PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from paul ouderkirk
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 22, 2014 @ 09:10 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
paul ouderkirk

Beer Reviews
(36)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

36
Beer Reviews from paul ouderkirk
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Madison Brewing Company, Bennington, VT

I stopped by to give their beer another chance, and I believe that they have solved their "house flavor" problem. It may have been as easy as cleaning out the lines, but whatever it was, it worked. I had the pale ale and the Scottish ale, and both were much better than on my previous visit a couple of years ago. The pale was very well hopped, and had a nice nose. A previous reviewer noted that the poor reviews were all from "hopheads" who didn't find enough hoppiness to Madison's beers, but I disagree. I like a good wheat or porter as much as anyone, so it's not only hops that we're looking for. The Madison had a problem in their system, not related to the recipes or styles. I'm happy to report that it seems to have been resolved. Still a really nice atmosphere, with good food.

(03/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Southern Tier Brewing Company, Lakewood, NY

I was in Syracuse recently and had a Southern Tier porter (bottled) at my hotel's bar (the Marx). I hadn't previously heard of Southern Tier, and I'm really glad I tried it. Excellent porter, nice and roasty. Later in the evening I had the IPA on tap at the Blue Tusk. A really GREAT beer. The hopheads will love it. I thought it notable that I had it after first drinking a Sierra Celebration (can't believe they still had some left in March), and the Southern Tier still stood up on its own. I hope these beers make their way to Albany soon.

(03/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: New World Home Cooking, Saugerties, NY

A very cool place, just 3 1/2 miles east of Woodstock, NY. The Woodstock area has no postings on Pubcrawler, so I wanted to place this on the site. New World is much more than a good beer place; it is a world-class restaurant, with Ric Orlando at the helm. Very eclectic, a perfect fit for the Woodstock area (and era). The reason I'm posting New World as a beer bar is because of their tap selections from Keegan's Ale in Kingston, NY. As of this posting, they were carrying Hurricane Kitty IPA and Mother's Milk stout. The IPA is simply outrageous; highly hopped, a true hophead beer, but with some good malt balance. The stout is not a dry stout, but more creamy and nicely roasted. Keegan's knows how to make good beer. New World has a nice bar area, very inviting, and they also have some good bottled selections, including Anchor Porter, Guinness (cans), and one of the Rogue beers (couldn't see the label without my reading glasses). If you're in the area, stop by for great beer, fantastic food, and really nice and friendly service.

(02/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Castlebay Irish Pub, Annapolis, MD

A true Irish pub. I sat at the bar and had an excellent Shepards Pie, along with their only in-house beer, Three Nuns. A malty beer with good hop balance.....I guess a simple comparison would be something with the malt character of Boddingtons or Speckled Hen, but with more hops. They also have a decent selection of other beers, notably Sierra Nevada Pale Ale. My first visit to Annapolis, a really cool town. My next visit will be for pleasure, not business.

(02/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Malt River Brewing Company, Latham, NY

Stopped by with some friends before seeing a movie upstairs. I hadn't been there in a while, and I had a cask pale ale. Very nice beer.

(02/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Big House Grill, Albany, NY

Unfortunately, from the local scuttlebutt it sounds as if the Big House Grill will not be reopening. It appears that financial difficulties were involved. Too bad, because it was a haven among all the chain restaurants on Wolf Road.

(02/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!

Establishment: Clark's Ale House, Syracuse, NY

Stopped by recently, after not having visited in way too long. They had McNeill's Ruby Red on tap. This was one that I hadn't heard of before, but coming from one of the best brewers on the planet, I had to try it. It was OUTRAGEOUS. Amber/red in color, and a true McNeill's beer....really complex malt character (I still don't know how they do that) and hoppy as you-know-what. We sat outside on a wonderful evening; for a Wednesday night in July, there were lots of people out and about. Great area.

(07/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Abbey Brewing Company, Miami Beach, FL

I was here with my brother-in-law on 5/30/03, and they are most definitely open for business. The hours are somewhat funky (1 pm - 5 am), but it's well worth a visit. The bar is a small place, and the only sign is on the door. We opened the place with the bartender, David. A good guy. They brew their beers in Tampa (Ybor City), and they also have an eclectic selection of bottled beers. I had their stout and IPA, both excellent. The guest tap was Shipyard Fuggles IPA on cask, which was very good. I hear that Shipyard now brews in FL, which makes sense, because I can't imagine cask conditioned ale making the trip all the way down the east coast. The bottled selection was not for the weak of heart---Duval, Chimay, other abbey ales, as well as New York's own Hennepin Ale from Ommegang Brewery in Cooperstown. Check it out if you get a chance.

(06/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Great Lakes Brewing Company, Cleveland, OH

I'll echo Tom's comments. I stopped by on my way south, and I loved the place. Great variety----a couple of lagers, a wit, a stout, and a bock, but I stuck with the Edmond Fitzgerald Porter and the Commodore Perry IPA. The porter has lots of chocolate malt, and it was wonderful. The IPA is a hophead beer, but well balanced, and a fairly big beer at 7%. I sat at the bar for lunch and had an excellent corned beef sandwich. Great place; I actually stopped back later on for one more IPA. If you're in the area, stop by.

(06/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!

Establishment: C.H. Evans Brewing - The Albany Pump Station, Albany, NY

The Winter Warmer is now on, and it's excellent. A big beer with a respectable ABV, but not overpowering; nice malt character. If you like the style, check it out while you can.

(01/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Lake Placid Pub and Brewery, Lake Placid, NY

A really nice place, good brewpub atmosphere. I went there twice: on the first visit, on a quiet Tuesday afternoon, I sat at the bar and had a couple of IPA's (excellent) with a Norman sandwich (also excellent). Stopped back later in the evening, and the bar was populated mainly with locals, which I liked. They had a 2-for-1 special. I had four Ubu ales. A dangerously good beer. Luckily, I was within walking distance of my hotel. I will be back.

(09/20/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy N/A Great Great N/A

Establishment: Madison Brewing Company, Bennington, VT

Overpowering house flavor to the beer, which I've experienced before. When I was last there on 6/8/01, however, it was much more noticeable, both in the nose and in the taste (I tried both the new IPA and the Old 76). I don't like writing this, because otherwise it's a really nice place. Seems like they're getting nasties in the brewing process or the equipment somewhere, and it should be fixable.

(06/12/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great

Establishment: Appalachian Brewing Company, Harrisburg, PA

Nice place. Good brewpub atmosphere. They had the IPA on cask when I was there, and I thought it was excellent. HUGE fermenters!

(05/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Steelhead Brewing Company, San Francisco, CA

I stumbled upon this place by accident, in search of a good beer in the tourist haven of Fisherman's Wharf. I'm from the East Coast and had never heard of Steelhead, which has four locations in northern CA and Oregon. I sat at the bar and enjoyed some great beer. The IPA was OUTRAGEOUS. They hopped the daylights out of it, but even so, it had some balance. The bartender said it was 7.5% ABV, but it didn't taste that strong. I also had the cask strong ale, which I liked. Not too carbonated, the right temperature, and lots of body. Worth a stop for beerhunters.

(06/01/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Dempsey's Restaurant and Brewery, Petaluma, CA

A nice place with good beer. The Red Rooster is excellent. I also really liked the stout. The pale ale is fine, well-made, beer for the masses. I found the place somewhat upscale, especially menu-wise, more than your basic neighborhood pub, but still comfortable. I sat at the bar and had cured salmon on flat bread, and it was awesome.

(06/01/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Downtown Joe's, Napa, CA

Just got back from a trip to California, and I completely disagree with the last reviewer. In fact, I hit Pubcrawler prior to my trip, and didn't plan to visit Downtown Joe's based on the review. I'm glad I changed my mind. The place is definitely rough around the edges, and is frequented mainly by locals, as opposed to the touring wine aficionados. But I thought it was a pretty cool place, with lots of regulars. I met the brewer, Lance, who gave me a tour of the brewhouse. He's got a nice 17-bbl system with great old-looking copper kettles. As for the beer, I had the bitter and the stout, and both were very nice. The bitter was pretty highly hopped, which is fine with me, and the stout had lots of roasted, chocolate, other dark malts. A fairly chewy beer. I should say that I was there on a fairly slow afternoon, which was probably a good thing. Anyway, if you're a true beer hunter in the mood for some serious pubcrawling, give this place a try.

(06/01/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Capitol City Brewing Company - Capitol Hill, Washington, DC

Stopped by on a recent business trip, and had some good beer. I had previously been to their Baltimore location and wasn't too impressed, but this was different. I asked the bartender for their hoppiest beer, and he gave me an amber. Nice hop bitterness and decent body. I also had an Irish Stout, which was extremely drinkable----very roasty and dry. When my flight home was cancelled due to the freak snowstorm in the northeast, I went back for a burger and a couple more ambers. The burger was good and basic, and the bartender even bought me a beer! Yes, I can be bought, but I really do like this place. The atmosphere is much more authentic than the Baltimore site, but perhaps it's not for tourists.

(04/10/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Lake Grove, NY

A decent place to have a beer. I liked the church-like, stained glass window with Ben on the outside and Jerry on the inside (not the ice cream guys). I haven't been to the original site in Boston, but it was nice to find this place in an unfamiliar area. Good IPA, and I liked their Presidential Ale---fuller bodied than the IPA, but still with a good hop bite. Unfortunately, they didn't have anything on cask when I visited, but it was a Monday afternoon, so it's understandable. Gorgeous bartender.

(02/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Brickhouse Brewery and Restaurant, Patchogue, NY

I went to the Island recently on business, and before I went I hit Pub Crawler to check out what Suffolk County had to offer. After reading some of the reviews of the Brickhouse, I was a bit hesitant to try it, but my office partner and I decided to give it a try. We're glad we did. It's a really nice place in a great old building with a good brewpub atmosphere. We ate dinner in the back room (surrounded by a horde of wives all decked out in red for Valentine's Day, but that's another story) and had a nice time. The IPA was not over-the-top hoppy, but very drinkable, and the stout was nice and roasty. Good food, too. It's not pretentious, which is refreshing for downstate NY.

(02/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: C.H. Evans Brewing - The Albany Pump Station, Albany, NY

A wonderful brewpub. It's exactly what Albany needs, and provides another good reason to come downtown. They compliment, rather than compete with, the Big House. It's first and foremost a brewpub, although the setting and food are more than enough to attract the non-beer geeks. The ESB is great, and the Hefe Weizen is the best representation of the style I've tasted in the area. The cask offerings are quickly scarfed up, which is a pretty good indication of the demand for good cask-conditioned ales. Go there!

(07/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: McCoy's Public House and Brewkitchen, Kansas City, MO

I'm writing this in the hope that someone from McCoy's reads this. I've never been there, but I had the great pleasure of trying the Newcomb's IPA through the Beer Across America Club. It is OUTRAGEOUS! Perfectly hopped for all of us hopheads. The nose alone is to die for. Anyway, I tried to order a case through the club, but tragically they had run out of stock. So please, if there's any way I can order a case for shipment back to me in upstate NY, please drop me an e-mail. I'll pay any price (well, within reason). It's not that I can't get great IPA's here----we have quite a few----but I really enjoy Newcombs. It's an exellent, well-made beer, and a great example of the style. Anyway, if the fine people at McCoys can help me out, let me know.Thanks!

(07/23/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A Great Great

Establishment: Three Needs Taproom, Burlington, VT

I was walking up College Street looking for this place. I missed their sign, but I found it by smell as I walked by the front door---it smelled like my kitchen on brew night. A good place. I rated the selection so-so only because it looked like they had their summer beers on. The London Porter was good, but I like more chocolate and/or roasted malt. They may have backed off purposely for the summer crowd. The Munich Dunkel was very good, true to the style. For my money, the best beer there was the Belgian Single; blew me away (I didn't have the guts to try the Trippel, though). The Three Needs is definitely a hippie bar, but the bartender was really nice, and neither she nor the kids hanging out minded having this old guy there. And they played great old jazz and blues.

(07/01/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Vermont Pub and Brewery, Burlington, VT

I visited on a recent beautiful afternoon and sat outside. They had their Burley Irish Ale on cask, and it was excellent. For a really malty beer, it was surprisingly well-balanced with hop bitterness, and had a good finish. The Dogbite bitter is true to the style, and really tasty with the Catfish Po Boy sandwich. The smoked porter was a fine dessert beer. When you're in Burlington, make sure you stop by.

(07/01/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Cooperstown Brewing Company, Milford, NY

A buddy and I did some beer hunting in the Cooperstown region, and hit both Ommegang and Cooperstown Brewing. We got to Cooperstown late on a Saturday afternoon, but still got the tour. The brewery is a Pugsley set-up. They have a nice tasting room, of which we took advantage. I've had the Old Slugger before, and it was fine, although I don't think they really need to filter it. The big surprise, however, was the Benchwarmer Porter. This beer is WONDERFUL. A big Porter (original gravity 1.062) with a great balance of chocolate and roasted malt. Had it on draught, then scored a couple of sixpacks to take home. It will be available in the Albany area by late September, so porter lovers, look for it. A truly great beer. Got a Benchwarmer t-shirt too, really cool.

(09/12/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Magic Hat Brewing Company, South Burlington, VT

I'm drinking a Blind Faith right now. I picked it up on a recent trip to Vt. Boy, I wish it was available in eastern NY. Great beer.

(09/06/1998)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.317 seconds) 21:10:44 54.145.209.42, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS