PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from scott smith
Other Reviews by this User
 
September 02, 2014 @ 09:45 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
scott smith

Beer Reviews
(12)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






User Tagline: BUY A GOOD FRIEND A GOOD BEER. (tm)
Favorite Beer: impossible to say.
Located In: Pittsburgh, PA
My Website: www.EastEndBrewing.com
12
Beer Reviews from scott smith
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
?
? ? ? ?

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: East End Brewing Company, Pittsburgh, PA

Hey Thomas - glad you were able to find the place and thanks for the nice writeup.

To answer your question about the Smokestack Heritage Porter (aka the smoked porter), it had just gone into the bottle one week previous to your visit, and it needed another week to bottle condition - otherwise it would be flat. I cracked one at home the Wednesday night after your visit and it was good to go, so we released it on Thursday... a little early.

Sorry to be out of the flagship beer during your visit. It's getting harder and harder to keep enough backup kegs of everything cold as things have gotten busier and I've got more active beers going - ultimately, all good problems to have, but there are the occasional outages as a result.

Hope to see you again soon! Cheers, Scott

(07/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Karma on 8th, Homestead, PA

Heard from the owners a little while back, and they have shut their doors for good it seems. Such a shame - a place that focused on local food, local beer... Maybe these guys will show up someplace else.

(06/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Ciao!, Carnegie, PA

Just an informative post here... you can now get growlers of East End Brew at Ciao - filled fresh while you wait!

Cheers, Scott East End Brewing

(08/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Amel's Restaurant, Pittsburgh , PA

Neversink Brown Ale??? They've been out of business for years now.

(07/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Ukiah, Pittsburgh, PA

I guess the answer is No, they can't survive. They closed up shop a few months ago citing financial troubles.

(05/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Six Penn Kitchen, Pittsburgh , PA

Thanks for asking for it Mark. I guess I'm "in rotation" there these days.

Cheers, Scott

(04/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Piper's Pub, Pittsburgh, PA

Hey Janet, Sorry the East End Brew wasn't flowing at Piper's during your visit, but thanks for asking for it by name!

Next time you're in town, be sure to come by the brewery during "Growler Hours" (listed on my website), where I can guarantee there will be LOTS available!

Cheers, Scott

(04/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Fat Head's South Shore Saloon, Pittsburgh , PA

Hi Mark, I don't think I know you, but thanks for the mention. I owe you a beer. Stop in some time.

Cheers, Scott (of East End Brewing)

(01/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Point Brugge Cafe, Pittsburgh , PA

That's actually a pretty good description - "slummed out in a quiet sort of way". The block is amazingly quiet.

Regarding how I do it every day without getting depressed??? Well, let me put it to you this way: I have my own brewery, and I BREW BEER for a living. Does that help? It sure helps me! And yes, I too hope to be in a nicer neighborhood someday, but without a low rent district like this one, this would never have been possible. Next time you're in town, stop by and taste some of the new beers - maybe I can improve my "Selection" stats!

I'm open to the public twice a week for "Growler Hours", Thursdays 5-7pm and Saturdays 2-4pm.

Cheers, Scott

(10/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Point Brugge Cafe, Pittsburgh , PA

Well, in my opinion, most of the real trouble spots are on the OTHER side of EEBC from Point Brugges. N. Pt. Breeze, while far from austentatious like it's Squirrel Hill and Shadyside neighbors, has a very diverse mix - some spiffy, some simple, and yes, some in pretty rough shape. I can't point to a single "crack house" South of the busway/railroad tracks though, and I'm all over that neighborhood almost every day.

I think Bill Peduto (local City Councilman) lives in this area on Hastings Street too.

Have I digressed long enough?

(10/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Piper's Pub, Pittsburgh, PA

Hey - that's East END Brewing Company... thanks for puttin' in the good word. Pipers is a great place with great attention to detail.

Cheers, Scott www.eastendbrewing.com

(09/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Casbah Mediterranean Kitchen and Wine Bar, Pittsburgh , PA

Just an update: These guys took out their draft system, so it's just bottles, and maybe the occasional can.

(03/29/2005)














(0.077 seconds) 21:45:27 184.72.154.124, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS