PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from scott
Other Reviews by this User
 
October 25, 2014 @ 04:23 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
scott

Beer Reviews
(16)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

16
Beer Reviews from scott
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome!
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Rams Head Tavern / Fordham Brewing Company, Annapolis, MD

My previous review was in reference to the Baltimore location.

(06/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Clipper City Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

Heavy Seas, not High Seas. (Sorry)

(02/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Legacy Brewing (was Neversink and was Fancy Pants), Reading, PA

Great first bottled effort with their wonderfully hoppy Hedonism red ale. Can't imagine people are having problems with their very artistic packaging. (Covering it in brown paper!) Keep up the great brewing guys.

(02/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Capitol City Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

While this isn't a Weybacher or Victory, it still produces some very drinkable beers. While I'm not much of a barleywine drinker, I enjoyed their representation of the style as it was a well balanced beer with a slight hop finish. The Belgian brown was refreshing and leaned more to the brown side. It probably would appeal more to an average drinker as it didn't have the strong yeast taste a Belgian sometimes contains. It's nice to see that this chain lets each brewer vary recipes, and experiment with higher alcohol beers. Also had a good slightly smokey porter, and a hoppy red and pale ale. Food was good, not great, and the service and view were impeccable. (On a slow, very cold Sunday.) Overall worth a stop if in the area.

(02/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Clipper City Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

With the High Seas line this brewery has improved significantly. A line of well crafted, higher alcohol brews has made Hugh Sisson once again prove his prowess in this industry. Wonderful tour one Saturday a month is a little crowded, but worth the trip as Hugh gives it himself and samples are abundant. Definitly give any of the beers in the High Seas line a try.

(02/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Good Good Good

Establishment: Appalachian Brewing Company, Harrisburg, PA

I think us beer trekers tend to get a little too picky about the beers we try. Sure most of the beers Appalachian brews are only good not great, but they do have their stand outs. Their beers overall are very drinkable and much better than budmillercoors. Hoppy trails is a very good IPA and their porter and stout are extremely satisfing. The barleywine is very unique and quite good in my opinion, and the Abbey Roade is a deceint Belgian style. Appalachian is now brewing some big beers at their Gettysburg location which have all been quite good. The brewery even has a Belgian import bar upstairs if you can't find one of it's beers you like. If you're looking for exceptional quality like Victory, this may not be the place, but it does have very drinkable beers and quite a selection from which to choose. Don't miss the brewery and the Saturday tour if you're in the area.

(12/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!

Establishment: KClinger's Publik House, Etters, PA

Finally opened 3/4/02 and it was worth the wait. This location is even better than their Hanover location . So far they have about 30 taps in their main level bar and about 30 others in their basement bar. As with their other location, all the taps contain a variety of great micros, Belgians, and imports. In the near future they will have an upstairs cigar bar with more taps, and an attached Rogue brewery which you can overlook from the main level. Food was great with everything from pub grub and pizzas to main entrees. My only complaint was that they have been extremely crowded so far. This has made parking a problem and the service a little slow, but I'm sure this will improve over time. A must stop for all fans of good beer as this is one of the best beer bars in the country.

(03/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: Bube's Brewery, Mount Joy, PA

Have been eating at this wonderful establishment for years in their three different restaurants. You can eat at their brewpub "The Bottling Works", a French restaurant "Alios", or in "The Catacombs" which is underground where the beer used to age. The food is great in all three restautrants with The Bottling Works the most causal and with the largest menu. Their beer, which receintly began to flow, has been great so far, but they have only brewed a few selections. Be sure to try their Feasts which make for a highly entertaining evening. Highly reccomended, but be sure to get a reservation for Alois or The Catacombs.

(02/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!

Establishment: Relyea Brewing Company, LLC, Syracuse, NY

Had their IPA and Red Ale at the Stoudt's beer fest in PA and was very impressed. The IPA was a hop-head's dream and the Red was a well balanced beer with a distinctive hop finish. I can't wait until I'm in Syracuse again to sample more of Relya's and Middle Ages beers. You Syracuse people are very lucky with all the great brewerys and beer bars in the area!

(10/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!

Establishment: Legacy Brewing (was Neversink and was Fancy Pants), Reading, PA

Since Neversink changed their brewers, I figured it was time to try them again. I'm glad I did! The Oatmeal Stout was one of the best I've tasted, easily riveling Anderson Valley's Barney Flat. The Pale is currently one of my favorite beers overall as it was nicely hopped and very complex. The Abbey Double was the best I've tasted outside of Belgiam. I liked it even better than Ommegang which was my favorite American Belgian up to this point. I had an advance tasting of their Farmhouse Ale, which was also tasty. The Brown was good, but not my favorite Brown. The Kolsch was drinkable, but in my book not very true to the style. Overall the beers were some of the best I've tasted in a long time. I can't wait for the IPA brewed with the Belgian yeast that I have heard about. Although the restaurant is no longer financially connected to Neversink, the food was excellant but a little pricey. (And they still serve all Neversink products and sell sixes and growlers.) All of the experenced beer drinkers in our party were very impressed. Definately a must visit for fans of good beer.

(07/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: New Road Brewhouse, Collegeville, PA

Visited this establishment with a group of experienced beer tasters and we were pleasently surprised. Nothing was extremely hoppy, but all the beers that were on tap were well balanced and true to style. The Belgian Triple was especially tasty. Food was very good including the appetizers and the chili. Well worth a visit for both the food and the beer.

(04/03/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Appalachian Brewing Company, Harrisburg, PA

Have been to Appalachian to sample their wonderful pub grub many times, but I had to try the new entrees from their receintly expanded kitchen. As always, their appetizers and chili were great, but we were also very impressed by their new dinner entrees. The beer battered flounder and trout were nice and delicate, while their Thunderstorm Arabitta was extremely spicy. The only entree our party was not crazy about was the Rosemary Chicken as it was a little too strong of Rosemary. Since we visited on thier first week of the new menu, we were extremely impressed. As far as the beer goes, most are very good and drinkable, but they do have a couple of real standouts in my book. Being a hop head The Hoppy Trails was my favorite, but they also have my favorite non-hoppy barley wine. The Broadstreet Barley wine reminded me of Kumbaucher Eisebock only smoother with less of the high alcohol taste. We took a growler of both home. The Scotch Ale was the favorite of others in our group, although it was not nearly my favorite Scotch. They even had a new Belgian wit which was very true to style. This place is a must visit for both the food and the beer when in Harrisburg. Also try their beer tastings as they are done very well.

(03/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Blue Tusk, Syracuse, NY

Better selection of beer than Clark's, and the bartender (Owner?) really knew his beers. Didn't eat as we had just had Clark's sandwich, but the menu looked very interesting. Next time in town we will definitely be back for the beer and to try the food.

(05/10/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Clark's Ale House, Syracuse, NY

Very good sandwich and good selection of beer. Larger beer selection at The Blue Tusk, but still worth a trip for the roast beef.

(05/10/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Middle Ages Brewing Company, Syracuse, NY

Thought all of what we tried was wonderful. Particularly liked the hoppy barley wine which I thought was even better than Sierra Nevada's Bigfoot. The Kilt Tilter Scottish was wonderful and the IPA was also a winner. We didn't like the bottled versions of the pale ale and Beast bitter, but found the pale very good on tap. The IPA's bottled version wasn't as good as the tap version, but it was the best of their bottles. I hope they bottle the barley wine soon!

(05/10/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: KClinger's Tavern, Hanover, PA

The food is good with both burgers and nicer dinners. The beer selection is great, especially for PA. Nice tap selection with even some great KClinger beers. They have a beer tasting club to join. (With awards) Staff is great; you'll always see the Klingers working their butts off. Check for their specialty beer dinners; they design a meal around great beers. Check out their web site at www.cvn.net/~kclingers-tavern. A must visit!

(01/17/1998)














(0.206 seconds) 16:23:53 54.161.145.251, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS