PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from pat gorman
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 25, 2014 @ 12:47 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
pat gorman

Beer Reviews
(7)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

7
Beer Reviews from pat gorman
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Great Good Good

Establishment: Iron Hill Brewery Restaurant -- North Wales, North Wales, PA

Superb ambience and a great menu. What a shame the beer sucks. I mean seriously disappointing, both in terms of quality and selection. The beer I used to brew at home was way better than this swill. Every time I have gone I have been underwhelmed by the brews. They almost never have an IPA available, I mean what's up with that? The brewer is on a Belgian kick now, but he's not even in the ballpark. Plus the styles don't really complement the menu selection. This place has unbelievable potential, but always comes up short. Wish they would start serving other beers. But then nobody would buy their swill.

(12/18/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Good Good

Establishment: Miller's Ale House, Langhorne, PA

Talk about hype. Had heard fabulous things about this relatively new chain restaurant/pub. Well the place is definitely popular. Apparently packed most nights, often can't even find standing room at the bar. What's the attraction? Well it's new, and in the land of the blind the one eyed man is king. Which is to say there's not much competition in the area.

Food is your typical casual dining fare, heavy on the fried selections. They do actually have one variety of oyster on the half shell, which our waitress couldn't even identify as to origin.

As far as the draft selection, ho-hum. The usual suspects from overseas. Okay they did have a Flying Fish tap, a Victory tap and Sam Adams. But check this out -- the menu doesn't even tell you which variety. Can you freakin' believe it? And needless to say the waitstaff are clueless. "Yeah honey, just bring me a Sam Adams, I don't care which one of their 40 varieties it happens to be, just surprise me".

Bottom line, if you're looking for good beer, stay away.

(04/08/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Newportville Inn, Newportville, PA

Okay, it's one of the best places for a decent beer in the Lower Bucks area. But that is a really sad state of affairs, since this place is average at best in the real world. Good atmosphere and decent food. But for anybody who thinks the beer selection is good you obviously don't get out much. Just the same old, same old imports -- Becks, Heineken, Guinness, Harp. Sure they have a Hefeweiss or two. Great for the ladies. At least you can usually get a Hop Devil on draft. But that's about it in terms of micros. Could be much better if they would just get a bit more adventurous with the draft selection, the potential is there.

(04/08/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Drafting Room Tap Room and Grille, Exton, PA

In my opinion, the most reliable beer bar in the Philly area, without question. Believe it or not, have never made it to Victory in Downingtown, since the Drafting Room is so much more convenient to the turnpike. I could never drive by the place without stopping, and once I'm there forget it. The place is freaking heaven for a serious beer connoisseur! The brews they get from Sierra alone are worth the trip. They've always got one or two gems that can't be found anywhere else in the state. Have had Pliny the Elder from Russian River on several occasions and it is almost impossible to find anywhere on the East Coast. And it's not just the draft selection that's fabulous, the bottled beers are unbelievable as well, particularly the large format, limited edition selection. Second to none in my experience. Not to mention outstanding food, and an ambience that you just don't want to leave. If they would open in Bucks County my wife would probably leave me. Actually she wouldn't have to, I'd be at the Drafting Room every night. Final note: If you've been to the Springhouse location, do yourself a favor and check out the original. There's no comparison.

(04/08/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great

Establishment: Iron Hill Brewery and Restaurant, West Chester, PA

First of all, the ambience is superb. Just an absolutely gorgeous environment which makes you feel right at home and encourages you to linger. Some variability in the brew quality, of course much depends on the individual taste of the partaker. Have to believe that everyone will be able to find a quality brew to their liking and some tasty eats in a relaxing atmosphere. Well worth the visit. In particular the Pig Iron Porter is always topshelf. And finally the Bourbon Barrel Stout (when available) is the most awesome brew you will ever quaff!! Brewed with a healthy dose of vanilla beans and aged in bourbon barrels the complexity and mouthfeel is out of this world. Best beer I have ever tasted in 30+ years of serious beerdrinking!!

(12/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Old Bay Restaurant, New Brunswick, NJ

Always dependable. Have never been disappointed in 10 years of visits. As close to New Orleans as you can get in New Jersey. The Gumbo and the Crawfish Etouffe are unbelievable!!! Worth the trip just for those two dishes alone. Would also recommend the Gator Balls. Beer selection always quality, with some great Belgian and Belgian style brews on tap (and always FRESH). The Rutgers' crowd ensures that kegs turn over fast. Even though it's many miles from my home in Bucks County, I find myself returning regularly for the great Louisiana taste you just can't find elsewhere. Highly recommended.

(05/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Good So So

Establishment: JJ Bitting Brewing Company, Woodbridge, NJ

Couldn't be more underwhelmed. The least impressive brewpub of the 100 or more I have visited (and/or frequented). Chose to go there based on the effusive reviews I had seen online. Was entertaining a long lost college buddy for what was supposed to be a special evening. After sampling just a few of the beers and a handful of appetizers, we were not about to stay for any more inferior food and brews. Neither the IPA nor the Golden Ale were particularly palatable. Have been drinking ales almost exclusively for 20 years and brewing for 10, and these were far, far down the list of my favorites (Stone, Victory, Dogfish Head, Bell's, etc.).

The mussels were overcooked (nothing worse), the coconut shrimp were chewy and the blooming onion was marginally acceptable, but a far cry from Outback. The dipping sauces which went with the various dishes were totally bland and unrefined, with no punch whatsoever. Triumph in Princeton and New Hope puts this dive to shame. The evening was salvaged with a drive to Old Bay in New Brunswick. Now there's some excellent food and great beers. Do yourself a favor and disregard the kudos this place has gotten, or prepare to be as dissappointed as we were.

(05/19/2004)














(0.156 seconds) 00:47:10 54.226.7.15, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS