PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from pat cornils
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 25, 2014 @ 11:06 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
pat cornils

Beer Reviews
(116)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

116
Beer Reviews from pat cornils
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Amnesia Brewing, Portland, OR

New place, so it's just getting going but they've got the right idea and some worthwhile beers. Great service and a lot of fun!

(01/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Great

Establishment: Keweenaw Brewing Company, Houghton, MI

All beers tasted decent, but the pale was the best. Great scenery and great location. One more great reason to go up north!

(10/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Lousy So So So So

Establishment: City Steam Brasserie Brewery Cafe, Hartford, CT

Tried one of the IPAs, naughty nurse I believe, the City Steam I think it was called and the Irish stout. The first two were bad, the City Steam tasted more like root beer than beer. The Irish stout was decent. The chicken sandwich was dry and overcooked. I asked the girl behind the bar about it and she said it was the style and asked if I wanted another one which didn't make sense if that was how the sandwich is supposed to be. Lots of four letter words coming from behind the bar from the staff. If I'm ever in Hartford again, I'll won't be going to City Steam.

-Steve C (not Pat)

(09/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good

Establishment: Terre Haute Brewing Company and Tap Room, Terre Haute, IN

What a cool place. Very historic - like you stepped back in time. Beers were good, food ok. Check this place out! No tap room on Sundays, only restaurant.

(06/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Detroit Beer Company, Detroit, MI

What a great place to have in Detroit. Nearly identical menu to its sister breweries - but why not? Why mess with success? Don't miss this one when in SE Michigan

(09/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: New Holland Brewing Company, Holland, MI

Fantastic brewpub in beautiful, downtown Holland. Beers are the same high quality as the main brewery. Don't miss!

(02/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy So So

Establishment: Copper Canyon Brewery, Southfield, MI

Two visits on the same weekend (Jan 17)produced the same pathetic service. Even though there were many employees standing around with their hands in their pockets, talking or watching TV, it was hard to find a clean table or receive basic table service. I finally bussed a few tables myself because I got tired of looking at the nearby filth. Glasses, dishes, napkins, and filled ashtrays sat unmoved for over 90 minutes - until I took care of it. Then, the crap stayed on the bar next to me, where I put it, until I left. Bet if I went in the next day they'd still be there. I rescued the fruit fly that was swimming in my beer - after his wings dried out he headed back to the kitchen where he belonged - with his hunreds of friends and relatives. This place needs to clean house - and they should start with management, if there is any. Oh - almost forget to say - the pale ale was good and hoppy! Keep the brewer and fire everybody else.

(01/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Good Good

Establishment: Sports Brew Pub, Wyandotte, MI

The beers were a little on the weak side, especially the IPA. But, they were drinkable. The food is cheap, basic bar food. The pink neon everywhere is too much for me, but I'm sure there's somebody out there who thinks it's great. Beer fans beware, there was lots of Butt Light being served.

(01/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So Great

Establishment: Founders Brewing Company, Grand Rapids, MI

Very cool place to sit and drink some fine beers. Luckily, no smoke when I was there. They are now open at 11am on Saturdays. It is clear that these folks really care about the beer. All styles tried were really good, but they were temporarily out of some favorites. Again, great place, but everytime I've been there it's been a challenge to get served - they have been understaffed at critical times.

(01/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Hair of the Frog Brewery, Grand Rapids, MI

Very cozy place. Nice line-up of beer and wines. Nice, friendly, service, too. Tried the brown and the IPA. Brown was just right, the IPA wasn't hoppy enough. Still, a great little place for the beer fan. Hard to find - make sure you get a map or ask directions, it's worth it.

(01/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Mystic Brewing Company Incorporated, Kalamazoo, MI

A recent weekend visit found the place very busy, which is a good sign. They are a little hard to find and that may damn them in the long run. Go there while you can because the food and beer were pretty good. The Christmas Ale was stong and flavorful. Good job!

(01/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good

Establishment: CJ's Brewing Company, Commerce Township, MI

A recent visit found a full house and some decent beer. The wheat was good and the IPA rocked. Service had an attitude, however, when asked about growler refills. Even though several jugs (!) were on display, we were refused beer to go. A sale is a sale, folks. Guess I'll spend my money elsewhere. They have packaged beer to go, but that wasn't I was looking for. Oh, by the way, most of the 20-something kids in attendance were drinkng Butt Light. Lots of it. Serving other brands, especially Budwater, at a brewpub, is wrong. When Bud starts selling CJ's beer, then CJ can sell Bud.

(12/31/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Great

Establishment: BandO Station Brewery and Restaurant, Youngstown, OH

Beautifully restored train station. Fancy menu and full beer line-up. Stout seemed most true to style. The Holiday beer was nice.

(12/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant, Columbus, OH

Very nice place, with a great loction. Excellent addition to the Columbus beer and social scene. Food and beer were good on a recent visit. The server seemed to know alot about their beers, which is rare in the chain pubs. Try the Blonde Bock - it looks light but it packs a punch.

(09/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So Good Good

Establishment: Mad Anthony Brewing Company, Fort Wayne, IN

A recent Monday detour to Fort Wayne found us at a crowded Mad Anthony's. Why so crowded? Dollar pints! Couldn't believe our luck! All the beers tried were really good, especially the pale. It was very hoppy - as hoppy as most people's IPAs. The Scooby Snacks were underdone, but so what - they had $1 pints!!!

(08/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Big Buck Brewery and Steakhouse #3, Detroit / Auburn Hills, MI

A recent visit was a pleasant experience. The IPA was good and hoppy, the Antler Ale was lighter but flavorful. Other beers were not tried. No complaints with the food or service. Things have improved much since my last visit.

(08/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Goose Island Beer Company - Wrigleyville, Chicago, IL

It was nice to see the place packed after a recent Cubs game. They had a decent selection of beers. The IPA was pretty intense - hopheads won't be disappointed. No food was ordered, but it's been good on previous visits. Service and scenery were above average.

(07/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good So So So So

Establishment: Frontwater's Restaurant and Brewery, Marblehead, OH

Only two of their own beers available - a drinkable pale, and a "summer wheat" that was not drinkable. Too astringent and chlorine-flavored. Even dumping in concentrated raspberry juice didn't cover it up (this is how they make their "razzberry wheat"). They were severely short-staffed on a recent Saturday afternoon. The owner, instead of helping out his over-worked employees, merely locked the door to keep more customers out - so he could fill his fat face at the end of the bar while customers waited and waited. Not worth the drive or the price.

(07/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A Good So So

Establishment: Put-in-Bay Brewing Company, Put-in-Bay, OH

Only had one of their own beers on tap - some kind of "summer wheat" concoction. It was drinkable, but I'm not sure what it was supposed to be. Many other beers available. It's really just another bar on the island.

(07/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great

Establishment: Millstream Brewing Company, Amana, IA

Excellent Hefewiezen and Amber. Cool little brewery with a great gift shop. Easy to get to from I-80. Don't miss it.

(07/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Saint's Brewing Company, Urbandale, IA

Should've checked Pubcrawler before I wasted my evening trying to find this place. It's now a lousy sports/dance bar (Autograph's)catering to 20 year-olds, with the appropriate mass-produced beer selection to impress the kids with.

(07/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Good Good Good

Establishment: Fitzpatrick's Brewing Company, Iowa City, IA

On a recent visit there were 11 beers on tap, so a sampler was in order. The best was the stout,very smooth and drinkable. The worst was the red, which was sour and couldn't be consumed. The rest fell somewhere in between "decent" and "not worth ordering a pint of it". Food and service were pretty good, but they gotta do something about those bathrooms - they are small, smell bad, and weren't in complete working order.

(07/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great

Establishment: America's Brewpub, Aurora, IL

Very cool place. Great food and beer. The pilsener was done well, the Hefeweizen was right on, the amber was good, and the sweet stout felt like chocolate milk going down. Don't miss this if you're in the area.

(07/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!

Establishment: Minnesota Brewing Company, Saint Paul, MN

Minnesota Brewing closed it's doors on June 24,2002. Another great, regional brewery gone into the history books. Score another one for Bud.

(07/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So So So

Establishment: Quay Street Brewing Company, Port Huron, MI

This place is chronically under-staffed, slow, and dirty. While waiting for a table I sat at the bar, where I was totally ignored for 40 minutes. Service on the deck was iffy, too. Food was ok. The clam chowder was flavorless. They were out of wheat beer, so others were tried. The Cream Ale, pale, and pilsener did not impress. The view of the river is nice, but that's about it.

(07/01/2002)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]













(0.161 seconds) 11:06:33 54.227.63.195, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS