PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from pete wagner
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 25, 2014 @ 07:26 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
pete wagner

Beer Reviews
(5)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

5
Beer Reviews from pete wagner
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Great Awesome! Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Flatlander's Brewing Company, Lincolnshire, IL

This place has been closed since at least 2012! Best small brewery in the area, Tighthead in Mundelein (right next to the Metra train station). Finn's is still decent. Best beer bars/restaurants, Firkin's in Libertyville (one block north of Finn's on Milwaukee Ave) and also try Whirlybird's, tucked away behind the Baby's R US on Route 60, but food is solid and they have fabulous selection of beer!

(03/15/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Old Munich Biergarten, Bradenton, FL

A postscript to my previous review. We went back two days later, and my wife ordered the Schweinehaxen, but this time, it wasn't crisp at all on the outside. We let the server know we were disappointed, he brought it back, and the chef brought out a crispy shank. He explained that with the normal, elderly clientelle, they complain when the outside is crispy. The first time we ordered it, we specifically asked the waitress if it was served crispy, the second night, we didn't ask because we assumed it was always served that way.

Otherwise, the second visit was as great as the first, the Golash suppe was delicious and appropriately spicey, also had a good Jaegerschnitzel. A great place!

(01/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Great So So

Establishment: Onion Pub and Brewery, Lake Barrington, IL

Place itself is gorgeous, but the food basically is just OK, you do the best getting the more basic fare (burger, sandwhich) vs the bigger entrees. And it is pretty pricey, although I think the prices have come down a bit since they first opened. And the beer on average is just OK. Like one of the earlier reviews mentioned, when these guys were just a micro, the Paddy pale ale and Jack stout were fantastic, the Jack Stout I had last night was middle of the road -- not bad, but not great either. I've been here about 10 times since it's opened, sometimes they have a specialty on tap that's excellent, overall, I'm almost always disappointed in the food and beer (because of the high standards they had when they were just a micro), I keep hoping it will get better, but right now, I wouldn't go out of my way to come here.

(01/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Brewmasters Pub Restaurant and Brewery, Kenosha, WI

This place has definitely closed down, as per one of their former brewers (or member of the Biddel Society?) who's now working at Flatlanders. I hate to say it, but from my experiences there the last few years, not a loss.

(03/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Emmett's Tavern and Brewery, Dundee, IL

An interesting place. My wife and I live in Grayslake (more than an hour north), so I've only been here twice when I've been in the area. The atmosphere is awesome (old historic building), we only ate there this last time, the food was excellent as was the service.

I agree with John in Naperville that the beer selection could use "a wee bit more expansion." Both times we were there, they were out of the Scottish and the Pale Ale, two beers styles we both love. Next time, we're going to call to see what they have on tap. My wife thought that some of the other regular beers were nice but a bit on the thin side; I think they were appropriate for the style. The oatmeal stout was outstanding. Their seasonal beer was an English mild both on regular tap and cask; the cask was a solid representation of the style.

I look forward to trying some of their other seasonal beers, as well as their Scottish and Pale Ales. If you're in the area, it's definitely a place to go for both food and drink. A quality establishment.

(08/01/2002)














(0.141 seconds) 19:26:39 54.196.62.132, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS