PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from sean
Other Reviews by this User
 
July 25, 2014 @ 02:12 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
sean

Beer Reviews
(25)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






Favorite Beer: Rogue Chocolate Stout
Located In: Pittsburgh/Cleveland

25
Beer Reviews from sean
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Great Great Great Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Fuel and Fuddle, Pittsburgh , PA

Great place, great food, great beer. About 10 on tap - 2 of their own brewed by Troegs, which are quality! A rotating selection of about 8 others, as well as a ton of bottles. Food was excellent - a huge selection, and some great thin-crust pizzas. Service is very good too. Staff seems to have a good knowledge of the beer.

(02/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Good

Establishment: Double Wide Grill, Pittsburgh , PA

As mentioned before, not much adventurous on tap....Thirsty Dog Siberian Night, the Green Flash IPA and Nut Brown, a Great Lakes seasonal (Conway's Irish), etc. Beer quality was good - tasted fresh and clean and the bar seemed like a pretty cool place - old garage setting and all. Prices were on the average to high side - $4+ per beer. Still, nothing to leave Fatheads, Smokin Joes, or Pipers Pub for. My wife and I stopped in today for a late lunch at 3:30pm or so, we were handed the menu and it said 'Brunch' on the menu. I asked the waitress if this was the right menu ("All you have is Brunch?), since I figured Brunch was usually a late breakfast/early lunch thing, and I noticed the menu contained omelettes and other breakfast type meals (Eggs, sausage, bacon, home fries, etc). She replied 'Yes', but her reaction was as if I had asked the most ridiculous question. They did have a small 3-4 item menu with beef burger, pork sandwich and two other items, but nothing great - my wife would've wanted a salad or grilled chicken sandwich, but no such luck. Anyway, about half an hour later, we found that a different menu was being handed out and it was their dinner menu. The waitress thought nothing to mention to us that we could've waited a little bit and had some real mid-afternoon food!

(02/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Establishment: The Map Room, Pittsburgh, PA

Two doors down from D's Six Pax and Dogz, so it's never that busy. But for a quiet drink, and if you're looking for East End's great beer, this is the place to go.

Has five taps of East End Brewery's beer - Big Hop, Blackstrap Stout, Session Ale, Pedal Pale Ale, and Witte, as well as Guinness.

(11/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Great

Establishment: Bru Lounge, Pittsburgh, PA

Still getting up and running, but well worth a visit if you're in the area for a Pirates game or on the Northside and want a good beer. Quite a lot of bottles available and the five or six I had tasted very good. They had a selection of Dogfish, Stoudts, Troegs, Victory, Great Lakes, Penn, as well as quite a few Belgian styles. Bartender is very helpful and friendly as well. I'd definitely recommend this place over Finnigans next door, which apparently can't be bothered to clean it's tap lines.....but you'll only find that out once you've stood at the bar for 10 minutes looking at them.

(06/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So

Establishment: Eleven, Pittsburgh, PA

If you're going here for beer, don't bother. Only three on tap now. Penn Season (currently Weizen), Yuengling and Guinness. I got my Guinness served in a tiny 10oz glass with about two inches of head and it tasted a bit off. I guess they were trying to be trendy. Had a list of bottled beers, but not worth the $5 price they'll be charging you. Ended up going to Kaya a few blocks down - now that place is worth it!

(06/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Great Lakes Brewing Company, Cleveland, OH

Been going here for years, but never reviewed it. Usually have 8 beers on tap. The staples are the Porter, Vienna Lager, Pale Ale, Gold - all very good. The Ed Fitz Porter might be the best Porter around - can't get enough of it. When I was there recently however, they no longer serve food in the cellar, which is very disappointing as I like to hang out down there, watch the TV, drink some beer and get something to eat at the bar. Hopefully they'll change back, but I know there were a few people who weren't happy about this. My pregnant wife and I had to head back upstairs to the bar area, stand around for awhile and wait for an open seat at the bar to get some food, while there was plenty of room downstairs. I heard it was something about the cooks having to bring food downstairs - which I can understand, but why not have some little 'food elevator' system if that's the case. I think they'll end up losing some business if there's no food downstairs

(05/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Hereford and Hops, Cranberry Township, PA

Ten of their own beers on tap.....a light Lager, a more full bodied Lager, a Dortmunder, Schwarzbier, a Red, an IPA, a Nut Brown Ale, a Stout.....a couple of others that I didn't try. The Nut Brown was excellent and the Stout, IPA, and Schwarzbier were very good too. The building is huge, and the parking lot seemed very busy, but there was plenty of space inside. I only went into the Cleary's Pub area, and there was a bar, with a cozy dining area off to the side with fireplace and 'reading area'. Food was good too - appetizers, reasonably priced sandwiches, and a selection of steaks. There seemed to be an Irish theme to the whole place, which I couldn't quite understand, since Hereford is in England. I guess England just isn't as cool as Ireland.

(03/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: North Country Brewing Company, Slippery Rock, PA

Went for the 2nd time last Tuesday evening (for my birthday)....Didn't have the Nut Brown or Bucksnort Stout on, but they had one of the better Pumpkin Ales I've tried, plus very good Porter and IPA. Wife had a Harvest Ale, which she liked a lot. Recommend the 9 glass sampler to start. Food was delicious and service was top notch. Can't wait to get back here. And, with it being a Tuesday night, there were some people playing music in the lower bar area. Sounded like traditional Irish music and bagpipes even made an appearance.

(10/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Lousy Lousy

Establishment: Boomerang BBQ was Vermont Flatbread, Pittsburgh , PA

I decided to give this place another chance after a bad episode this past April, where the waitress first attempted to serve us a half glass of Great Lakes Eliot Ness (the other half was head), and it took her literally 15 minutes to get it right. Then, as someone mentioned earlier, it tasted like it'd been on tap for months - very stale. As was my Lancaster Milk Stout - we ended up walking out. Well, today a friend suggested we go to lunch there, so I reluctantly went. I passed on the beer because of my last visit, and ordered a Grilled Buffalo Chicken sandwich. Fourty-five minutes later, and 20 minutes after the rest of my table had been served, I finally got a huge piece of white hoagie bread, with two small pieces of chicken, covered in cheese and apparently buffalo sauce squirted on it. A 'sorry' from the waitress, but nothing else. I'm pretty sure it's the same waitress who couldn't pour a beer last time I went. I've been coming to this place for years with friends or my wife and raving about the pizzas, but I think this was definitely my last time. It's sadly went downhill in the past year or so.

(10/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Good So So So So

Establishment: Roland's Seafood Grill, Pittsburgh , PA

Great beer selection - tons of microbrews and imports in bottles, however I've noticed that the majority of people who go here drink the mass produced swill beers, so some of these good beers sit on the shelf getting stale. Draught selection is pretty good. Service is atrocious from the waitstaff, but good from the bartenders (esp. the Irish guy - he's on top of things at all times and very friendly). Food is decent - good pizzas and seafood. Overall it's one of the better places in the Strip District - but well below Kaya, Church Brew Works. Turns into a meat market late Friday night.

(09/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Market Street Ale House, Pittsburgh , PA

Cool little place in Market Square. Went for lunch, had the Lancaster Hop Hog IPA with my Buffalo Chicken salad. Very satisfied with both. Waitress was attentive and the place was clean and quite cozy. About 10 taps of good beer, plus many bottles to choose from. I'm definitely going back.

(05/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Awesome! Good

Establishment: Cornerstone Brewing Company, Berea, OH

High hopes for this place, but have to admit I was a little disappointed in a few of the beers when I visited last week. The Breakfast Stout isn't as coffeeish as I had hoped, and the predecessor Quarryman brewery which was here before it, had an excellent full bodied Coffee Stout/Porter available. Cornerstone does have a very hoppy aromatic IPA named 'Seven', which I thought was very good. Also on tap was a Belgian Brown "Berea Brown", another Belgian Style "Esoteric Ale", and a pretty good lager and a disgusting Gold (not it's name), but that was more for the light swill drinkers. They will be tapping a Porter soon, so I'm looking forward to that one.

(01/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: North Country Brewing Company, Slippery Rock, PA

Anything on this brewery yet??

(01/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: East End Brewing Company, Pittsburgh, PA

Had two pints of the Big Hop IPA and a sample glass of the Black Strap Stout. Both very tasty. The Pale Ale was very smooth and had just the right amount of hops, the Stout was excellent and I can't wait to see this on tap at some of the bars around Pittsburgh. Very malty, full bodied, and smooth tasting.

(12/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Kelly's Bar and Lounge, Pittsburgh , PA

Got here at 6:50pm last night in anticipation of being one of the first to try East End Brewing's Big Hop Pale Ale....and there was hardly anyone here. 45 minutes later the place was packed, but my wife and I already had cozied up to the bar. Some great beers on tap - Dogfish 60 minute, Heavyweight Lunacy, Victory Hop Devil, Great Lakes Christmas Ale, etc. Also had Arrogant Bastard's 8th Anniversary in bottle, along with a few other Belgians, Great Lakes Nosferatu and Edmund Fitzgerald Porter. Food was good, nothing out of this world, but well better than average, and the service was great - no complaints there.

(12/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Remedy was Ray's Marlin Beach Bar and Grill, Pittsburgh , PA

Stopped here last night to check it out. I liked the place, small, but cozy, and they have an upstairs made into a dining area. Lots of potential - if this place was on the Southside it'd do a lot of business. It was easy to get to, the service was great, the selection of beer was on really good. I had a Yard's Love Stout and a Rogue Morimoto Hazelnut Brown ($6). They had quite a few Belgian beers, Sam Smiths, and various other quality microbrew bottles in their fridges. I had the Turkey Yacht sandwich as well, and it was GOOD! Very filling. I'd recommend this place to anyone going out to that area. Follow Liberty out towards Church Brew Works, turn on 34th, right onto Butler and keep going for a while. Plenty of parking around the area too.

(03/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great

Establishment: Piper's Pub, Pittsburgh, PA

I've been going to Pipers for 6 years or so now. At first I was worried it might not make it, but it's picked up quite a following in the past few years. Being someone who grew up in England, it's great to see (and taste) the food on their menu (toad in the hole, bangers and mash, irish stew, chicken curry, shepherd's pie, English/Irish breakfast, etc, etc, etc.). The selection of beer is always very good - usually have Youngs, Boddingtons, Guinness, Belhaven, and about another 15 taps of Belgian and British beer. So, if Fatheads is too crowded or smoky, and it usually is, just cross the street to Pipers.

(03/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Good Great

Establishment: The Church Brew Works, Pittsburgh , PA

Been coming here since 1996, not long after it opened. Food is excellent - the pizzas are the best around (not your typical pizza either). Service is pretty good - a few times I've had to wait for service longer than I wanted, but when the place is busy I expect that. There's been plenty of times I've been served quickly, so it all evens out - I'm not the type to whine if I'm not being treated like a king. The beer is good, but I wish they'd have more variety sometimes. The stouts and porters are never on tap for long. They recently had some coffee stouts there (which were out of this world!), which I learned were brewed by the ex-brewer of the Foundry. It tasted very similar to the wonderful Breakfast Blend, which I miss so much...as well as the Foundry :-( They always have a Gold, Dunkel, Brown, Pale Ale on tap and about 2-3 others.

(03/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Establishment: Lancaster Brewing Company, Lancaster, PA

Loved this place. One of the better breweries in PA - I wish they'd market more out towards Western PA. Milk Stout is absolutely one of the smoothest tastiest stouts I've tasted. The Strawberry Wheat is the only wheat beer I've ever liked and the Amish 4 Grain Ale was exceedinly tasty. The place was very cozy.

(02/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Good Lousy So So

Establishment: Finnigan's Wake, Pittsburgh , PA

Almost everyone I've talked to about this place has commented how the terrible service. Before this place opened I couldn't wait to see it. When I first walked in 15 minutes after they opened the doors, I was happy with the set up, looks almost like a typical Irish bar. But in the past few months I've been horrified by the beers they have on tap. Guinness and Boddingtons - Great! But Pabst Blue Ribbon, Michelob Ultra, every other domestic swill, and hardly ever a microbrew, or even a Sam Adams selection or anything worthy of a so-called Irish Pub. The Penn Pilsner was bad - it tasted funny, and not even like Penn Pilsner. I told this to my friend when he was drinking it at the bar one afternoon and he mentioned it to the girl behind the bar. Her response......"I didn't brew it!" Needless to say, instead of walking less than a block to go here after work, I'll drive elsewhere in town and go somewhere with a selection of good beer and friendler waitstaff.

(09/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Great Good

Establishment: Rocky River Brewing Company, Rocky River, OH

Both times I've been here I've been a bit disappointed with what is on tap that evening. There's a huge list of the beers they brew, but I never seem to get there when they're on tap. I was there in late November and the only 'seasonal' beer they had was a weak Stout (Not the Oompah Loompah, which is very good). I was hoping for a Christmas ale or something - they had a Weizen on, which I thought was strange, since it's typically a summer brew, but people must be drinking it. I'll continue to go back, because I think this place has potential and I've heard good things, so one day I'll catch them on a day they have some of the beers that suit my tastes better.

(12/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Kaya, Pittsburgh, PA

Oh, and the food was excellent as well. Decent price and the Cuban (turkey, pork, etc.) sandwich was OUT OF THIS WORLD!!

(10/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great

Establishment: Kaya, Pittsburgh, PA

Nice cozy little place, set on the corner of Smallman and a side street. Easy parking out front. Great selection of beer. My last trip there had Arrogant Bastard and Dogfish Head Stout.

(10/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Good Good

Establishment: Mad Crab, Strongsville, OH

No problems with the food and overall comfort of the place. But the beer was vile! The Stout was too weak but tolerable if you thought you were drinking a Brown Ale, and the rest tasted so weak and barely had any taste. Definitely in need of a new brewer.

(05/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Establishment: John Harvard's Brew House, Wilkins Township, PA

Been a regular here since the week it opened in August '97. Love the place, it's like my home away from home, very relaxing and the barstaff are tops. I've been to brewpub chains as some people have mentioned below, but John Harvards is much better than 'Hops', another chain which you'll find sprouting up down south - and I might add has some of the worst "microbrewed" beer I've ever tasted. Favorite beers - Milk Stout, Oatmeal Stout, Espresso Stout, any of the Porters, and the Scottish Ale, I also highly recommend the Pumpkin Spice.

(11/07/2001)














(0.044 seconds) 02:12:09 54.82.217.75, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS