PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from sean lemar
Other Reviews by this User
 
November 20, 2014 @ 03:15 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
sean lemar

Beer Reviews
(35)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

35
Beer Reviews from sean lemar
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
Good Good Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Great Good So So

Establishment: Brew Brothers Microbrewery, Reno, NV

Paid a visit here just a few days ago... Serious beer lovers would be much happier at one of the other 2 brewpubs in the Reno area. Double Down Stout was a below average stout that was drinkable (barely) but boring. Their special Dark Ale was not very special. Gold Dollar Pale Ale has a citrus taste that makes this supposedly hoppy beer taste not so hoppy. Redhead Amber had an annoying alcohol-y taste but was at least barely drinkable. Big Dog Ale had a hideous sweet taste. Wild Card Wheat Ale tasted like someone took a better tasting wheat beer and added lots of sugar. Food here is good pub grub. The band playing wasn't bad.

(11/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A Good Lousy

Establishment: Ellis Island Casino and Brewery, Las Vegas, NV

Fall Fest, Hefe Weiss, Light, Amber Ale, and Stout were all no better than decent. Across the street from the dive hotel I stayed at but still a waste of time.

(09/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Good Lousy

Establishment: Barley's Casino and Brewing Company, Henderson, NV

All light to lighter lagers which bored my tastebuds to tears.

(09/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good So So

Establishment: Tenaya Creek Brewery and Restaurant, Las Vegas, NV

Black Widow was pretty good. Gold Medal Pilsner, Dunkleweizen, Nut Brown Ale were just OK. India Pale Ale was subpar (not hoppy). Hefeweizen was subpar (skunky). Atmosphere was as boring as the beer.

(09/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Big Dog's Brewing Company was Draft House Barn and Casino, Las Vegas, NV

Black Dog's Pale Ale and Black Lab Stout were pretty good. All Americanin Cream Ale and Legliftter Ale are just OK. Tailwagger Wheat was subpar.

(09/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Chicago Brewing Company, Las Vegas, NV

Pale Rider Ale was good (probably the best beer made in the area by default). Red Rocker Amber Ale, Springfest Lager, and All Nighter Light Ale were all pretty good. Old Town Brown was a typical blah brown. Black Star Irish Stout was subpar (too watery for a stout). Ultimate Weiss was subpar (somewhat skunky). Belgian Tripple was just bad (too sweet even for a Belgian). Food looked pretty good but I wasn't hungry. Newer looking brick building looked nice.

(09/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Gordon Biersch Brewing Company, Las Vegas, NV

You could do worse than Gordon Biersch when drinking beer in Vegas. Marzen, Dunkel, and Blonde Bock are all pretty good but nothing special. Hefeweizen is subpar.

(09/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Powerhouse Brewing Company, Sebastopol, CA

The mayor of Sebastopol was kind enough to email me this before I wasted my time visiting a closed brewpub...

The Powerhouse is closed but the new owners (who bought the equipment) plan to produce their own beer. The establishment is now called Stone Elephant, and will feature local wineries, serve food and jazz, and beer. For now they will serve beer from Russian River Brewing.

The Powerhouse name and brews remain the property of its owner who supposedly plans to reopen at sometime in the future at a different location.

(09/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Establishment: Rogue Ales Public House, San Francisco, CA

I love the North Beach area so it helps that this is the best place I know of to get good beer in that area. The place has a real pub feel inside. Having over 15 of their beers on tap and tasting fresh is a plus. This place will be even better once they start carrying good guest beers as planned. I haven't tried all beers there yet but I really liked Yellow Snow Ale, Buckwheat Ale, and Buckwheat Ale and Chocolate Stout (all 3 were also somewhat unique which was extra cool). Hazelnut Brown Nectar was pretty good and unique in that it brought life to the tired genre of brown ales. Mocha Porter was also worth trying. Brutal Bitter started off with a nice flowery hoppy taste but disappointed by leaving the mouth with an alcoholy taste. American Amber was unimpressive. Imperial IPA was less hoppy than a normal IPA so that was really disappointing. My waitress had a stellar memory (she wrote nothing down but got all orders right). Finally, the Kobe beef burgers were quite good and (paired with abover average fries) actually worth the $10.

(03/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Great So So

Establishment: The Chieftain Irish Pub and Restaurant, San Francisco, CA

I liked the look of the place and I got my pint of Guinness poured right away but the place has a stale smell and far worse my Guinness tasted like it came from a stale keg (perfect pint award, yeah whatever!). No other beer on tap really looked all that interesting to me so my friend and I left. Perhaps this is a better pub for you if you like the hard stuff but I don't.

(03/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great

Establishment: The Bistro was Vintage Cellar Bistro, Hayward, CA

Went to the Double IPA festival this past February and loved it (spent most of the Saturday there than went back for more on Sunday). I plan on going back again next year. Where else can you get that many big IPA's in one place? I've also been here once before when some band was playing and had a good time because it's just a nice cozy place to chill out and drink a few brews.

(03/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good

Establishment: Lynch's Hogshead Brewery and Pub, Sacramento, CA

9 beers on tap. Vanilla was good. Lemon was good and unique (not a subtle lemon taste). Porter and honey wheat were pretty good if you like more conventional brews. Brown and blonde were decent. IPA was OK but but bitter/hoppy enough for how I like an IPA. Black Berry was OK but didn't taste much like beer (some fruit beers work better than others). Red is the only beer that I will say was just bad news. New owner (nice chatty guy usually seen behind the bar) and new brewer have made this place much better than the dump it used to be. The Old Sacramento location and cool building are no longer wasted. If you once tried this place and didn't like it I think you will be pleasantly surprised if you give it another try.

(02/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Jupiter, Berkeley, CA

Porter, pale ale, and amber ale were my favorites and all good. Seasonal Ol St Kinnick was pretty good (alcoholy taste worked). Red Spot Ale and IPA are both pretty good. Hefeweizen is subpar. Technically this is a brewpub since a token amount of brewing is done on premises but most is done in San Leandro. Great selection of guest beers that rotate. My pizza was just so so. I love the pub atmosphere.

(02/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Establishment: Brew It Up! Personal Brewery and Grill, Sacramento, CA

This is probably my favorite brewpub right now. Over 20 freshly brewed beers on tap and they are not always the same beers! Vanilla Cream Stout is truly an excellent beer (creamy and vanilla taste comes through perfectly). Northern Mild Nutty Brown Ale, Engine #2 Ale, Dunkel bock, Belgian Tripple, IPA, ESB, Oatmeal Stout, and Czar's Tar (really sweet stout) are all really good. Big Valley Red (chocolate flavor with pronounced citrus presence) is probably the most unique beer I had and also good. Avoid the Scotch Ale (no smoky taste, just an odd one that doesn't work). As for food I've only had soups so far but both were good. The atmosphere is that of a nice restaurant influence by an obvious love of beer (in the corner you can see groups of people off the street making their own brews). Keep in mind that the beers you order are made by a brewer who really knows what he is doing, not the people off the street. If you find yourself in Sacramento this place is a must.

(02/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Hangtown Brewing Company, Placerville, CA

Strong Blonde (over 8%) was really good and covered the alcohol well. Pale ale was almost as good. Vanilla stout tasted good but was not as thick as I would have liked. American Pale is a good lighter beer. Stout is OK. Cascade and American Dark are subpar brews but 5 out of 7 is a good ratio in my book. My burger was very good along with the herb fries. This place looks like a dump from the outside at night but don't judge a book by it's cover... it has a simple charm inside (although if I didn't like the beer it might not have seemed charming at all;funny how that works).

(02/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy So So Lousy

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Campbell, CA

Bland beer, bland food (pizza), bland atmosphere... worst brew chain I've ever been to

(11/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Pete's Brewing Company (Corporate Office), Palo Alto, CA

In the early 1990's Pete's Wicked Ale was a great brown ale with a delicious smoke taste... somewhere along the line it got watered down to utter crap

Pete's Wicked Winter Brew is still pretty good if you must have something from this company

(11/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great

Establishment: Sierra Nevada Brewing Company, Chico, CA

14 beers on tap! Pale ale and Blonde Ale were my favorites. This is the pale ale which is the same as the fine bottled pale ale and not the tweaked Draft Style Pale Ale which is just OK (that explained why I always like the pale ale better out of the bottle than on tap). Rauch beer was pretty good and quite an unique offering. Porter, Wheat Beer, Brown Ale, Best Bitter Ale, Crystal Wheat, and Pilsner were all pretty good. India Pale Ale was just OK (not hoppy enough for an IPA). Summerfest was just OK too. Ruthless Weiss Beer was subpar. Stout was subpar (skunky tasting). My burger was quite good. The patio was a great place to catch some sun. The brewery tour was excellent but no free samples did seem kinda cheap.

(09/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Great Great

Establishment: Blue Frog Grog and Grill, Fairfield, CA

Blonde Ale was as good as any beer I've ever had calling itself a "blonde" (this is no bud clone). IPA was above average. Oatmeal stout was quite good. Red ale was also quite good and got better as you drank it (the taste subtly builds up). Belgian White was pretty good. Hefeweizen was just so so. The pizza was just OK, slightly below average. The place has a restaurant feel but still maintains a feeling of coziness.

(08/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Lousy Good So So

Establishment: Eldos Grill and Brewery, San Francisco, CA

Californicator Dopplebock was not bad (it's maltiness was a little different). Stow Lake Stout is just OK (tastes fine but too water for a stout). Golden State Ale, Nine Ball Pilsener, and Great White Wheat are just ho hum average versions of their various beer styles. JPA IPA is a below average IPA. There wasn't one beer that I really liked a lot here but I guess there was only one I disliked. Honey BBQ ribs were bad news. Atmosphere is OK but the odd paintings on the wall and carosel horses are a little too cutesy for a brewpub IMHO.

(08/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great

Establishment: Pacific Coast Brewing Company, Oakland, CA

Leviathan Stout stands out because it masterfully hides 10% alcohol behind a rich, sweet (but not too sweet), beautiful taste. Killer Whale Stout was also full-bodied beer with sweetness that was surprisingly non-chocolatey (odd for stouts) but I thought it worked excellently. Blue Whale is pretty good with subtle hops and a strong taste (although I guess I'm not as excited about it as everyone else who posted here). Code Blue is a nice cask conditioned ale that is a little hoppy. Old Oakland is just OK but does have an interesting celery-like taste to it. Grey Whale Ale and Leslie's Pale Ale are both too bland. The Bangers and Mashers tasted good to me but I'm no expert on English grub. Atmospherewise, this is one of my very favorite pubs: cool bar! It's 2 blocks from a BART station so no need to drive. Basically I love the stout and the atmosphere and that's why I go to this place when I can.

(08/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Lousy Good Good Good

Establishment: Surfside Grill and Brewery, Crescent City, CA

Only 2 beers when I was there but both were pretty good: Black Seal Bock & Da Kine Dark (although it's more of a light brown than actually dark). Food decent which is about as good as you're going to do in that area. Sparse nautical decor didn't look bad.

(08/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Brew Moon, Honolulu, HI

Of the 4 brewpubs I went to in Hawaii this was my favorite. The food was very good... the beer was OK (good, simple, lighter then I generally prefer). The atmosphere is very nice both inside & outdoors.

(07/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So Good Good

Establishment: Columbia River Brewing Company was Laurelwood, Portland, OR

Piston Pale Ale is a good hoppy lighter ale. Organic Free Range Red is good with a clean, subtle taste. Mother Lode Golden is an above average lighter brew. Seasonal ESB was also good. Space Stout, Boss IPA, and Ettinger Amber Bier (German style amber) were all OK. Organic Tree Hugger Porter was subpar. Seasonal malt lager was bad. Garlic fries were pretty good. Hot chicken sandwich, shredded pork sandwich, & Thai salad were all just OK. Pleasant wood d├ęcor is nice but more restaurant than pub.

(07/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Good Good

Establishment: Bridgeport Brewing Company and Public House, Portland, OR

Black Strap Stout is quite good. IPA is OK. Blue Heron and Amber are both typical light ales. The ESB and porter are both subpar. Cool brick building in warehouse district by the river. Good music & a dartboard are positives. Bar had a ho hum look. Cheesy tshirt store next to bar was a negative.

(07/06/2003)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.606 seconds) 15:15:14 54.226.147.84, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS