PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from paul kassner
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 24, 2014 @ 12:54 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
paul kassner

Beer Reviews
(12)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

12
Beer Reviews from paul kassner
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome!
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: 21st Amendment Brewery, San Francisco, CA

One of my favorites SF brewpubs. The beers are great, the food is awesome. They used to hold "beer school" on Tuesday nights to teach about one beer style. The brewer and owner really know beer. Sometimes the beer selection is a little low, but everything is good. I love the IPA the best.

(01/15/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good So So Good

Establishment: Stone Brewing Company, Escondido, CA

I love Stone brewing company's beers. It is one of my favorite companies. So when I was visiting Southern California, I had to visit their new place. I used to live a few miles from the old San Marcos brewery and loved the feel of that. The new brewery gardens is beautiful and the beer is still excellent. Unfortunately, the food sounds great on the menu, but doesn't taste as good as it sounds. Our service wasn't that great either. But it would be a good place to sit on a summer evening and just enjoy the beer.

(01/15/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Pizza Port Carlsbad, Carlsbad, CA

I've visited at least 100 brewpubs and microbreweries around the world and this is my favorite so far. I have been here hundreds of times. I used to live 4 blocks from here and visited several times a week. I have been away for several years. I recently returned and it was even better than I remember. The beer selection is incredible. If for some reason you can't choose from one of their dozen own beers, they have another 6-10 from other local breweries. Every beer is an excellent example of the style...try them all. The pizza is also the best on the west coast.

(01/15/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great

Establishment: McGillin's Olde Ale House, Philadelphia, PA

I just arrived in Philly and went for a walk before checking pubcrawler. I walked a few blocks and happened to look down an alley and see a sign for an "Ale House". I thought I would check it out. I walk in and see a huge line of taps and think I am in heaven. The list was predominantly Northeast craft breweries but since it was a blue collar bar, they also boasted american lagers such as PBR. Food was standard pub fare. Go for the regional beers, and great local feel.

(01/15/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: City Tavern, Philadelphia, PA

This is more for the show and for a look into life of the rich two centuries ago. The food was pretty good, a mix of period dishes and contemporary tastes. The beer was reportedly modelled after beers that Washington and Jefferson would have brewed and drank. They were good, but didn't blow me away. It was pricey, but still a fun night.

(01/15/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Eulogy Belgian Tavern, Philadelphia, PA

This is a great beer city and this was probably my favorite beer bar. I loved this place. The bar is small, narrow and dark...and it only gets better from there. The list of Belgian beers on tap is impressive (I didn't even bother looking at the list of bottles-but it was long). The bartender was very knowledgable. No one in my group had any food, but we probably should have. There were a few injuries on our walk back to the hotel, and hangovers were had by all. Don't miss the Eulogy if you are visiting Philly.

(01/15/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Tommyknocker Brewery and Pub, Idaho Springs, CO

I was driving, and new "on the mountain" so I could only have one pint. I had the pale ale cold and carbonated (it was also offered cask conditioned). I thought the beer was very good. I had a buffalo burger with blue cheese and bacon-awesome. I would stop again when passing through.

(01/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Dillon Dam Brewery, Dillon, CO

They had 7 different beers on tap, ranging from lights to stouts. I tasted their Dam Straight Lager, a very well done vienna style; their brown ale, well done, but not my favorite style; Extra Pale Ale, excellent with good hop nose, flavor and medium bitter; and the Stout, good all-around stout, but not outstanding. I went back for more of the Pale Ale.

The food was good and well portioned. A very good value these days. The bartender was friendly and attentive. I'll definitley go back during my stay in the area.

(01/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great

Establishment: Russian River Brewing Company, Santa Rosa, CA

Several years back, I had been to the tasting room for this brewery (outside the Lake Sonoma Winery) and was not impressed with the beer. I was traveling north and needed to take a break from the car. My buddy had a list of brewpubs (printed from PubCrawler - of course) and suggested we stop to check it out. I wasn't too excited, but we stopped. I couldn't have been more pleased. They had four Belgians on tap. We tried all four. All very good to excellent. My favorite (I think it was Salvation) came in at around 9% and was rich and complex. It had a noticable alcohol flavor, fruity and slightly spicy. It was heaven. The belgian golden (redemption) was good, but a bit too light for my taste. The perdition (a copper belgian) was very good, but didn't equal the salvation. We didn't eat anything so I can't judge the food. I would go back and keep drinking belgians (although, I am guessing the other beer is worth drinking as well).

(01/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Ruth McGowan's Brewpub, Cloverdale, CA

I really liked this place. Our waitress was really nice, her sister was cooking in the kitchen and her aunt owned the place. I didn't get to meet the bartender, but I expect that he was someone's nephew, husband, or brother. I had one pint - the IPA, and it was really good. There was no shortage of hop in this brew. One thing I really liked about this place was they listed both the grain bill and the hop bill on the menu. I found that a nice touch that may not be noticed by everyone, but homebrewers like myself notice. The food was fairly standard pub fare, but done very well. While I was waiting for everyone else to finish up, I had a little taster glass of the stout (on nitrogen) it was also excellent. While they didn't have a huge list, the beers were crafted very well. I will return in hopes of trying the others on their list.

(01/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: Broken Drum Brewery and Wood Grill, San Rafael, CA

I was extremely pleased with everything about this place. I had two beers, the IPA was fabulous and true to style (maybe a bit strong but who's complaining), the WHAMBER was a strong ale at 8.2% and a cross between a wheat and amber - it was quite tasty. The food was really good. I will definitely be stopping in the next time I head through (or even near) San Rafael.

(01/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Eldos Grill and Brewery, San Francisco, CA

I hadn't been to Eldo's in a couple of years so thought I would visit again. I am sorry that I had been away so long. The food was fabulous...big burger with apple smoked bacon...yum. I started with the pilsner (very good), ordered the double IPA (I didn't get the double IPA, but the beer I had...a pale ale, was excellent), next I moved on to the IPA (good but nothing too special), I then had the dry stout on nitrogen (good, but a little sour for the style). My buddy had the Pale (excellent), Vienna lager (excellent), Porter (one of the best) and something else I can't remember. My wife drove home.

(01/25/2005)














(0.058 seconds) 12:54:07 54.90.57.174, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS