PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from paul spyhalski
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 02, 2014 @ 06:56 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
paul spyhalski

Beer Reviews
(85)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

85
Beer Reviews from paul spyhalski
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Ellis Island Casino and Brewery, Las Vegas, NV

Okay, first and foremost, I couldn't rate the selection higher because I couldn't hear the server over the slots but the price was right while at the tables (FREE). The stout was actually very good.

My only complaint was that it took a long time between free beers.

The BBQ was awesome. A long wait but the beer wound up free when we brought it over from the tables. A must return in my book.

The service at the BBQ is interesting. There always seems to be a line so not a great incentive to move people either.

(04/13/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Monkey King Brewery and Floribbean Grill, Stuart, FL

Started with their Hoppy New Year. Plenty of IBU as advertised. Appetizer was very good. Both dinners arrived promptly and were very good. Blackened Ahi had nice flavor contrasts with the blackened flavors with creamy potatoes and salsa. Angel hair pasta chicken also had very nice flavor balance. Clearly cared about their beer and food flavors.

(03/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant, Washington, DC

About the only drawback to our visit was that they were out of garlic fries. Appetizers, dinners, beer and desserts were all great. Service was prompt and courteous.

(11/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Capitol City Brewing Company - Downtown, Washington, DC

Stopped in following a Nats game this past season. They advertised a free pint glass with every pint purchased. We left after waiting 20 minutes after being seated without even receiving a menu. Unable to rate the beer or food as we didn't get within 20 feet of any.

(11/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Bulldog - Uptown, New Orleans, LA

Decent and expanding food menu. With that many taps, no need to go there for the food. As far as beer quality, they claim they clean the lines every two weeks and have a special dishwasher for cleaning pint glasses. As far as selection, lambic on tap. Nothing more need be said.

(11/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Rivershack Tavern, Metairie, LA

The Rivershack has a nice selection of Abita beers on tap so I give it a bump over the competition. Kind of hard to rate a bar on beer quality. I haven't detected anything wrong with the tap lines.

They have some nice seafood and poboy options on the menu even though I haven't tried the food. Basically, kind of a laid back place to check out some decent bands while drinking a local beer with no cover charge.

(07/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Carrollton Station, New Orleans, LA

I went to check out the band so didn't bother with the food. It looked like they had a decent selection of food items. Not great to look at outside but a nice feel inside with a bar area with decent seating for an afternoon. A fairly small stage but nice area for listening to a bad. The first band had a nice mix of funky blues / rock. The second band was a bartender's gift at closing time as everyone left. Nothing extravagant for a beer selection to go out of your way, but if in the neighborhood or the right band is playing, worth stopping by.

(07/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Zea Rotisserie and Brewery, Metairie, LA

I have no idea if they are brewing on site. As near as I could tell, they had four of "their" beers on tap. I had the Pale Ale which was fine, not spectacular - under hopped for my taste. Our service was excellent. Wayne made great food recommendations and food was prompt. Enjoyed all of our food offerings. I noticed growlers behind the bar so I'll have to see what their porter has to offer.

(05/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Titanic Brewing Company, Coral Gables, FL

Our food was very good. The bisque had a nice flavor. Our sandwiches were served nice and warm and varied from Dolphin to skirt steak. As far as the beers, I started with a British bitter. Looking for some hop flavor, I moved to the India Pale Ale style. Sadly, I am still looking for some hop flavor days later. Both were fine beers to drink, but not the IBU's I would expect for their style. Overall, a nice little place to visit. Quiet enough to share a lunch but close enough to the U of Miami to be fun after hours.

(04/11/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Great

Establishment: Taylor Brewing Company, Lombard, IL

We got in late and there was a long line waiting. It seemed like they were short a server or something. The place is fairly large, but there seemed to be one waiter for about 12 tables. The small salad was overly large. My BBQ pork sandwich was good, although the fries were nothing special and the cole slaw was miniscule.

(09/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Ale Asylum, Madison, WI

I didn't know what to expect when driving up. It looked like an industrial strip mall with this small portion converted. The decor was definitely interesting for a brewpub / brewery. I had the porter and the hopaliciious. The porter seemed a bit like a stout, but overall, they were quite good. At $4 a glass, I thought the prices were more than fair.

(09/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Yuengling, Pottsville, PA

I can't say much about selection having had the lager and the black and tan. I had the lager on tap in NYC so should have been fairly fresh. A nice lager but not extraordinary in any way. A nice end to a long day of walking. I picked up a bottle of black and tan and that bumps up the quality rating to great. I would definitely be adding that one to the rotation at home if available in the Midwest.

(09/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Heartland Brewery South Street Seaport, New York, NY

Very happy with our stop. Six house beers and four seasonals on tap. I'm not a huge fan of fruit flavored seasonals but the apricot beer didn't have that huge fruit aftertase that is sometimes added to make sure you know it was a fruit beer. The light with a slightly fruity taste was quite refreshing. My favorites were the red (very nice malty finish) and the Imperial IPA. We went with lighter food for lunch and the 1/2 chicken sandwich was excellent. The brisket had a nice smoke flavor but the chicken was far better in my opinion.

(09/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Texas Cattle Company Border Grill and Brewery, Macon, GA

Okay, they were down to four beers on tap with a promised sample of 6 beers. A standard light, a red a so-called wheat and an IPA. As noted before, it is the only game in town so there apparently is no need for them to put much more effort into it. The steaks were quite good so may return for a steak and will drink the beer, but won't go out of my way just to drink the beer.

(07/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Tyranena Brewing Company, Lake Mills, WI

A little out of the way but worth the trip. I expected a small tasting room and to my surprise, a large bar area. An excellent sample of Bitter Woman from Hell and a Bourbon aged porter. Grabbed a few six packs to go but wished I would have grabbed a growler of BWFH. Well worth a detour into Lake Mills from I94.

(06/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Capital Brewery Company, Incorporated, Middleton, WI

I've yet to make the brewery tour and biergarten but have always like any samplings of Capital. Added the Island Wheat to my list of fine samplings from Capital this past weekend.

(06/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Tyranena Brewing Company, Lake Mills, WI

I've purchased their Stone TeePee and Bitter Woman before. Finally was able to stop in during tasting room hours. I expected a small little tap room. To my surprise, a full size bar. Unfortunately, I still had 60 or so miles to drive but enjoyed my barrel aged porter and a sampler of the Bitter Woman from Hell. The BWFH is worth the stop alone. Will definitely return when in the area.

(06/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great So So Good

Establishment: Herkimer Pub and Brewery, South Minneapolis, MN

Hmm. A strange day at the Herk. We stopped in on Memorial Day and it turned out to be happy hour as well. The down side is that they don't offer samplers of their beers and it was 2 for 1 so I automatically got an extra Kolsch. Normally I wouldn't complain about an extra beer but I wanted to try a couple of styles. I also wanted to try the sweet potato fries so ordered an appetizer and the waitress suggested that I just get them with the Herkiburger. Food came out with ordinary fries. The food was good. The Kolsch was good. Service wound being a bit strange with the order getting goofed up and another waitress seemed to be helping with our table and about 75% of the tables. I'll try again.

(05/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Brau Brothers Brewing Company, Lucan, MN

Hard to argue with out of the way. I didn't have to hit any gravel roads but it was close. A Strawberry Wheat, ESB, Extra Pale Ale and Pilsner were on tap. Standard taps are available in growlers for $10 and a Dubbel for $20. The dubbel was brewed in 2004 and has been allowed to bottle condition. In a town of 200, the size is small but it allows the beer to stay fresh. A batch of Oatmeal Stout was undersay on Saturday. Out of the way, but worth a stop.

(05/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Harpoon Brewery, Boston, MA

I enjoyed their IPA, Ale, Salty Ale (hefeweizen) and Un Filtered Offering Hefeweizen. The hefeweizen were true to form and the IPA and nice hop bitterness. I'm not sure that these would stand out among a tasting of beers in those styles, but fit the styles well.

(04/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Boston Beer Works, Boston, MA

Location, location, location. Across the street from Fenway that charges $6 for Coors Light or Budweiser. Anyway, they had a large number of beer offerings. I tried a sampler of two varieties of pale ale and stout (special: vanilla bean and oatmeal). All four samplies were fine but didn't have much past the initial flavor. I did have a Fenway American Pale Ale and this seemed to have the follow through taste. Our food was very good. We arrived just in time to get a table before game time.

(04/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Surly Brewing Company, Brooklyn Center, MN

I was very impressed with their initial offerings. The Bender had a nice malty flavor and finish. The Furious had very nice hop bitterness. They are just getting started and were offering samples at Old Chicago Uptown. Good enough to purchase two more glasses. They will be opening up the brewery for tours next month. Definitely worth checking them out. I only rate them as good because it is an average between the beer quality and the limited initial offerings.

(04/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Minneapolis, MN

About the only reason I don't go to Rock Bottom is the parking situation downtown. We went with a party of eight without reservations so did have to wait. We had the Stillwater Stout and a cask conditioned Itasca Pale Ale. Nice hops to the Pale Ale, but served too cold for my tastes. The Stout was a very good stout. We made the trip for the salmon fish and chips and were not disappointed. We had young children with and the create your own pizza and sundae have the kids wanting to come back. A very nice feature for those of travelling with kids but wanting to eat something besides a McDonalds. Overall, service was great. Food was great. The only complaint I heard was the servings on the crab cakes when ordered as an entree.

(02/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: McCoy’s Public House, Saint Louis Park, MN

Okay, the last review had me concerned but we tried it for lunch anyway. We did look at the prices and the dinner entrees are expensive at least for our out state standards. Our group had three of the brick oven pizzas and the Rio Grande and Kitchen Sink were very flavorful. The italian sausage added little flavor to the Italian Sausage and Peppers. The peppers were very good however. Other orders in our group included a pecan salad and beef au jus along with a fish and chips kids meal. The only complaint I heard was that there were fries for chips. The fish quality was excellent. The beer selection included the macro brew standards so I don't count those into selection. I sampled the IPA and Dry Stout. Both were solid stylistically. Perhaps they have stablized their beer standards since the last review.

(11/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Barley John's Brew Pub, New Brighton, MN

Stopped in for a little relaxing high quality beer on Black Friday. Fittingly, we had the Dark Knight Returns to lift our spirits. The description below is appropriate and does leave you with the feeling that it is fortified due to the alcohol warmth. Definitely can't have too many of those and drive. Finished out the evening with a growler of the Old 8 Porter which was solid but a come down from the strong flavors of the Dark Knight Returns. When in the Cities, I will return for the Dark Knight Returns.

(11/27/2005)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]













(0.142 seconds) 18:56:49 107.22.141.14, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS