PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from skotrat
Other Reviews by this User
 
April 19, 2014 @ 08:31 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
skotrat

Beer Reviews
(20)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

20
Beer Reviews from skotrat
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Lunar Brewing, Villa Park, IL

I love this place.

The bottled selection is fantastic. The tap selection is great!

Even the Cheap beer of the week selection is wonderful

(06/10/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Bridgeport Brewing Company and Public House, Portland, OR

Overall this is a very good looking place. When I parked out front and got out of my rental car there was a wonderful smell of a beer being boiled coming out of the brewery. I sat in the bar area and ordered a sampler. The beers for the most part are rather mainstream as far as brew pubs go.

Mind you... There was nothing wrong with any of the beers and they were pretty good examples of the styles that they were portrayed as being.

That being said however the envelope was not really being pushed on any of the beers. Craft beers are special because they have the ability to be above and beyond what we know of as commercial beers. Bridgeport beers seem to be going for that "Commercial" taste in a small craft environment. This will get them in the main stream but probably leave the beer geeks wanting something more.

The IPA was rather good as was the knuckle head barley wine. Good stuff all around.

-Scott

(06/10/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Great Good

Establishment: Tugboat Brewing Company, Portland, OR

*** TugBoat Brewery ***

This place has a really cool vibe. almost like a dark and dank basement or old mans reading room.

It is not so clean but the feel is just great.

The barkeeper was great and gave me a taste of several beers. Their Chernobyl Stout was tasty and 14% alcohol. The Golden Hop Ale was a crisp hoppy beer with an almost homebrewed flavor. It was very good.

I tasted the brown, amber and T-bolt also. Each of these beers were noticeably infected so I left after the second pint. I did not eat but the food I saw actually looked good.

Nice place but somewhat hit or miss on the beers.

-Scott

(06/10/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Good Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Portland, OR

*** Rock Bottom ***

Well,

Most Rock Bottom Breweries are rather blah but this one seemed at least a little above the bar.

The calamari was not bad. The Cask IPA was actually pretty darn tasty. The brewers special which was touted as an ESB was somewhat lacking in flavor. It was like a weak lipton iced tea at the very best. I am not even sure what it was on tap because it was that bad.

For a chain restaurant I would at least imagine that these guys would brew better beer.

-Scott

(06/10/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Rogue Ales Public House, Portland, OR

Alrighty,

By the time most Rogue beers get to the New England area they have been abused via the long road trip. I have to say that the public house changes everything.

The barkeeper was great and he kept the samples flowing. The highlight was the MORIMOTO Imperial Pilsener in my opinion. This beer is just plain fantastic stuff when it is fresh on tap.

The seasonal was a beer called HOP MADNESS which was also quite tasty.

If you are a beer geek I highly recommend stopping by this pub.

Great stuff!

-Scott

(06/10/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Monte Carlo Pub and Brewery, Las Vegas, NV

Overall this place has not changed so much over the last couple years...

The Stout is good. The Red is fairly tasty and the pale ale is good also. The othe beers are somewhat pedestrian.

The food is definitely better than the beer that they serve. Nice location off the strip...

(03/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Sin City Brewing Company, Las Vegas, NV

No Food... Only 4 beers on tap. The light beer and the amber were good overall. The Wheat and the stout were merely okay.

The location is slightly bigger than a hotdog stand but the bartender was nice enough.

(03/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Establishment: Sly Fox Brewhouse and Eatery, Phoenixville, PA

Nice place...

The Stout and the Pale Ale were great... The Helles was pretty decent too. The rest of the beers were rather pedestrian overall.

Good food and good service.

Definitely worth the visit.

(03/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Victory Brewing Company, Downingtown, PA

Well then...

I went to Victory Brewing tonight and had dinner...

I also had the beer sampler as I was not hte guy driving...

FANTASTIC!!!

I had cask Hop Devil... FREAKING A! FANTASTIC!!!

Beers like the PRIMA PILS which I have hated in the bottle form were all fresh and fantastic.

What a great place.

Jim Busch's brain child has done well!

-Scott

(03/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Good

Establishment: Drafting Room Tap Room and Grille, Exton, PA

Well Then... What a gem! Fantastic draught beer selection that even included a Cask beer (Victory Hop Devil at that).

The bottle selection was definitely guided towards the beer geek. I loved it.

Food was overall very very good. The menu would please the burger eaters and the finer dining folks.

I will definitely return...

(03/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Capital Ale House, Richmond, VA

I have never been to such a fantastic place!

AAA all the way

(01/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: The Tap Brew Pub, Haverhill, MA

All in all this place has great decor and is verfy friendly. The food is top notch and the beer is not far behind.

Once the bugs are worked out in the brewery I bet this will be another fine example of what a fantastic brewer Tod is. The initial beer offerings are very good and will only get better. I cannot wait for the Big Beers to start showing up...

Good Luck!

>>This is Tod Motts new brewing venture.

About Tod:

AWARDS Great American Beer Festival, 2001 Denver, CO Gold Medal for Irish Red Ale

Great American Beer Festival, 1999 Denver, CO Gold Medal for Strong Scottish Ale

Real Ale Festival, 1998 Chicago, IL Silver Medal for Brown Porter

Great American Beer Festival, 1997 Denver, CO Bronze Medal for Weizenbock

Best of Boston 1999 Awarded by Boston Magazine for best small batch crafted micro brewpub

Best of Boston 1998 Awarded by Boston Magazine for best small batch crafted micro brewpub

Best of Boston 1997 Awarded by Boston Magazine for best small batch crafted micro brewpub

Tod Mott, a.k.a. "oh bearded one" started home brewing in the 1980's when his mother (at his wife's suggestion) presented Tod with a "True-Brew" homebrew kit that tickled Tod's interest in brewing. What started as a hobby turned into an obsession that was easily quenched. After a wimpy Pilsner attempt with an all-extract kit, Tod realized he needed more information to enable him to create his own style of brewing. Some readings in the beer brewing literature plus a course in brewing enabled Tod to produce professional quality beer and go on to win awards. His prior professional experience included a period with Catamount Brewing Co., in Vermont, Mass Bay Brewing Co. in Boston, the head brewer at Commonwealth Brewing Co and at the Back Bay Brewing Co.>>

(06/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!

Establishment: Appalachian Brewing Company, Harrisburg, PA

This place kicks total ASS!!

By far one of if not the very finest BrewPub I have been to in the US

Fan Freaking Tastic!

(12/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Valley Forge Brewing Company, Wayne, PA

Man!

Grainy and Astringent!!!

Has something awful happened here? The beer used to be quite tasty but now it it all tastes like Scope Mouthwash!

Buyer Beware!

(07/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Wayne, PA

I love this place. I travel an awful lot for work and it is always a pleasure staying in Wayne and getting to visit the John Harvards here.

Mike the Bartender is always friendly.

Cask ales rock always!

(07/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Great So So

Establishment: Bonaventure Brewing Company, Los Angeles, CA

Wow...

What a terrible BrewPub...

What is this place thinking? They have a great location but I can get better beer and food at the Jet Rocks in the Philidelphia Airport...

The Chicken Marsala was tough, over cooked and served with what tasted like packaged gravy and instant mash potatos...

Not only that but the price on it was $17!!!

All of the beers I had (Blonde, Stout, O'fest & Pale Ale) were way off style... Not only that they were all so astringent that I asked for water and bread to wash the taste out of my mouth.

The stout is a glorified brown ale that is served so cold that you get a brain freeze. The O'fest tasted so grainey that I could not finish it... The blonde ale was just more of the same.

The Pale Ale is about the best of the bunch but still had an over all stale taste.

The service was great. Everyone was great... Still this does not make a good brewpub.

I rarely slam anyplace but I must say that all should avoid this awful establishment... You are better off at the sports bar down the street.

C'ya!

-Scott

(11/07/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Seabright Brewery, Santa Cruz, CA

This place has it all...

Great vibe... Fantastic Staff... Awesome food and most excellent Brewed Beer!

I highly recomend this fantastic Brew Pub...

One of the best I have ever been to!

(10/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good

Establishment: Los Gatos Brewing Company, Los Gatos, CA

Nice selection...

Beers are rather pedestrian for the most part. The Sherman Stout and the Hefe Weiss are both excellent.

Food was good but not fantastic.

Service was great..

(10/23/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Portsmouth Brewery, Portsmouth, NH

Some really fine beer... Excellent brew tour and very good brewmasters that are willing to answer questions.

Nice well rounded menu and wait staff...

(12/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Good Good

Establishment: Colorado Brewery and Trading Company, Danbury, CT

Some fantastic menu items. Almost makes up for the beer not being as excellent as it should be

(12/09/2000)














(0.105 seconds) 20:31:54 54.242.249.240, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS