don't want to be a bar. It's a shame because they make decent beer.

(12/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Berkley Front, Berkley, MI

This place is great. 41 taps including a hand pulled ale and not a Bud, Miller, Coors in the lineup. They were all quality beers. My favorite beer from Dark Horse is their Crooked Tree IPA and that was the Dark Horse on tap. Usually if I see Sierra Nevada it's the pale ale and maybe the stout, they had the Celebration Ale on tap. They don't sell samplers but the bartender let me sample at least 10 different styles. He also took the time to answer my questions about the brands that were new to me. There also is a bottled beer selection of harder to find beers. They buy extra kegs of Bells Oberon to last into the winter. The only sour thing I can say about the place is that Oberon was priced 50 cents higher than their other Bells even though they all cost the same from the distributor. I asked why and was told that since Oberon was so popular the owner was trying to get more profits out of it.

(12/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Shakespeare's Pub, Kalamazoo, MI

This is THE beer bar in town. Once you've tried the breweries in town you need to go here. They have 30 beers on tap. Every Tuesday night they run a special on a different microbrew. Sometimes the owners of the brewery are there, sometimes they give away free pint glass, sometimes it's just try a new micro for $2.50. What really impressed me was the time they supported a small microbrewery about 30 miles away by featuring them one Tuesday night. This place had bottled at one time but isn't currently. Shakespeare's had several growlers from the place on ice. Shakespeare's is very popular so expect a full house on Friday and Saturday night. There's a comedy club downstairs so it's a good place to plan your night if you're in Kalamazoo.

(11/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Kraftbrau Brewery Incorporated, Kalamazoo, MI

In the past year since my last review the place has added a pool table and their website now shows their hours of operation. They are still making a line of beers with quite a few different styles. Too many of these styles are very low alcohol. I drank over a gallon of their Winter Moon on Super Bowl sunday and couldn't tell that I had drank a thing. I don't believe they distribute anymore so this place is now just a brewpub with a stage. I miss the names marketed with the beers. Rock Harbor Red Ale is now just red ale. Overall I like most of the beers but I wish they would start their shows on time and post what's currently on tap on the website.

(03/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Broad Ripple Brewing Company, Indianapolis, IN

I agree with an earlier review that the IPA is overly bitter. It's not balanced well with the additional body a good IPA needs. It had mostly early addition bittering hops with little or no late addition aroma hops. Reminded me of a poor pale ale. The ESB was good and the strong old ale that they had was very good. Malty sweet but not too sweet. I was there the night before Thanksgiving after dinner rush and while the place seemed three quarters full, I did not experience slow/poor service. I liked the fact that they carried a good selection of bottled micro/regional brew since most brew pubs only serve what they make.

(11/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Lousy Good

Establishment: Dark Horse Brewing Company, Marshall, MI

I hate to rate this place only at good but the service was so lousy. Waitress didn't ask if we would like to order any food. She just served us our beer and left us. We had already eaten but I was considering an appetizer. I saw another table, who she finally asked if they wanted food, have to ask for pop refills because they were ignored once their food was served. This is the smallest microbrewery/brewpub I've ever seen. This doesn't bother me but I haven't been in many bars smaller than this. Looks like the kind of dive where they only sell beers in cans. I can see it being smokey at times because of the small size. I didn't go to see a fancy bar though, I came to try the beer. I tried the Crooked Tree IPA for the first time and it's the best IPA I've ever had. Extremely aromatic w/o being overly bittered by the hops. I like sweeter stouts that don't have an overly strong roasted malt taste and their Oatmeal stout fit the bill perfectly. I also tried their amber which was good too. I'm going to have to try to make it back again and hope for better service so I can give this place a higher overall review. It would help if they were open more (3PM- ) and closed on Sundays.

(10/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Corner Bar and Grill, Kalamazoo, MI

Kalamazoo is a great beer town so finding a bar like Corner bar with 18 taps is not that unusual. What is nice is that they don't fill 15 of those taps with Bud/Miller/Coors. I don't remember them all but there was an Arcadia, Founders, Great Lakes Brewing Co., and 2 Bells. They also carry a large inventory of bottled beer from 8 or so different Bells to not so common imports like Chimay. Nice homey bar with great service. Teresa is the best bartender and if you feel like a mixed drink she'll give you a nice pour. I hear the food is pretty good but I haven't tried it yet.

(10/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Jamesport Brewing Company, Ludington, MI

11 or 12 styles on tap. No IPA but had an IPA as a guest tap. Tried the smokey porter, dry stout, sweet stout, and scottish strong ale. All were good to very good. The scottish ale was less malty than I expected but otherwise had the same taste and high gravity of the style. First porter that I've had that was called smokey. This one was and was very good. Took home a growler of their sweet stout(Nitro stout). It had a heavier mouth-feel than most stouts. One of the bartenders gave us a copy of the newest Michigan Beer Guide to read while we waited for out food and later let us keep it. He was very knowledgeable about the beers and other bartender knew enough. No complaints at all about the service. Food was very good in medium-sized portions.

(09/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Lighthouse Brewing Company, Manistee, MI

Like the last review said, Lighthouse Brewing Company changed to Roadhouse on the River in June 2003 and scaled back to only brewing for on premise serving. I'm not sure when they closed but 3 weeks ago an Italian restaurant opened at that location and removed all the brewing equipment. Please remove the listing so that other people won't drive 2.5 hours for the beer only to be disappointed like I was.

(09/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Three Legged Dog Tavern, New Orleans, LA

The definition of a beer bar according to Pubcrawler.... An establishment that does not brew its own beer, yet is microbrew-friendly... meaning, it has a good selection of microbrews and/or imports and is a good spot to hang out and enjoy good beer. It doesn't say anything about needing a lot of taps to be a beer bar. There are many (too many in my opinion) brewpubs with only 4 or 5 taps. Are they not brewpubs now? This place has 4 taps I believe. Turbo Dog was one of them when I was there in March. The night time bartender didn't like it so maybe the owner didn't either and took it out. A place with over 50 kinds of bottled beer that are mostly imports and micros is a beer bar to me.

(07/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Good Good

Establishment: Crescent City Brewhouse, New Orleans, LA

A great party town like New Orleans should have more brewpubs in the quarter. Cresent City didn't have enough selection on tap for me(4 regulars with 1 seasonal I believe.) I agree that the food is good but pricey. The beer is so-so but pricey. I tried the Black Forest, Red Stallion and their hefe-weizen and was slightly disappointed because I had high expectations. The black beer was ok but the red lager was a little weak. Then I saw that I had paid $5 for each of my large drafts. The beers just weren't good enough to pay that much at the place where it should be the cheapest to serve. In that sense they are the typical Decatur street restaurant gouging the tourists. If the beer was really good, I'd pay the $5 and drink lots of it. But it's only ok.

(06/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great

Establishment: Club Decatur, New Orleans, LA

This place still needs a review so I'm going to try and give it one. It's become my 2nd favorite non-Bourbon street bar. It's the kind of place that waiters and such working in the quarter go to after work. It's not too expensive and it had a good selection on tap. I've heard they have good pizza but when I was there after midnight they just had some under heat lights. There's not a lot of table seating. Mostly a long bar, some tables and a pool table in the back. I sat near the taps but not near the beer cooler so I don't know how many brands they carry in bottles. I also remember the urinal being clogged and not draining. But I still like the place. It's just what I was looking for, an inexpensive bar with a good beer selection. Just don't expect too much from it.

(06/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So So So So So

Establishment: Bilbo's Pizza in a Pan, Kalamazoo, MI

I had to try to place despite all the negative reviews. Now I know that they were right. The service was okay except for the fact that the server couldn't tell me what kind of beer The Return of the King was. She said it wasn't a dark or a light beer, somewhere in between. It ended up being a watered down amber. The Red Dragon had off flavors. The Honey Blonde tasted soapy and the Wheat made me sick. I couldn't eat or drink anything else all night. Out server informed us that the kitchen had temporarily ran out of something and that the pizza would be delayed. The extra wait wasn't so bad but the pizza crust came out not all the way cooked. I don't know if it's always that way or were they rushing to catch up. I probably will give the food another chance but I'll never drink the beer again. I've never given beer a bad review. I like beer. I usually give ok reviews to beers that other people dismiss. But this was just bad beer. Maybe if they clean their equipment the beer can be upgraded to palatable.

(05/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: Three Legged Dog Tavern, New Orleans, LA

I had to add this place because there's simply not enough places listed in the Quarter. They carry over 50 beers including smaller bottles of the Belgium beer Chimay. It usually comes in fairly large bottles for around $12-$14. My regular size bottle nearly knocked me off my stool. They had the local stout Turbo Dog on tap and they carried Blackened Voodoo. I dark lager that tastes like a Porter. It's my favorite beer from that area. I ate at two places that had it on the menu but told me they carry Turbo Dog instead now. So Blackened Voodoo is getting to be a little harder to find. 2 happy hours, 2-8P and 3-6A. A quiet bar that had Comedy Central or a movie on the TV instead of sports. Also had a dart board in the corner but I don't know if it worked. A real nice place to drink beer after you've experienced the noise and prices on Bourbon Street.

(04/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! So So Good Great

Establishment: Schu's Grill and Bar, Saint Joseph, MI

During the month of March they had a Michigan micro brew competition. They carried 2 varieties of about 7 different microbrewers. They still are serving them now but I don't know how long it will last. Their selection before March included New Holland, Bells, and Arcadia. Best beer selection in the area hands down. The food isn't that cheap or even all that good but they do offer a great view of the sunset into Lake Michigan.

(04/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Mystic Brewing Company Incorporated, Kalamazoo, MI

They closed last fall. Brewmaster now works for Olde Pennisula (see most recent review.)

(04/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So Good

Establishment: Fox and Hound English Pub and Grille, Houston, TX

Like most of the reviewers I didn't have great service. But plenty of TV's, and I played darts for free with their steel darts and felt board. I was there on a Friday night and they had a good looking crowd. Might have been the first time I've seen groups of women at a bar w/o a DJ. 2 side rooms let people choose which game they want to listen to, but even in there you can watch all the games. Main room had MTV2 for sound, all games on mute. Looks like it would be the kind of place that would overcharge for premium beers but it wasn't too bad. In short, good place to hang out, drink beer and watch the game, bad place to eat a meal.

(03/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! So So Great

Establishment: Detroit Beer Company, Detroit, MI

All 4 of us thought the food was awesome. Very very good food. Many TV's to watch sports. Most of the beers were very good even though I was a bit disappointed with the Detroit Red ale. It seemed flat with very little taste. But on the other hand, the stout was excellent.

(12/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Atwater Block Brewery, Detroit, MI

How can I complain about a place that provided a free shuttle to Ford Field? The only one I can come up with is that I was disappointed that they didn't have all of the beers on tap that were listed on the menu. It teased me a little. Nice open space with multiple TV's, good food, and shuttles to sporting events. Great sports bar.

(12/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A So So Great

Establishment: Kraftbrau Brewery Incorporated, Kalamazoo, MI

Kraftbrau books all kinds of musical entertainment. It's not always involving loud drums. When I was there there was only 1 beer that was in the $4/6 oz price range. It was a "special brew." All the rest of their ales and lagers were much cheaper. The negatives that I took away from the place had nothing to do with the beer. Most of the tables and chairs had been pushed off to the side when I was there. They only had 1 table and bar seating. A few groups of people came in, saw no seating, and left. I don't know why they did that. Nobody was dancing to what the DJ's were playing and they needed all the tables they could get. The place isn't that big and it was too cold to go outside. I'm also not fond of warehouse bars that think it's cool not to renovate. Leaving a little is ok. But every wall reminded me I was sitting in a warehouse. Overall, ambience poor/beer great.

(12/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Zeke's, Dowagiac, MI

If you like Big T in Lawton then you'll like Zeke's. Same owner and food/beer menu. Both places are great.

(12/05/2003)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.141 seconds) 21:13:53 54.196.237.92, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS