PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from paul ouderkirk
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 22, 2014 @ 01:42 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
paul ouderkirk

Beer Reviews
(6)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

6
Beer Reviews from paul ouderkirk
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Malt River Brewing Company, Latham, NY

We checked out the new Malt River today (8-29-06). It is no longer a brewpub, but they have an extensive selection of both tap and bottled beer. Impressive. Three different German hefe wheat beers on tap, plus one from Brooklyn Brewing. Too many draughts to list here, but they have a couple of stouts including Guinness, plus Anchor Steam, Harpoon IPA, Sierra Nevada Pale, Hazed & Infused (my choice of the day), and others. Bottled choices include Fullers ESB, Ommegang, some Belgian (Duvel), a few Saranacs, Magic Hat Blind Faith, lambic beer (Lindemanns Frambois)....enough said? The food was very good---grilled tuna steak sandwich, corn chowder (the soup of the day), also a good mozzarella & tomato salad. A bright spot in an admittedly depressing mall. Certainly worth checking out before seeing a movie upstairs. I wish them sucess, and will return.

(08/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Gilded Otter, New Paltz, NY

The featured beer during the holidays has been the Alt, which I've had on three different visits (it was still available on 1/20/06). An excellent beer. I'm wondering if the brewer changed one of the batches, however...the second time I had it, right around Christmas, I would swear that it was spiced. Was it me, was it the season, or was it because I was sitting right next to the Christmas tree?

(01/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Gilded Otter, New Paltz, NY

On my last visit in early April, the featured special was the porter. It was excellent! Nice and roasty, with (I'm guessing) some chocolate malt as well. A great porter. This beer shouldn't be a special, but rather one of the regular selections---assuming the demand is sufficient. I certainly hope so, because it's one of the best beers I've had there. Maybe they'll have it at the Tap NY Festival at Hunter??

(04/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Gilded Otter, New Paltz, NY

I've been to the Otter several times over the past few months, and I'm becoming more and more fond of the place. The IPA is growing on me--not as outrageously hoppy as, say, Keegan's Hurricane Kitty, but very nice and drinkable. As others have noted, the atmosphere and setting are wonderful. A very comfortable place. The food is GREAT, and we've always had friendly and attentive service from the waitstaff. One of my favorite places in New Paltz.

(12/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Establishment: C.H. Evans Brewing - The Albany Pump Station, Albany, NY

I finally had a chance to try the Half Moon IPA on cask. Simply outrageous. Very dry, but the hop character is well-balanced. A big beer at 7%, but it doesn't taste so. Could be dangerous. They tap a cask each Friday and it's usually gone by Saturday, so if you'd like to try it, plan accordingly. A portion of the proceeds goes toward the Half Moon restoration fund, so you can drink great beer and support a worthy cause at the same time. Is that great or what?

(06/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Big River Grille and Brewing Works, Lake Buena Vista, FL

I first met the head brewer, Rich Michaels, back in his early days in Albany. He was the original brewer at the Big House, and he made an outrageous IPA. He's a gifted brewer, and the porter in Albany is consistently still their best beer. Anyway, a buddy and I stopped by to see him at Big River. We weren't sure how the visit would turn out; we hadn't seen Rich in six years, and going to an establishment on the Disney property was a cause for concern. Our fears were unfounded. We went on a weekday in late April, a fairly slow time. Rich (thankfully) remembered us, and we ended up having a wonderful afternoon. He gave us a tour of the brewhouse---space is at a premium---and sampled all of his beers. Most notable (for my taste) were the cask pale and the brown. The brown in particular was the best of the style I've had in a long time, with some roasted and a touch of chocolate malt. This is how a brown is supposed to taste. His other beers were all true to style as well, including the lighter lager-like beers. Even though he's on the Disney property, he works for Gordon Biersch, and they give him a lot of freedom in brewing. Yeah, it's pricey, but for all of you beer geeks who have to take the family to see the Mouse, at least you can have some good beer from a brewer who really knows what he's doing.

(05/31/2004)














(0.039 seconds) 01:42:51 54.80.120.136, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS