PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from scott mertie
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 19, 2014 @ 08:10 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
scott mertie

Beer Reviews
(87)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






User Tagline: Marzen
Favorite Beer: too many good ones to choose
Located In: Nashville, TN & Ohio
My Website: www.goldcrest51.com
87
Beer Reviews from scott mertie
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Great Great Great Great

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Bavarian Brewing Company, Nashville, TN

I was never able to get this brewery off the ground. Please delete. Thank you.

(07/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Olde Towne Brewing Company, Huntsville, AL

I stopped by this micro-brewery on a Saturday while traveling through Alabama. I was hoping it would be open, but it wasn't. I was able to pick up three six-packs at a store at the nearby 5-points intersection. I got Pale Ale, Extral Pale Ale, and Amber. All were pretty good. I am not sure what other styles Olde Town brews, but the store owner said this was all they carried.

(06/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewery Restaurant, Memphis, TN

The GB location in Memphis closed on Feb 28, 2005.

(06/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Hofbrauhaus Newport, Newport, KY

I always have a great time at the Hofbrauhaus. Had the sampler then a litre of the Dunkels and a litre of the Bavarian Wheat (seasonal). Both were excellent!! Jagerschnitchel was outstanding. Excellent bartender. Great crowed!

(04/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Blackstone Restaurant and Brewery, Nashville, TN

As usual, Blackstone was an excellent host the the Music City Madness Show Brewery Collectibles Show. Dave Miller's beers are fantastic. Both the locals and out-of-towners attending the show had a great time. Thanks again!!

(04/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Wharf Rat At Camden Yards / Oliver Breweries, Baltimore, MD

Nice selection of beers. The English Export on the beer engine was outstanding. I tried several other of their beers, which were all nice and true to style. I did not eat, but the staff was great. Even though the placed was packed, the bartenders were all very nice and helpful.

(03/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Ryleigh's Oyster, Baltimore, MD

They only had two of their own beers while I was visiting, but had several host microbrews and other imports and domestics. The great thing about this place is its laid back atmosphere. It is in a very cool location off the beat and path on a coble stone street. The bartender was excelent and everyone in the place was very nice and gave me advice on other beer bars and brewpubs.

(03/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: DuClaw Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

I visited the Fells Point location and was a little dissapointed to find out they did not brew their beers on premesis. They were all pretty good, but the atmosphere was a little too contempory for me. I only had an app, so I did not rate the food.

(03/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Clipper City Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

I did not visit the brewery, but did try several of their beers at other Baltimore beer bars while in town. All were very good. I really enjoyed the Uber Pils.

(03/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good

Establishment: Capitol City Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

The view from this place it the best thing going for it. It is right on the harbor. It is on the second story of a touristy mall and they seem to cater their beer styles to the light hearted tourist. Beers were good for their style. I did not eat.

(03/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Brewer's Art, Baltimore, MD

It was nice to find a brewpub that specializes in their beers. This place brews mostly Belgium style beers (all very good) and serves them in the proper style glasses. They also have a very wide selection of Belgium and other European and Micro bottled beers. I was impressed to see they serve many of their imported beers in proper glasses as well. I had a Rauchbier Urbock (smoked bock) with the cheese plate. It went so damn well together! Best out of 5 Baltimore brewpubs I visited while in town.

(03/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Baltimore Brewing Company, Baltimore, MD

Closed

(03/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Yazoo Brewing Company, Nashville, TN

Thanks to Linus Hall and Yazoo for making the first stop on the annual Music City Madness Pub-Crawl awesome. Everyone had a great time and enjoyed all of Yazoo's brews!

(03/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: Mad Boar Brewhouse, North Myrtle Beach, SC

Excellent IPA, Scottish Ale, and Oatmeal Stout. The Scottish Ale was one of the best I've ever had. Great body and malt/hop balance. The owner/brewer kept the kitchen open for me, as I got lost trying to find the N. Myrtle Beach brewpub. Very nice touch! Great atmoshpere as well.

(02/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Liberty Steak House and Brewery, Myrtle Beach, SC

Nice brewpub for a tourist town that Myrtle beach is. The wheat beer was excellent! Very good food, service, and atmoshpere

(02/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Rich O's Public House was New Albanian Brewing Company, New Albany, IN

One of the best selections of European brews I have ever seen. Their own beers are pretty darn good too. Excellent Pizza. Enjoyed a good German Smoke Brew after dinner. Awesome!

(01/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Establishment: Browning's Brewery, Louisville, KY

Enjoyed the sampler while passing through town. It consisted of 10 lovely brews. Quite a few dark brews that were great this time of year. Spoke to assistant brewmaster, Bill, Super nice guy!!!

(01/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Red Star Brewery and Grille, Greensburg, PA

Nice selection of beers and barleywine. I beleive they had a total of 8 on tap during my visit. The bartender was outstanding and the Rubeon was one of the best. The Voodo Child Stout was excellent!

(12/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A Great

Establishment: Latrobe Brewing Company, Latrobe, PA

For an American Lager, Rolling Rock is top notch. They recently started giving tours, so me and a collegue drove over to Latrobe while in PA doing some work in Pittsburgh. The tour was very nice. They take you directly on the floor of the brewery, bottling/canning, and packaging lines. Very well done. It was nice to see a lot of old RR Breweriana outside the gift shop. Very well done!

(12/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Establishment: River City Ale Works, Wheeling, WV

Although there was a nice selection of PA beers, they did not have any of their own on tap during my visit. I found out that the brewpub suffered a flood a few months ago and their brewing equipment was dammaged. They plan to start brewing again in the next few weeks.

(12/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Cleveland, OH

Enjoyed the sampler with lunch, then a few more pints. Had a great bar tender. Very cool atmospher in the Flats of Cleveland.

(12/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Great Lakes Brewing Company, Cleveland, OH

This was the first time I have been back to GLBC since the late '80's. It was just as I remembered. Had a great meal with the sampler and then enjoyed a few more pints. A must stop in the Cleveland area!

(12/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Mellow Mushroom, Chattanooga, TN

If you are looking for a casual place to enjoy great pizza and an awesome beer selection, this is the place. About 25 beers on tap, and another 50 in bottles. Service was outstanding!

(12/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So Good

Establishment: Big River Grille and Brewing Works, Chattanooga, TN

I ate (and drank) here several nights while in town working. All three times, I had pretty bad service. Their beers were pretty good. The seasonal Winter Porter was great on cask.

(12/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: New Knoxville Brewing Company, Knoxville, TN

I drove a few hundred miles out of my way to stop in to this "new" microbrewery. I met with the bremaster, Brett Redmaybe-Titley. Although their tap room was not open at the time of my visit, Brett poured me one of his Pale Ales and invited me back to talk with he was transfering his Brown Ale to a fermentor. I then got to taste his Brown Ale and IPA, which are both excellent. If you have the chance to stop in, take the time to talk beer with Brett!

(12/17/2004)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]













(0.357 seconds) 08:10:14 54.227.215.139, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS