PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from peter del vaglio
Other Reviews by this User
 
August 20, 2014 @ 07:57 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
peter del vaglio

Beer Reviews
(58)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

58
Beer Reviews from peter del vaglio
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Great Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Hartford Brewing Company Limited, Hartford, CT

the hartford brewery is closed after 9 years. CT's first microbrew has bit the dust.

(09/04/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Federal Jack's Restaurant and Brewpub, Kennebunk, ME

finally docked at the birthplace of Shipyard beer, and celebrated the recent repurchase of shipyard stock from miller with 2 Blue Fin Stouts, which are a bit creamier her at the source.

light fare of chowdah, chili, and hummus was very good. outstanding view of the river/docks traffic.

(07/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Boston Beer Works, Boston, MA

just visited again, and have something to bitch about. they now serve the beer in terribly tall, too-fragile glasses. gone are the oversized 'normal' 20 oz. glasses w/ the 16 oz. marker line. why? it was said that the new glasses are breaking at a much faster rate, which seems a likely thing.

at least you can buy 16 oz. logo glasses now. i wonder what happened to all those 20 oz. jobs??

of course, the BREW in those new wuss glasses is still great...

please, pour your REAL beer into REAL BEER GLASSES! ;>)

(04/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Watch City Brewing Company, Waltham, MA

finally returned for a second visit and had great time. tried the Hops Explosion, and if you like your IPA in the 'classic' NW style- hop nose, clean going down w/ medium mouthfeel and nice dry, slightly bitter finish- as i do- this is your beer!

carol behind the bar was a blast and the food was very good.

the stout and burley whine are solid beers.

this place is a must do.

(04/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Lucky Labrador Brewing Company, Portland, OR

so, no-name from Portland, are you the owner or the owner's dad or just one of the workers there?

the point is, my 'little friend', as you refer (in 1/2 @ss attempt at disparagement) to her, had already been served.

for the next reviewer who thinks our disappointment was unwarranted, please have the nuts to post your email- or just refer to my email- so this subject no longer runs through the posts.

(04/15/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Gritty McDuff's, Portland, ME

In response to the 2/8/00 and 2/11/00 posts-

In Portland, try the Stonecoast Brewpub and the Great Lost Bear (beer bar); in S.Portland, try the Seadog Brewpub.

(03/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Plymouth Bay Brewing Company, Plymouth, MA

yes, the doors are closed. this was a DME brewery, and the dirt is the owners never allowed the brewers to treat beer with proper respect- thus the revolving door of brewers.

i don't understand why owners do this. if you aren't interested in making REAL beer, then offer your patrons several taps of fresh local stuff.

Sounds simple to me.

I hope the place is reopened as a BREWpub.

(03/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Lucky Labrador Brewing Company, Portland, OR

Just a response to moondoogie's response to my review below.(he left no email address). At the time of our visit, I was 42 years old.

My point was that a nice place/visit can be ruined very easily.

(02/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Buzzard's Bay Brewing Company, Westport, MA

I hope they make good on their stated intention of growing hops and barley on the premises! This place is owned by vintnors and is located nearby. Nice logo. The beer is good and the selection will be increased. Good luck folks.

(01/03/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Amherst Brewing Company, Amherst, MA

I like this place- everything is solid. The IPA is very good. Nice casual atmosphere, college-crowd.

(01/03/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A N/A So So

Establishment: Hyland's Orchard and Brewery, Sturbridge, MA

Can't let my next-town-over neighbor stand alone on this review page! I agree w/ his findings. I attended their open house in June(?)'99, and it was a family-oriented affair at the farm. Same for the beer, i'm afraid.

(12/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy Good

Establishment: Three Dollar Dewey's, Portland, ME

Well, it was a foggy and misty Labor Day '99. There was a very small crowd, and a very BIG mess (dropped food) on the floor near our table, in a heavily trafficked area. It was never cleaned up, even tho staff walked thru it dozens of times. What does it all mean? Got me. The chowdah was very good.

(12/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Great Lost Bear, Portland, ME

Been here a couple of times, and love it! A nice casual place w/ great beers on tap, good cheap food and friendly waitstaff. Never go to (or thru) Portland East w/o checking into The Bear!

(12/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Lousy So So

Establishment: Flying Goose Brewpub and Four Corners Grill, New London, NH

Visited in summer of '98. The people at the next table complained about the water and returned it a couple of times. We thought they were kind of snooty and bitchy, until WE were served! Yuck, never had more plankton-like stuff floating in my water in my life! And it was the same each time it was returned. Nice view, okay beer, decent food. Not a real pubcrawler's destination in our humble view.

(12/10/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Castle Springs Brewing Company, Moultonborough, NH

Have been a couple of times- a great motorcycle ride. (i start from my friend's place just south of L. Winnepesauke (note correct spelling!). Anyway, congrats on the IPA medaling at the '99 GABF! Excellent porter and IPA; very friendly tasting room hosts. One time there, we watched a parachutist jump from a plane. Turns out it was a practice run for the next day's wedding's bride...what an entrance!

(12/10/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good N/A

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Cleveland, OH

I have to agree w/ the general feel of the reviews- pretty good food while the beer lags. A corporate place for the masses.

(12/07/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Mad Crab, Strongsville, OH

Nice place, more a restaurant feel than a brewpub, but both beer and food were excellent. Wish it was closer!

(12/07/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Crooked River Brewing Company, Cleveland, OH

We accidently stumbled (figuratively in, literally out) into this place while in town, walking around the flats. Cool little place. Very good beer, especially the Porter. Friendly folks, good popcorn!

(12/07/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Brewery Ommegang, Cooperstown, NY

Well, all i can say about this place is that, after driving nearly 16,000 miles around the US in 1998, they were the ONLY brewery (among scores) to charge admission.

(12/07/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Latchis Grille and Windham Brewery, Brattleboro, VT

Stopped here enroute to the Vermont Brewers Festival in July. Actually, i wanted to hit McNeill's, but i guess they really live their motto as they were closed at noon. Good beer and food, friendly, and a nice decor...

(12/07/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Union Station Brewery was John Harvard's Brew House, Providence, RI

I think the food is the best feature here. The beer is good. A family (ugh!) atmosphere. Been here a couple of times. Once, a 10-yr. old boy sat down next to me at the bar, his father beaming proudly behind him, as he commandeered the remote and ruined the mood for my date and I!

(11/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Trinity Brewhouse, Providence, RI

Been a few times. Finally had logo glasses available. I like the beer 2000. The place is super casual, almost indifferent. Had a pasta dish which was good. Go here, then walk the 2 blocks to Union Station and do a scientific comparison. Works every time.

(11/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Watch City Brewing Company, Waltham, MA

A nice place with overall good beer. The Titan is good, as is the Porter. Worth a return.

(11/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Plymouth Bay Brewing Company, Plymouth, MA

my email...

(11/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: Plymouth Bay Brewing Company, Plymouth, MA

This review focuses on the Brewer's Dinners, of which i have attended two. Both were very well done and enjoyable. The Clam Bake in August was spectacular. Curious as to why the brewer back in Feb.(?), hired the week before THAT dinner, was gone by the AUGUST dinner. He seemed to be interested in brewing beer for the beerdrinker. Anyone know the dirt? Overall, a good place. (see my previous review below).

(11/21/1999)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]













(0.118 seconds) 07:57:13 54.196.195.38, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS