PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from spencer thoma
Other Reviews by this User
 
November 27, 2014 @ 08:25 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
spencer thoma

Beer Reviews
(8)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

8
Beer Reviews from spencer thoma
   
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great
Good Great Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Establishment: Capitol City Brewing Company - Shirlington, Arlington, VA

I visited this fine establishment tonight, and the only complaint I have is that the bar is not a non-smoking area! Well, what do you expect in Virginia?!

I sampled the full selection of 8 beers. All were good. I thought the Saison was excellent, with a dry, spicy palate and a lingering finish. The Pale Ale had an interesting dry-malt note, and the Amber was wonderfully hoppy. I detected an off-phenolic note in the Weizen, but only in one sip. I ended my meal with the Biere de Garde, which was very interestingly and subtly spiced with pepper, coriander and ginger. Oh, yes, the duck salad was great!

(05/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Triumph Brewing Company, Princeton, NJ

This visit I tried 2 beers, both of which were quite good. The Roggenbock was a clean, crisp beer with just a hint of caraway and a nice spicy rye flavor. The Pumpkin Ale was also very nice, with a clean spicy flavor, not too sweet. HOWEVER, if you go in the evening, be prepared for LOUD and CROWDED! I haven't tried the food, so can't comment.

(10/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great

Establishment: Max Lager's American Grill and Brewery, Atlanta, GA

I stopped in briefly between a meeting and going to the airport. I wish I'd known about this place the night before so I could have come twice! The beers were all good, mostly lagers, none wimpy. The Abbey ale (seasonal) was decent, and very drinkable. The Gold was a crisp pilsner with a very solid bitterness. 6 beers on tap at the time. I ate at the bar, and service was excellent and friendly (I told the bartender I needed to catch a plane, so he kept things moving for me.) I'll go back again, for sure.

(10/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Capitol City Brewing Company - Downtown, Washington, DC

It is still open (I just phoned them). The trick is that the pub is NOT really on New York Ave. It's around the block on H St. The address is very confusing.

(08/15/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Sam Choy's Breakfast Lunch and Crab, Honolulu, HI

Gordon Biersch has better beer, but this place has atmosphere and more variety of food. Plate lunch rules!

(07/29/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A N/A Good

Establishment: Redwood Lodge, Flint, MI

On my visits here, I've found the beer to be variable. The best is great! (Burke's Best Brown, for example.) Some are kind of forgettable.

(07/29/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good

Establishment: Grizzly Peak Brewing Company, Ann Arbor, MI

Of the two brewpubs in Ann Arbor, I used to put Grizzly first. But their beer got less interesting, and Arbors got much better. The beer here is solid, but is much of a sameness after a while.

(07/29/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great

Establishment: Arbor Brewing Company, Ann Arbor, MI

My favorite brewpub in the area. They had some start-up troubles, but have really developed into a great beer place. The variety of beers is better than most brewpubs I've visited, and there's not a stinker in the batch. Only the lagers could use some improvement (but then how many brewpubs even make lagers?!)

(07/29/1998)














(0.161 seconds) 08:25:55 54.227.41.242, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS