PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Reviews on PubCrawler from stewart eastman
Other Reviews by this User
 
December 22, 2014 @ 01:30 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.

Reviews By
stewart eastman

Beer Reviews
(46)

Restaurant Reviews
(0)






no
user
photo

46
Beer Reviews from stewart eastman
   

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Average Rating
Beer Quality
Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good
So So Great Good Good

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Lousy N/A N/A Lousy

Establishment: Stork Club, Galveston, TX

Five beer taps with only one microbrew. This is not a beer bar.

(12/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Old Galveston Brewery, Galveston, TX

This business, according to the lady at the current establishment ("Mary's Place", a music venue, it appeared) closed down years ago. No beer in sight.

(12/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Nina's Bourbon Street West, Galveston, TX

This bar closed. Another bar, Connoly's, now operates at this address.

(12/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Lousy N/A N/A Lousy

Establishment: O'Malley's Stage Door Pub, Galveston, TX

This bar had nine taps, including the local St Arnold and Fat Tire, but mostly mass market. It clearly had no pretention to being a beer bar and was entered here by misguided fans. It is across the street from the only real beer bars currently in town.

(12/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Hal and Mal's Restaurant and Brewery, Jackson, MS

I did not succeed in trying this pub but I am posting a photo from the outside and giving a couple of warnings. First, Hal & Mal's is closed Sundays, and also holidays. It was closed the entire 4th of July long weekend that I visited Jackson. Jackson, despite being a state capitol, seems to be a town that closes and rolls up the sidewalks after banking hours, although the highway strip around the edge of town stays open. At any rate, don't visit Sunday. The reason this pub is hard to find is that it is not on a main street and does not look like a pub or restaurant. It seems to be in a converted warehouse or similar and has no signs other than their name painted on the building wall. The photo should help folks know what to look for.

(07/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A So So Lousy

Establishment: Three Legged Dog Tavern, New Orleans, LA

The Lite sign in the window of this hole-in-the-wall says it all. This is not a beer bar! Why do people keep entering bars with few or no taps as beer bars in Pubcrawler? I can't imagine. There wasn't even Turbodog here, which is a good local dark lager (not stout). There were four taps, three Lite and, curiously enough, Abita Root Beer. There are literally hundreds of bars in the French Quarter not on Bourbon St. A Pubcrawler would not visit Bourbon St. anyway unless taking a break from beer. Some Bourbon St locations do have Turbodog on tap, but that's about it. Unless you really need a bottle of Sierra Nevada for $4.75, avoid this place.

(07/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Good Great

Establishment: Deutsches Haus, New Orleans, LA

The Deutsches Haus is still going strong. Now in its 76th year, the Haus should not be overlooked by beer lovers visiting New Orleans. A recent addition to the beer menu is Kostritzer Bock. Coming up soon is Fasching, a great opportunity to watch the huge Endemion Mardi Gras Parade from a comfortable base. In the late spring/early summer will be Volksfest, a long running German celebration. The trolley car line has been rebuilt along Canal Street, and when it begins running this Spring it will stop only a block from the Haus. As an educational, non-profit a bit off the beaten path, prices are lower than most places serving good beer. For a bit of one part of Real N'awlins, stop by!

(02/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A So So Good

Establishment: Fred's Lounge, Mamou, LA

Fred's is the classic Cajun music location. The brass historical marker by the door gives you the details about the French speaking revival. Inside is packed even on an off-weekend. There is not room for the lively traditional Cajun dancing; but, that doesn't stop folks from doing as much as they can. It is a great place for genuine Cajun music. But, as for beer, forget it. The colorful lady proprietor drinks Hot Damn schnapps from a belt holster bottle. The bar serves the typical mass market lites, not even the local Abita. The reviewers who rated the place awesome for beer quality and selection were just plain lying. My advice is to bring your own beer and drink it in the parking lot, while supporting the place by buying a t-shirt, cap, or cd.

(01/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Poets Restaurant and Bar, Lafayette, LA

I have gone there twice this year during normal evening hours and found it shut. Locals claim it is neither a brewpub nor beer bar.

(01/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Renaissance, Lafayette, LA

No beer on tap. Boarded up windows. Not appropriate for Pubcrawler.

(01/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Good Awesome!

Establishment: McGuire's Irish Pub And Brewery, Pensacola, FL

McGuire's is among the finest brewpubs. By itself, it is worth a visit to Pensacola. It has great beers, my favorites being the stout and the porter. I enjoyed the Irish Lamb stew on my last visit, and my friend was awed by their prime rib. The character of the pub has to be experienced first hand but it is heavily decorated with appropriate themes, different in each of the smaller dining rooms. In addition, McGuire's decor features its signature pinned dollar bill ceilings and genuine Moose heads. Don't miss the rest rooms or the gift shop either, the latter featuring items with the classic Shoe cartoon.

(12/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good Good

Establishment: Bulldog Poolhall, Lafayette, LA

This Bulldog is a beer and pool bar near the local state college campus. It has 23 taps; however, when I visited 10 were out of commission or empty. They serve what they have in large glass mugs and pitchers, it is a good selection of state, national, and international quality brews. They have a good selection of bottles; but, be careful, some are clearly very old. This was the only beer bar that I could find in Lafayette and the town's brewpubs have closed or been converted to other purposes. If you want a beer in Lafayette, I recommend the Bulldog.

(08/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A Great Great

Establishment: Rikenjaks Brewing Company, Lake Charles, LA

This is a fine brewpub in an area better known for its food than its beer. When I visited Monday on tap were three of the pub's beers. Old Hardhead, a strong stout, Contraband Ale, an amber ale, and an excellent ESB. The friendly brewmaster offered a tour of their brewery, where I saw an Oktoberfest nearing readiness. The pub itself has a bandstand but no food. They have a website, where you can sign up to be notified of upcoming band performances. The location is easy to find even for a new visitor to Lake Charles. In addition to a Ladies' Night on Wednesday, they have a Men's Night on Monday with dollar beer for men! I could scarcely believe my luck, and did my best to appreciate it.

(08/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A Good Good

Establishment: Royal Street Inn and R Bar, New Orleans, LA

This bar has only 10 taps, but they are good craft beers - local, national, and imported. However, what makes the R Bar stand out and deserve the notice of pub crawlers is that it is, and calls itself, a "Bed & Beverage". An Inn that cares about beer! The location is great, being in the Fauberg Marigny a block or so from Frenchmen Street. Frenchmen Street is a favorite local music area, where the excellent beer bar DBA's can also be found. It is also just a few blocks from the French Quarter, where so much of New Orleans character may be enjoyed. The building and the rooms are 1890's, but the bar itself has imaginative, modern, even strange twists. And on the wall at the center is an antique mantelpiece supposed to have come from Lulu White's famous Storyville bordello. A place to stop in for a few beers, and stay the night too! Make reservations though as there are only a few rooms.

(07/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good

Establishment: Balcony Bar and Cafe, New Orleans, LA

The Balcony Bar and Cafe has improved considerably since my last visit. It has always had many taps, I counted 50 this time. In the past many were devoted to cheap mass market beers, albeit ones not usually found on tap. Now they have a good selection of craft and imported beers and ciders. There were four Woodchuck Ciders, including the Granny Pippin and the Perry. Beers included the new local Big Easy, the Abita beers including Andygator, and plenty of national and foreign drafts. The decoration includes a collection of large beer mirrors. Definitely worth a stop, especially as it is only two blocks from the Bulldog. Between them even the most enthusiastic beer drinker will not run out of brews to try.

(07/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!

Establishment: Abita Brewing Company, Abita Springs, LA

The Abita Brewpub is located in the tiny, quaint, woodsy town of Abita Springs. The walls are covered with attractive, appropriately-themed murals. It is also right on the Tammany Trace bicycle trail; perfect for thirsty cyclists. The pub serves all the usual Abita Beers, including my favorites: Turbodog, Purple Haze, and AndyGator. In addition, they served a new specialty beer: English Special Bitter, very enjoyable. There was a Spiced Belgian, quite dark and not particularly spicey. They also had a cask-conditioned dopplebock, whose photo I am submitting. One usually thinks of British ales being cask conditioned, not dopplebocks. But, this is America, a free country, where the brewers can experiment to their hearts' desire. I'm glad the brewer tried this one, I came back for another pint the next day. The pub food was good. Being Louisiana, a thunderstorm knocked out the electricity for a couple of minutes while I was there; but, the staff recovered with aplomb. A fair selection of glasses, t-shirts, and caps are available as souvenirs. This brewpub is really a stop not to be missed if you are anywhere near the area.

(06/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good So So

Establishment: Coast Brewing Company, Biloxi, MS

The Coast Brew Pub is located in the Beau Rivage Casino on the beach at Biloxi. In fact, you have to pass through a large, noisy slot machine area to get to the pub. The two bars are covered with gambling devices with blinking lights and video. The pub does not open until 5:00 PM, and the food stops at 10:00. Live entertainment starts at 11:00 PM, when they also add an obnoxious dress code. I was twice harassed about taking photo's, although some kinds are allowed. All in all, this pub does not have the kind of atmosphere that most craft beer fans would enjoy. Nevertheless, a real pubcrawler will not be put off, and will persever to taste the beers. The beers were fairly good, in the Southern style - which is light on hops. Southern Belle was a Belgian style wit beer, very mild. Millenium Ale was a pale ale, but did not live up to the promise of hoppiness described in their menu. Beau Rivage Bock was very dark, plenty of malt but not hops. Steel Head Stout was a stout, but not outstanding. Sunset Amber, which has apparently won prizes in the Vienna Amber catagory, was a malty brew typical of the ambers popular in this region. All in all, well, this seems to be the only surviving brewpub in southern Mississippi; so, if you are there ignore my complaints and enjoy fresh beer brewed on the spot.

(06/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Buccaneer Brewery, Biloxi, MS

Closed. The casino has converted this brewpub into an ordinary bar. One which does not even serve draft beer. I don't know when it was converted; but, that's what I found when I visited last week. Their website had not been updated. Their employee at the main entrance only knew about the name change (to Nemo's). Very disappointing to travel there twice for nothing (the first time because it turns out the bar opens late).

(06/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A

Establishment: Buccaneer Brewery, Biloxi, MS

Closed. The casino has converted this brewpub into an ordinary bar. One which does not even serve draft beer!

(06/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great

Establishment: The Chimes Restaurant and Tap Room, Baton Rouge, LA

I wasn't sure what to expect regarding beer, since most of the reviews are of the atmosphere and coeds. Fortunately, it did turn out to be a good beer pub. There were 37 brews on tap. They included a full range of Abita beers, as well as a mix of national microbrews and imports. I tried their John Courage, Spaten Optimator, and a DinkleAcker. This was at lunchtime and there was no crowd. The location is right across from a gate opening onto the LSU campus.

(01/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good

Establishment: Rock Bottom Brewery, Cincinnati, OH

While visiting Cincinnati for the Oktoberfest I stopped in for a couple of beers here. The Rock Bottom was on the same square as one of the festival stages but curiously did not seem to be taking part in the celebration. The beers that I had were good. It is also a restaurant.

(12/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A Good Great

Establishment: BarrelHouse Brewing Company, Cincinnati, OH

Although unable to visit the brewpub, I fortunately was able to try four of their beers at the Cincinnati Oktoberfest. Fresh from the keg, outdoors, with Germanic food and music, is a great way to enjoy beer! These four were great. I am uploading a photo of their beer trailer/booth.

(12/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great

Establishment: Boston Beer Works - North Station, Boston, MA

I was lucky enough to visit this excellent brewpub during a trip in late September. They offered 15 different beers brewed on site plus a cider. The Bluebeery Ale was particularly interesting to look at (I'm uploading a photo) because of the whole blueberries floating in it. The Pumpkin Ale was spicy. The more normal beers were all excellent too. They had a restaurant area. The atmosphere is deliberately mechanical or factory-like. Customers and staff were all pleasant and friendly.

(12/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A So So Lousy

Establishment: Commonwealth Fish and Beer Company, Boston, MA

Sadly, as others have noted, this is no longer either a brewpub or a beer bar. I visited at the end of September and even the Sam Adams (one of the four beers left on tap) was undrinkable. As the sign says on the lampost beside the door, "Do Not Enter".

(12/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good So So

Establishment: Fox and Hound English Pub and Grille, Metairie, LA

Well, it is a beer bar, with 36 taps and lots of bottled beer. The beer is fine, the hamburgers are good too.Be warned: this is a corporate chain restaurant, in the style of a large sports bar for people who don't actually like sports. The main room has 16 televisions, and of course no sound, so nothing can be followed. There is absolutely nothing English or pub-like about the place, menu, or atmosphere. Nor is there anything Cajun or New Orleans about the place or menu. If you live in the Elmwood area, or perhaps are passing by to visit the big movie theater there, you might want to stop in for a beer. There is no reason for a tourist to visit, or someone from New Orleans. Even if you live in Metarie, Zea's and Lagers are better, although they are both on the other side of the town. Again, if you live right there, they do have a decent selection of beers.

(06/23/2002)


Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]













(0.114 seconds) 13:30:33 54.87.136.120, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS