PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from sandy cook
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 23, 2014 @ 07:12 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
sandy cook

Beer Reviews
(26)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

26
Beer Reviews from sandy cook
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Great Good Great Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy Good Lousy

Establishment: Whale Tail Brewing Company, Old Orchard Beach, ME

Beers were bland...definitely catering to Bud drinkers. The food was butter-drenched casserole type seafood, or fried....horrible! Good thing we had a real seafood dinner at Street & Company in Portland the next night (more than worth the 2 hour wait).

(06/14/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Salem Beer Works, Salem, MA

Great selection of brews, many of which were quite good. Had a real tasty meal as well, enjoying the sunshine out on the patio. Nice place.

(05/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Great N/A

Establishment: Sebago Brewing Company, South Portland, ME

Stopped in for a sampler...decent stout, but overall most of the beers were merely average. Hate the location...why would anyone want to hang out near the mall while in Portland? Much rather be in the old port (hello, Gritty's) or on the water (new Sea Dog is in the prime spot). Menu looked ok, and the waitstaff were great.

(05/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Atlanta, GA

Was pleasantly surprised considering this is a chain. The place was hoppin' with twentysomething to thirtysomething partiers all night. The Stout was nice - roasty with nice chocolate/caramel undertones, on nitrogen; cask Stout however was very lacking in body and taste; cask mild was good; excellent, well-balanced Pale Ale; good IPA, though not quite hoppy enough for my taste; very good English style Brown Ale with a bitter middle fading to a nice hop finish.

(05/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Percy's Fish House, Atlanta, GA

Great atmosphere with the fighting chairs (a la fishing boats) at the bar (kind of like the barbers chairs along the bar at Eli Cannons in Middletown, CT) and the fishing motif. I'll bet the food is real good...didn't eat here as I went out for sushi instead, but looked good. The beers were not really exciting. The Porter was bland and light, the Blond tasteless, and the ESB was not bitter at all, very weak and non-descript for an ESB; the IPA was nice - dry-hopped and tasty, and the hefeweisse was a decent take on the German style, if a bit lacking in flavor. My mood sitting at the bar was affected terribly by the day's shootings in Littleton, CO...I was terribly upset, so maybe my review is a bit skewed. Will have to try again sometime.

(05/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Great So So

Establishment: Atlanta Beer Garten, Atlanta, GA

Beers, German in style, were simply ok, with the selection being a bit limited. The Alt was more like a Pale, with not enough of a malt body; lager was just OK; the Mild was real good for the style ( a not-so-very-exciting one to start with); A typical "Red " Ale; A decent dark lager- nice drinkin' beer; the hefeweiss was nice - in the German hefe- style. Cool dark atmosphere, gorgeous bartendress (understatement of the decade). Did not try the food.

(05/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Atlanta, GA

Solid, typical Harvards Pale Ale; A fabulous, tasty Maibock; the Porter was a bit on the light side as far as body; the Scotch was more of a cross between a Scottish Ale and an Alt (Harvards in Manchester, Ct serves a great Scotch Ale - very potent); the cask Celtic Ale was nice and smooth, and probably stronger than it led on. Friendly folks. Would have stayed longer and had some food, but this was the fourth stop on my brewpub tour.

(05/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A Good Lousy

Establishment: Hops Restaurant and Brewery, Kennesaw, GA

When are these guys going to realize that real beer DOES NOT BELONG IN FROSTED MUGS??? There's really no way to rate the beer when you can't taste it because its in a frosted mug. I let an Alligator Ale sit for over half an hour while warming the glass with my hands, and it tasted decent. How about changing the selection up a bit?? And for God's sake, DO AWAY WITH THE FROSTED MUGS!!!! Frosted mugs are for water and Budweiser.

(05/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: United States Border Brewery and Cantina, Alpharetta, GA

Arrived just after closing, but was allowed to hang out for a few since I was a weary traveler from New England, doing a little GA brewery tour. The bartender couldn't have been nicer - went out of his way to make me feel welcome even as he was cleaning up the joint. The Gold was a typical pilsner, fairly tasty; The Bock was excellent; the Stout was a bit light in body though nice in taste; the IPA was very hoppy and delicious, and the cask IPA was even better, with mellower hops, delicious taste. Hope to visit again long before closing.

(05/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Great Good

Establishment: Peckerhead Brewery, Douglasville, GA

Beer was ok. Pale was lacking in hop character, Amber was fairly typical, the lager was good, considering that it is not one of my favorite styles, the Pilsner was much maltier, with more body than typical for the style, and Rita's Red started hoppy, but the hops quickly gave way to the malt. Nice atmosphere; I'm sure if I had stayed a bit later I would have discovered the "bohemian feel" to the place - always welcoming.

(05/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Roswell, GA

I agree that Harvards typically does a tremendous job for a chain. The one near me (Manchester, CT) is real good. A nice Pale Bock, ok Porter, creamy, smooth stout, a delicious, well-balanced British Pale, an ok Belgian White (not enough spices - coriander, clove, banana peel needed), and a very tasty cask conditioned Abbey style ale. Had a delicious dinner also.

(05/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: Bidwell Tavern Cafe, Coventry, CT

Well, for wings, you can't beat the selection. But for beers, there are better beer bars. Times I have been, the selection has been mainly the widely available such as Siera Nevada and Guinness, with a few local micros. The fact that David P. raves about the 6 Rolling Rock special should give you a hint. I'd rather pay $5 for a pint of Brooklyn Black Chocolate Stout than pay a quarter for a bottle of Rolling Rock....that's a special I would consider useless, though I suppose $13 isn't bad for three pounds of great wings ("hold the Rocks and give me a Bigfoot please..."). Fun place.

(05/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: My Place, Newtown, CT

Stopped by a few times at a work-mate's recommendation, and discovered a nice little gem. Nice tap selection, and a great bottle selection. The owner is beer-savvy, and does a great job of keeping beers properly (i.e. the stronger brews are not kept too cold, which is nice). Friendly staff too. The extra Bigfoot barleywine they sent my way last visit caused me to miss the first couple of tunes of the Hole concert nearby :< Oh well, the price you pay when you're having fun.

(04/23/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Manchester, CT

Usually a nice selection of brews, their Harvard's standards are fairly tame, though nice quality. Their specialties (which vary nicely from Harvards to Harvards) are excellent. Nice barleywine (especially when you catch it on the hand pump), great Scotch Ale, and a killer cask conditioned IPA. When will the cask conditioned Imperial Stout come back? That was the best I've had here. Great folks behind the bar (Steve, Sally, Chris et. al.). Enjoy stopping by when I can and glad to have them nearby. Thank God they got smart and brought back their killer Olive Oil to every table. Now if only they'd bring back the real chicken wings (the boneless wings just don't cut it).

(04/23/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: McNeill's Brewery, Brattleboro, VT

Been here many times, and finally got around to reviewing it here......a waste of time really, as nothing more can possibly be said that hasn't already. Out of the 140 or so I have visited from Maine to Florida to California, simply the finest beers you will find. Period. Recently visited for a short stopover...after a couple of Bucksnort barleywines, Apocalypse Now Imperial Stouts, and Dopplebocks (a monster!), I was dropped off back at home in a rather confused state. Be sure to eat heartily, and don't try to conquer all of the strong ones at once. You'll lose.

(03/07/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: BarrelHouse Brewing Company, Cincinnati, OH

Stopped in on the way to the airport and nearly missed my flight. Knowledgeable, hip, very cool and beautiful bartender, Erica, took great care of me. Beers are first class...great IPA, delicious pale ale on Nitrogen mix, great dunkel-weizen, delicious hefe-weiss, nice stout, and a very nice Belgian style winter ale. Very rare that I find a brewpub which stands out (I've been to over 140, and most are pretty average) such as McNeil's in Brattleboro, VT, but this one certainly did. Well worth a visit.

(01/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So

Establishment: Mill Creek Brewery and Restaurant, Kansas City, MO

Stopped in for a sampler...no cover charge. Didn't try any food, though it didn't seem like the type of place I would enjoy eating at (more of a local watering hole). Very nice Christmas Ale, OK bock and stout, horrendous hazelnut stout (I have yet to try a hazelnut beer by anyone worth a dime...hazelnut in beer is an abomination).

(12/12/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good

Establishment: River Market Brewing Company, Kansas City, MO

Stopped in for a sampler...the porter was my favorite, and a real good pumpkin ale too...seemed like a cool place. Next time I'm in town, I'll go earlier and spend more time there.

(12/12/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Good

Establishment: McCoy's Public House and Brewkitchen, Kansas City, MO

Most of the beers weren't real distinctive in taste or character, though I did love the hoppy IPA. Great black bean hummus, and a decent bruschetta...the rest of the food menu looked pretty good too. Cool place to hang out.

(12/12/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: 75th Street Brewery, Kansas City, MO

The food was great (a nice, spicy andouille sausage and rice dish, great chicken florentine soup), and the bartenders were friendly and well-versed (thanks for the great directions, Nicole). The Brown Ale was delicious, and the Amber was one of the best I have tasted (not being a big Amber fan, normally) - very hoppy. Also a very nice Golden Ale on cask (another style I usually don't even bother tasting, but anything on cask is bound to be at least drinkable...). Nice place, though all the cigar smoke was repulsive (why would someone who appreciates good beer foul the air with cigars, which has a major effect on the smell and therefore the taste of the beer??? I just don't get it).

(12/12/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good So So

Establishment: Union Restaurant, Glastonbury, CT

This place tries to downplay the fact that they are a brewpub (why? do they feel there are somehow negative connotations associated with the "brewpub" label?). They are only hurting themselves by not advertising the fact that they are, alas, a brewpub. They have some decent food, too much of a "desperately attempting to be suave, upscale, hip, cool" clientele, and a few decent brews. The stout is nice, and they have a beer engine, which should be mandatory for any pub establishment.

(12/05/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Awesome!

Establishment: Ginger Man, New York, NY

The guy (?) from NYC who complained that the lightest beer to be found was Celis White should have his/her head examined. Anything lighter is worthless (may as well drink water), and Celis White is to die for. Fabulous selection of Belgian ales and Barleywines (year-old Sierra Nevada Bigfoot Barleywine was a delight....) looking forward to my next visit...definitely a hard place to leave, especially walking straight.

(12/05/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A So So Lousy

Establishment: Diglio's Brewpub, Hamden, CT

Truly terrible...the beer was virtually undrinkable (I too suspect contamination), and the atmosphere was so smoke-filled that I simply couldn't breathe. I was probably one of two people attempting to drink their beer...the rest of the crowd was busy mainlining nicotine and swilling Bud...kinda tells you something, no? Incidentally, I have heard that they are now defunct, though I cannot verify the validity of that claim.

(10/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Greenshields Brewery and Pub, Cary, NC

Having visited 130 brewpubs over the last few years, I felt compelled to deliver a scathing critique of my extremely disappointing visit to this establishment. Stopped in for lunch with my wife and kids...the beer was weak (the stout was the only one I could enjoy, and it was hardly more than a brown ale), but the food was absolutely pathetic. Both my wife's dish (a chicken over pasta w/salad special) and mine (scallops with grilled veggies over mesclun greens) were the most bland, tasteless dishes I have ever sampled. It was truly astounding how bland they were! Both dishes tasted like they were prepared with nothing more than water (as a matter of fact, water has more taste than these dishes...). Perhaps a refresher course in the creative usage of spices would be in order for the chef(s)??? When I was asked if something was wrong, I gave a very polite critique, which was met with the reply of "oh...", after which service simply ceased. I shouldn't have paid. Truly pathetic way to run a restaurant. I am not one to complain, even when things aren't as I wish, but this was absolutely inexcusable. Skip it.

(06/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So Good

Establishment: Three Dollar Dewey's, Portland, ME

Have been here on many occasions...great selection of local micros (but, alas, no more Sheepscot Valley Lucifer's Hammer, which is "too powerful for the local palate"...too bad as it was the best local micro ever produced); best to go early, as the young, loud, beer-swilling crowd packs the joint at night.

(05/07/1998)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.125 seconds) 07:12:42 54.196.168.78, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS